DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US 2025/0297346, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I, claims 1-10 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 09 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amendments to the claims made in the aforesaid reply materially change the technical feature upon which the lack of unity of invention determination was made. More specifically, Applicant asserts that the specific embodiment disclosed by Wada which was relied upon in the unity of invention analysis no longer reads on, and is no longer applicable to, the claimed invention/technical feature – the amount of C in the steel alloy composition disclosed by Wada, 0.36 wt.%, is outside of the claimed upper limit of C, 0.33 wt.%, and the tensile strength of the alloy, 947 MPa, is outside of the claimed tensile strength upper limit, 900 MPa. In response, the Examiner agrees that the amendments to claim 1 place the steel alloy composition of Wada outside of the scope of claim 1. However, the restriction requirement (lack of unity determination) based on the originally filed claims – though no longer applicable to the instant claims – has been deemed proper because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any errors with the requirement.
In view of the foregoing, it is noted that the newly cited prior art set forth below in the rejection(s) of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, as relied upon therein, reads on the instant technical feature(s) in accordance with the amendments to the claims made in the reply filed 09 July 2026 – see ¶43-51 and ¶62-73 below. As such, the instant technical feature fails to make a contribution over the newly cited prior art, the instant technical feature therefore fails to constitute a special technical feature, and it is maintained that the inventions of Groups I and II, I and III, and II and III lack unity of invention. For these reasons, the restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim; claim 3 has been canceled in the reply filed 09 July 2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 16-20 are under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 20 July 2023, 23 August 2023, 18 October 2023, 07 January 2026, and 09 July 2026 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, 4-10, and 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of claim 1 recites “Hydrogen-carrying component”, whereas the preamble of each of claims 2, 4-10, and 16-20 recites “Hydrogen-conducting component”, of which constitutes inconsistent claim terminology and/or a typographical error. To overcome the issue, it is respectfully suggested to amend each dependent claim preamble to “Hydrogen-carrying component” in accordance with ind. claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification, while being enabling for a hydrogen-carrying component – comprising a base body made of the claimed tempered steel composition – for a fuel distribution system of an energy conversion system operable in a pressure range of from 0.1 MPa up to 100 MPa, does not reasonably provide enablement for said hydrogen-carrying component/fuel distribution system/energy conversion system which is operable at pressures beyond 100 MPa, e.g. 150 MPa, 800 MPa, 1 GPa, 10 GPa, 100 GPa, 1,000 GPa, and above. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims without under experimentation.
MPEP 2164.01 states that any analysis of whether a particular claim is supported by the disclosure in an application requires a determination of whether that disclosure, when filed, contained sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims to enable one skilled in the pertinent art to make and use the claimed invention. The standard therefor is that which is set forth in In re Wands, 858, F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), interpreted to require that the claimed invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without undue experimentation. MPEP 2164.01(a) sets forth analysis factors, referred to as the Wands factors, for determining whether the specification satisfies the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “reasonable” or is “undue”. The relevant analysis factors, applied to the disclosure and corresponding claims identified above, are set forth below.
The (A) breadth of the claims is very broad, if not vast. The operable pressure range of “at least 0.1 MPa” does not define an upper limit, i.e. constitutes an open-ended range. That is, the scope of the patent protection sought for the hydrogen-carrying component/systems encompasses extremely high operating pressures, including pressures which exceed the claimed upper limit of the tensile strength of the tempered steel composition, and which far exceed the ultimate tensile strengths of the highest-strength steels known/recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art of steel pressure vessel and tube/pipe fabrication (e.g. UTS as high as 2.5 GPa).
Further, based on the limitations “tempered steel having the following composition” and “the balance being iron and smelting-related steel accompanying elements”, the claimed tempered steel composition: (i) is open-ended, i.e. does not exclude additional, unrecited elements (see MPEP 2111.03(I)), and (ii) is unclear – when read in view of Applicant’s spec [0031, 0035] – with regard to what elements may or may not be present in, or are meant to be specifically excluded from, the composition. As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (see MPEP 2111, MPEP 2111.01(I) and (II)), the claimed composition may include a number of unrecited elements, e.g. V, Ni, Al, etc., in low or high amounts relative to the claimed elements and Fe balance, which may be considered substantial so as to affect the properties of the tempered steel and, thereby, the operable pressure range.
Furthermore, the claims do not define the standard, or other measurement method – and corresponding conditions – which the tensile strength, yield strength/0.2% yield point, and elongation at break of the tempered steel are determined and reported in accordance with. The spec does not specifically define or indicate a standard or measurement method for said properties – specifically, the spec [0035] states: “Unless stated otherwise, material properties are to be determined according to the relevant industrial standards (e.g. according to ISO 6892-1).” The aforecited portion of the spec is not specific/explicit, but rather, broad, vague, and exemplary (not explicit) as to the standard or measurement method according to which the claimed properties are determined. The recited ISO standard is directed to measurement of the tensile strength of steel in air at room temperature, where one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the environmental condition(s) including temperature, and the state and species of matter (e.g. gaseous hydrogen versus air) to which the steel is exposed during testing, directly affect the reported property values. In light of this lack of clarity (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below) in both the claims and spec, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed properties may be determined in accordance with any industry/recognized standard or other measurement method.
The (B) nature of the invention is the tempered steel composition from which the base body of the hydrogen-carrying component is formed, and the properties exhibited thereby, e.g. yield strength (YS), tensile strength (TS), and elongation, which allow the component to be used in high-pressure gaseous hydrogen operating environments and systems. The aforesaid properties of the steel are a result of (i) the species of alloying elements and their corresponding amounts, and (ii) the method/process of forming the steel, the initial cooling/hardening treatment after formation, e.g. quench hardening, and the cold or hot-working and/or tempering (heat treatment) conducted subsequent the cooling treatment. Each of the aforesaid steps (ii) involves determination of, and control of, a plurality of result-effective variables, e.g. cooling rate/temperature/medium/duration, tempering rate/temperature/medium/duration, to obtain the desired/requisite degree of each property exhibited by the steel.
The (C) state of the prior art and (D) level of one of ordinary skill in the art are such that: (i) and (ii) discussed above under “(B) nature of the invention” are readily, if not universally known, and one of ordinary skill possess the general knowledge and capability to adjust the species and corresponding amounts of the alloying elements of the composition, and to adjust the parameters of one or more variables associated with each of the aforesaid steel formation and post-formation cooling/tempering steps, to optimize or achieve the desired/requisite properties of the steel including, inter alia tensile strength, yield strength, and elongation. The effect(s) on the steel composition properties, and the degree of said effects, are generally known and well-documented (by the prior art) for each individual alloying element and amount(s) thereof.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art possesses the ability and knowledge to reasonably perform a large degree of specific/targeted experimentation to obtain steel compositions exhibiting high or requisite strength properties, together with desired elongation properties, based on a predetermined end-use, e.g. operating pressures in particular environments or for particular applications. However, one of ordinary skill in the art is human and thus not impervious to the bounds of time and energy consumption, and thereby is limited to a number of experiments/iterations per day – that is, one of ordinary skill cannot successfully complete hundreds of experiments, or more, in a single day or a single week.
The (F) amount of direction provided by the inventors to make or otherwise obtain a hydrogen-carrying component formed from the claimed steel composition which exhibits the capability to operate at exceedingly high pressure(s) (i.e. “operable in a pressure range of at least 0.1 MPa”, claim 1) which extend well beyond the upper strength limits of the steel composition and/or the upper/ultimate strength limits of the highest-strength steels recognized in the art, is insufficient.
The spec does not generally discuss, or specifically indicate, how (e.g. alloying element additions or amount ranges/variation, steel formation and post-formation treatment steps/parameters) the hydrogen-carrying component formed from the steel composition (hereinafter “steel component”) is made capable of successful operation at operating pressures beyond 100 MPa, let alone at higher pressures such as 1,000 MPa, 1 GPa, or above as encompassed within the claimed range. Rather, the spec appears to indicate that the steel component may reasonably and successfully be designed for operation pressures of 30 MPa, 70 MPa, and 100 MPa [0062], i.e. up to 100 MPa [0066] – but also contradicts the foregoing through use of the phrase “preferably of at least” in different sections [0037, 0049], e.g. “…withstands an internal gas pressure of at least 30 MPa, preferably at least 70 MPa and more preferably of at least 100 MPa in continuous operation” [0037].
The spec indicates, in a broad/general manner, that the material properties of the tempered steel from which the steel component is formed may be obtained via cold-forming/cold-working as a first step, followed by an annealing process [0047]. No further discussion or relevant details are provided regarding the aforesaid cold-forming/working step and subsequent annealing process. Furthermore, the spec also does not include any inventive examples or evidentiary data which effectively or objectively demonstrates the high operation pressure capabilities of the steel component/steel composition, as claimed. Thus, rather than insufficient, it may be stated that the amount of direction provided by the inventors is nonexistent in the spec.
The (G) existence of working examples – ¶19-21 above pertaining to Wands factor (F) are incorporated herein by reference and not repeated. The spec does not include any working examples or evidentiary data to support the operable pressure range as claimed.
In view of the totality of the Wands factors (A), (B), (C), (D), (F), and (G) discussed above, it is determined that the (H) quantity of experimentation needed to make the invention commensurate in scope with the scope of the claims identified above based on the content of the disclosure would be beyond vast, if not totally unattainable/unfathomable, and all-consuming of the time, resources, and health of one of ordinary skill the art and, thereby, undue. That is, thousands of experiments, and multiple iterations of each experiment – with little to no guidance from Applicant’s spec to rely upon – would be necessary to attempt to make the invention(s) commensurate in scope with the claims, i.e. to make a steel component operable at exceedingly high pressures inclusive of values above the tensile strength and yield strength of the steel composition itself.
In order to overcome the grounds of rejection set forth above and remedy the scope of enablement issue(s), it is respectfully suggested to amend claim 1 to define an upper limit for the operable pressure range, e.g. “operable in a pressure range of to 100 MPa”, and to amend each of claims 9 and 20 to define an upper limit for the range of internal gas pressure which the base body withstands in continuous operation, e.g. “withstands an internal gas pressure of to 100 MPa in continuous operation.”
Appropriate action is required.
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the absence of recitation of a recognized testing standard(s), or other measurement method(s), which the claimed tensile strength, yield strength or 0.2% yield point, and elongation at break are determined in accordance with, renders the claim indefinite as the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim are unclear. Additionally, the spec does not explicitly indicate a recognized testing standard or define a measurement method for each of the tensile strength, yield strength/0.2% yield point, and the elongation at break, as claimed.
The spec states that the material properties are to be determined according to “the relevant industrial standards”, but fails to explicitly and clearly indicate one or more standards according to which the claimed properties are specifically determined [0035]. Further, the indication of ISO 6892-1 as being an exemplary ‘relevant industrial standard’ [0035] does not explicitly limit the claimed properties such that they are required to be determined in accordance therewith – it is noted that the aforesaid ISO standard is not improperly imported from the spec into the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof (see MPEP 2111, MPEP 2111.01(II)).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art readily recognizes that the reported values for the aforesaid properties exhibited by the tempered steel composition are directly dependent upon the specific measurement method and the conditions/parameters thereof. In view of the totality of the foregoing, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to envisage or readily determine the metes and bounds of the scope of the claimed tempered steel composition from which the base body of the hydrogen-carrying component is formed, and the public would not be clearly informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement thereupon (see MPEP 2173, MPEP 2173.01(I), and MPEP 2173.02).
For examination on the merits, the tempered steel composition of claim 1 is reasonably and broadly interpreted as exhibiting the aforesaid properties and corresponding ranges which may be determined in accordance with any known/recognized testing standard or other measurement method.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation regarding the tempered steel having “a defect depth of at most 200 µm on an inner side of the at least one gas conduit” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what physical, chemical, or material feature or structure constitutes or is encompassed by the term “defect”. The specification does not explicitly define – or provide any details regarding – the term “defect”, and is silent regarding the measurement method and corresponding/relevant conditions thereof for determination of the defect depth, of which also/further renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the claimed term “defect” is a physical, macroscopic or microscopic feature such as pits, cracks, or scratches, or if the term is in reference to the microstructure of the steel composition itself (i.e. arrangement of phases and crystal grains at the microscopic level). The term is vague and/or ambiguous, and not defined/explained in the spec – as such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to readily determine or envisage the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim.
For examination on the merits, the limitation(s) of claim 2 are interpreted as being met by a hydrogen-carrying component which meets the limitations of claim 1. Cancelation of claim 2, or clarification by way of amendment and/or remarks, is respectfully suggested in order to overcome the indefiniteness issue; clarification by remarks is respectfully requested by the Examiner.
Claim 5 is indefinite on the same grounds set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 16 is indefinite on the same grounds set forth above in the rejection of claim 2, and interpreted for examination on the merits in the same manner.
Claim 18 is indefinite on the same grounds set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 19 is indefinite on the same grounds set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2, 4-10, and 16-20 are indefinite and rejected under 112(b) as they are directly dependent upon, and do not remedy, the indefiniteness issues of claim 1 identified above.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi et al. (US 2016/0091140; “Takagi”).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi discloses a hydrogen storage tank (10) (hydrogen-carrying component) for storage and dispensing of high pressure hydrogen at a hydrogen filling station for fuel-cell vehicles [Abstract; Fig. 1; 0002-0004, 0009, 0024-0026] (for a fuel distribution system of an energy conversion system). The tank (a base body; at least one gas conduit in the base body) comprises an inner liner layer (12) which defines the entirety of the inner surface of the tank and includes openings (10c, 10d) at both ends [Fig. 1; 0030-0031] (at least one gas inlet and at least one gas outlet in fluid communication via the at least one gas conduit) – the inner liner layer (12) is formed from a chromium-molybdenum low-alloy steel [0033].
Specifically, the Cr-Mo low-alloy steel is, inter alia Japanese Industrial Standard (JIS) SCM435 [0033, 0035, 0062, 0066; Table 1, Example 3] having a tensile strength (TS) of 800 MPa and a yield strength (YS) of 650 MPa [Table 1, Example 3]. The SCM435 steel is formed from the following alloying elements (balance Fe and unavoidable impurities).
C: 0.33 to 0.38 wt.% (0.18 to 0.33 % by weight of carbon)
Si: 0.15 to 0.35 wt.% (0.15 to 0.40 % by weight of silicon)
Mn: 0.60 to 0.90 wt.% (0.4 to 1.0 % by weight of manganese)
Cr: 0.90 to 1.20 wt.% (0.4 to 1.2 % by weight of chromium)Mo: 0.15 to 0.30 wt.% (0.08 to 0.35 % by weight of molybdenum)
P: 0.040 wt.% or less (at most 0.035 % by weight of phosphorus)
S: 0.030 wt.% or less (at most 0.04 % by weight of sulfur)
The ranges of Si, Mn, Cr, Mo, and S are within or substantially identical to the corresponding claimed ranges shown in italics (MPEP 2131.03); the lower limit (0.33 wt.%) of the range of C is identical to, i.e. “touches” or “overlaps” the upper limit of the claimed range of C, and thereby renders the claimed range/upper limit thereof prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)). The range of P (0.040 wt.% or less) encompasses, and thereby renders prima facie obvious, the claimed range of P (MPEP 2144.05(I)). The balance being Fe and unavoidable impurities reads on the claimed balance being iron and smelting-related steel accompanying elements, in view of the rejection – and corresponding interpretation – of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth above.
The aforecited SCM435 TS of 800 MPa is within the claimed TS range of 750 to 900 MPa, and the YS of 650 MPa is within the claimed YS range of 500 to 850 MPa (MPEP 2131.03(I)). Further, Takagi discloses that the tank is capable of operation at a hydrogen gas pressure of 82 MPa [0064-0066, 0069; Tables 1-2; claim 6], of which reads on the claim limitation operable in a pressure range of at least 0.1 MPa, both nominally and in accordance with the rejections/interpretations of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) above.
With respect to the difference(s) relative to the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 1, Takagi does not explicitly disclose the aforecited SCM435 low-alloy steel exhibiting an elongation at break in the range of from 12 to 35%.
However, as set forth/cited above, the SCM435 low-alloy steel of Takagi is substantially identical to the tempered steel claimed, as well as disclosed in the spec. Specifically, (a) the alloying elements are identical, (b) the weight ranges of the alloying elements are either within or overlap the corresponding claimed ranges, (c) the TS is within the claimed range, and (d) the YS is within the claimed range.
In view of substantially identical or identical features (a)-(d) – and further in view of the absence of an elongation at break testing standard in the claims and spec (as noted in the rejection and corresponding interpretation of claim 1 under 112(b) above) and the lack of discussion or details regarding how the claimed tempered steel is formed/treated/worked so as to obtain an elongation at break within the claimed range – it stands to reason, there is a strong expectation, and the Examiner is left to presume that the SCM435 low-alloy steel of Takagi set forth/cited hereinabove would have necessarily exhibited an elongation at break of from 12 to 35%, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112(IV), 2112(V), 2112.01(I), 2112.01(II), 2145, and 2145(I).
The hydrogen storage tank of Takagi set forth above reads on each and every limitation of the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection and corresponding interpretation of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the hydrogen storage tank of Takagi set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 2. Additionally/alternatively, absent objective evidence to the contrary, it stands to reason that the SCM435 low-alloy steel of Takagi would have necessarily exhibited the claimed defect depth range (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 4. The ranges of P and S disclosed by Takagi encompass, and thereby render prima facie obvious, the corresponding ranges defined by claim 4 (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 5 – the YS of 650 MPa is within the claimed range of 600 to 850 MPa. Additionally/alternatively, in accordance with the grounds of rejection above, the SCM435 low-alloy steel of Takagi would have necessarily exhibited an elongation at break of from 13 to 30%, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 9. Given that Takagi discloses the tank being operable at a hydrogen pressure of 82 MPa, it stands to reason, there is a strong expectation, and the Examiner is left to presume that the tank would have necessarily been capable of withstanding an internal gas pressure of at least 30 MPa in continuous operation, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Takagi discloses that a coating is applied to the outer surface of the inner liner layer (12) [0015, 0036], wherein the coating is a powder coating [0036] (wherein an outer surface of the base body is coated with at least one of the following coatings…or a powder coating).
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection and interpretation of claim 16 under 112(b) above, the rejection of claim 2 hereinabove is incorporated herein by reference and reads on the hydrogen-conducting component defined by claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 18 – the YS of 650 MPa is within the claimed range of 650 to 800 MPa. Additionally/alternatively, in accordance with the grounds of rejection above, the SCM435 low-alloy steel of Takagi would have necessarily exhibited an elongation at break of from 14 to 28%, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 19 – the YS of 650 MPa is within the claimed range of 650 to 800 MPa. Additionally/alternatively, in accordance with the grounds of rejection above, the SCM435 low-alloy steel of Takagi would have necessarily exhibited an elongation at break of from 15 to 25%, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 20, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, it is noted that though Takagi discloses the tank being operable at a hydrogen pressure of 82 MPa, Takagi is silent regarding the tank (inner liner layer formed from SCM435) being capable of withstanding an internal gas pressure of at least 100 MPa, as claimed.
However, given (1) that the SCM435 low-alloy steel forming the inner liner layer of the tank is substantially identical to that which is claimed and disclosed in Applicant’s spec (as indicated in the rejection of claim 1 above), (2) that the wall thickness of said inner liner layer disclosed by Takagi – broadly ranging from 20-60 mm [Takagi, 0031], exemplified as 38 mm [Table 1, Example 3] – may be up to approximately 6.6 times greater than the disclosed maximum thickness of the claimed base body [spec, 0038; claim 6], and (3) that the claimed term “withstands” is broad such that any form/type or degree of failure is encompassed thereby, it stands to reason/there is a strong expectation that the tank (inner liner layer) of Takagi would have necessarily been capable of withstanding an internal gas pressure of at least 100 MPa in continuous operation, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et al. (JP 2018-188716; “Yanagisawa”) (original copy and machine translation provided herewith; translation and original copy Tables 1-2 & Fig. 1 relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Yanagisawa discloses a tempered low-alloy steel for hydrogen accumulators that store high-pressure hydrogen at hydrogen filling stations, and a hydrogen accumulator (1) [Fig. 1] (hydrogen-carrying component) formed from said steel [0001-0002, 0008-0009, 0015, 0023, 0025, 0030, 0033]. The accumulator (1) [Fig. 1; 0033] comprises a body (2) (a base body) enclosing/defining an internal gas conduit (at least one gas conduit in the base body) with openings (3) at each end (at least one gas inlet and at least one gas outlet in fluid communication via the at least one gas conduit) – the accumulator is operable in a pressure range of at least 40 MPa [0016, 0025, 0033] (operable in a pressure range of at least 0.1 MPa).
Yanagisawa exemplifies (inventive) tempered low-alloy steel Example B [Tables 1-2], which exhibits a 0.2% yield strength (“0.2%YS”) of 744 MPa, a tensile strength (TS) of 880 MPa, and an elongation of 22% [Table 2, Example B; 0037] – the 0.2%YS is within the claimed range of 500 to 850 MPa, the TS is within the claimed range of 750 to 900 MPa, and the elongation is within the claimed range of 12 to 35%.
The alloying elements of the steel composition of Example B [Table 1] are as follows (balance Fe and unavoidable impurities [0009]).
C: 0.40 wt.%
Si: 0.27 wt.% (0.15 to 0.40 % by weight of silicon)
Mn: 0.80 wt.% (0.4 to 1.0 % by weight of manganese)
Cr: 0.74 wt.% (0.4 to 1.2 % by weight of chromium)
Mo: 0.23 wt.% (0.08 to 0.35 % by weight of molybdenum)
P: 0.012 wt.% (at most 0.035 % by weight of phosphorus)
S: 0.014 wt.% (at most 0.04 % by weight of sulfur)
The amounts of Si, Mn, Cr, Mo, P, and S, respectively, fall within each of the claimed corresponding claimed ranges shown in italics. Even though the TS, 0.2%YS, and elongation values exhibited by Example B are within the corresponding claimed ranges, the amount of C (0.40 wt.%) is beyond the upper limit of the claimed range (0.18 to 0.33 % by weight of carbon).
However, Yanagisawa teaches that the amount of C may range from 0.25 to 0.45 wt.% [0009, 0017, 0023, 0028]. Addition of C above 0.25 wt.% and below 0.45 wt.% improves the hardenability of the steel and allows for obtaining the desired strength (TS ranging from 800 to 1,000 MPa) [0014, 0017, 0023], and prevents or reduces the occurrence of crack formation during quenching [0017].
In view of the aforecited teachings of Yanagisawa, and given that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) and (II)(B)), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have increased or decreased the amount of C utilized in the composition of (inventive) steel Example B through routine experimentation, including over the entirety of the range of 0.25 to 0.45 wt.% taught by Yanagisawa, in order to have adjusted and/or optimized the hardenability, strength, e.g. tensile strength, or quench-crack resistance of the steel.
Applicant is respectfully directed to MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) and (II)(B), which indicate that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation – the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. A change in form, proportions, or degree ‘will not sustain a patent’ – it is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.
In accordance with the aforesaid routine experimentation, the amount of C of steel Example B of Yanagisawa would have been varied, i.e. increased/decreased from the initial amount of 0.40 wt.%, over the entirety of the disclosed range of 0.25 to 0.45 wt.%, where the remaining alloying element amounts (identified above at ¶65) would have remained constant and the amount of (balance) Fe would have decreased/increased corresponding to the amount of C.
The foregoing modification of steel Example B would have necessarily resulted in/encompasses – and thereby renders prima facie obvious – embodiments of the steel composition where the amount of C would have ranged from 0.25 to 0.33 wt.%, i.e. overlapped the claimed range, and the respective amounts of Si, Mn, Cr, Mo, P, and S would have been identical to those above at ¶65, i.e. unchanged from the values of Example B of Yanagisawa [Table 1]. The aforesaid embodiments of the steel composition resultant from the modification, and the hydrogen accumulator formed therefrom, and hereinafter referenced as “modified Yanagisawa”.
Given that the TS, 0.2%YS, and elongation of (non-modified) Example B are within the respective claimed ranges even when the amount of C (0.40 wt.%) lies outside of – but is very close to (see MPEP 2144.05(I)) – the claimed upper limit (0.33 wt.%); and given that the steel compositions (and hydrogen accumulator formed therefrom) of modified Yanagisawa would have been substantially identical or identical to the claimed tempered steel, it stands to reason that the steel composition(s) of modified Yanagisawa would have necessarily exhibited a TS ranging from 750 to 900 MPa, a 0.2%YS ranging from 500 to 850 MPa, and an elongation ranging from 12 to 35%, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. Applicant is respectfully directed to MPEP 2112(IV), 2112(V), 2112.01(I) and (II), 2144.05(I) and (II), 2145, and 2145(I).
The hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa set forth above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by each and every limitation of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, in view of the rejection and corresponding interpretation of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above reads on each hydrogen-carrying component defined by claims 2 and 16. Additionally/alternatively, absent objective evidence to the contrary, it stands to reason that the low-alloy steel composition of modified Yanagisawa would have necessarily exhibited the claimed defect depth range (MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 4. The amount of P (0.012 wt.%) of the steel composition of modified Yanagisawa is within the claimed range of less than or equal to 0.025% by weight.
Regarding claims 5 and 18-19, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on each hydrogen-carrying component defined by claims 5 and 18-19. See MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), and MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, it stands to reason – and there is a strong expectation – that the steel composition of modified Yanagisawa (substantially identical to the claimed and disclosed tempered steel) would have necessarily been capable of withstanding an internal gas pressure of at least 30 MPa continuously (claim 9), and at least 100 MPa continuously (claim 20), absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112(IV) and (V), MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II), and MPEP 2145 and 2145(I)).
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 17. That is, the amount of C present in the steel composition(s) of modified Yanagisawa, in accordance with the routine experimentation analysis set forth in the rejection of claim 1, would have ranged to as low as 0.25 wt.% relative to the initial C amount of 0.40 wt.% of Example B, i.e. 0.25 to 0.40 wt.% of which overlaps with, and thereby renders prima facie obvious, the claimed range of 0.22 to 0.29 wt.% (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Schlag (US 2008/0201932; “Schlag”).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above and the hydrogen accumulator (hydrogen-carrying component) of modified Yanagisawa established thereby, Yanagisawa is silent regarding the wall thickness of the accumulator (max.) ranging from 0.8 mm to 9.0 mm.
Specifically, Yanagisawa does not disclose any thickness associated therewith. However, Yanagisawa explicitly discloses that there is demand, i.e. it is desirable to make the accumulator as lightweight and low-cost as possible by making the wall-thickness thereof as thin as possible [0002].
Schlag is directed to high-pressure storage vessels for hydrogen gas, e.g. for use in hydrogen filling station applications and corresponding fuel cell vehicles [Abstract; Fig. 1; 0001, 0004, 0012, 0018]. The vessels comprise an inner liner defining the cavity for gas storage, which is formed from a material that is durable in the relevant operable pressure ranges [0019] – the inner liner is formed from, inter alia metal, e.g. steel [0020]. Schlag teaches that to reduce the weight of the pressure vessel, the inner liner (wall) thickness is typically minimized, and may be less than about 10 mm, such as less than about 5 mm [0019].
Yanagisawa and Schlag each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – hydrogen-carrying components formed from steel and requiring operability at high pressures. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa (set forth in rejection of claim 1) by having formed the steel body (3) to a wall thickness of 10 mm or less, in order to reduce the overall weight and cost of the accumulator.
In accordance with the aforesaid modification, the body (3) of the hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa would have exhibited a wall thickness equal to or less than 10 mm, of which encompasses, and thereby renders prima facie obvious, the claimed maximum wall thickness range of from 0.8 to 9.0 mm (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Schlag, Nagao et al. (JP 2014-198878; “Nagao”), and Miki et al. (JP 2019-183218; “Miki”) (copies and machine translations of Nagao and Miki provided herewith, translations relied upon). Takagi is relied upon as an evidentiary reference in support of the grounds of rejection.
Regarding claims 7-8, as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, the hydrogen accumulator (hydrogen-carrying component) of modified Yanagisawa, intended for use in hydrogen filling stations or applications associated therewith, exhibits openings (3) at each end [Yanagisawa, Fig. 1].
Yanagisawa discloses that the openings may be closed by attaching “lids” (4) [Fig. 1; 0033], where it is well-recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that one or both “lids” may be a plurality of other auxiliary components or fittings/connections that allow for filling/removal/flow/storage of hydrogen gas of/from/through/in the accumulator at a hydrogen filling station e.g. valves, pipes, bosses, etc., as evidenced by Takagi [0025-0027, 0030].
In view of the foregoing, Yanagisawa is silent regarding the accumulator comprising at least two subunits what are connected by at least one welded and/or at least one soldered connection (claim 7), and does not explicitly disclose the component (hydrogen-carrying component) being any of the component species recited in claim 8.
Yanagisawa teaches that the tempered steel composition (and thus, the composition resultant from the routine experimentation modification above in the rejection of claim 1) has a high fatigue limit and is therefore suitable for use as components for high-pressure accumulators [0033], and that the lids (4) – i.e. components attached to the body (3) of the accumulator – may be formed from the same tempered steel composition as the body (3) [0033].
Schlag teaches any one or more end fittings including adapters, valves, pressure regulators, piping connectors, flow limiters, and pressure relief devices may be attached to the opening or openings at the end(s) of the storage vessel for high-pressure hydrogen gas, to facilitate charging and discharging of hydrogen gas therefrom in hydrogen filling station applications [0004, 0021], e.g. to fill on-board vehicle storage tanks. Further, Schlag exemplifies attachment of the foregoing to the vessel through use of threads [0021], i.e. a mechanical attachment means.
Nagao – directed to a steel composition exhibiting resistance to embrittlement caused by high-pressure hydrogen gas exposure, suitable for use in high-pressure hydrogen gas accumulators and pipes utilized at hydrogen filling stations for fuel cell vehicles [Title; 0001-0003, 0028, 0052] – teaches that hydrogen pipes and other structures (i.e. components) utilized in conjunction with high-pressure accumulators should be able to withstand the same hydrogen gas environments and conditions as the accumulator, in order to ensure an equal level of safety [0010-0011, 0028, 0052].
Miki – directed to high-pressure hydrogen gas containers formed from tempered steel, for use in hydrogen supply stations [0001-0002, 0014-0016] – teaches that as an alternative to mechanical attachment means, such as fasteners/bolts or other well-known methods for attaching the lid portion(s) to the end(s) of the accumulator, the aforesaid may be attached by welding [0049-0050, 0053]. Further, Miki teaches that tempered steel suitable for use in forming high-pressure hydrogen storage containers is widely applicable beyond storage containers, specifically, is also suitable for forming high-pressure hydrogen: pipes, valves, and other fittings which are utilized in hydrogen filling stations [0117].
Each of Schlag, Nagao, and Miki constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention, as is clear from the aforecited disclosures above. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa (set forth in rejection of claim 1) by having attached via welding any one or more of a pipe, valve, pressure regulator, flow limiter, and pressure relief device – formed from the same tempered low-alloy steel composition as that of the body (3) of the accumulator – directly or indirectly to either or both ends of the accumulator, in order to enable/facilitate use of the accumulator at hydrogen filling stations or for other high-pressure hydrogen gas storage/transport applications, and to increase or ensure the safety of the high-pressure hydrogen gas filling station system.
The tempered low-alloy steel of modified Yanagisawa would have been readily recognized as suitable for the aforesaid use, i.e. capable of withstanding the high operating pressures and exhibiting hydrogen embrittlement resistance and fatigue resistance, and capable of being welded to the accumulator (formed from the same steel composition). Welding would have been readily recognized as a functionally equivalent alternative to mechanical attachment means, such as fasteners or threads, for attaching the above-mentioned components, e.g. pipes, valves, etc., to the accumulator. See MPEP 2144.06 and MPEP 2144.07.
In accordance with the foregoing modifications, the hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa would have comprised at least one (encompasses multiple, i.e. two or more) auxiliary component, such as, inter alia pipe(s) and/or valve(s) and/or pressure reliever(s)/regulator(s)/limiter(s), directly or indirectly connected to the opening(s) (4) via weld(s), wherein said at least one auxiliary component would have been formed from the same tempered low-alloy steel composition as the body (3) (the composition established in the rejection of claim 1 above). The aforesaid reads on the hydrogen-conducting component defined by claim 7. Further, any one or more of the aforesaid pipe, valve, and pressure regulator/limiter/reliever – formed from the low-alloy tempered steel composition of modified Yanagisawa in accordance with the routine experimentation rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 – read(s) on the hydrogen carrying component of claim 8 as dependent upon independent claim 1, i.e. reads on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 1, wherein said hydrogen-carrying component is a pipe, valve, pressure reducer, flow limiter or a combination thereof as defined by claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Takagi.
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above and the hydrogen accumulator (hydrogen-carrying component) of modified Yanagisawa established thereby, Yanagisawa is silent regarding the outer surface of the body (3) having a coating thereon as defined by claim 10.
Takagi, set forth/cited above in the copending rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 (¶43-61) and incorporated herein by reference, constitutes prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention. Takagi teaches that the powder coating [which is] applied to the outer surface of the steel inner liner layer (12) of the vessel prevents rust formation on the surface of the steel caused by environmental/water exposure [0036].
In view of the combined teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hydrogen accumulator of modified Yanagisawa by having applied a powder coating to the (steel) outer surface of the body (3), in order to prevent rust formation thereon. In accordance with said modification, the outer surface of the tempered low-alloy steel body (3) of the accumulator would have included a powder coating formed thereon, thereby reading on the hydrogen-carrying component defined by claim 10.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
It is noted that a brief description of relevance for each art reference has been omitted, as the references are all directed to steel alloy compositions suitable for use in high-pressure hydrogen gas or similar applications, and the products formed therefrom, e.g. vessels, accumulators, pipes, and/or auxiliary components – citations to the sections or embodiments the Examiner considers relevant have been provided.
US 2019/0211414 to Okano et al. – [Abstract; 0001, 0020-0027, 0030, 0128; Table 1, Steel Sample ID I; Table 2, Example No. 15]
US 2009/0098403 to Omura et al. – [Abstract; 0021, 0064; Table 1, Steel B; Table 3, Example 2]
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Aaron Austin can be reached at (571) 272-8935. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782