DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 02/13/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/13/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 13-17, 20, 23-24, 26, 28-29 and 31-32 are pending
Claims 1, 8 and 13 are amended
Claims 4-5, 7, 9-12, 18-19, 21-22, 25, 27, 30 and 33-45 are canceled
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 13-17, 20, 23-24, 26, 28-29 and 31-32 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 13, 20, 23-24, 29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230049998 A1), hereinafter referenced as Li, in view of Sha et al. (US 20220322127 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sha, and further in view of Tooher et al. (US 20230189055 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tooher.
Regarding claims 1, Li teaches an information communication method (Para. [0008-0009]-Li discloses schemes, solutions, concepts, designs, methods and systems ... associated with difference in propagation delays between NTN communications and TN communications … method may involve a UE establishing communications with a TN node in a TN. The method may also involve the UE establishing communications with an NTN node in an NTN. The method may further involve the UE compensating for a first propagation delay in the communications between the UE and the NTN node by the UE, with the UE being able to obtain a second propagation delay between the UE and the NTN node. Para. [0070]-Li discloses implementations, apparatus 810 may further include a memory 814 coupled to processor 812 and capable of being accessed by processor 812 and storing data therein. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may also include a transceiver 826 coupled to processor 822 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may further include a memory 824 coupled to processor 822 and capable of being accessed by processor 822 and storing data therein), comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a first parameter (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3))
sending, by the terminal, the first parameter through a random access uplink message (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3). Para. [0051]-Li discloses in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, the timing advance value may be adjusted by a base station (e.g., base station 120) so that UL data reception at the base station may be timing aligned)
the network-side instruction indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter (Para. [0042]-Li discloses given that value ranges of the maximum differential delay may be very different in TN, LEO, medium-Earth-orbit (MEO) and GEO, the bit widths of timing advance command (TAC) in RAR may be different for various mobile communication networks. For instance, base station 120 may broadcast bit width(s) of TAC in system information ... UE 110 may choose a suitable bit width of TAC based on the type of mobile communication network in which UE 110 is to engage in wireless communications).
Li fails to teach parameter comprising a burst spread parameter according to a network-side instruction, … wherein the network-side instruction indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter: or wherein the network-side instruction is an instruction in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, Release message; when the terminal is in an idle state and does not leave a current cell, and/or, when the terminal is in an inactive state and does not leave a random access network area, the network-side instruction is valid.
However, Sha teaches determining, by a terminal, a first parameter comprising a burst spread parameter according to a network-side instruction (Fig. 6A, Para. [0079]-Sha discloses 5GC sends a burst spread reporting indication to UE, ... The UE records the burst spread information. In an example, the burst spread information that is recorded may include one or more of a burst spread record list per packet, a burst spread range, a maximal burst spread value before the burst arrival value, the minimal burst spread before the burst arrival value (e.g., with a negative value to indicate the maximal burst spread value before the burst arrival value), or the maximal burst spread value after the burst arrival value. Finally, the UE reports the burst spread record to 5GC);
the network-side instruction indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter:or wherein the network-side instruction is an instruction in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, Release message; when the terminal is in an idle state and does not leave a current cell, and/or, when the terminal is in an inactive state and does not leave a random access network area, the network-side instruction is valid (Para. [0083]-Sha discloses Preconfigured Uplink Resource (PUR) is introduced in NB-IoT/eMTC for UE transmission in the idle state (e.g., eNB configures PUR resource in RRCConnectionRelease message, and UE in the idle state can send PUSCH over the configured PUR resource). PUR and/or RRC_INACTIVE Data Transmission (IDT) in NR is used for UE transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE state. In this case, the UL resource will be preconfigured, and UE can perform transmissions over the preconfigured UL resource. If the preconfigured resource is not suitable (e.g., the time domain does not match the data, ..., the PUR and/or IDT resource cannot be used ... In order to more efficiently utilize resources, this information should be made aware to the eNB/gNB for PUR and/or IDT resource configuration optimization. Para. [0080]-Sha discloses UE reports the burst spread record to the gNB, which can be sent by UL UE specific RRC message or MAC CE. Para. [0086]-Sha discloses the UL UE specific RRC message can be UL RRC message in PUR and/or IDT transmission procedure, EDT message 3, RRC message 5, or UE Information Response (e.g., UEInformationResponse) message. In another example, the PUR and/or IDT resource suitability related information includes burst spread information, burst TBS information, TA invalid indication, no data transmission, fallback for large TBS, fallback for TA invalid, PUR and/or IDT configuration identity, etc).
Li and Sha are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with quality of service and quality of experience.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Sha on burst spread, with a motivation for the UE to determine burst spread based on network instruction, and guarantee timing handling mechanism for integrating TN and NTN communications, (Li, Para. [0006]).
Li fails to teach sending, by the terminal, the first parameter through a random access uplink message before entering a radio resource control connected state … wherein the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter; wherein the terminal determines the first parameter in an RRC idle state or inactive state.
However, Tooher teaches sending, by the terminal, the first parameter through a random access uplink message before entering a radio resource control connected state (Para. [0135-0138]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may select an RRC configuration or one or more parameters of an RRC configuration (e.g., as described herein), for example, based on an instantaneous performance of a QoS parameter … There may be impacts on QoS parameters. A WTRU may be triggered to perform a task, for example, due to a condition being met (e.g., for at least one of the aforementioned RRC configuration parameters). A trigger may be tied to one or more QoS parameters, a measurement, a WTRU position, and/or an indication from a gNB. A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell. Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer));
the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter (Para. [0138]-Tooher discloses A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell. Para. [0003]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may combine or remap data flows, for example, upon triggering one or more QoS remapping conditions or upon transitioning between QoS states (e.g., by applying a configured non-default mapping rule). A WTRU may indicate a data flow remapping, for example, by triggering a BSR/SR (e.g., a new BSR/SR) or by multiplexing an indication in the PDU. A WTRU may apply a non-default set of LCP parameters for an LCH, for example, after transitioning into a QoS state, triggering a QoS remapping condition, or receiving an LCP parameter suspension/override indication from a base station (e.g., gNB). A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond to one or more (e.g., a set of) parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels ... WTRU may determine, indicate, and/or receive an indication of a burst spread, for example, based on one or more triggers. A QoS adaptation state may be changed, for example, when a burst spread begins/ends. Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). Para. [0110]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may adapt configured LCP parameters (e.g., semi-statically configured LCP parameters) for a logical channel (e.g., as a function of a current QoS state). PAra. [0114]-Tooher discloses A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. Para. [0125]-Tooher discloses WTRU may perform at least one of the following actions, for example, if a state transition occurs (e.g., according to an event described herein): (i) re-establish PDCP and/or RLC entities for at least one radio bearer (e.g., a set of radio bearers of the QoS adaptation group); (ii) initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure);
the terminal determines the first parameter in an RRC idle state or inactive state (Para. [0098]-Tooher discloses a QoS remapping trigger/condition may include, for example, an RRC state. A WTRU may trigger a QoS remapping based on a condition occurring in a subset of RRC states, for example, in connected mode and/or for (e.g., small) data transmitted in inactive mode. Para. [0138]-Tooher discloses a triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell or another cell ... and/or (vi) changing an activity state (e.g., CONNECTED mode, IDLE mode, or INACTIVE mode). Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses WTRU may receive an indication that a burst spread has begun. The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, upon reception of the burst spread indication. The WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer) ... The WTRU may be triggered to provide updates of the burst spread, for example, if the value of the burst spread has changed).
Tooher is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with quality of service features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li in view of Sha to incorporate the teachings of Tooher on QoS features, with a motivation for random access transimission of mapped LCH, DRB and burst spread, and guarantee timing handling mechanism for integrating TN and NTN communications, (Li, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches An information communication method (Para. [0008-0009]-Li discloses schemes, solutions, concepts, designs, methods and systems ... associated with difference in propagation delays between NTN communications and TN communications … method may involve a UE establishing communications with a TN node in a TN. The method may also involve the UE establishing communications with an NTN node in an NTN. The method may further involve the UE compensating for a first propagation delay in the communications between the UE and the NTN node by the UE, with the UE being able to obtain a second propagation delay between the UE and the NTN node. Para. [0070]-Li discloses implementations, apparatus 810 may further include a memory 814 coupled to processor 812 and capable of being accessed by processor 812 and storing data therein. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may also include a transceiver 826 coupled to processor 822 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may further include a memory 824 coupled to processor 822 and capable of being accessed by processor 822 and storing data therein), comprising:
receiving a random access uplink message (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3));
obtaining a first parameter … from the random access uplink message (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3). Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3)).
Li fails to teach obtaining a first parameter comprising a burst spread parameter from the random access uplink message … the first parameter is determined according to a network-side instruction; wherein the network-side instruction indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter; or wherein the network-side instruction is an instruction in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, Release message; when the terminal is in an idle state and does not leave a current cell, and/or, when the terminal is in an inactive state and does not leave a random access network area, the network-side instruction is valid.
However, Sha teaches obtaining a first parameter comprising a burst spread parameter from the random access uplink message (Fig. 6A, Para. [0079]-Sha discloses 5GC sends a burst spread reporting indication to UE, ... The UE records the burst spread information. In an example, the burst spread information that is recorded may include one or more of a burst spread record list per packet, a burst spread range, a maximal burst spread value before the burst arrival value, the minimal burst spread before the burst arrival value (e.g., with a negative value to indicate the maximal burst spread value before the burst arrival value), or the maximal burst spread value after the burst arrival value. Finally, the UE reports the burst spread record to 5GC);
the first parameter is determined according to a network-side instruction (Fig. 6A, Para. [0079]-Sha discloses 5GC sends a burst spread reporting indication to UE, ... The UE records the burst spread information. In an example, the burst spread information that is recorded may include one or more of a burst spread record list per packet, a burst spread range, a maximal burst spread value before the burst arrival value, the minimal burst spread before the burst arrival value (e.g., with a negative value to indicate the maximal burst spread value before the burst arrival value), or the maximal burst spread value after the burst arrival value. Finally, the UE reports the burst spread record to 5GC);
the network-side instruction indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter; or wherein the network-side instruction is an instruction in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, Release message; when the terminal is in an idle state and does not leave a current cell, and/or, when the terminal is in an inactive state and does not leave a random access network area, the network-side instruction is valid (Para. [0083]-Sha discloses Preconfigured Uplink Resource (PUR) is introduced in NB-IoT/eMTC for UE transmission in the idle state (e.g., eNB configures PUR resource in RRCConnectionRelease message, and UE in the idle state can send PUSCH over the configured PUR resource). PUR and/or RRC_INACTIVE Data Transmission (IDT) in NR is used for UE transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE state. In this case, the UL resource will be preconfigured, and UE can perform transmissions over the preconfigured UL resource. If the preconfigured resource is not suitable (e.g., the time domain does not match the data, ..., the PUR and/or IDT resource cannot be used ... In order to more efficiently utilize resources, this information should be made aware to the eNB/gNB for PUR and/or IDT resource configuration optimization. Para. [0080]-Sha discloses UE reports the burst spread record to the gNB, which can be sent by UL UE specific RRC message or MAC CE. Para. [0086]-Sha discloses the UL UE specific RRC message can be UL RRC message in PUR and/or IDT transmission procedure, EDT message 3, RRC message 5, or UE Information Response (e.g., UEInformationResponse) message. In another example, the PUR and/or IDT resource suitability related information includes burst spread information, burst TBS information, TA invalid indication, no data transmission, fallback for large TBS, fallback for TA invalid, PUR and/or IDT configuration identity, etc).
Li and Sha are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with quality of service and quality of experience.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li to incorporate the teachings of Sha on burst spread, with a motivation for the UE to determine burst spread based on network instruction, and guarantee support for an increased number of users and devices, as well as support for higher data rates, (Sha, Para. [0003]).
Li fails to teach receiving a random access uplink message sent by a terminal before entering a radio resource control connected state; … wherein the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter; wherein the first parameter is determined by the terminal in an RRC idle state or inactive state.
However, Tooher teaches receiving a random access uplink message sent by a terminal before entering a radio resource control connected state (Para. [0135-0138]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may select an RRC configuration or one or more parameters of an RRC configuration (e.g., as described herein), for example, based on an instantaneous performance of a QoS parameter … There may be impacts on QoS parameters. A WTRU may be triggered to perform a task, for example, due to a condition being met (e.g., for at least one of the aforementioned RRC configuration parameters). A trigger may be tied to one or more QoS parameters, a measurement, a WTRU position, and/or an indication from a gNB. A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell. Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer));
the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter (Para. [0138]-Tooher discloses A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell. Para. [0003]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may combine or remap data flows, for example, upon triggering one or more QoS remapping conditions or upon transitioning between QoS states (e.g., by applying a configured non-default mapping rule). A WTRU may indicate a data flow remapping, for example, by triggering a BSR/SR (e.g., a new BSR/SR) or by multiplexing an indication in the PDU. A WTRU may apply a non-default set of LCP parameters for an LCH, for example, after transitioning into a QoS state, triggering a QoS remapping condition, or receiving an LCP parameter suspension/override indication from a base station (e.g., gNB). A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond to one or more (e.g., a set of) parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels ... WTRU may determine, indicate, and/or receive an indication of a burst spread, for example, based on one or more triggers. A QoS adaptation state may be changed, for example, when a burst spread begins/ends. Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). Para. [0110]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may adapt configured LCP parameters (e.g., semi-statically configured LCP parameters) for a logical channel (e.g., as a function of a current QoS state). PAra. [0114]-Tooher discloses A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. Para. [0125]-Tooher discloses WTRU may perform at least one of the following actions, for example, if a state transition occurs (e.g., according to an event described herein): (i) re-establish PDCP and/or RLC entities for at least one radio bearer (e.g., a set of radio bearers of the QoS adaptation group); (ii) initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure);
the first parameter is determined by the terminal in an RRC idle state or inactive state (Para. [0098]-Tooher discloses a QoS remapping trigger/condition may include, for example, an RRC state. A WTRU may trigger a QoS remapping based on a condition occurring in a subset of RRC states, for example, in connected mode and/or for (e.g., small) data transmitted in inactive mode. Para. [0138]-Tooher discloses a triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell or another cell ... and/or (vi) changing an activity state (e.g., CONNECTED mode, IDLE mode, or INACTIVE mode). Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses WTRU may receive an indication that a burst spread has begun. The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, upon reception of the burst spread indication. The WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer) ... The WTRU may be triggered to provide updates of the burst spread, for example, if the value of the burst spread has changed).
Tooher is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with quality of service features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li in view of Sha to incorporate the teachings of Tooher on QoS features, with a motivation for random access transimission of mapped LCH, DRB and burst spread, and guarantee timing handling mechanism for integrating TN and NTN communications, (Li, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches an information communication apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions, and the processor is configured to read the program instructions in the memory (Para. [0008-0009]-Li discloses schemes, solutions, concepts, designs, methods and systems ... associated with difference in propagation delays between NTN communications and TN communications … method may involve a UE establishing communications with a TN node in a TN. The method may also involve the UE establishing communications with an NTN node in an NTN. The method may further involve the UE compensating for a first propagation delay in the communications between the UE and the NTN node by the UE, with the UE being able to obtain a second propagation delay between the UE and the NTN node. Para. [0070]-Li discloses implementations, apparatus 810 may further include a memory 814 coupled to processor 812 and capable of being accessed by processor 812 and storing data therein. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may also include a transceiver 826 coupled to processor 822 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may further include a memory 824 coupled to processor 822 and capable of being accessed by processor 822 and storing data therein), {the rest of the limitations are as discloses in claim 1 above}.
Regarding claim 31, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches an information communication apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions, and the processor is configured to invoke the program instructions stored in the memory (Para. [0008-0009]-Li discloses schemes, solutions, concepts, designs, methods and systems ... associated with difference in propagation delays between NTN communications and TN communications … method may involve a UE establishing communications with a TN node in a TN. The method may also involve the UE establishing communications with an NTN node in an NTN. The method may further involve the UE compensating for a first propagation delay in the communications between the UE and the NTN node by the UE, with the UE being able to obtain a second propagation delay between the UE and the NTN node. Para. [0070]-Li discloses implementations, apparatus 810 may further include a memory 814 coupled to processor 812 and capable of being accessed by processor 812 and storing data therein. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may also include a transceiver 826 coupled to processor 822 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, apparatus 820 may further include a memory 824 coupled to processor 822 and capable of being accessed by processor 822 and storing data therein), {the rest of the limitation are as discloses in claim 1 above}.
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 24, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the method according to claim 1 and The method according to claim 13 and The apparatus according to claim 23 respectively,
Li further teaches the first parameter further comprises one or a combination of: delay jitter, a service characteristic, or energy-saving preference of the terminal (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay {corresponding to delay jitter, a service characteristic, or energy-saving preference}, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3)).
Regarding claims 3, 20 and 29, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the method according to claim 1 and The method according to claim 13 and The apparatus according to claim 23 respectively,
Li further teaches the random access uplink message is a Medium Access Control Control Element, MAC CE, or a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message (Para. [0051]-Li discloses in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode, the timing advance value may be adjusted by a base station (e.g., base station 120) so that UL data {e.g. Msg3} reception at the base station may be timing aligned);
the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3). Para. [0044]-Li discloses the base station might not know which UE(s) provided feedback on the same RAR. The scheduling delay of MSG3 transmission may be large enough for a UE to decode RAR and to prepare MSG3 to perform the MSG3 transmission. Thus, the MSG3 reception at the base station side may be aligned in time as scheduled ... UE 110 may itself add an additional delay of 2*T_prop_max based on k0. The value of T_prop_max in MSG3 timing scheduling may be consistent with RAR timing scheduling);
the random access uplink message comprises a Message 3, MSG3, or an MSGA (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3)).
Regarding claim 32, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the apparatus according to claim 31,
Li further teaches the first parameter further comprises one or a combination of: delay jitter, a service characteristic, or energy-saving preference of the terminal (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3));
the random access uplink message comprises a Message 3, MSG3, or Message A, MSGA (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3)).
Claims 6, 8, 16-17, 26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230049998 A1), hereinafter referenced as Li, in view of Sha et al. (US 20220322127 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sha, and further in view of Tooher et al. (US 20230189055 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tooher, and further in view of Park et al. (US 20180270894 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claims 6 and 26, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the method according to claim 1 and The apparatus according to claim 23 respectively,
Li further teaches the first parameter is sent when a size of a current random access uplink message is capable of bearing the first parameter (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3). Para. [0070]-Li discloses implementations, apparatus 810 may also include a transceiver 816 coupled to processor 812 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data).
Li fails to teach when a size of a current random access uplink message is not capable of bearing the first parameter, the method further comprises: sending a Buffer Status Report, BSR, through the random access uplink message; or, segmenting the first parameter to obtain a first parameter segment, and sending the first parameter segment through the random access uplink message; or, sending the BSR and the first parameter segment obtained after segmenting the first parameter through the random access uplink message.
However, Park teaches when a size of a current random access uplink message is not capable of bearing the first parameter, the method further comprises: sending a Buffer Status Report, BSR, through the random access uplink message; or, segmenting the first parameter to obtain a first parameter segment, and sending the first parameter segment through the random access uplink message; or, sending the BSR and the first parameter segment obtained after segmenting the first parameter through the random access uplink message (Para. [0123-0124]-Park discloses base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, or broadcast), to a UE, a RACH configuration 1210 ... The RACH configuration 1210 may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least one of following: ... available set of PRACH resources for a transmission of a random access preamble, ... ., preamble group A and group B, a threshold (e.g., message size) {corresponding to the size of the random access message carrying the first parameter} to determine the groups of random access preambles, ... UE may select one or more random access preambles from a group A or a group B depending on a potential Msg3 1240 size).
Li and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with inactive state data forwarding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li in view of Sha and Tooher to incorporate the teachings of Park on Buffer Status Report, BSR, with a motivation to transmit uplink data in segments, and guarantee multicarrier communication systems, (Park, Para. [0046]).
Regarding claims 8, 17 and 28, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the method according to claim 1 and The method according to claim 13 and The apparatus according to claim 23 respectively,
Li further teaches the first parameter is determined when a preset DRB arrives (Para. [0054]-Li discloses UE 110 has a prior information regarding the relative location of satellite 130 (and/or base station 120) with respect to UE 110 and performs pre-compensation of propagation delay or differential delay, … Accordingly, UE 110 may report the propagation delay or differential delay to base station 120 (e.g., via MSG3). Para. [0043]-Li discloses a base station (e.g., base station 120) may schedule an UL grant for MSG3 transmission in RAR. The time-frequency resource(s) of UL grant for MSG3 transmission may be indicated in the RAR).
Li fails to teach before sending the first parameter, the method further comprises: when a network side reserves a Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, resource for the first parameter, selecting a preamble or PRACH slot or Message A, MSGA, resource in the reserved PRACH resource to send data; the method further comprising: receiving a security parameter carried by a network side in an RRC Release message; encrypting the random access uplink message through the security parameter, and then sending the encrypted random access uplink message to the network side; …; wherein the terminal determines the first parameter in an RRC idle state or inactive state.
However, Park teaches before sending the first parameter, the method further comprises: when a network side reserves a Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, resource for the first parameter, selecting a preamble or PRACH slot or Message A, MSGA, resource in the reserved PRACH resource to send data (Para. [0124]-Park discloses UE may select one or more random access preambles from a group A or a group B depending on a potential Msg3 1240 size. Para. [0132]-Park discloses UE may transmit a random access preamble via PRACH and Msg3 1240 via PUSCH on a same cell. Para. [0127]-Park discloses a UE may perform one or more Msg1 1220 transmissions by transmitting the selected random access preamble. For example, if a UE selects an SS block and is configured with an association between one or more PRACH occasions and one or more SS blocks, the UE may determine an PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected SS block);
the method further comprising: receiving a security parameter carried by a network side in an RRC Release message (Para. [0164]-Park discloses the UE may be assigned with a new RAN area and a new Resume ID (resume identity) when the connection is suspended it may be important that the RRCConnectionSuspend {Release} message may be encrypted and integrity protected. In LTE, this may be achieved by providing the UE with the Next Hop Chaining Counter (NCC) in the RRCConnectionSetup message and transition into RRC_CONNECTED where security may be enabled ... the UE may have already derived the encryption keys at MSG3. This may be achieved by providing the UE with the NCC already in the RRCConnectionSuspend message);
encrypting the random access uplink message through the security parameter (Para. [0164]-Park discloses in order to optimize the RAN area update procedure, and allow the UE to be directly suspended to RRC_INACTIVE as a response to the RRCConnectionResumeRequest, it may be necessary that the UE may have already derived the encryption keys at MSG3. Para. [0132]-Park discloses UE may transmit a random access preamble via PRACH and Msg3 1240 via PUSCH on a same cell), and
then sending the encrypted random access uplink message to the network side (Para. [0164]-Park discloses in order to optimize the RAN area update procedure, and allow the UE to be directly suspended to RRC_INACTIVE as a response to the RRCConnectionResumeRequest, it may be necessary that the UE may have already derived the encryption keys at MSG3. Para. [0132]-Park discloses UE may transmit a random access preamble via PRACH and Msg3 1240 via PUSCH on a same cell).
Park is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with inactive state data forwarding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li in view of Sha and Tooher to incorporate the teachings of Park on RRC and data security, with a motivation to encrypt uplink data, and guarantee multicarrier communication systems, (Park, Para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the method according to claim 1,
Li fails to teach the first parameter obtained from the random access uplink message is a segmented first parameter.
However, Park teaches the first parameter obtained from the random access uplink message is a segmented first parameter (Para. [0123-0124]-Park discloses base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, or broadcast), to a UE, a RACH configuration 1210 ... The RACH configuration 1210 may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least one of following: ... available set of PRACH resources for a transmission of a random access preamble, ... ., preamble group A and group B, a threshold (e.g., message size) to determine the groups of random access preambles, ... UE may select one or more random access preambles from a group A or a group B depending on a potential Msg3 1240 size {corresponding to the transmission of a segmented or grouped random access uplink message in Msg3}).
Park is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with inactive state data forwarding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li in view of Sha and Tooher to incorporate the teachings of Park on uplink transmission with a motivation to transmit uplink data in segments, and guarantee multicarrier communication systems, (Park, Para. [0046]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230049998 A1), hereinafter referenced as Li, in view of Sha et al. (US 20220322127 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sha, and further in view of Tooher et al. (US 20230189055 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tooher, and further in view of Sedin et al. (US 20220369368 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sedin.
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Sha and Tooher teaches the method according to claim 13,
Li fails to teach receiving a Buffer Status Report, BSR, through the random access uplink message, or receiving the BSR and a first parameter segment through the random access uplink message.
However, Sedin teaches receiving a Buffer Status Report, BSR, through the random access uplink message, or receiving the BSR and a first parameter segment through the random access uplink message (Para. [0018]-Sedin discloses sending a Buffer Status Report (BSR) using a 2-step Random Access (RA) procedure are obtained from the network. Para. [0111]-Sedin discloses wireless communication network supporting Buffer Size Reporting and utilizing a short (e.g., 2-step) Random Access procedure, to reduce latency. Para. [0140]-Sedin discloses the gNB receives a MsgA (preamble+PUSCH transmission), using a preamble and PUSCH Resource Unit which indicate a BSR-transmission, … MsgB containing an UL grant with a size chosen by the gNB, e.g., based on expected characteristics of the data traffic, such as expected transport block size and latency requirements. Alternatively, in case no specific characteristics can be anticipated, the size selection is based on statistics on the average need, or a preconfigured size).
Sedin is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with methods for efficiently transmitting a Buffer Status Request.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Li in view of Sha and Tooher to incorporate the teachings of Sedin on BSR, with a motivation to receive BSR through random access, and guarantee reducing latency in all aspects of wireless communication network operation, (Sedin, Para. [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 02/13/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 8, 13-17, 20, 23-24, 26, 28-29 and 31-32 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [19-25], Applicant argues that, “Sha fails to disclose that the burst spread reporting indication indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter; or the burst spread reporting indication is an instruction in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, Release message; when the terminal is in an idle state and does not leave a current cell, and/or, when the terminal is in an inactive state and does not leave a random access network area, the burst spread reporting indication is valid.”
However, Sha teaches the network-side instruction indicates in a broadcast message whether a cell to which the terminal is attached supports the terminal to report the first parameter; or wherein the network-side instruction is an instruction in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, Release message; when the terminal is in an idle state and does not leave a current cell, and/or, when the terminal is in an inactive state and does not leave a random access network area, the network-side instruction is valid (Para. [0083]-Sha discloses Preconfigured Uplink Resource (PUR) is introduced in NB-IoT/eMTC for UE transmission in the idle state (e.g., eNB configures PUR resource in RRCConnectionRelease message, and UE in the idle state can send PUSCH over the configured PUR resource). PUR and/or RRC_INACTIVE Data Transmission (IDT) in NR is used for UE transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE state. In this case, the UL resource will be preconfigured, and UE can perform transmissions over the preconfigured UL resource. If the preconfigured resource is not suitable (e.g., the time domain does not match the data, ..., the PUR and/or IDT resource cannot be used ... In order to more efficiently utilize resources, this information should be made aware to the eNB/gNB for PUR and/or IDT resource configuration optimization. Para. [0080]-Sha discloses UE reports the burst spread record to the gNB, which can be sent by UL UE specific RRC message or MAC CE. Para. [0086]-Sha discloses the UL UE specific RRC message can be UL RRC message in PUR and/or IDT transmission procedure, EDT message 3, RRC message 5, or UE Information Response (e.g., UEInformationResponse) message. In another example, the PUR and/or IDT resource suitability related information includes burst spread information, burst TBS information, TA invalid indication, no data transmission, fallback for large TBS, fallback for TA invalid, PUR and/or IDT configuration identity, etc).
In the remarks, on page 12, Lines [13-16], Applicant argues that, “J _Park at most discloses DL/UL signal reception after RACH before RRC connection, but fails to disclose that the terminal sends the first parameter through a random access uplink message before entering a radio resource control connected state as claimed in claim 1.”
However, Tooher et al. (US 20230189055 A1) teaches sending, by the terminal, the first parameter through a random access uplink message before entering a radio resource control connected state (Para. [0135-0138]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may select an RRC configuration or one or more parameters of an RRC configuration (e.g., as described herein), for example, based on an instantaneous performance of a QoS parameter … There may be impacts on QoS parameters. A WTRU may be triggered to perform a task, for example, due to a condition being met (e.g., for at least one of the aforementioned RRC configuration parameters). A trigger may be tied to one or more QoS parameters, a measurement, a WTRU position, and/or an indication from a gNB. A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell. Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer)).
In the remarks, on pages 12 and 13 and 14 and 15, Lines [28-29 and 24-28 and 14-17 and 9-12 respectively], Applicant argues that, “Li fails to disclose the feature of "the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter" as claimed in claim 1,” and “Park fails to disclose the feature of "the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter" as claimed in claim 1,” and “Sedin fails to disclose the feature of "the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter" as claimed in claim 1,” and “J_Park fails to disclose the feature of "the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter" as claimed in claim 1” respectively.
However, Tooher et al. (US 20230189055 A1) teaches the random access uplink message comprises a mapping between Logical Channel, LCH, information and the first parameter, or a mapping between Data Resource Bearer, DRB, information and the first parameter (Para. [0138]-Tooher discloses A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell. Para. [0003]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may combine or remap data flows, for example, upon triggering one or more QoS remapping conditions or upon transitioning between QoS states (e.g., by applying a configured non-default mapping rule). A WTRU may indicate a data flow remapping, for example, by triggering a BSR/SR (e.g., a new BSR/SR) or by multiplexing an indication in the PDU. A WTRU may apply a non-default set of LCP parameters for an LCH, for example, after transitioning into a QoS state, triggering a QoS remapping condition, or receiving an LCP parameter suspension/override indication from a base station (e.g., gNB). A WTRU may be configured to operate according to at least one QoS adaptation state. A QoS adaptation state may correspond to one or more (e.g., a set of) parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, and/or logical channels ... WTRU may determine, indicate, and/or receive an indication of a burst spread, for example, based on one or more triggers. A QoS adaptation state may be changed, for example, when a burst spread begins/ends. Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). Para. [0110]-Tooher discloses a WTRU may adapt configured LCP parameters (e.g., semi-statically configured LCP parameters) for a logical channel (e.g., as a function of a current QoS state). PAra. [0114]-Tooher discloses A QoS adaptation state may correspond, for example, to a set of parameter values for a group of data flows, radio bearers, or logical channels. Para. [0125]-Tooher discloses WTRU may perform at least one of the following actions, for example, if a state transition occurs (e.g., according to an event described herein): (i) re-establish PDCP and/or RLC entities for at least one radio bearer (e.g., a set of radio bearers of the QoS adaptation group); (ii) initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure).
In the remarks, on page 15, Lines [20-22], Applicant argues that, “Park fails to disclose that the terminal determines the first parameter in an RRC idle state or inactive state as claimed in amended claim 1.”
However, Tooher et al. (US 20230189055 A1) teaches the terminal determines the first parameter in an RRC idle state or inactive state (Para. [0098]-Tooher discloses a QoS remapping trigger/condition may include, for example, an RRC state. A WTRU may trigger a QoS remapping based on a condition occurring in a subset of RRC states, for example, in connected mode and/or for (e.g., small) data transmitted in inactive mode. Para. [0138]-Tooher discloses a triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell or another cell ... and/or (vi) changing an activity state (e.g., CONNECTED mode, IDLE mode, or INACTIVE mode). Para. [0162]-Tooher discloses WTRU may receive an indication that a burst spread has begun. The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, upon reception of the burst spread indication. The WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer) ... The WTRU may be triggered to provide updates of the burst spread, for example, if the value of the burst spread has changed).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
XIONG et al. (WO 2018174656 A1)-discloses Para. [0285]-Xiong discloses the transmitting unit adds a UL delay field to the uplink grant to bear the UL delay parameter … the transmitting unit uses a specified bit field in a fixed-size resource allocation indication of the uplink grant to bear the UL delay parameter…. …Fig. 1-2
KIM et al. (WO 2017123004 A1)-discloses the predetermined threshold value may be determined based on the V2X service delay condition and the SIB message transmission period. As an embodiment, the threshold value may be determined as a time obtained by subtracting the minimum delay time (V2X service delay condition time) of the V2X message from the period of the SIB message. For example, if the minimum service delay time (ie, V2X service delay condition) of the predefined V2X message is 100 ms and the period of the SIB message is 180 ms, the threshold value may be 80 ms…. …Fig. 1-2
CHO et al. (US 20180359802 A1)-discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving data performed by a base station in a wireless communication system. According to the present invention may provide a method and apparatus for establishing a first session for transmitting and receiving data with a network node, receiving a message through the first session from a device or the network node, and transmitting the message to the device or the network node through the first session, and the first session indicates a logical path for transmitting one or more messages having different Quality of Services.… …Fig. 1-5
SUN et al. (CN 112242893 A)-discloses a method and device for reporting information, and a method and device for receiving a message, wherein a method for reporting information includes: receiving auxiliary scheduling information configuration and/or reporting indication carried in system information; Information configuration and/or reporting indication, generating auxiliary scheduling information; reporting the auxiliary scheduling information through at least one of the Msg1 message, the Msg3 message, and the MsgA message. The present application realizes rapid reporting of auxiliary scheduling messages…. …Fig. 1-3
Murray et al. (US 20170367120 A1)-discloses an apparatus including a non-transitory memory including instructions to perform random access in a beam sweeping network having a cell. The network includes a downlink sweeping subframe, an uplink sweeping subframe and a regular sweeping subframe. The apparatus also includes a processor operably coupled to the non-transitory memory. The processor is configured to execute the instructions of selecting an optimal downlink transmission beam transmitted by the cell during the downlink sweeping subframe. The processor is also configured to execute the instructions of determining an optimal downlink reception beam from the optimal downlink transmission beam. The processor is further configured to execute the instructions of determining a random access preamble and a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource via resource selection from the optimal downlink transmission beam. The processor is even further configured to execute the instructions of transmitting, to a node, the selected random access preamble via the PRACH resource and an uplink transmission beam of the uplink subframe…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472