DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claim 1 is pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Devaraju et al. (J’nal of Sol-Gel Sci. & Tech.’ 2011).
Applicant claims the following method for producing a benzoxazine compound:
This reference discloses Applicant’s method on page 4, right column, Scheme 3. (See Abstract and pages 33-40). The methods read on the instant claim. Since this reference teaches the exact methods, Applicant’s claims are anticipated, and thus, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoichi Kudo et al., (JP2011-530570) in view of Kincaid et al., (JP201452170).
Applicant claims the following method for producing a benzoxazine compound:
Ryoichi Kudo discloses a method for producing a benzoxazine compound in by reacting a phenolic compound, an aldehyde and an aliphatic amino alcohol to produce a benzoxazine compound. (See paragraphs [0024]-[0028], compounds (B-VI), (B-VII) and claims).
Ryoichi Kudo differs from Applicant in that the starting materials that are mixed is different.
Kincaid teaches a method for producing a benzoxazine compound in which a reaction solution that includes a solvent and reactants that include a phenol compound, an amine compound, and an aldehyde compound, and since the reaction is exothermic, the phenol compound is dissolved in the solvent system first, then the aldehyde compound is added to the system, and after mixing thoroughly, the amine compound is added in portions continuously (see paragraph [0048] and examples).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention looking for an alternative method to produce a benzoxazine compound would be motivated to combine the methods of and Ryoichi Kudo and Kincaid. One skilled in the art familiar with producing a benzoxazine compound of Ryoichi Kudo and Kincaid would easily conceive of adopting the way in which the starting materials are mixed in Kincade in the production of the benzoxazine compound described in Ryochi Kudo. Additionally, a person skilled in the art could easily use the phenolic compound and the amino alcohol described in Ryochi Kudo to produce a compound that had a different substituent from the benzoxazine compound described Thus, one skilled in the art looking for an alternative method to produce a benzoxazine compound would be motivated to combine the methods of Ryochi Kudo and Kincaid.
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Ryochi Kudo and Kincaid, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert et al., (J’nal of Polymer Res’2018) et al., in view of Kincaid et al., (JP201452170).
Applicant claims the following method for producing a benzoxazine compound:
Gilbert discloses a method for producing a benzoxazine compound in which bisphenol A, paraformaldehyde and ethanolamine are reacted to produce a benzoxazine compound. (See page 4, Scheme 3, Synthesis of BzPOH).
Gilbert differs from Applicant in that the starting materials that are mixed is different.
Gilbert discloses a method for producing a benzoxazine compound in by reacting a phenolic compound, an aldehyde and an aliphatic amino alcohol to produce a benzoxazine compound. (See paragraphs [0024]-[0028], compounds (B-VI), (B-VII) and claims).
Gilbert differs from Applicant in that the starting materials are mixed is different.
Kincaid teaches a method for producing a benzoxazine compound in which a reaction solution that includes a solvent and reactants that include a phenol compound, an amine compound, and an aldehyde compound, and since the reaction is exothermic, the phenol compound is dissolved in the solvent system first, then the aldehyde compound is added to the system, and after mixing thoroughly, the amine compound is added in portions continuously (see paragraph [0048] and examples).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention looking for an alternative method to produce a benzoxazine compound would be motivated to combine the methods of and Gilbert and Kincaid. One skilled in the art familiar with producing a benzoxazine compound of Gilbert and Kincaid would easily conceive of adopting the way in which the starting materials are mixed in Kincade in the production of the benzoxazine compound described in Gilbert. Additionally, a person skilled in the art could easily use the phenolic compound and the amino alcohol described in Gilbert to produce a compound that had a different substituent from the benzoxazine compound described Thus, one skilled in the art looking for an alternative method to produce a benzoxazine compound would be motivated to combine the methods of Gilbert and Kincaid.
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Gilbert and Kincaid, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Claim 1 is pending. Claim 1 is rejected. No claims are allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622