DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 9/3/2026. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application and are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's
amendment. New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konagayoshi (JP 2017058780 A) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 07/20/2023) in view of Clark et al. (US 6566659 B1) and Eckhardt et al. (US 20030018373 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Konagayoshi teaches a merchandiser (Fig. 5, vending machine 110) with a number of packages (Fig. 5, beverages 60) therein, comprising:
a product area (Fig. 5, storage unit 24); the product area comprising at least one of a plurality of shelves or a plurality of columns with the number of packages therein (storage racks 20 understood to be column shaped shelves); and
a package sanitation system (Fig. 5, irradiation device 30); the package sanitation system comprising one or more ultraviolet lights positioned within the product area so as to sanitize the number of packages (irradiation devices 30a and 30b sterilizes each beverage can 60, page 2, para 5, page 5, para 2-3).
Konagayoshi does not teach wherein the sanitation system comprises one or more ultraviolet pulsed lights.
One having ordinary skill in the art would contemplate optimal UV wavelengths and transmission methods to effectively decontaminate the packages, motivating one to turn towards Clark. Clark teaches a pulsed UV light disinfection system for treating packages (col. 5, lns. 54-65) wherein the system comprises flashlamps (Fig. 13, 312) configured to emit pulses of ultraviolet light (col. 25, lns. 11-22) in a polychromatic light spectrum that is effective for deactivating microorganisms (col. 5, lns. 54-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the ultraviolet lights as taught by Konagayoshi with the pulsed UV lights as taught by Clark because the pulsed UV lights are capable of deactivating organisms within packages (col. 5, lns. 54-65) and this involves the substitution of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Modified Kongayoshi does not teach wherein the number of packages comprise a plastic film in the form of a label with embedded dye that undergoes a color change when exposed to the one or more ultraviolet pulsed light; wherein the plastic is colorless transparent prior to exposure to the pulsed light so as to provide consumers with an indication of the sanitization process.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with verifying sterilization of the packages motivating one to turn towards Eckhardt. Eckhardt teaches a sterilization system comprising a sterilization unit configured to emit UV light and a plastic bandage ([0075] polyethylene = plastic) embedded with a photochromic material configured to change color when exposed to UV light to provide an indication of sanitation, such as a dye [0074-0078]. Eckhardt further teaches wherein the photochromatic material may be printed onto the bandage in the form of a barcode (understood to be a label) to indicate a region of the bandage exposed to UV light [0081]. Eckhardt also teaches forming the bandage with a clear (transparent), colorless material to improve the transmission of UV light [0085]. Eckhardt further teaches wherein the photochromatic material may be printed onto the bandage in the form of a barcode (understood to be a label) to indicate a region of the bandage exposed to UV light and provide additional information/instructions to a user [0081]. Therefore, the bandage is understood to be a sterilization indicating film (as it includes a barcode) which provides information and instructions to users [0081].
Eckhardt is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the sterilization indication arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packages as taught by Modifeid Kongayoshi with the sterilization indicating film as taught Eckhardt because Eckhardt teaches the film (in the form of a barcode labeled bandage) to provide as a photochromatic indication of exposure to UV light and sterilization [0078-0085] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 1, wherein the merchandiser comprises a cooler (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, cooling unit 42 configured to cool beverages stored in storages racks 20 and storage unit 24 = entire storage unit understood to be cooler, page 2, para 4-6).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 2, wherein the cooler comprises a plurality of shelves therein (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, cooled storage unit 24 has plurality of cylindrical shelves 20).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 5, wherein the plurality of shelves comprises a plurality of gravity fed shelves extending at an angle from a top entrance to a bottom exit (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, beverages 60 are stacked vertically in cylindrical shelves 20 which extend at a vertical angle; beverages are also supplied by charge port 22 to a bottom exit 40= understood to be downwardly fed by gravity, page 2, para 4).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 6, wherein a pair of the one or more ultraviolet lights is positioned about the bottom exit (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, irradiation devices 30a and 30b configured to irradiate beverages 60 and are positioned near bottom exit 40).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 7, wherein the bottom exit comprises one or more deflectors positioned about each of the one or more ultraviolet lights (Konagayoshi, Fig. 2, irradiation device 30 includes reflectors 36 positioned around an LED 32 to irradiate a larger area of the beverages 60, page 3, para 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 1, wherein the merchandiser comprises a vending machine (Konagayoshi, Fig. 1, vending machine 10, page 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 9, wherein the one or more pulsed ultraviolet lights are positioned about the plurality of columns (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, irradiation devices 30a and 30b include ultraviolet lights configured to irradiate beverages 60 and are positioned around columns shaped storage racks 20).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of columns comprises and upper stack area and a lower pre-vend area (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, storage racks 20 understood to be column shaped shelves with an upper stack area proximal to charge port 22 and a lower pre-vend area proximal to exit 40).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 11, wherein the one or more pulsed ultraviolet lights are positioned about the upper stack area (Konagayoshi, irradiation devices 30a and 30b are positioned about upper stack area).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 11, wherein the one or more pulsed ultraviolet lights are positioned about the lower pre-vend area (Konagayoshi, Fig. 5, irradiation devices 30a and 30b configured to irradiate beverages 60 and are positioned near bottom exit 40).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 1, wherein the one or more pulsed ultraviolet lights are maneuverable within the product area (Konagayoshi, Fig. 4, another embodiment teaches irradiation device 130 to include reflectors 136 positioned around an LED 132 to allow the direction of UV light to be changed = UV lights understood to be maneuverable, page 4, para 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 1, wherein the packages comprise plastic films positioned on the surface of the packages (Eckhardt, sterilization indicating film [bandage] is a label with barcodes so as to indicate which region of the bandage exposed to UV light and provide additional information/instructions to a user [0081]) but does not wherein the number of packages comprise a plurality of the plastic films positioned at different locations on a surface of each of the number of packages so as to indicate a dose of the one or more ultraviolet pulsed light received at each of the different locations. One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with indicating which parts of the package have been exposed to UV light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of sterilization indicating films present on the packages to determine where the packages have been exposed to ultraviolet light and this involves the duplication of parts which has already been found to be obvious (MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B)).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattos Vega (US 20210402030 A1) in view of Clark et al. (US 6566659 B1) and Eckhardt et al. (US 20030018373 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Mattos Vega teaches a method of sanitizing packages (abstract) within a merchandiser (Fig. 2, microcontroller controls sterilization method of vending machine a), comprising:
turning on an ultraviolet light within the merchandiser for a predetermined amount of time ([0046]);
determining when a door of the merchandiser has been opened (sensor 11 in communication with microcontroller 2 to determine if a door to vending machine is open [0047]); and
again turning on the ultraviolet light for the predetermined amount of time upon the determination that the door of the merchandiser has been opened (if the door is opened and no presence is detected, the first disinfection cycle is reinstated [0031-0033], [0049]).
Mattos Vega does not teach wherein the sanitation system comprises one or more ultraviolet pulsed lights.
One having ordinary skill in the art would contemplate optimal UV wavelengths and transmission methods to effectively decontaminate the packages, motivating one to turn towards Clark. Clark teaches a pulsed UV light disinfection system for treating packages (col. 5, lns. 54-65) wherein the system comprises flashlamps (Fig. 13, 312) configured to emit pulses of ultraviolet light (col. 25, lns. 11-22) in a polychromatic light spectrum that is effective for deactivating microorganisms (col. 5, lns. 54-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the ultraviolet lights as taught by Mattos Vega with the pulsed UV lights as taught by Clark because the pulsed UV lights are capable of deactivating organisms within packages (col. 5, lns. 54-65) and this involves the substitution of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Modified Mattos Vega does not teach wherein the number of packages comprise a plastic film in the form of a label with embedded dye that undergoes a color change when exposed to the one or more ultraviolet pulsed light; wherein the plastic is colorless transparent prior to exposure to the pulsed light so as to provide consumers with an indication of the sanitization process.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with verifying sterilization of the packages motivating one to turn towards Eckhardt. Eckhardt teaches a sterilization system comprising a sterilization unit configured to emit UV light and a plastic bandage ([0075] polyethylene = plastic) embedded with a photochromic material configured to change color when exposed to UV light to provide an indication of sanitation, such as a dye [0074-0078]. Eckhardt further teaches wherein the photochromatic material may be printed onto the bandage in the form of a barcode (understood to be a label) to indicate a region of the bandage exposed to UV light [0081]. Eckhardt also teaches forming the bandage with a clear (transparent), colorless material to improve the transmission of UV light [0085]. Eckhardt further teaches wherein the photochromatic material may be printed onto the bandage in the form of a barcode (understood to be a label) to indicate a region of the bandage exposed to UV light and provide additional information/instructions to a user [0081]. Therefore, the bandage is understood to be a sterilization indicating film (as it includes a barcode) which provides information and instructions to users [0081].
Eckhardt is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to the sterilization indication arts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packages as taught by Modified Mattos Vega with the sterilization indicating film as taught Eckhardt because Eckhardt teaches the film (in the form of a barcode labeled bandage) to provide as a photochromatic indication of exposure to UV light and sterilization [0078-0085] and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konagayoshi (JP 2017058780 A) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 07/20/2023) view of Clark et al. (US 6566659 B1) and Eckhardt et al. (US 20030018373 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Joon (KR 20120140413) (cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 07/20/2023).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 2, but does not teach wherein the package sanitation system comprises an air duct and a recirculation fan positioned within the product area of the cooler.
Joon teaches a food display case sterilization system configured to decontaminate the food and maintain a cold environment (page 2, para 2-4). The system (Fig. 4, 1) comprises a storage space (2) and an air duct (20) configured to circulate cold air throughout the storage space with a cooling system (14) and a circulation fan (16), wherein the fan distributes the cold air (page 3, para 1-6). Joon further teaches another embodiment of the food display case wherein the duct (Fig 6, 20) has a discharge port (Fig. 6, 22) for expelling the cooled air into the storage space, wherein an ultraviolet light (100) is positioned proximal to the duct to sterilize the cool, discharged air and prevent contamination inside the case (page 7, para 1 and 7).
Joon is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to sterilization systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the merchandiser as taught by Modified Konagayoshi with the air duct, cooling system, and ultraviolet lights as taught by Joon since Joon teaches these elements to ensure the long term storage of items contained in a display case and prevent contamination (page 7, para 7-8) and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Konagayoshi teaches the merchandiser of claim 3, wherein the one or more ultraviolet lights are positioned about the air duct to sanitize an airflow therethrough (Joon, Fig. 6, ultraviolet light 100 positioned about air duct 20 to sterilize air therethrough).
Response to Arguments
In the arguments presented on pages 6-7 of the amendment, filed 9/3/2026, the Applicant argues that Hubner does not teach a colorless and transparent film and instead teaches a transparent yellow foil configured to change colors when exposed to radiation with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eckhardt et al. (US 20030018373 A1).
In the arguments presented on pages 7-8 of the amendment, filed 9/3/2026, the Applicant argues that Hubner does not teach a colorless and transparent film that changes color when exposed to pulsed UV radiation with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eckhardt et al. (US 20030018373 A1).
In the arguments presented on pages 8-9 of the amendment, filed 9/3/2026, the Applicant argues that Hubner does not teach wherein the plastic film is in the form of a label with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eckhardt et al. (US 20030018373 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799