DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-3, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9 and 10, in the reply filed on September 8, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 6 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 8, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 19) “thread; ” should recite –thread; and--.
In claim 1 (line 24) “connecting block” should recite –connecting plate--.
In claim 9 (line 4) “of handle” should recite –of the handle--.
In claim 10 (line 6) “connecting block” should recite –connecting plate--.
In claim 10 (line 8) “connecting block” should recite –connecting plate--.
In claim 10 (line 11) “connecting block” should recite –connecting plate--.
In claim 10 (line 13) “connecting block” should recite –connecting plate--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer et al. (US 10,723,406) in view of Hsu (US 5,337,609).
As to claim 1, Brewer et al. disclose a folding joint comprising two connecting plates Q1,Q2 connected to two sections of rods 11a,11b,11a’,11b’ respectively, sides of the two connecting plates being hinged to each other, wherein two corresponding edges of opposite cooperating surfaces of the two connecting plates are provided with an upper boss 15b,15b’ and a lower boss 15c,15c’, a movable upper clamping block 21 and a moveable lower clamping block 21A with a groove on a side thereof are arranged at the upper boss and the lower boss of one of the connecting plates, respectively;
when the two connecting plates are close together, a concave edge of the groove on the side of the upper clamping block is capable of being in contact with a flange of the upper boss of each connecting plates simultaneously, and a concave edge of the groove on the side of the lower clamping block is capable of being in contact with a flange of the lower boss of each connecting plate simultaneously;
wherein the folding joint further comprises a screw rod 22, an upper end of screw rod is connected to a handle 19; and
the handle is configured to be rotated to apply or remove a clamping force to the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block, so that the concave edge of the groove of each of the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block is in contact with or separated from the flange of each of the upper boss and the lower boss of each connecting plate (Figures 1-2C).
Brewer et al. fail to disclose a folding joint wherein an upper section of the screw rod has a first thread connected to a thread of the upper clamping block, a lower section of the screw rod has a second thread connected to a thread of the lower clamping block, and a helical direction of the second thread is opposite to that of the first thread; and the handle is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread.
Hsu teaches a folding joint wherein an upper section of the screw rod 19 has a first thread 35 connected to a thread of an upper clamping block 20, a lower section of the screw rod has a second thread 36 connected to a thread of a lower clamping block 30, and a helical direction of the second thread is opposite to that of the first thread; and a head of the screw rod is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread, so that a concave edge of a groove of the upper clamping block is in contact with or moves away from a flange of an upper boss of each connecting plate 33,38; the threaded engagement between the upper and lower clamping blocks and the screw rod providing for tighter, more secure clamping of the clamping block against the connecting plate (Figures 2-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the folding joint disclosed by Brewer et al. wherein each clamping block is driven by oppositely threaded upper and lower seconds on the screw rod, as taught by Hsu, such that the handle is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread, in order to provide for tighter, more secure clamping of the clamping blocks against the connecting plates.
As to claim 2, Brewer et al. disclose a folding joint wherein the upper boss 15b,15b’ and the lower boss 15c,15c’ of each connecting plate Q1,Q2 are arranged inside the connecting plate (bosses 15b,15c,15b’,15c’ are arranged within the periphery of connecting plates Q1,Q2, and thus inside the connecting plates; Figures 1-2C).
As to claim 4, Brewer et al. disclose a folding joint wherein the flange of the upper boss 15b,15b’ and the lower boss 15c,15c’ of each connecting plate Q1,Q2 is trapezoidal or arc-shaped (Figures 1-2C).
As to claim 5, Brewer et al. disclose a folding joint wherein the two connecting plates Q1,Q2 are hinged through a biaxial connecting block 18 and two hinge shafts 15a,15a’ (Figures 1-2C).
As to claim 10, Brewer et al. as modified by Hsu disclose a folding joint wherein the first thread (35 Hsu Figure 2) is a right-hand thread, the upper clamping block 21 has a right-hand thread, the second thread (36 Hsu) is a left-handed thread, and the lower clamping block 21A has a left-hand thread;
when the handle 19 is rotated rightwards, the right-handed thread of the screw rod drives the upper clamping block to move upward, so that the concave edge of the groove of the upper clamping block is in contact with the flange of the upper boss 15b,15b’ of each connecting plate Q1,Q2, and the lower clamping block is driven to move downward, so that the concave edge of the groove of the lower clamping block is in contact with the flange of the lower boss 15c,15c’ of each connecting plate; and
when the handle is rotated leftwards, the right-handed thread of the screw rod 22 drives the upper clamping block to move down, so that the concave edge of the groove of the upper clamping block is separated from the flange of the upper boss of the each connecting plate, and the lower clamping block is driven to move upward, so that the concave edge of the groove of the lower clamping block is separated from the flange of the lower boss of each connecting plate (Figures 1-2C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 9, Brewer et al. in view of Hsu discloses the claimed folding joint with the exception of wherein one of the rods is provided with a safety buckle seat, the folding joint further comprises a safety buckle rotatably connected to the safety buckle seat, and the safety buckle is configured to be rotated to insert into a hole of the handle, so that the handle is locked and cannot rotate
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the folding joint disclosed by Brewer et al. in view of Hsu to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 1, Attorney argues that:
Hsu fails to teach or suggest modifying the folding joint disclosed by Brewer et al. wherein an upper section of the screw rod has a first thread connected to a thread of the upper clamping block, a lower section of the screw rod has a second thread connected to a thread of the lower clamping block, and a helical direction of the second thread is opposite to that of the first thread; and the handle is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Brewer et al. disclose a folding joint comprising a screw rod 22, an upper end of screw rod is connected to a handle 19; and the handle is configured to be rotated to apply or remove a clamping force to the upper clamping block 21 and the lower clamping block 21A, so that the concave edge of the groove of each of the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block is in contact with or separated from the flange of each of the upper boss 15b,15b’ and the lower boss 15c,15c’ of each connecting plate Q1,Q2 (Figures 1-2C).
Brewer et al. fail to disclose a folding joint wherein an upper section of the screw rod has a first thread connected to a thread of the upper clamping block, a lower section of the screw rod has a second thread connected to a thread of the lower clamping block, and a helical direction of the second thread is opposite to that of the first thread; and the handle is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread.
Hsu teaches a folding joint wherein an upper section of the screw rod 19 has a first thread 35 connected to a thread of an upper clamping block 20, a lower section of the screw rod has a second thread 36 connected to a thread of a lower clamping block 30, and a helical direction of the second thread is opposite to that of the first thread; and a head of the screw rod is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread, so that a concave edge of a groove of the upper clamping block is in contact with or moves away from a flange of an upper boss of each connecting plate 33,38; the threaded engagement between the upper and lower clamping blocks and the screw rod providing for tighter, more secure clamping of the clamping block against the connecting plate (Figures 2-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the folding joint disclosed by Brewer et al. wherein each clamping block is driven by oppositely threaded upper and lower seconds on the screw rod, as taught by Hsu, such that the handle is configured to be rotated to drive the upper clamping block and the lower clamping block to move in opposite directions through the first thread and the second thread, in order to provide for tighter, more secure clamping of the clamping blocks against the connecting plates.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
01/14/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619