DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed on 4/6/2026.
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1, 7 and 12 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 5-6 and 21 was/were cancelled; Claim(s) 1, 7 and 12 is/are independent claims. Claims 1-4 and 7-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant is arguing in the remarks (pages 7-9) that Tsai does not teach "wherein the swivel hinge comprises an aperture through which an electrical pathway from the imaging device is routed, wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate,from rotating past 180 degrees," as recited in claim 1. Thus, Tsai fails to teach or suggest each and every element of amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Tsai in the combination of Tsai and Chen does teach wherein the swivel hinge (46) includes an aperture (through aperture hole for routing cable 33) through which an electrical pathway from the imaging device is routed, wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees (Figs. 1, 5; col. 4, lines 28-62; the aperture has “first protrusion 44” that prevents the “second protrusion 371” from rotating past about 180 degrees at P0 position relative to 0 degree at P1 position; please see below for reproduced figures 7 with added annotations for better showing the examiner’s position).
For the reason above, the Examiner respectfully submits that the combination does teach the features as claimed in claim 1 and also in claims 7 and 12 for the same reasons.
Moreover, the Examiner also includes an alternative rejection in view of Cheul (KR_20110139071_A) for expressly teaching exact 180 rotation below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 7-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is suggested to be amended as “wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathwayand also the swivel plate from rotating past about 180 degrees” for better claim flow.
Claims 7 and 12 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 are also objected for the same reason above.
Remaining claims are also objected for being dependent of the base claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the imaging device" in line 3 counted from the claim bottom. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-16 are also rejected for being dependent of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US 7,563,040 B2) in view of Chen (US 20080007900).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches An apparatus (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a housing (30) comprising an imaging device (31);
a tilt structure (362, 375) connected to the housing to tilt the housing about a first axis (Y) (Fig. 5);
a swivel structure (361, 373, 43-46) connected to the tilt structure to rotate the housing (30) about a second axis (Z) perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 5); and
a rail structure (40) connected to the swivel structure, wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism (42) to interface with a track (20) of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing is translatable along the track
wherein the swivel structure includes:
a swivel plate (361, 373) connected to the tilt structure (362, 375); and
a swivel hinge (46) connected to the rail structure (Figs. 1-5), wherein the swivel plate is rotatable relative to the swivel hinge at least 180 degrees to enable the imaging device to face a first direction relative to the computing device housing and an opposite second direction relative to the computing device housing (Figs. 5-7; col. 4, line 45: “When the video camera 30 is rotated about the, Z-axis, the second protrusion 371 is rotated together with the video camera 30. Rotation of the video camera 30 continues until the second protrusion 371 contacts the first protrusion 44. Thus, the rotational angle of the video camera 30 about the Z-axis is limited for avoiding damage to the power and signal cable 33 arising from excessive torsion”; figs. 7A-B show that the imaging device 30 is rotated clockwise from a first angle position [fig. 5, 7A] to an opposite second angle position [fig. 7B] with more than 180 degrees; the first protrusion 44 only limits the rotation angle to about 45 degrees while still allowing the rotation angle up to about 360-45=315 degrees),
wherein the swivel hinge (46) includes an aperture (through aperture hole for routing cable 33) through which an electrical pathway from the imaging device is routed, wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees (Figs. 1, 5; col. 4, lines 28-62; the aperture has “first protrusion 44” that prevents the “second protrusion 371” from rotating past about 180 degrees at P0 position relative to 0 degree at P1 position; please see above for reproduced figures 7 with added annotations for better showing the examiner’s position),
but fails to teach
wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism to interface with a track of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing is translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chen teaches
wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism (24) to interface with a track (23) of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing (30) is translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis (Figs. 2-5; paras. 0023-0024; a sliding mechanism allowing the camera 30 to be positioned at any locations along the frame of the computer’s display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chen in Tsai to have wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism to interface with a track of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing is translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis for providing another device configuration with a sliding mechanism allowing the camera to be positioned at any locations along the frame of the computer’s display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Chen teaches wherein the sliding mechanism includes a drum (242) to interface with the track (23) such that the drum is to slide along the track in response to the housing translating along the track (Figs. 2-5; paras. 0023-0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chen in the combination to have wherein the sliding mechanism includes a drum to interface with the track such that the drum is to slide along the track in response to the housing translating along the track for allowing the camera to be slidably positioned at any fixed locations along the frame of the computer’s display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Chen teaches wherein the sliding mechanism includes a channel beam (243) to interface with the track (23) such that the channel beam is to slide along the track in response to the housing translating along the track (Figs. 2-5; paras. 0023-0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chen in the combination to have wherein the sliding mechanism includes a channel beam to interface with the track such that the channel beam is to slide along the track in response to the housing translating along the track for allowing the camera to be slidably positioned at any fixed locations along the frame of the computer’s display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches An apparatus (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a housing (30) comprising an imaging device (31) (Fig. 5); and
a tilt structure (362, 381, 391, 383, 397), wherein the tilt structure includes:
an attachment plate (plate 381) connected to the housing; and
a tilt ramp (curve 362) to interface with the attachment plate such that the housing is tiltable via the tilt ramp about a first axis (Y) (Fig. 5);
a swivel structure (361, 373, 43-46) connected to the tilt ramp such that the housing and the tilt structure are rotatable about the swivel structure about a second axis (Z) perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 5); and
a rail structure (40) connected to the swivel structure, wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism (42) to interface with a track of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing, the tilt structure, and the swivel structure are translatable along the track
wherein the swivel structure includes:
a swivel plate (361, 373) connected to the tilt structure (362, 375); and
a swivel hinge (46) connected to the rail structure (Figs. 1-5), wherein the swivel plate is rotatable relative to the swivel hinge at least 180 degrees to enable the imaging device to face a first direction relative to the computing device housing and an opposite second direction relative to the computing device housing (Figs. 5-7; col. 4, line 45: “When the video camera 30 is rotated about the, Z-axis, the second protrusion 371 is rotated together with the video camera 30. Rotation of the video camera 30 continues until the second protrusion 371 contacts the first protrusion 44. Thus, the rotational angle of the video camera 30 about the Z-axis is limited for avoiding damage to the power and signal cable 33 arising from excessive torsion”; figs. 7A-B show that the imaging device 30 is rotated clockwise from a first angle position [fig. 5, 7A] to an opposite second angle position [fig. 7B] with more than 180 degrees),
wherein the swivel hinge (46) includes an aperture (through aperture hole for routing cable 33) through which an electrical pathway from the imaging device is routed, wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees (the aperture has “first protrusion 44” that prevents the “second protrusion 371” from rotating past about 180 degrees at P0 position relative to 0 degree at P1 position; please see above for reproduced figures 7 with added annotations for better showing the examiner’s position),
but fails to teach
wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism to interface with a track of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing, the tilt structure, and the swivel structure are translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chen teaches
wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism (24) to interface with a track (23) of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing (30), the tilt structure (taught by Tsai above), and the swivel structure (Chen’s 241; taught by Tsai above) are translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis (Figs. 2-5; paras. 0023-0024; a sliding mechanism allowing the camera to be positioned at any locations along the frame of the computer’s display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chen in Tsai to have wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism to interface with a track of a computing device housing of a computer such that the housing, the tilt structure, and the swivel structure are translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis for providing another device configuration with a sliding mechanism allowing the camera to be positioned at any locations along the frame of the computer’s display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 7. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the tilt ramp includes a tilt track (362) (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 8. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the attachment plate (381, 391) includes a protrusion (395) to interface with the tilt track such that the protrusion is translatable along the tilt track to cause the housing to be tiltable via the tilt ramp (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 8. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the attachment plate (81, 391) includes a spindle (383, 397) to interface with the tilt track (362) such that the spindle is translatable along the tilt track to cause the housing to be tiltable via the tilt ramp (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches A system (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a computing device housing (1) of a computer, comprising a frame and a track (20) (Figs. 1-2); and
an imaging device housing (30), comprising:
a housing (30);
a tilt structure (362, 375) connected to the housing such that the housing is tiltable about the first axis (Y) (Fig. 5);
a swivel structure (361, 373, 43-46) connected to the tilt structure such that the housing and the tilt structure are rotatable about the swivel structure about a second axis (Z) perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 5); and
a rail structure (40) connected to the swivel structure, wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism (42) to interface with the track of the computing device housing such that the housing, the tilt structure, and the swivel structure are translatable along the track
wherein the swivel structure includes:
a swivel plate (361, 373) connected to the tilt structure (362, 375); and
a swivel hinge (46) connected to the rail structure (Figs. 1-5), wherein the swivel plate is rotatable relative to the swivel hinge at least 180 degrees to enable the imaging device to face a first direction relative to the computing device housing and an opposite second direction relative to the computing device housing (Figs. 5-7; col. 4, line 45: “When the video camera 30 is rotated about the, Z-axis, the second protrusion 371 is rotated together with the video camera 30. Rotation of the video camera 30 continues until the second protrusion 371 contacts the first protrusion 44. Thus, the rotational angle of the video camera 30 about the Z-axis is limited for avoiding damage to the power and signal cable 33 arising from excessive torsion”; figs. 7A-B show that the imaging device 30 is rotated clockwise from a first angle position [fig. 5, 7A] to an opposite second angle position [fig. 7B] with more than 180 degrees),
wherein the swivel hinge (46) includes an aperture (through aperture hole for routing cable 33) through which an electrical pathway from the imaging device is routed, wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees (the aperture has “first protrusion 44” that prevents the “second protrusion 371” from rotating past about 180 degrees at P0 position relative to 0 degree at P1 position; please see above for reproduced figures 7 with added annotations for better showing the examiner’s position),
but fails to teach
wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism to interface with the track of the computing device housing such that the housing, the tilt structure, and the swivel structure are translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chen teaches
wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism (24) to interface with the track (23) of the computing device (20) housing such that the housing (30), the tilt structure (taught by Tsai above), and the swivel structure (Chen’s 241; taught by Tsai above) are translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis (Figs. 2-5; paras. 0023-0024; a sliding mechanism allowing the camera to be positioned at any locations along the frame of the computer’s display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chen in Tsai to have wherein the rail structure comprises a sliding mechanism to interface with the track of the computing device housing such that the housing, the tilt structure, and the swivel structure are translatable along the track perpendicular to the second axis for providing another device configuration with a sliding mechanism allowing the camera to be positioned at any locations along the frame of the computer’s display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 12. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the imaging device housing includes an imaging device (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 13. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein:
the swivel structure includes a swivel hinge (46) having an aperture (Fig. 5); and
the imaging device is electrically connected to a processor included in the computing device housing via an electrical pathway from the imaging device through the aperture of the swivel hinge to the processor (Figs. 1, 5; col. 4, lines 28-62).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 12. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the imaging device housing is detachable from the computing device housing (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 12. In addition, Chen teaches wherein the track is recessed within the computing device housing (Figs. 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Chen in the combination to have wherein the track is recessed within the computing device housing for allowing the camera to be positioned at any locations along a track within the frame of the computer’s display yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 7. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the housing is detachable from the computing device housing (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the housing is detachable from the computing device housing (Figs. 1-5).
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US 7,563,040 B2) in view of Chen (US 20080007900) as applied to claim 1 or 7, and further in view of Matthews et al (US 20180023755 A1) or Vera et al (US 20070070198 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Chen teaches wherein the sliding mechanism
but fails to teach
wherein the sliding mechanism includes a wheel to interface with the track such that the wheel is to rotate in response to the housing translating along the track.
However, in the same field of endeavor Matthews teaches
wherein the sliding mechanism includes a wheel to interface with the track such that the wheel is to rotate in response to the housing translating along the track (Figs. 1, 5; para. 0048; roller wheels 22 roll on the track to allow the housing 10 translating along the track 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Matthews in the combination to have wherein the sliding mechanism includes a wheel to interface with the track such that the wheel is to rotate in response to the housing translating along the track for enabling smooth slide along the track preventing a chance of lockup yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 7. In addition, Chen teaches wherein the sliding mechanism
but fails to teach
wherein the sliding mechanism includes a wheel connected to the sliding mechanism via an axle, wherein the wheel is to interface with the track such that the housing is translatable along the track via the wheel.
However, in the same field of endeavor Matthews teaches
wherein the sliding mechanism includes a wheel connected to the sliding mechanism via an axle, wherein the wheel is to interface with the track such that the housing is translatable along the track via the wheel (Figs. 1, 5; para. 0048; roller wheels 22 having axles roll on the track to allow the housing 10 translating along the track 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Matthews in the combination to have wherein the sliding mechanism includes a wheel connected to the sliding mechanism via an axle, wherein the wheel is to interface with the track such that the housing is translatable along the track via the wheel for enabling smooth slide along the track preventing a chance of lockup yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Vera’s wheels can be used in place of Matthews to teach the features for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US 7,563,040 B2) in view of Chen (US 20080007900) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Khamsepoor et al (US 20110243548 A1).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein the housing further comprises a sensor, wherein the sensor includes at least one of a microphone, an activity sensor, a color sensor, or a time-of- flight sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Khamsepoor teaches
wherein the housing (105) further comprises a sensor, wherein the sensor includes at least one of a microphone, an activity sensor, a color sensor, or a time-of- flight sensor (Figs. 1-7; para. 0024; “a light meter 145, a microphone 150”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Khamsepoor in the combination to have wherein the housing further comprises a sensor, wherein the sensor includes at least one of a microphone, an activity sensor, a color sensor, or a time-of- flight sensor for providing additional sensors in the camera housing improving functionalities of the system yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tsai, Chen and Khamsepoor teaches everything as claimed in claim 19. In addition, Tsai teaches wherein the swivel structure is to rotate the housing about the second axis so that the imaging device and the sensor face a different direction (Figs. 1-5).
Additional/Alternative Rejections
As presented above, the combination of Tsai and Chen teaches claim 1 as presented above. In an alternative, Tsai teaches
wherein the swivel hinge (46) includes an aperture (through aperture hole for routing cable 33) through which an electrical pathway from the imaging device is routed, wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate
but fails to teach
wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees.
However, in the same field of endeavor Cheul (KR_20110139071_A) teaches
wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees (Figs. 1-13; page 4, line 25: “whereby the folder case 2 is maintained rotated 180 degrees with respect to the rotation case 3. At this time, while the locking projection 161 of the rotary limit washer 160 fixed to the rotary shaft member 130 contacts one end of the stopper 115, further rotation is restricted”; aperture 112 of swivel hinge 110 with stopper 115 to maintain rotated 180 degrees from 0 degree).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Cheul in the combination to have wherein the aperture allows the electrical pathway to swivel with the swivel plate but prevents the electrical pathway, and therefore the swivel plate, from rotating past about 180 degrees for providing a swivel configuration that allows fixed 180 degree rotation so that accurate and quick rotation switch between front and back photography can be obtained yielding a predicted result.
Claims 7 and 12 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 are also rejected for the same reason above.
Remaining dependent claims are also rejected for the same reasons presented above in combination of Cheul.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637