RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1 and 3-9 are pending in the application, claim 2 has been cancelled.
Amendments to claim 1, filed on filed on Oct. 14, 2025, have been entered in the above-identified application.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections made of record in office action mailed July 23, 2025 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed October 14, 2025.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clare (US PG Pub No. 2016/0339663) in view of Ogi et al. (WO 2020/217931). See English translation of WO 2020/217931 for prior art discussion.
Regarding Applicant’s claims 1, 5, 6 and 9, Clare discloses a food packaging bag (stand up pouch, abstract) formed from a layered film (inner web layer, para. [0049]). The layered film comprises an outermost polyethylene sealant layer (B3, para. [0052]), a HDPE base layer (B2, para. [0051]), and a layer made of polyethylene (B1, paragraph [0050]). The HDPE base layer adds strength to the packaging (para. 0064]). Clare further discloses the high-density polyethylene having a density of about 0.95 to about 0.970 g/cc (para. [0059]) and a melt mass-flow rate of 0.1 to 10 g/10 min (para. [0097]) under conditions of a temperature of 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg (para. [0138]).
Clare fails to disclose the HDPE layer contains ultra- high-molecular-weight polyethylene particles.
Ogi discloses a polyethylene resin film used in food packaging (para. [0001] and [0003]). The contains 90 parts by mass of a polyethylene resin and 0.2-2 parts by mass polyethylene resin particles (para. [0012], [0016] and [0022]). The polyethylene resin particles comprise an ultra- high-molecular-weight polyethylene a density of 0.930 to 0.960 g/cm, a weight-average molecular weight of 1,500,000 or more (para. [0014]), and an average grain diameter of 5 to 15 µm (para. [0015]). The particles make is more likely for the film to achieve slipperiness, blocking resistance, and scratch resistance, making it less likely for wrinkles or lumps to occur during bag making processes, and transparency is also more easily maintained (para. [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, add 0.2-2 parts by mass of ultra- high-molecular-weight polyethylene particles as taught by Ogi to the HDPE base layer of Clare making it less likely for wrinkles or lumps to occur during bag making processes, and transparency is also more easily maintained of Clare’s packaging.
Regarding Applicant’s claims 3 and 4, Clare discloses that an opacifying agent, such as titanium dioxide (para. [0208]), in the about of 0.5-15 parts per mass (para. [0209]) can be add to at least one layer of the packaging (para. [0201]). The opacifying agent reduces light transmission through the matrix material (para. [0202]).
Regarding Applicant’s claims 7 and 8, the limitations in claims 7 and 8 are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the process produces unexpected results. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. MPEP 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Dou discloses the same base layer composition blend.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed October 14, 2025 regarding the 103 rejections in the office action mailed July 23, 2025 of record have been considered but are moot since the rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788 01/12/2026