Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 19 July 2023. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of (E)-undec-9-enal, (E)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-dien-1-yl)but-2-en- 1-one, (2E,5E)-5,6,7-trimethylocta-2,5-dien-4-one, and 4-methyl-2-(2-methylprop-1-en-1-yl)tetrahydro-2H-pyran as specie 1, the shell of the core-shell microcapsules comprises a melamine-formaldehyde polymer as specie 2, and fabric care conditioner as specie 3 in the reply filed on 09 March 2026 is acknowledged. The response was made with traverse. Applicant argues a “restriction”, which is different groups. Breaking unity for different groups was not made. A species election was made and is final based on the findings below.
Where a single claim defines alternatives of a Markush group, the requirement of a technical interrelationship and the same or corresponding special technical features as defined in Rule 13.2, is considered met when the alternatives are of a similar nature. When the Markush grouping is for alternatives of chemical compounds, the alternatives are regarded as being of a similar nature where the following criteria are fulfilled:
(A) all alternatives have a common property or activity; AND
(B)(1) a common structure is present, that is, a significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives; OR
(B)(2) in cases where the common structure cannot be the unifying criteria, all alternatives belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds in the art to which the invention pertains.
The phrase “significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives” refers to cases where the compounds share a common chemical structure which occupies a large portion of their structures, or in case the compounds have in common only a small portion of their structures, the commonly shared structure constitutes a structurally distinctive portion in view of existing prior art, and the common structure is essential to the common property or activity.
The phrase “recognized class of chemical compounds” means that there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention, i.e. each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.
The chemical compounds of 2,6,10-trimethylundec-9-enal; 2-methyldecanal; undec-10-enal; (E)-undec-9-enal; 3,8,8,11a-tetramethyldodecahydro-1H-3,5a-epoxynaphtho[2,1-c]oxepine; 1,3,4,5,6,7-hexahydro-β,1,1,5,5-pentamethyl-2H-2,4a-methanonaphthalene-8-ethanol; decahydro-2,2,6,6,7,8,8-heptamethyl indenofuran; (4aR,5R,7aS,9R)-Octahydro-2,2,5,8,8,9a-hexamethyl-4H-4a,9-methanoazuleno[5,6-d]-1,3-dioxole; 7-isopentyl-2H-benzo[b][1,4]dioxepin-3(4H)-one; 8-(sec-butyl)-5,6,7,8-tetrahydroquinoline; 2-(2-methylpropyl)quinoline; 5-isopropyl-2-methylphenol; 5-tert-butyl-2-methyl-5-propyl-2H-furan; (E)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohex-2-en-1-yl)hepta-1,6-dien-3-one; (Z)-non-6-enal; (4S)-4,7,7-trimethyl-6-thiabicyclo[3.2.1]octane; 1-methoxy-4-methyl-benzene; 4-isopropylbenzonitrile; 4-isopropylbenzaldehyde; (E)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-dien-1-yl)but-2-en-1-one; 1-(2,6,6-trimethyl-1-cyclohex-3-enyl)but-2-en-1-one; (E)-dec-2-enal; (E)-dec-4-enal; 9-decenal; (E)-dodec-2-enal; (E)-4-((3aS,7aS)-hexahydro-1H-4,7-methanoinden-5(6H)-ylidene)butanal; ethyl cyclohexyl carboxylate; methyl 2,4-dihydroxy-3,6-dimethylbenzoate; (E)-undec-9-enenitrile; methyl oct-2-ynoate; 1-(5,5-dimethylcyclohex-1-en-1-yl)pent-4-en-1-one; 6-butan-2-yl-quinoline; (E)-2-methoxy-4-(prop-1-en-1-yl)phenol; 6-isopropyl-quinoline; (1-methyl-2-((1,2,2-trimethylbicyclo[3.1.0]hexan-3-yl)methyl)cyclo-propyl)methanol; bicyclo[2.2.2]oct-5-ene-2-carboxaldehyde; methyl non-2-ynoate; 10-isopropyl-2,7-dimethyl-1-oxaspiro[4.5]deca-3,6-diene; (E)-methyl non-2-enoate; 1-(3-methylbenzofuran-2-yl)ethanone; (2E,6Z)-nona-2,6-dienal; (2Z,6E)-nona-2,6-dien-1-ol; (Z)-non-6-enal; 2-methyl-4-propyl-1,3-oxathiane; 2-methyl-4-methylene-6-phenyltetrahydro-2H-pyran; 2-cyclohexylhepta-1,6-dien-3-one; (2E,5E)-5,6,7-trimethylocta-2,5-dien-4-one; 6-(sec-butyl)quinoline; dec-9-en-1-ol; 4-methyl-2-(2-methylprop-1-en-1-yl)tetrahydro-2H-pyran; 4-methyl-2-phenyl-3,6-dihydro-2H-pyran; 2,3,3-trimethyl-2,3-dihydro-1H-inden-1-one; 2,6,6-trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-dienecarbaldehyde; 1-(spiro[4.5]dec-6-en-7-yl)pent-4-en-1-one; 2-(p-tolyl)-acetaldehyde; 1-(cyclopropylmethyl)-4-methoxybenzene; (E)-undec-2-enal; (E)-hex-2-enal; (E)-tridec-2-enenitrile and (3E,5Z)-undeca-1,3,5-triene are not regarded as being of similar nature because: (1) the alternatives do not all share a common structure and (2) the alternatives do not all belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds.
The Examiner has provided a short list of some performance driving perfume ingredients at different concentrations.
The species [located in instant specification, page 4] are independent or distinct because the species exhibit different chemical, physical, and biological properties and thereby impart different characteristics to the composition. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. The same applies to species 2 and 3.
Applicant was required to elect four disclosed species for specie 1, the core-shell for specie 2, and a product for specie 3 that fall within the list for prosecution on the merits to which the claims were restricted if no generic claim was finally held to be allowable. The previous election is an election of species, not a restriction to break unity of invention, therefore the election is proper.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from consideration from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are under examination and the requirement for restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5,7, and 10-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (US 20180169603 A1) in view of Smets (US 20200283704 A1), and in further view of Moutte (US 20180193235 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Harrison teaches an encapsulated perfume composition comprising a plurality of microcapsules suspended in a suitable suspending medium (para 0007); wherein the microcapsules comprise of at least one perfume-containing core-shell (Abstract). Harrison further teaches that the microcapsules are formed from a shell-forming amino-aldehyde present in the emulsion, which forms encapsulating polymeric shells around perfume-containing droplets (para 0003). This structure satisfies a core of perfume and a shell surrounding the core. Harrison further teaches that the perfume ingredients depend on the composition’s electronegativity ranging from approximately 0.1 to 90 wt. % (para 0125-0126), thereby overlapping the claimed range. Harrison teaches the perfume composition may comprise one or more of perfume ingredients (para 0178), including (E)-undec-9-enal, (E)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-dien-1-yl)but-2-en- 1-one (para 0143), (2E,5E)-5,6,7-trimethylocta-2,5-dien-4-one (para 0170), and 4-methyl-2-(2-methylprop-1-en-1-yl)tetrahydro-2H-pyran (para 0179).
However, Harrison fails to teach the selection of at least four perfume ingredients within the composition.
In the same field of endeavor, Smets teaches a composition comprising encapsulates having a core and a shell surrounding the core, wherein the core includes a perfume (para 0009). Smets teaches that the perfume in the core contains a mixture of perfume raw materials of at least four, as a result, the mixture may provide a more complex and desirable aesthetic, and/or better perfume performance or longevity (para 0060).
With regard to the perfume ingredients, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use four or more perfume ingredients within the composition. The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the improvement in perfume performance of the base product of Harrison, consistent with the teachings of Smets.
With regard to claim 2, Harrison teaches that the perfume ingredients can range from approximately 0.1 to 90 wt.% (para 0125).
However, Harrison does not specify the concentration of each individual perfume ingredient.
Smets does not teach the specific perfume ingredients.
In the same field of endeavor, Moutte teaches a compacted perfume composition comprising microcapsules comprising an encapsulated perfume; wherein the microcapsules are core-shell microcapsules (para 0083). Moutte further teaches specific perfume ingredient and their respective concentrations based on the total weight of the perfume composition, including ((E)-undec-9-enal, 0.75%), ((E)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-dien-1-yl)but-2-en-1-one, 0.1%), ((2E,5E)-5,6,7-trimethylocta-2,5-dien-4-one 0.05%), and (4-methyl-2-(2-methylprop-1-en-1-yl)tetrahydro-2H-pyran, 0.4%) (para 0023-24). Notably, each of these disclosed concentrations fall below the claimed maximum limitation. Moreover, Moutte teaches that the total concentration of the at least four of the perfume ingredients, identified as Performance Markers, exceed 3% by weight of the compacted perfume composition (para 0020), and may be equal to or superior than their respective weight percentage listed (para 0025).
With regard to the concentration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to select and adjust perfume ingredient concentrations within the levels at or below the claimed maxima. With respect to optimal ranges, it is not inventive to discover such regimens by routine experimentation when general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP §2144.05(II). The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect such optimization constitutes nothing more than routine optimization and would have been expected to yield predictable improvements in fragrance performance and compositional balance to the base product of Harrison.
With regard to claim 3, Harrison teaches the perfume ingredients are present at a minimum of 0.01 wt.% in the encapsulated composition (para 0125).
With regard to claims 4-5, Harrison teaches perfume ingredients comprise (E)-undec-9-enal, (E)-1-(2,6,6-trimethylcyclohexa-1,3-dien-1-yl)but-2-en- 1-one (para 0143), (2E,5E)-5,6,7-trimethylocta-2,5-dien-4-one (para 0170), and 4-methyl-2-(2-methylprop-1-en-1-yl)tetrahydro-2H-pyran (para 0179), among other perfume ingredients (para 0170).
With regard to claim 7, Harrison teaches that a melamine-formaldehyde polymer may be used to form the microcapsule shell (para 0060).
With regard to claim 10, Harrison teaches that the volume average diameter (D 50) may range from 5 to 50 μm (para 0084).
With regard to claim 11, Harrison teaches a slurry of microcapsules dispersed in an aqueous suspending medium (para 0088).
With regard to claim 12, Harrison teaches the slurry may have solid content ranging from 20 to 60 wt.% (para 0081).
With regard to claim 13, as stated above, Harrison teaches the solid content in the slurry. Harrison further teaches that the “solid content” refers to the total weight of microcapsules (i.e., the combined weight of the shell material and core) (para 0081). Harrison also teaches that the microcapsules have a core-to-shell weight ratio of at least 8:2, and more preferably 9:1 (para 0087).
Converting these ratios to percentages, the shell material corresponds to approximately 20% (8:2) to 10% (9:1) of the microcapsule weight. Applying these proportions to the disclosed slurry solid content (20-60 wt.%), the shell material corresponds to approximately 2 to 12 wt.% of the slurry. Specifically, at the lower bound: 20% x 10-20% yields 2.0-4.0 wt.% of shell material; at the upper bound: 60% x 10-20% yields 6.0-12.0 wt.% of shell material (the percentages were converted to decimals, multiplied, and converted back to percentages). These calculations demonstrate that the shell material content overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claim 14, as stated above, Harrison teaches the microcapsules containing a core to shell weight ratio of at least 8:2, and more particularly at least 9:1 (para 0087), corresponding to approximately 10 to 20 wt.% shell material in the microcapsules, thereby overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claim 15, Harrison teaches that the encapsulated fragrance composition may be incorporated into a consumer product (para 0002).
With regard to claims 16 and 20, Harrison teaches that the consumer product may include fabric care products, household care, and personal care (para 0002), more specifically fabric conditioner bases (para 0010).
With regard to claim 17, as stated above, the shell material in the slurry ranges from approximately 2 to 12 wt.%. Harrison further teaches that, to achieve the desired perfume levels, approximately 0.1 to 3 wt.% of slurry into a consumer product base (para 0182).
Applying these proportions to the disclosed shell material in the slurry (2-12 wt.%) to slurry in the consumer product (0.1-3 wt.%), the shell material corresponds to approximately 0.002 to 0.36wt.% of the consumer product. Specifically, at the lower bound: 2% x 0.1% yields 0.002 wt.%; at the upper bound: 12% x 3% yields 0.36 wt.% (the percentages were converted to decimals, multiplied, and converted back to percentages). These calculations demonstrate that the shell material content overlap the claimed range.
With regard to claim 18, as stated above, Harrison teaches a slurry-solid content (microcapsules) of 20-60 wt.% (para 0081) and incorporation of slurry levels of 0.1 to 3 wt.% into a consumer product base (para 0081).
Applying these proportions to the disclosed microcapsules in the slurry (20-60 wt.%) to slurry in the consumer product (0.1-3 wt.%), the microcapsules corresponds to approximately 0.02 to 1.8 wt.% of the consumer product. Specifically, at the lower bound: 20% x 0.1% yields 0.02 wt.%; at the upper bound: 60% x 3% yields 1.8 wt.% (the percentages were converted to decimals, multiplied, and converted back to percentages). These calculations demonstrate that the microcapsule content overlap the claimed range.
With regard to claim 19, Harrison teaches a method of incorporating an encapsulated perfume composition into a consumer product (para 0017).
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Harrison (US 20180169603 A1) in view of Smets (US 20200283704 A1), and further in view of Moutte (US 20180193235 A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 7, and 10-20 above, and further in view of Xu (WO 2020131866 A1).
With regard to claim 6, Harrison does not teach that the perfume ingredients are biodegradable.
Smets does not teach the biodegradable property.
Moutte does not teach the degradability.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches a microcapsule composition comprising a plurality of microcapsules suspended in an aqueous phase (para 0031); wherein the microcapsules have a core-shell structure (Abstract) and active material (i.e., high-performing fragrance) (para 0010). Xu further teaches the microcapsule composition is biodegradable; defining “biodegradable” with respect to the microcapsule as a whole and/or a biopolymer of the microcapsule shell, that has no real or perceived health and/or environmental issues, and is capable of undergoing and/or does undergo physical, chemical, thermal, microbial and/or biological degradation (para 0032).
Additionally, Xu teaches the encapsulating polymer may be a poly(melamine-formaldehyde) (para 0079), and that the high performing fragrance may be selected from any Class 1-3 fragrance ingredients [refer to WO 2018071897 A1 for class list, Table 2, which includes (E)-undec-9-enal] (para 0096). Furthermore, Xu teaches a consumer product containing the microcapsule composition may be used for fabric care products (para 0014).
With regard to the biodegradability, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to expect that the perfume ingredients would likewise be biodegradable, particularly given that the microcapsules containing those ingredients are biodegradable. The cited references both contain closely related structure, components, and consumer use, however, one fails to disclose the biodegradable property. The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the biodegradability of the base product of Harrison, consistent with the teachings of Xu.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761