DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the non-final action dated 05/06/2025, applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-10. Claims 1-10 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (U.S. Pub No. 20180350363, hereinafter Cook) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Hammer et al (US Patent No. 10158946, hereinafter Hammer).
Regarding claim 1, Cook teaches a wireless speaker (See Cook Fig 1, Sound device 10) having a group reproduction function for synchronously reproducing an audio data by a plurality of wireless speakers (See Cook Fig 2 & ¶ [0085] lines 9-11, playback within established group), shift-to-on-state control means for shifting the own wireless speaker to an on state when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state by a power button provided to the own wireless speaker (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80); shift-to-off-state control means for shifting the own wireless speaker to an off state when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80); shift-to-on-state command transmission means for transmitting (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, wireless transmitters/receivers switch 80), when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the command to shift to the on state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration); and shift-to-off-state command transmission means for transmitting, when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the command to shift to the off state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being the members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration).
Cook does not explicitly teach the wireless speaker comprising: affiliated group information storage means for storing member information on a group to which an own wireless speaker currently belongs; or group history information storage means for storing member information on a group to which the own wireless speaker belonged immediately before.
Hammer teaches a wireless speaker comprising: affiliated group information storage means for storing member information on a group to which an own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Hammer Fig 15 & ¶ [0095 & 0103], Information and parameters may be stored within storage of the processing unit 112 or speaker 504, fourth data structure 1556 mapping of a speaker group 1560A-B of the devices, group information stored on speaker); group history information storage means for storing member information on a group to which the own wireless speaker belonged immediately before (Fig 15 & ¶ [0103], field 1560C indication whether or not a speaker assigned to a group is available, this indicates the wireless speaker information is still stored even when unavailable/disconnected).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the local storage taught by Hammer with the wireless speaker taught by Cook. Local storage is well known in the art and provides several key benefits including faster performance and increased security of wireless devices.
Regarding claim 2, Cook in view of Hammer teaches The wireless speaker according to claim 1, further comprising: connection means for establishing connection to a server for managing a group to which each of the plurality of wireless speakers belongs (See Cook Fig 2 & ¶ [0090], established device networks with room coordination and server access); and update means for updating (See Cook ¶ [0095], “home profile’ used to control and update devices within the coordinated system), when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state or the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means by acquiring the member information on the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs from the server through the connection means (See Cook ¶ [0095], “home profile’ used to control and update devices within the coordinated system).
Regarding claim 3, Cook in view of Hammer teaches the wireless speaker according to claim 1, wherein the shift-to-off-state control means is configured to shift the own wireless speaker to the off state when the command to shift to the off state is received from another one of the plurality of wireless speakers only in a case in which the another one of the plurality of wireless speakers is a member of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which is identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0145] lines 1-5, “home profile’ is a database of all devices within the system).
Regarding claim 4, Cook in view of Hammer teaches The wireless speaker according to claim 3, further comprising: connection means for establishing connection to a server for managing a group to which each of the plurality of wireless speakers belongs (See Cook Fig 2 & ¶ [0090], established device networks with room coordination and server access); and update means for updating (See Cook ¶ [0095], “home profile’ used to control and update devices within the coordinated system), when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state or the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the member information stored in the group history information storage means to the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0145] lines 1-5, “home profile’ is a database of all devices within the system), and updating the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means by acquiring the member information on the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs from the server through the connection means (See Cook ¶ [0095] lines 1-7, all devices within a network check and update the “home profile”).
Regarding claim 7/4/3/1, Cook in view of Hammer teaches A wireless audio system (See Cook Fig 2, wireless audio network), comprising: the plurality of wireless speakers of any one of claims 1 to 6; and a controller configured to remotely operate the plurality of wireless speakers (See Cook ¶ [0094], house coordinator unit), wherein the plurality of wireless speakers are wirelessly connected to an access point (See Cook Fig 2, speaker devices of a room all connected to same room coordinator unit), and wherein the controller is configured to instruct, when the controller is wirelessly connected to the access point, a predetermined wireless speaker of the plurality of wireless speakers to shift to an on state (See Cook ¶ [0094], house coordinator unit manages states of all devices in the network).
Regarding claim 8, Cook in view of Hammer teaches A wireless audio system (See Cook Fig 2, wireless audio network), comprising: the plurality of wireless speakers of claim 1; and a controller configured to remotely operate the plurality of wireless speaker (See Cook ¶ [0094], house coordinator unit), wherein the plurality of wireless speakers are wirelessly connected to an access point (See Cook Fig 2, speaker devices of a room all connected to same room coordinator unit), wherein the controller includes group reproduction history information storage means for storing member information on a group instructed to perform group reproduction most recently (See Cook ¶ [0145] lines 1-5, “home profile’ is a database of all devices within the system), and wherein the controller is configured to instruct, when the controller is wirelessly connected to the access point, any one of the plurality of wireless speakers identified by the member information stored in the group reproduction history information storage means to shift to an on state (See Cook ¶ [0094], house coordinator unit manages states of all devices in the network).
Regarding claim 9, Cook teaches a program stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium for causing a computer to function as a wireless speaker (See Cook ¶ [0140], each wireless speaker contains a chip that runs processing needs of the device. As is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, a processor requires program instructions to operate) having a group reproduction function for synchronously reproducing an audio data by a plurality of wireless speakers (See Cook Fig 2 & ¶ [0085] lines 9-11, playback within established group), the program causing the computer to function as: shift-to-on-state control means for shifting the own wireless speaker to an on state when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state by a power button provided to the own wireless speaker (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80); shift-to-off-state control means for shifting the own wireless speaker to an off state when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80); shift-to-on-state command transmission means for transmitting (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, wireless transmitters/receivers switch 80), when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the command to shift to the on state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration); and shift-to-off-state command transmission means for transmitting, when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the command to shift to the off state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being the members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration).
Cook does not explicitly teach the wireless speaker comprising: affiliated group information storage means for storing member information on a group to which an own wireless speaker currently belongs; or group history information storage means for storing member information on a group to which the own wireless speaker belonged immediately before.
Hammer teaches a wireless speaker comprising: affiliated group information storage means for storing member information on a group to which an own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Hammer Fig 15 & ¶ [0095 & 0103], Information and parameters may be stored within storage of the processing unit 112 or speaker 504, fourth data structure 1556 mapping of a speaker group 1560A-B of the devices, group information stored on speaker); group history information storage means for storing member information on a group to which the own wireless speaker belonged immediately before (Fig 15 & ¶ [0103], field 1560C indication whether or not a speaker assigned to a group is available, this indicates the wireless speaker information is still stored even when unavailable/disconnected).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the local storage taught by Hammer with the program stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium taught by Cook. Local storage is well known in the art and provides several key benefits including faster performance and increased security of wireless devices.
Regarding claim 10, Cook teaches a method of state control for a wireless speaker (See Cook Abstract lines 1-3, method for sound system control) having a group reproduction function for synchronously reproducing an audio data by a plurality of wireless speakers (See Cook Fig 2 & ¶ [0085] lines 9-11, playback within established group), the method comprising: shifting, by the wireless speaker, the own wireless speaker to an on state when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state by a power button provided to the own wireless speaker (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), and transmitting, when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the on state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the command to shift to the on state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration); and shifting, by the wireless speaker, the own wireless speaker to an off state when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), and transmitting, when the own wireless speaker is instructed to shift to the off state by the power button (See Cook Fig 3 & ¶ [0115] lines 1-5, switch 80), the command to shift to the off state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being the members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information prior to the shifting of the own wireless speaker to the off state (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration).
Cook does not explicitly teach the wireless speaker comprising: affiliated group information storage means for storing member information on a group to which an own wireless speaker currently belongs; or group history information storage means for storing member information on a group to which the own wireless speaker belonged immediately before.
Hammer teaches a wireless speaker comprising: affiliated group information storage means for storing member information on a group to which an own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Hammer Fig 15 & ¶ [0095 & 0103], Information and parameters may be stored within storage of the processing unit 112 or speaker 504, fourth data structure 1556 mapping of a speaker group 1560A-B of the devices, group information stored on speaker); group history information storage means for storing member information on a group to which the own wireless speaker belonged immediately before (Fig 15 & ¶ [0103], field 1560C indication whether or not a speaker assigned to a group is available, this indicates the wireless speaker information is still stored even when unavailable/disconnected).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the local storage taught by Hammer with the method taught by Cook. Local storage is well known in the art and provides several key benefits including faster performance and increased security of wireless devices.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 7/6/5/1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (U.S. Pub No. 20180350363, hereinafter Cook) in view of Hammer et al (US Patent No. 10158946, hereinafter Hammer) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Spitznagle et al (U.S. Put No. 20170099558, hereinafter Spitznagle).
Regarding claim 5, Cook in view of Hammer teaches The wireless speaker according to claim 1, further comprising controller monitoring means for monitoring a connection state of the controller wirelessly connected to an access point, the access point further connected to the own wireless speaker when the shift-to-on-state command transmission means has transmitted the command to shift to the on state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0095] lines 1-7, all devices within a network check and update the “home profile” providing updates to the controllers), and wherein the shift-to-off-state command transmission means is configured to transmit, also when the controller monitoring means detects that the wireless connection to the controller has been disconnected (See Cook ¶ [0095] lines 1-7, status updates are sent to the home profile regardless of speaker connection status), the command to shift to the off state to each of the other ones of the plurality of wireless speakers being the members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration), which are identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means (See Cook ¶ [0120] lines 1-4, change of state events are communicated to all required devices depending on configuration).
Cook does not explicitly teach a shift to off state when a wireless connection becomes disconnected.
Spitznagle teaches a shift to off state when a wireless connection becomes disconnected (See Spitznagle ¶ [0099] lines 1-5, when signal between speaker and hub is disconnected the speaker will power down into a standby state).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated power status change when disconnected from the network with the speaker system taught by Cook. Doing so allows for a power saving mode by transitioning the speaker to an off state when disconnected from the network or not in use.
Regarding claim 6 Cook in view of Hammer and Spitznagle teaches The wireless speaker according to claim 5, further comprising shift-to-off-state notification means for notifying, when the controller monitoring means detects that the wireless connection to the controller has been disconnected, the controller through Internet that each of the members of the group to which the own wireless speaker currently belongs, which are identified by the member information stored in the affiliated group information storage means, has shifted to the off state (See Cook ¶ [0095] lines 1-7, status updates are sent to the home profile either by the speaker, room coordinator, or house coordinator).
Regarding claim 7/6/5/1, Cook in view of Hammer and Spitznagle teaches A wireless audio system (See Cook Fig 2, wireless audio network), comprising: the plurality of wireless speakers of any one of claims 1 to 6; and a controller configured to remotely operate the plurality of wireless speakers (See Cook ¶ [0094], house coordinator unit), wherein the plurality of wireless speakers are wirelessly connected to an access point (See Cook Fig 2, speaker devices of a room all connected to same room coordinator unit), and wherein the controller is configured to instruct, when the controller is wirelessly connected to the access point, a predetermined wireless speaker of the plurality of wireless speakers to shift to an on state (See Cook ¶ [0094], house coordinator unit manages states of all devices in the network).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1 Claim Rejection - 112, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to claims 1-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of 05/06/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1 Claim Rejection - 101, filed 10/06/2025, with respect to claim 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of 05/06/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694