DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2026 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 04/06/2026.
Claims 6-12 are pending.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn.
Claims 6-9 are being considered for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/06/2026 with respect to claims 6-9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 6, Applicant’s presented argument that Ashraf is completely silent regarding the recited transmission of a measurement request instructing the terminal to measure the first time difference. Rather, Ashraf merely describes the gNB transmitting a downlink reference signal and the UE performing the measurement in response to receiving that signal. Therefore, Ashraf fails to disclose the abovementioned limitation of amended independent claim 6. (REMARKS, Pages 8-9)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that Ashraf discloses-
[0036] Typically, RTT can be performed using three signals: (1) DL reference signal such as PRS, (2) UL reference signal such as SRS, and (3) Rx-Tx measurement reporting as illustrated in the example of FIG. 2. As illustrated in the example of FIG. 2, a gNB may signal PRS to a UE, and the SRS and/or Rx-Tx measurement from the UE is signalled to the gNB. However, some problems may arise with this procedure. For example, the over-the-air (OTA) signals are costly and, therefore, it is desirable to use as little as possible signals to reduce at least overhead and increase the efficiency. For a single Rx-Tx based PD estimation, at least one UL and one DL reference signal is needed. Also, additional resources are needed, on top of the resources needed for reference signals transmission, for reporting the measurements.
[0038] Some example embodiments provide a Rx-Tx RTT estimation procedure with reduced signaling, e.g., utilizing just two signals (instead of 3). According to certain embodiments, a UE is configured to predict its transmission time and, after having determined the reception time of the DL reference signal (e.g., PRS), the UE can compute the Rx-Tx measurement report, then send the reference signal and the Rx-Tx measurement report in the same transmission. As a result, instead of separately sending the reference signal (e.g., SRS) and Rx-Tx measurement message, an embodiment can combine the reference signal and the Rx-Tx measurement value in a single transmission.
Fig. 3 PRS from gNB to UE indicating UE keeping track of ΔRx-Tx,
[0040] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the gNB may prepare the DL reference signal and may record the time stamp, t0, and transmit the reference signal to the UE at the recorded time. For example, the transmitted reference signal may be PRS….
[0041] in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may receive the DL reference signal and record the reception time, which is shown as t1 in the example of FIG. 3. The UE may then predict the transmit timing, t2. To do so, the UE may consider the allocated resources, applied difference between DL to UL transmission timing, and/or UE internal timing errors resulting from, for example, UE clock drift. Based on the detection time t1 and estimated transmission time t2, the UE may calculate the estimated Rx-Tx measurement by (t2-t1)
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….
In above, [0036, 0038] Ashraf discloses a protocol requiring reduced overhead and signaling/messaging for propagation delay (PD) or Rx-Tx RTT estimation at procedure utilizing just two signals instead of 3 signals of Fig. 2. For the protocol, UE is configured to predict its transmission time and, after having determined the reception time of the DL reference signal (e.g., PRS), the UE can compute the Rx-Tx measurement report, then send the reference signal and the Rx-Tx measurement report in the same transmission, which indicates that the UE is configured to consider the PRS in an implied request for starting the protocol process of estimating/computing Rx-Tx time difference measurement between a gNB PRS reception time and corresponding estimated uplink reference signal transmission time to gNB and reporting the estimated measurement in a PUSCH with DM-RS as disclosed in Fig. 3 and [0040-0042].
Accordingly, amended claim 6, and similarly claims 7-9 are rejected.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as anticipated by Ashraf et al. US 20240057004 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63139476, hereinafter ‘ASHRAF’).
Regarding claim 6, ASHRAF teaches a base station (
Fig. 3 gNB, [0039] FIG. 3 illustrates an example signaling diagram of a RTT based propagation delay estimation procedure for PD compensation, according to an embodiment. It should be noted that, according to certain embodiments, the procedure depicted in the example of FIG. 3 can be reversible between the gNB and the UE.
Fig. 9 apparatus 10, [0074] FIG. 9 illustrates an example of an apparatus 10 …… apparatus 10 may be a network node, …. base station, …. next generation Node B (NG-NB or gNB)) comprising:
a transmitter (Fig. 9 Apparatus 10 with Transceiver 18) that transmits a measurement request instructing to measure a first time difference between a transmission timing of a first signal and a reception timing of a second signal at a terminal, to the terminal (
[0036] Typically, RTT can be performed using three signals: (1) DL reference signal such as PRS, (2) UL reference signal such as SRS, and (3) Rx-Tx measurement reporting as illustrated in the example of FIG. 2. As illustrated in the example of FIG. 2, a gNB may signal PRS to a UE, and the SRS and/or Rx-Tx measurement from the UE is signalled to the gNB.
[0038] Some example embodiments provide a Rx-Tx RTT estimation procedure with reduced signaling, e.g., utilizing just two signals (instead of 3). According to certain embodiments, a UE is configured to predict its transmission time and, after having determined the reception time of the DL reference signal (e.g., PRS), the UE can compute the Rx-Tx measurement report, then send the reference signal and the Rx-Tx measurement report in the same transmission. As a result, instead of separately sending the reference signal (e.g., SRS) and Rx-Tx measurement message, an embodiment can combine the reference signal and the Rx-Tx measurement value in a single transmission.
Fig. 3 PRS from gNB to UE indicating UE keeping track of ΔRx-Tx,
[0040] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the gNB may prepare the DL reference signal and may record the time stamp, t0, and transmit the reference signal to the UE at the recorded time. For example, the transmitted reference signal may be PRS….
[0041] in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may receive the DL reference signal and record the reception time, which is shown as t1 in the example of FIG. 3. The UE may then predict the transmit timing, t2. To do so, the UE may consider the allocated resources, applied difference between DL to UL transmission timing, and/or UE internal timing errors resulting from, for example, UE clock drift. Based on the detection time t1 and estimated transmission time t2, the UE may calculate the estimated Rx-Tx measurement by (t2-t1)
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….
(Construed that the PRS transmission at t0 indicates to the UE or terminal an measurement request instructing to measure a first time difference between a transmission timing of at t2 of a first signal the PUSCH (DMRS)+ Rx-Tx measurement and a reception timing of a second signal PRS from gNB or base station at t1 at the UE/terminal or ΔRx-Tx));
a receiver (Fig. 9 Apparatus 10 with Transceiver 18) that receives a measurement result including time difference information indicating the first time difference from the terminal, based on reception of the measurement request (
Fig. 3, gNB at t3 receives DMRS + Rx-Tx or ΔRx-Tx the first signal in response to PRS the second signal from UE the terminal,
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….); and
a processor (Fig. 9 Apparatus with Processor 12,
[0076] FIG. 9, apparatus 10 may include a processor 12 for processing information and executing instructions or operations) that acquires a second time difference between a reception timing of the first signal and a transmission timing of the second signal at a base station (
Fig. 3, [0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx……. The gNB may detect the subframe and record the reception time stamp t3 (based on the PUSCH with DM-RS). Based on the available time stamps t0 and t3, the gNB can calculate Rx-Tx as (t3−t0). As the gNB has all necessary parameter values required to calculate the propagation delay (PD) which is ½ of the downlink and uplink Rx-Tx differences at gNB and UE),
wherein the control unit calculates a propagation delay with the terminal and performs propagation delay compensation, based on the first time difference and the second time difference (
Fig. 3, PD=1/2 RTT = ½ x (gNBRx-Tx + ΔRx-Tx),
[0042] As the gNB has all necessary parameter values required to calculate the propagation delay (PD) which is ½ of the downlink and uplink Rx-Tx differences at gNB and UE. Afterward, the gNB may apply the PD compensation value as the offset to adjust its system frame number (SFN) boundary timestamp.).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 6, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, ASHRAF teaches a terminal (Fig. 3, UE,
[0039] FIG. 3 illustrates an example signaling diagram of a RTT based propagation delay estimation procedure for PD compensation, according to an embodiment. It should be noted that, according to certain embodiments, the procedure depicted in the example of FIG. 3 can be reversible between the gNB and the UE.
Fig. 9 apparatus 20, [0086] FIG. 9 further illustrates an example of an apparatus 20 according to another embodiment. In an embodiment, apparatus 20 may be a node or element in a communications network or associated with such a network, such as a UE, communication node, mobile equipment (ME), mobile station, mobile device, stationary device, IoT device, or other device)) comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 9 apparatus 20 with Transceiver 28) that receives a measurement request instructing to measure time difference information indicating a first time difference between a transmission timing of a first signal and a reception timing of a second signal at the terminal, from a base station (
Fig. 3 PRS from gNB to UE indicating UE keeping track of ΔRx-Tx,
[0040] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the gNB may prepare the DL reference signal and may record the time stamp, t0, and transmit the reference signal to the UE at the recorded time. For example, the transmitted reference signal may be PRS….
[0041] in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may receive the DL reference signal and record the reception time, which is shown as t1 in the example of FIG. 3. The UE may then predict the transmit timing, t2. To do so, the UE may consider the allocated resources, applied difference between DL to UL transmission timing, and/or UE internal timing errors resulting from, for example, UE clock drift. Based on the detection time t1 and estimated transmission time t2, the UE may calculate the estimated Rx-Tx measurement by (t2-t1)
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….);
and a transmitter (Fig. 9 apparatus 20 with Transceiver 28) that transmits a measurement result including time difference information indicating the first time difference to the base station, based on reception of the measurement request (
Fig. gNB at t3 receives DMRS + Rx-Tx or ΔRx-Tx the first signal in response to PRS the second signal from UE the terminal,
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….),
wherein a propagation delay with the terminal is calculated and propagation delay compensation is performed by the base station, based on the first time difference, and a second time difference between a reception timing of the first signal and a transmission timing of the second signal at the base station (
Fig. 3, PD=1/2 RTT = ½ x (gNBRx-Tx + ΔRx-Tx,
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx……. The gNB may detect the subframe and record the reception time stamp t3 (based on the PUSCH with DM-RS). Based on the available time stamps t0 and t3, the gNB can calculate Rx-Tx as (t3−t0). As the gNB has all necessary parameter values required to calculate the propagation delay (PD) which is ½ of the downlink and uplink Rx-Tx differences at gNB and UE. Afterward, the gNB may apply the PD compensation value as the offset to adjust its system frame number (SFN) boundary timestamp.).
Regarding claim 9, ASHRAF teaches a system (Fig. 3,
[0039] FIG. 3 illustrates an example signaling diagram of a RTT based propagation delay estimation procedure for PD compensation, according to an embodiment. It should be noted that, according to certain embodiments, the procedure depicted in the example of FIG. 3 can be reversible between the gNB and the UE.) in which a base station (Fig. 3 gNB,
Fig. 9 apparatus 10, [0074] FIG. 9 illustrates an example of an apparatus 10 …… apparatus 10 may be a network node, …. base station, …. next generation Node B (NG-NB or gNB) comprises:
a first transmitter (Fig. 9 Apparatus 10 with Transceiver 18) that transmits a measurement request instructing to measure a first time difference between a transmission timing of a first signal and a reception timing of a second signal at a terminal, to the terminal (Fig. 3 PRS from gNB to UE indicating UE keeping track of ΔRx-Tx,
[0040] As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the gNB may prepare the DL reference signal and may record the time stamp, t0, and transmit the reference signal to the UE at the recorded time. For example, the transmitted reference signal may be PRS….
[0041] in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may receive the DL reference signal and record the reception time, which is shown as t1 in the example of FIG. 3. The UE may then predict the transmit timing, t2. To do so, the UE may consider the allocated resources, applied difference between DL to UL transmission timing, and/or UE internal timing errors resulting from, for example, UE clock drift. Based on the detection time t1 and estimated transmission time t2, the UE may calculate the estimated Rx-Tx measurement by (t2-t1)
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….
(Construed that the PRS transmission at t0 indicates to the UE or terminal an measurement request instructing to measure a first time difference between a transmission timing of at t2 of a first signal the PUSCH (DMRS)+ Rx-Tx measurement and a reception timing of a second signal PRS from gNB or base station at t1 at the UE/terminal or ΔRx-Tx));
a receiver (Fig. 9 Apparatus 10 with Transceiver 18) that receives a measurement result including time difference information indicating the first time difference from the terminal (
Fig. gNB at t3 receives DMRS + Rx-Tx or ΔRx-Tx the first signal in response to PRS the second signal from UE the terminal,
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….); and
a processor (Fig. 9 Apparatus with Processor 12,
[0076] FIG. 9, apparatus 10 may include a processor 12 for processing information and executing instructions or operations) that acquires a second time difference between a reception timing of the first signal and a transmission timing of the second signal at the base station (
Fig. 3, [0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx……. The gNB may detect the subframe and record the reception time stamp t3 (based on the PUSCH with DM-RS). Based on the available time stamps t0 and t3, the gNB can calculate Rx-Tx as (t3−t0). As the gNB has all necessary parameter values required to calculate the propagation delay (PD) which is ½ of the downlink and uplink Rx-Tx differences at gNB and UE), and
the terminal (Fig. 3, UE,
[0039] FIG. 3 illustrates an example signaling diagram of a RTT based propagation delay estimation procedure for PD compensation, according to an embodiment. It should be noted that, according to certain embodiments, the procedure depicted in the example of FIG. 3 can be reversible between the gNB and the UE.
Fig. 9 apparatus 20, [0086] FIG. 9 further illustrates an example of an apparatus 20 according to another embodiment. In an embodiment, apparatus 20 may be a node or element in a communications network or associated with such a network, such as a UE, communication node, mobile equipment (ME), mobile station, mobile device, stationary device, IoT device, or other device)) comprises:
a second transmitter (Fig. 9 apparatus 20 with Transceiver 28) that transmits the measurement result including time difference information indicating the first time difference to the base station, based on reception of the measurement request (
Fig. gNB at t3 receives DMRS + Rx-Tx or ΔRx-Tx the first signal in response to PRS the second signal from UE the terminal,
[0042] Next, as shown in the example of FIG. 3, the UE may transmit a shared channel, such as for example, PUSCH with DM-RS, towards the gNB. The transmitted UL signal may contain the estimated Rx-Tx….),
wherein the processor of the base station calculates a propagation delay with the terminal and performs propagation delay compensation, based on the first time difference and the second time difference (
Fig. 3, PD=1/2 RTT = ½ x (gNBRx-Tx + ΔRx-Tx),
[0042] As the gNB has all necessary parameter values required to calculate the propagation delay (PD) which is ½ of the downlink and uplink Rx-Tx differences at gNB and UE. Afterward, the gNB may apply the PD compensation value as the offset to adjust its system frame number (SFN) boundary timestamp.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Awad et al. (US 20230141032 A1), describing APPARATUS AND METHODS FOR TRANSMISSION OF TIMING INFORMATION
Thota; Jayashree (US 11153838 B1), describing Time Synchronization Enhancements For Integrated 5G-TSN Networking
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413