DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2021-012996, filed on 01/29/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, line 13 to Page 11, line 12, filed 11/06/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection of claims 1-5, 12, 16 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection of claims 1-5, 12, 16 and 17 has been withdrawn. Additionally, amended claim 17 overcomes the claim objection of the 08/05/2025 Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the amended claims overcome the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection, they do not overcome the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1, 16 and 17. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. The amended claim element in question is directed to “calculating distance information regarding a distance to a transmitter” (amended claim 1, lines 13-14; claim 16, line 12 and claim 17, lines 14-15). Calculating the coordinates of a transmitter versus calculating a distance to the transmitter both qualify equally as “distance information” using the broadest reasonable interpretation. Additionally, it is noted that in the applicant’s written description uses a cartesian coordinate system to describe the “distance information” (Fig. 3, [0053] – [0062]; As described above, the lengths of the sides x and y can be expressed by using
θ
1
,
θ
2
and w, which are known. Therefore, the distance z can be calculated by using
θ
1
,
θ
2
and w, which are known). The only distinction between the Applicant’s written description and Bensky is the choice of origin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knaappila (US PG Pub 20200103486), hereinafter Knaappila, in view of Bensky (Bensky, “Short-range Wireless Communication” 3rd Edition, Newnes (2019))
Regarding claim 1, Knaappila teaches an information processing system (Fig. 7C; 410 portable wireless audio receiver system) comprising:
a first angle detection section (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, Fig. 2; 285 TDOA/AoA determination logic, [0064] For example, TDOA and/or AoA of a received signal may be determined by TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique.) configured to detect a first reception angle of a signal (Fig. 7C; 499 RF signal) from a transmitter (Fig. 7C; 350 wireless audio transmitter device), wherein the first reception angle of the signal is in a first apparatus (Fig. 7C; 302 BLE-enabled wireless receiver device);
a second angle detection section (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0098] In this embodiment, each of headphones 302 and 304 may include a separate integrated smart module 200) configured to detect a second reception angle of the signal from the transmitter, wherein the second reception angle of the signal is in a second apparatus (Fig. 7C; 304 BLE-enabled wireless receiver device),
the first apparatus is in a first earphone and the second apparatus is in a second earphone, and the first earphone is attachable to a left ear of a human body and the second earphone is attachable to a right ear of the human body (Knaappila [0098] FIG. 7C illustrates another exemplary embodiment of a portable wireless audio receiver system 410 similar to the embodiments of FIGS. 7A and 7B, except that each of the first and second headphones (e.g., or earbuds, hearing aid devices));
a distance calculation section (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0064] In one embodiment, TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 may also be programmed to determine AoD or other signal transmission characteristics, or TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 may be replaced by suitable logic that only determines TDOA, AoD or other signal transmission characteristic/s.);
and an output control section configured to control (Knaappila 275 received audio data modification logic, [0093] Also in this embodiment, a Bluetooth smart module 200 executing received audio data modification logic 275 is integrated with headphone 302, and is coupled to an antenna array that includes at least two antenna elements 199.sub.1 and 199.sub.2 to receive a BLE radio frequency (RF) signal 499.), based on the calculated distance information (Knaappila [0069] In such an embodiment, the real time relative distance to a wireless transmitter device source of the given RF signal 499 may be indicated to user 490b by the relative volume of the sound waves acoustically reproduced by speaker 297.sub.X.), audio output by at least one of the first earphone or the second earphone (Knaappila [0009] Examples of types of modifications that may be made to audio data information based on RF signal reception or transmission characteristics include, but are not limited to, varying the volume (or gain), tone, equalization and/or pitch of the audio sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information, individually varying the volume of the sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information simultaneously at different respective speakers (e.g., so as to vary the audio balance between left and right hearing aid speakers or left and right headphone speakers worn in or over the left and right ears of an individual), etc.).
Knaappila fails to explicitly teach that the distance calculation section is configured to calculate distance information regarding a distance to the transmitter, based on the detected first reception angle in the first apparatus, the detected second reception angle in the second apparatus, and an inter-apparatus distance, wherein the inter-apparatus distance is between the first apparatus and the second apparatus
Bensky Fig. 14.22B
However, Bensky teaches the technique of triangulation where the position of an emitting/reflecting object is found using two receivers a known distance apart (
x
2
2
+
y
2
2
) and measuring the Angle of Arrival (AoA) at both receivers (
θ
1
a
n
d
θ
2
). (14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; In Fig. 14.22B the direction lines of the directional antennas of two terminals cross at the target location. Target coordinates are found from the known fixed terminal coordinates and the antenna beam angles in relation to a common reference direction.).
Knaappila and Bensky are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of wireless systems technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable wireless receiver system of Knaappila by combining it with the known technique of the Angle of Arrival teachings of Bensky. The resulting combination would yield a predictable result since the known techniques described by Bensky of applying mathematical relationships to trigonometric information derived from the wireless system to calculate distance information will yield a predictable result. Bensky provides a motivation to combine the angle of arrival technique based on the increased use of multi-element arrays such as the one taught by Knaappila (Bensky 14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; paragraph 1). While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claim 2, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Knaappila fails to teach wherein the distance calculation section is further confiqured to calculate the distance information regarding the distance from a midpoint of the inter-apparatus distance to the transmitter, based on the detected first reception angle, the detected second reception angle, and the inter-apparatus distance.
However, Bensky teaches a technique for Angle of Arrival distance calculation (Bensky; Fig. 14.22B) regarding the distance from a midpoint of the inter-apparatus distance to the transmitter (Bensky; Fig. 14.22B; y), based on the detected first reception angle, the detected second reception angle ((Bensky; Fig. 14.22B; θ1 and θ2)), and the inter-apparatus distance (Bensky; Fig. 14.22B; y2). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Knaappila to incorporate the teachings of Bensky (Bensky; Fig. 14.22B) by having the distance calculation section calculate the distance information regarding a distance from a midpoint of the inter- apparatus distance to the transmitter according to the first reception angle, the second reception angle, and the inter- apparatus distance since this is applying mathematical reasoning. Bensky provides a motivation to combine the angle of arrival technique based on the increased use of multi-element arrays such as the one taught by Knaappila (Bensky 14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 3, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches the first apparatus and the second apparatus are in such a manner as to sandwich a specific object (Knaappila [0091] FIGS. 7A-7C illustrate just a few possible embodiments of wireless audio receiver systems such as may be employed in the embodiments of FIGS. 4, 5, 6A and 6B. In this regard, FIG. 7A illustrates one exemplary embodiment of a portable wireless audio receiver system 410 (e.g., a dual speaker battery powered wireless headphone system or wireless earbud system) that includes a first speaker 297.sub.1 worn adjacent or within the left ear of a user 790 and a second speaker 297.sub.2 worn adjacent or within the user's right ear), and the distance calculation section is further configured to calculate the distance information regarding the distance from the specific object to the transmitter (Knaappila [0050] In one embodiment, this acoustic sound wave attenuation may be modeled (e.g., calculated or otherwise determined) by a wireless receiver device based on a determined distance from the wireless receiver device to a wireless transmitter device that is transmitting a RF signal conveying audio data to the wireless receiver device.).
Regarding claim 4, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches the output control section is further configured to control output (Knaappila 275 received audio data modification logic, [0093] Also in this embodiment, a Bluetooth smart module 200 executing received audio data modification logic 275 is integrated with headphone 302, and is coupled to an antenna array that includes at least two antenna elements 199.sub.1 and 199.sub.2 to receive a BLE radio frequency (RF) signal 499.) of one of vibration, light, heat, or pressure to the specific object ([0045] In the latter case, received audio data modification logic 275 may be present within a wireless receiver device 302 to modify information of the received audio channel data for analog acoustic audio reproduction based on one or more signal reception and/or transmission characteristic of the received RF signal 499, e.g., by varying the volume (or gain), tone, equalization and/or pitch of the audio sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information.).
Regarding claim 5, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 4, accordingly the rejection of claim 4 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the specific object includes the human body (Knaappila Fig. 7C, 790 human user).
Regarding claim 7, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the output control section (Knaappila 275 received audio data modification logic) is further configured to adjust a sound level of the audio based on the distance information ([0068] More particularly, first and second speakers 297.sub.1 and 297.sub.2 of system 410a may be operated to acoustically reproduce modified audio data conveyed by a given one of received RF signals 499 as analog acoustic sound waves that are heard by the left and right ears of a first human user 490a, e.g., in a manner that indicates distance, direction, and/or spatial position of the transmitting source (i.e., wireless transmitter device) of the given received RF signal 499 relative to the wireless receiver system 410a.).
Regarding claim 8, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the output control section is further configured to control the output of the audio transmitted from the transmitter ([0045] In the latter case, received audio data modification logic 275 may be present within a wireless receiver device 302 to modify information of the received audio channel data for analog acoustic audio reproduction based on one or more signal reception and/or transmission characteristic of the received RF signal 499, e.g., by varying the volume (or gain), tone, equalization and/or pitch of the audio sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information.).
Regarding claim 9, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 8, accordingly the rejection of claim 8 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the output control section is further configured to select the output of the audio from the transmitter, among a plurality of transmitters, located at a shortest distance from the human body (0068] More particularly, first and second speakers 297.sub.1 and 297.sub.2 of system 410a may be operated to acoustically reproduce modified audio data conveyed by a given one of received RF signals 499 as analog acoustic sound waves that are heard by the left and right ears of a first human user 490a, e.g., in a manner that indicates distance, direction, and/or spatial position of the transmitting source (i.e., wireless transmitter device) of the given received RF signal 499 relative to the wireless receiver system 410a).
Regarding claim 10, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 9, accordingly the rejection of claim 9 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the distance information includes a direction of the transmitter from the human body ([0098] Otherwise, received audio data modification logic 275 of each of headphones 302 and 304 of the embodiment of FIG. 7C may be operated to independently implement the embodiments of FIGS. 4, 5, 6A and 6B to determine whether signal 499 is received from the front side or back side of user 790, and/or from what angle or direction signal 499 is received at user 790.), and the output control section is further configured to select the output of the audio from the transmitter, among the plurality of transmitters, located in a specific direction from the human body (Fig. 5; [0067] As described elsewhere herein, each of systems 410a and 410b may be configured to modify audio information of each given one of audio data RF signal transmissions 499a-499f received from a corresponding one of wireless audio data transmitter devices (e.g., television 461, smart phone 463, smoke alarm 467, left stereo loudspeaker 469a, right stereo loudspeaker 469b, and door intercom 473) based on one or more signal reception and/or transmission characteristics of the given audio data transmission 499.).
Regarding claim 11, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 10, accordingly the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the output control section is further configured to select the output of the audio from the transmitter, among the plurality of transmitters, located at a same distance from the human body and nearest a front of the human body (Fig. 5,599a-526a-c β1-3; [0067] As described elsewhere herein, each of systems 410a and 410b may be configured to modify audio information of each given one of audio data RF signal transmissions 499a -499f received from a corresponding one of wireless audio data transmitters).
Regarding claim 12, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein the distance calculation section is in at least one of the first apparatus or the second apparatus (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0098] In this embodiment, each of headphones 302 and 304 may include a separate integrated smart module 200).
Regarding claim 13, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein each of the first apparatus, the second apparatus, and the transmitter establishes short-range wireless communication by use of Bluetooth (registered trademark) ([0115] Embodiments of the disclosed systems and methods may implement BLE wireless communication according to one or more BLE specifications such as Bluetooth 4.× (e.g., Bluetooth 4.0, 4.1, 4.2) core version specifications, Bluetooth 5 core version specification, addendums and supplements thereto, etc. that are available from the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG).).
Regarding claim 14, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 13, accordingly the rejection of claim 13 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein each of the first reception angle and the second reception angle is detected based on a direction detection function defined by Bluetooth Core Specification 5.1 ([0115] Embodiments of the disclosed systems and methods may implement BLE wireless communication according to one or more BLE specifications such as Bluetooth 4.× (e.g., Bluetooth 4.0, 4.1, 4.2) core version specifications, Bluetooth 5 core version specification, addendums and supplements thereto, etc. that are available from the Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG).).
Regarding claim 15, Knaappila modified by Bensky teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Knaappila further teaches wherein each of the first apparatus, the second apparatus, and the transmitter establishes short-range wireless communication by use of Wi-Fi (registered trademark) ([0006] Besides the BLE protocol, the disclosed systems and methods may be employed in similar fashion with any other wireless protocol over which audio is transferred, and for which signal transmission and/or reception characteristics of this transfer protocol may be measured and audio data information modified accordingly. Examples of other such protocols include, but are not limited to, IEEE 80211x (e.g., such as 802.11a/b/g/n/) Wi-Fi, ZigBee, IEEE 802.15.4, AM/FM radio, etc.).
Regarding claim 16, Knaappila teaches an information processing method, the method comprising:
detecting a first reception angle of a signal from a transmitter (Fig. 7C; 350 wireless audio transmitter device), wherein the first reception angle of the signal is in a first apparatus (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, Fig. 2; 285 TDOA/AoA determination logic, [0064] For example, TDOA and/or AoA of a received signal may be determined by TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique.);
detecting a second reception angle of the signal from the transmitter, wherein the second reception angle of the signal is in a second apparatus (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0098] In this embodiment, each of headphones 302 and 304 may include a separate integrated smart module 200),
the first apparatus is in a first earphone and the second apparatus is in a second earphone, and the first earphone is attachable to a left ear of a human body and the second earphone is attachable to a right ear of the human body ([0098] FIG. 7C illustrates another exemplary embodiment of a portable wireless audio receiver system 410 similar to the embodiments of FIGS. 7A and 7B, except that each of the first and second headphones (e.g., or earbuds, hearing aid devices));
calculating distance information regarding a distance to the transmitter (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0064] In one embodiment, TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 may also be programmed to determine AoD or other signal transmission characteristics, or TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 may be replaced by suitable logic that only determines TDOA, AoD or other signal transmission characteristic/s.); and
controlling (Knaappila 275 received audio data modification logic, [0093] Also in this embodiment, a Bluetooth smart module 200 executing received audio data modification logic 275 is integrated with headphone 302, and is coupled to an antenna array that includes at least two antenna elements 199.sub.1 and 199.sub.2 to receive a BLE radio frequency (RF) signal 499.), based on the calculated distance information ([0069] In such an embodiment, the real time relative distance to a wireless transmitter device source of the given RF signal 499 may be indicated to user 490b by the relative volume of the sound waves acoustically reproduced by speaker 297.sub.X.), audio output by at least one of the first earphone or the second earphone (Knaappila [0009] Examples of types of modifications that may be made to audio data information based on RF signal reception or transmission characteristics include, but are not limited to, varying the volume (or gain), tone, equalization and/or pitch of the audio sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information, individually varying the volume of the sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information simultaneously at different respective speakers (e.g., so as to vary the audio balance between left and right hearing aid speakers or left and right headphone speakers worn in or over the left and right ears of an individual), etc.).
Knaappila fails to explicitly teach, calculating distance information regarding a distance to the transmitter based on the detected first reception angle in the first apparatus, the detected second reception angle in the second apparatus, and an inter-apparatus distance, wherein the inter-apparatus distance is between the first apparatus and the second apparatus
However, Bensky teaches the technique of measuring distance using angle of arrival measurements where there are two transmitters a known distance apart and solving for the distance of the transmitters based on the two angle measurements and the distance between the receivers (14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; In Fig. 14.22B the direction lines of the directional antennas of two terminals cross at the target location. Target coordinates are found from the known fixed terminal coordinates and the antenna beam angles in relation to a common reference direction.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable wireless receiver system of Knaappila by combining it with the known technique of the Angle of Arrival teachings of Bensky. The resulting combination would yield a predictable result since the known techniques described by Bensky of applying mathematical relationships to trigonometric information derived from the wireless system to calculate distance information will yield a predictable result. Bensky provides a motivation to combine the angle of arrival technique based on the increased use of multi-element short-range wireless arrays such as the one taught by Knaappila (Bensky 14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 17, Knaappila teaches an information processing apparatus (Fig. 7C; 410 portable wireless audio receiver system), comprising:
an angle detection section (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, Fig. 2; 285 TDOA/AoA determination logic, [0064] For example, TDOA and/or AoA of a received signal may be determined by TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 using any suitable technique.) configured to detect a first reception angle of a signal (Fig. 7C; 499 RF signal) from a transmitter (Fig. 7C; 350 wireless audio transmitter device), wherein the first reception angle of the signal is in a local apparatus (Fig. 7C; 302 BLE-enabled wireless receiver device);
an acquisition section (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0098] In this embodiment, each of headphones 302 and 304 may include a separate integrated smart module 200) configured to acquire a second reception angle of the signal from the transmitter, wherein the second reception angle of the signal is in a remote apparatus (Fig. 7C; 304 BLE-enabled wireless receiver device),
wherein the local apparatus is in a first earphone and the remote apparatus is in a second earphone, and the first earphone is attachable to a left ear of a human body and the second earphone is attachable to a right ear of the human body ([0098] FIG. 7C illustrates another exemplary embodiment of a portable wireless audio receiver system 410 similar to the embodiments of FIGS. 7A and 7B, except that each of the first and second headphones (e.g., or earbuds, hearing aid devices));
a distance calculation section (Fig. 7C; 200 integrated smart module, [0064] In one embodiment, TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 may also be programmed to determine AoD or other signal transmission characteristics, or TDOA/AoA determination logic 285 may be replaced by suitable logic that only determines TDOA, AoD or other signal transmission characteristic/s.);
and an output control section configured to control (Knaappila 275 received audio data modification logic, [0093] Also in this embodiment, a Bluetooth smart module 200 executing received audio data modification logic 275 is integrated with headphone 302, and is coupled to an antenna array that includes at least two antenna elements 199.sub.1 and 199.sub.2 to receive a BLE radio frequency (RF) signal 499.), based on the calculated distance information (Knaappila [0069] In such an embodiment, the real time relative distance to a wireless transmitter device source of the given RF signal 499 may be indicated to user 490b by the relative volume of the sound waves acoustically reproduced by speaker 297.sub.X.), audio output by at least one of the first earphone or the second earphone (Knaappila [0009] Examples of types of modifications that may be made to audio data information based on RF signal reception or transmission characteristics include, but are not limited to, varying the volume (or gain), tone, equalization and/or pitch of the audio sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information, individually varying the volume of the sound waves that are acoustically reproduced from the audio data information simultaneously at different respective speakers (e.g., so as to vary the audio balance between left and right hearing aid speakers or left and right headphone speakers worn in or over the left and right ears of an individual), etc.).
Knaappila fails to teach that the distance calculation section is configured to calculate distance information regarding a distance to the transmitter, based on the detected first reception angle in the local apparatus, the acquired second reception angle in the remote apparatus, and an inter-apparatus distance, wherein the inter-apparatus distance is between the local apparatus and the remote apparatus.
However, Bensky teaches the technique of measuring distance using angle of arrival measurements where there are two transmitters a known distance apart and solving for the distance of the transmitters based on the two angle measurements and the distance between the receivers (14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; In Fig. 14.22B the direction lines of the directional antennas of two terminals cross at the target location. Target coordinates are found from the known fixed terminal coordinates and the antenna beam angles in relation to a common reference direction.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable wireless receiver system of Knaappila by combining it with the known technique of the Angle of Arrival teachings of Bensky. The resulting combination would yield a predictable result since the known techniques described by Bensky of applying mathematical relationships to trigonometric information derived from the wireless system to calculate distance information will yield a predictable result. Bensky provides a motivation to combine the angle of arrival technique based on the increased use of multi-element short-range wireless arrays such as the one taught by Knaappila (Bensky 14.7.5 “Angle of Arrival method” paragraph 2; paragraph 1).
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JBSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646