DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konno et al. (US 2006/0251408; hereinafter “Konno”).
Regarding claim 1, Konno discloses an intraoral device for determining the oral health characteristics of an oral cavity, the intraoral device comprising: a light source configured to emit light in a plurality of wavelengths within or about the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 189); a matrix array multispectral sensor configured to detect a plurality of spectral channels of a spectral image relating to the oral cavity, each of the plurality of spectral channels allowing transmission of a corresponding wavelength (e.g. ¶¶ 190); and a processor configured to: receive the detected plurality of spectral channels of the spectral image relating to the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 190-210); based on the received detected plurality of spectral channels, cause the light source to adjust the light emitted within or about the oral cavity to modify an image calibration of a subsequent spectral image (e.g. ¶¶ 18-19, 507, 537, etc.); and cause the matrix array multispectral sensor to capture the subsequent spectral image relating to the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 238-246).
Regarding claim 19, Konno teaches a method for determining the oral health characteristics of an oral cavity, the method comprising: emitting, via a light source, light in a plurality of wavelengths within or about the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 189-190); detecting, via a matrix array multispectral sensor, a plurality of spectral channels of a spectral image relating to the oral cavity, each of the plurality of spectral channels allowing transmission of a corresponding wavelength and receiving the detected plurality of spectral channels of the spectral image relating to the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 190-210); based on the received detected plurality of spectral channels, causing the light source to adjust the light emitted within or about the oral cavity to modify an image calibration of a subsequent spectral image (e.g. ¶¶ 18-19, 507, 537, etc.); and causing the matrix array multispectral sensor to capture a subsequent spectral image relating to the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 238-246).
Regarding claim 2, Konno discloses one or more reflective elements positioned within or about the intraoral device, wherein the one or more reflective elements are configured to reflect portions of the oral cavity into a field of view of the matrix array multispectral sensor (e.g. ¶¶ 474, 502, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Konno discloses the one or more reflective elements comprise at least one of a flat reflector, a concave reflector, or a convex reflector, wherein the flat reflector is configured to prevent elongation or shrinkage of the spectral image relating to the oral cavity and the concave or convex reflectors are configured to adjust a magnification or a curvature of the spectral image relating to the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 481, 597, 611).
Regarding claim 4, Konno discloses the processor is further configured to: determine a spectral transmission via the subsequent spectral image relating to the oral cavity in the adjusted emitted light; and perform a determination of a hard tissue condition based on the determined spectral transmission (e.g. ¶¶ 320, 486, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Konno discloses the matrix array multispectral sensor and the light source each comprise at least one polarizer configured to cross-polarize light emitted by the light source, the cross-polarizing of the light removing a specular reflection incident upon the matrix array multispectral sensor (e.g. ¶¶ 210, 568-580, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Konno discloses the matrix array multispectral sensor is mounted on at least one of an outside wall of the intraoral device, a top of a mount of the intraoral device, or a bottom of the mount of the intraoral device (e.g. ¶¶ 502).
Regarding claim 7, Konno discloses one or more color calibration devices configured to perform a color calibration of the spectral image relating to the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 507).
Regarding claim 8, Konno discloses the one or more calibration devices comprise a plurality of color calibration squares positioned in the field of view of the matrix array multispectral sensor (e.g. ¶¶ 507).
Regarding claim 9, Konno discloses the matrix array multispectral sensor comprises a fisheye lens configured to provide an ultrawide and close-up large field of view image of the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 481, 597, 611).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Konno discloses the intraoral device is a tray configured to be worn within the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 502).
Regarding claim 11, Konno discloses the processor is configured to cause the subsequent spectral image relating to the oral cavity in the adjusted emitted light to be displayed upon a display (e.g. ¶¶ 201-202).
Regarding claim 12, Konno discloses the processor is configured to diagnose, via artificial intelligence techniques, a tissue relating to the oral cavity based on the subsequent spectral image relating to the oral cavity in the adjusted emitted light (e.g. ¶¶ 320, 486, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Konno discloses the matrix array multispectral sensor comprises at least one of an RGB, RGB-IR, multispectral, or hyperspectral camera (e.g. ¶¶ 222-223, 247-248, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Konno discloses the light source comprises one or more of a light emitting diode, superluminescent diode, laser, or arc lamp (e.g. ¶¶ 211).
Regarding claim 15, Konno discloses at least one of a bite bar, tooth rest, or tongue retractor configured to accept portions of the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 502).
Regarding claim 16, Konno discloses the light source comprises a broadband light source (e.g. ¶¶ 91, 236, 244, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Konno discloses the matrix array multispectral sensor is configured to detect fluorescence or a biofilm on or about a tooth within the oral cavity (e.g. ¶¶ 308 – coating material; ¶¶ 349 – tooth color reference).
Regarding claim 18, Konno discloses the matrix array multispectral sensor is a distance sensor (e.g. ¶¶ 63, 683).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796