DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed July 9, 2026 has been received and entered into the application file. All arguments have been fully considered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-5, 9, 12-14, 16, 18 and 20 are currently amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/8/2026 and 7/9/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections- Withdrawn
Applicant’s amendment submitted 7/9/2026 obviates the previous objection of claims 1-3, 9, 13, 16, and 18.
Rejection Withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
RE: Rejection of Claim(s) 1-13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinton, in view of Cho:
Applicant’s amendment submitted 7/9/2026 has amended claim 1 to now recite the limitation “…dissipating the first hydrogel into a plurality of hydrogel fragments while the first hydrogel is disposed in the well unit…”
It is noted that Clinton taught transferring the hydrogel domes to a tube prior to dissociation, therefore the previous rejection of record has been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection are set forth below addressing the new limitation.
Rejection Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, 16 and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is initially noted that Applicant’s amendment submitted 7/9/2026 has removed the phrase “fresh hydrogel” and replaced it with the phrase “second hydrogel”, thus obviating the previous rejection regarding said phrase.
However, the phrase “fresh culture environment” remains in claims 1, 12, 16 and 20.
As previously discussed, the term “fresh” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “fresh” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not further define the boundaries of the fresh environment. Although the specification ([0008]) discloses a fresh culture environment includes depositing a fresh hydrogel (i.e. second hydrogel) on a bottom surface of the primary well, the ambiguity of said hydrogel does not clarify the metes and bounds of the limitation.
It is unclear if the limitation ”fresh culture environment” encompasses removing spent culture media, or requires removing spent culture media and transferring the culture vessel to an incubator that has recently undergone sterilization, or requires removing spent culture media, conducting an exchange of culture media, removing a first hydrogel, dissociating the culture organoid to a single cell suspension, adding a second hydrogel to the cell suspension and returning the culture to an incubator.
The metes and bounds of the limitation “fresh culture environment” are unclear.
Response to Remarks:
Applicant has argued that paragraphs [0042] and [0056] of the instant specification provide a clear and definite meaning to the phrase “fresh culture environment”, as discussed at Applicant’s remarks (page 6).
Applicant’s remarks have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Although paragraph [0042] indicates the addition of a liquid medium to the well unit provides a fresh environment, paragraph [0056] indicates the use of a sieve to inhibit larger cellular body fragments provide a new and fresh environment. These disclosures do not provide a specific definition of the required parameters in order to meet the limitation of a “fresh culture environment”. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand if this limitation is met by conducting only the addition of a liquid medium to the well unit, or would be met by only conducting sieving of cellular body fragments of a defined size, or would one have to conduct both steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinton et al (Current Protocols in Cell Biology, vol. 82, no. 1, March 30, 2019, 22 pages; IDS 11/16/2023) (“Clinton”), in view of Cho et al., (US 2019/0390149; IDS 11/16/2023) (“Cho”).
Clinton is directed to methods for three-dimensional (3D) in vitro culture of human organoids using an embedded 3D “dome” technique (INTRODUCTION and Figure 1).
Regarding claims 16 and 18-20, Clinton’s Figure 1 illustrates culturing one or more organoids in an ECM (extracellular matrix) hydrogel wherein the cell/ECM droplet (i.e., first hydrogel) is dispensed to a well unit, incubated at 37° C to polymerize the hydrogel thus forming the “dome” on the bottom surface of the well unit, and thereafter the hydrogel dome is overlayed with cell culture medium and subjected to in vitro culture to promote organoid growth.
Clinton (at pages 8-9) teaches the organoids (i.e., cellular bodies) are then separated from the hydrogel for subsequent passaging, wherein the ECM hydrogel is dissipated into fragments and removed by cooling the hydrogel with cold liquid medium (4°C, page 3, paragraph 4; i.e., about 4°C or less) (i.e., cooling the first hydrogel to a temperature that causes the first hydrogel to liquify, claim 18), by dispensing the cold liquid medium since cold liquid medium can facilitate a return of the hydrogel to a liquid state (claims 4-6 and 18). The hydrogel fragments are removed from the well (i.e., separating one or more cellular bodies from a first hydrogel that is disposed on a bottom surface of a first well unit). Clinton further teaches using mechanical disruption/dissociation following ECM hydrogel to dissociate the organoids into single cells or fragments (i.e., breaking the one or more cellular bodies into a plurality of cellular body fragments and corresponding debris), wherein mechanical disruption comprises pipetting up and down 20 to 30 times to break up the organoids into smaller fragments (i.e., applying one or more shear forces to the one or more cellular bodies via the pipette (claim 19)). Clinton further teaches the dissociated single cells or multicellular fragments are re-suspended in a volume of ECM (i.e., creating a fresh culture environment in one of the first well unit or a second well unit, the fresh culture environment comprising the plurality of cellular body fragments, claims 16 and 20) and dispensed back into culture vessels as 3D domes (i.e., depositing a second hydrogel in the one of the first well unit or the second well unit, the plurality of cellular body fragments being embedded int eh second hydrogel) and further cultured at 37° C (claim 20) (pages 8-9).
Clinton differs from the instant invention in that Clinton does not further teach a microwell plate comprising secondary wells connected to the primary wells via at
least one channel. However, the use of a microwell plate having a separate reservoir, secondary well, for the supply of nutrients and medium in methods for culturing organoids have been described in Cho.
Cho is directed to organoid culture and a microfluidic organoid culture device that comprises a first chamber for storing culture medium and a second chamber for culturing an organoid wherein a channel fluidly interconnects adjacent chambers (Abstract; [0002]-[0007]; FIG. 1). Cho teaches the organoids are cultured through three-dimensional (3D) culture using the well-known hydrogel Matrigel, which is a liquid that contains water as a dispersion medium and is hardened (polymerized), through the sol-gel phase transition, thus losing fluidity and forming a porous structure. ([0075]-[0079]). Cho’s culture device 100 comprises various well units (i.e., well unit of a microwell plate) including at least one first chamber 101 for storing the culture medium, at least one second chamber 102 for culturing the organoid, and a channel 103 that interconnects the adjacent chambers so the culture medium is shared throughout the culture device ([0055]-[0056]; FIG. 1).
Cho’s FIG. 1 is copied immediately below for Applicant’s convenience:
Cho’s hydrogel comprising the organoid is disposed in well section 102 and thus reads on the claimed “primary well section of the well unit”. Cho’s disclosed chamber 101 for storing the culture medium reads on “a secondary well unit”. The chambers 101 and 102 are interconnected by channel 103, thus Cho’s teaching reads on “a primary well section that is fluidly connected to a secondary well section via at least one channel, the hydrogel being disposed in the primary well section of the well unit”.
Thus, Cho has established it was known to use a microwell plate having a primary well section that is fluidly connected to a separate reservoir, i.e., secondary well, for the supply of nutrients and medium in methods for culturing organoids, wherein a hydrogel is disposed in the primary well section of the well unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the microwell plate disclosed by Cho for culturing and passaging organoids since Cho teaches numerous advantages including the production of highly functional organoids in a highly efficient manner, thus enhancing the availability of organoids for new drug development with the benefit of improving drug development costs, and further providing a culture system having excellent universality and one that is easily optimized to differ in shape and specification so as to be suitable for culturing different types of organoids having various shapes and sizes ([0022]-[0025]).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Clinton to include culturing in a microwell plate as taught by Cho, for the predictable result of successfully enhancing the availability of organoids for new drug development.
The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Clinton and Cho because each of these teachings are directed at three-dimensional culturing of organoids in a hydrogel.
Further regarding claim 16 and the limitation removing the hydrogel from the first well unit via the supply well of the first well unit, the one or more cellular bodies remaining within the culture well of the first well unit (claim 16), it is noted as discussed above, Cho’s FIG. 1 illustrates the primary and secondary well sections (chambers 101 and 102) are connected via channels 103, and the channels have a height ranging from 0.1-0.5 mm and have a width ranging from 0.6-1 mm. Cho, at [0086], further teaches the culture medium provided in chambers 101 and 102, via the channel 103, is a medium for supplying and transporting nutrients, oxygen, or the like, and capable of removing waste. Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, it is considered that Cho’s microwell device would permit transfer of hydrogel fragments via channel 103, thus meeting the limitation of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17 and the limitation the channel is sized and shaped to prevent passage of objects sized greater than about 25 µm between the culture well and the supply well, it is noted that the limitation “greater than about 25 µm” includes preventing passage of objects having sizes larger than 5 mm, 50 mm or 500mm, for example.
Cho teaches the smallest dimension of the interconnected channel (103) is a height ranging from 0.1-0.5 mm (100-500 µm). Therefore, Cho’s channel is sized and shaped to prevent passage of objects sized greater than 0.1-0.5 mm and therefore the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05
New grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinton et al (Current Protocols in Cell Biology, vol. 82, no. 1, March 30, 2019, 22 pages; IDS 11/16/2023) (“Clinton”), in view of Cho et al., (US 2019/0390149; IDS 11/16/2023) (“Cho”) and further in view of Singh et al., (US Patent No. 10,317,395; see PTO-892) (“Singh”) and McCray et a., (Journal of Visualized Experiments, January 2019, 142, e59051, 11 pages; see PTO-892) (“McCray”).
Clinton is directed to methods for three-dimensional (3D) in vitro culture of human organoids using an embedded 3D “dome” technique (INTRODUCTION and Figure 1).
Regarding claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15, Clinton’s Figure 1 illustrates culturing one or more organoids in an ECM (extracellular matrix) hydrogel wherein the cell/ECM droplet is dispensed to a well unit, incubated at 37° C to polymerize the hydrogel thus forming the “dome” (i.e., first hydrogel), and thereafter the hydrogel dome is overlayed with cell culture medium and subjected to in vitro culture to promote organoid growth.
Clinton (at pages 8-9) teaches the organoids are then separated from the hydrogel for subsequent passaging, wherein the ECM hydrogel is dissipated into fragments and removed by cooling the hydrogel with cold liquid medium (4°C, page 3, paragraph 4; i.e., about 4°C or less), by dispensing the cold liquid medium since cold liquid medium can facilitate a return of the hydrogel to a liquid state (claims 4-6). The hydrogel fragments are removed from the well.
Clinton further teaches using mechanical disruption/dissociation following ECM hydrogel to dissociate the organoids into single cells or fragments (i.e., organoid fragments and corresponding debris), wherein mechanical disruption comprises pipetting up and down 20 to 30 times to break up the organoids into smaller fragments (i.e., applying at least one shear force to the one or more organoids in the liquid handler (claim 7), i.e., manipulating the liquid handler to cause the one or more organoids to move vertically within the liquid handler (claim 8)). Clinton further teaches the dissociated single cells or multicellular fragments are re-suspended in a volume of ECM (i.e., creating a fresh culture environment comprising the plurality of organoid fragments, embedded in the fresh hydrogel prior to depositing (claims 1, 12-13) and dispensed back into culture vessels as 3D domes (i.e., depositing the plurality of organoid fragments and the corresponding debris into the primary well via the liquid handler) and further cultured at 37° C (claim 15 ) (pages 8-9).
Clinton teaches passaging of the organoids by transferring the hydrogel dome containing the organoids to a conical tube for subsequent dissipation of the first hydrogel by the addition of cold medium that liquefies the ECM dome and dissipates the hydrogel. Clinton does not further teach dissipating the first hydrogel while the first hydrogel is disposed in the well unit. However, Singh is directed to the cultivation of organoids in hydrogels at temperatures of 37 °C which prevents the hydrogel from liquefying (Abstract). Singh specifically teaches the organoids are passaged by placing a collagenase solution in each well, incubating overnight to permit thorough digestion (dissipation) of the gelatin hydrogel, thereafter, pipetting to further dissociate the organoid (col 24, line 60 to col 25, line 11).
Likewise, McCray is directed to cultivation of organoids in microwell plates using a hydrogel matrix (Abstract) and teaches passaging of the organoids by subjecting the hydrogel matrix containing the organoids to enzyme dissipation by adding neutral protease to each well and incubating for 20 minutes at 37 °C, thereafter the hydrogel matrix is dissociated mechanically by pipetting up and down and further incubation for 20 minutes at 37 °C (2. Collection of Organoids from Matrix Gel, pages 2-3 of 11).
Thus, Singh and McCray have established it was well-known to passage hydrogels containing organoids by dissipating the hydrogel within the well unit thereby separating the organoids from the first hydrogel.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to substitute dissipation of the first hydrogel within the well unit, as taught by Singh and McCray, for the dissipation technique of Clinton since both techniques are known to successfully dissipate the hydrogel and release the organoids from the hydrogel for further suspension and passaging. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as simply substituting one type of MSCs for another useful for the same purpose ((KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) pg 14 and 12).
The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Singh and McCray with Clinton because each of these teachings are directed at cultivation of organoids.
Clinton differs from the instant invention in that Clinton does not further teach a microwell plate comprising secondary wells connected to the primary wells via at
least one channel. However, the use of a microwell plate having a separate reservoir, secondary well, for the supply of nutrients and medium in methods for culturing organoids have been described in Cho.
Cho is directed to organoid culture and a microfluidic organoid culture device that comprises a first chamber for storing culture medium and a second chamber for culturing an organoid wherein a channel fluidly interconnects adjacent chambers (Abstract; [0002]-[0007]; FIG. 1). Cho teaches the organoids are cultured through three-dimensional (3D) culture using the well-known hydrogel Matrigel, which is a liquid that contains water as a dispersion medium and is hardened (polymerized), through the sol-gel phase transition, thus losing fluidity and forming a porous structure. ([0075]-[0079]). Cho’s culture device 100 comprises various well units (i.e., well unit of a microwell plate) including at least one first chamber 101 for storing the culture medium, at least one second chamber 102 for culturing the organoid, and a channel 103 that interconnects the adjacent chambers so the culture medium is shared throughout the culture device ([0055]-[0056]; FIG. 1).
Cho’s FIG. 1 is copied immediately below for Applicant’s convenience:
Cho’s hydrogel comprising the organoid is disposed in well section 102 and thus reads on the claimed “primary well section of the well unit”. Cho’s disclosed chamber 101 for storing the culture medium reads on “a secondary well unit”. The chambers 101 and 102 are interconnected by channel 103, thus Cho’s teaching reads on “a primary well section that is fluidly connected to a secondary well section via at least one channel, the hydrogel being disposed in the primary well section of the well unit”.
Thus, Cho established it was known to use a microwell plate having a primary well section that is fluidly connected to a separate reservoir, i.e., secondary well, for the supply of nutrients and medium in methods for culturing organoids, wherein a hydrogel is disposed in the primary well section of the well unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the microwell plate disclosed by Cho for culturing and passaging organoids since Cho teaches numerous advantages including the production of highly functional organoids in a highly efficient manner, thus enhancing the availability of organoids for new drug development with the benefit of improving drug development costs, and further providing a culture system having excellent universality and one that is easily optimized to differ in shape and specification so as to be suitable for culturing different types of organoids having various shapes and sizes ([0022]-[0025]).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Clinton to include culturing in a microwell plate as taught by Cho, for the predictable result of successfully enhancing the availability of organoids for new drug development.
The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Clinton and Cho because each of these teachings are directed at three-dimensional culturing of organoids in a hydrogel.
Further regarding claim 2 and the limitation the at least one channel is formed by at least one gap between a bottom surface of the well unit and a bottom portion of a shared sidewall of the primary well section and the secondary well section, it is noted Cho’s FIG. 1 illustrates the interconnected channel is a gap located between the shared walls of the chambers 101 and 102, located at the bottom surface of the interconnected wells, thus meeting the limitation of claim 2.
Further regarding claim 3, Cho teaches the channel (FIG. 1 #103) allows the culture medium to move between the chambers and the channel has a width of 0.6 to 1.0 mm and a height of 0.1 to 0.5 mm (i.e., height of the gap is in a range of about ten (10) microns up to about one hundred (100) microns) ([0083]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05
Further regarding claims 9-11 and the limitation of transferring the plurality of hydrogel fragments from the primary well section into the secondary well section of the well unit via the at least one channel (claim 9), the limitation of flushing the at least one channel to remove at least one of a debris fragment or an organoid fragment from the at least one channel (claim 10), and the limitation of moving the corresponding debris to the secondary well section of the well unit via the at least one channel (claim 11), it is noted as discussed above, Cho’s FIG. 1 illustrates the primary and secondary well sections (chambers 101 and 102) are connected via channels 103, and the channels have a height ranging from 0.1-0.5 mm and have a width ranging from 0.6-1 mm. Cho, at [0086], further teaches the culture medium provided in chambers 101 and 102, via the channel 103, is a medium for supplying and transporting nutrients, oxygen, or the like, and capable of removing waste. Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, it is considered that Cho’s microwell device would permit transfer of hydrogel fragments via channel 103, thus meeting the limitations of claims 9-11.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinton, in view of Singh, McCray and Cho, as applied to claims 1-13 and 15 above, and further in view of Vulto et al., (US 2020/0063081; IDS 11/16/2023, previously cited) (“Vulto”).
The teaching of Clinton, in view of Singh, McCray and Cho, is set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, it is noted that Clinton teaches the organoid fragments are embedded in the fresh hydrogel prior to depositing on the bottom surface of the primary well section. Clinton does not further comment on embedding the organoid fragments in fresh hydrogel after the fresh hydrogel is deposited on the bottom surface of the primary well section. However, Vulto is directed to three-dimensional cell aggregate (i.e., organoid) culture in microfluidic culture devices (Abstract), and Vulto, at [0164], teaches the hydrogel is preloaded with the cell or cells of interest (i.e. organoid fragments) prior to depositing on the culture surface, or alternatively the cells (i.e. organoid fragments) are embedded in the hydrogel after the hydrogel is deposited to the culture surface.
Thus, Vulto has established it was well known in the art of culturing organoids in hydrogels that organoid fragments could be embedded in the hydrogel prior to or after the hydrogel is deposited on the surface of the primary well section.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method taught by Clinton, in view of Singh, McCray and Cho, by substituting embedding the organoid fragments in the hydrogel after the hydrogel is deposited on the cultures surface. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to substitute embedding the organoid fragments in the hydrogel after the hydrogel is deposited on the cultures surface since both embedding prior to and after depositing the hydrogel on the bottom surface of the primary well section are known to successfully produce organoids. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as simply substituting one type of embedding technique for another useful for the same purpose ((KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) pg 14 and 12).
The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Vulto with the cited prior art because each of these teachings are directed at organoid culture.
Response to Remarks:
Applicant’s remarks are directed to the newly amended limitation of claim 1 now requiring dissipating the first hydrogel while the first hydrogel is disposed in the well unit.
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully considered but are not found persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above for claims 1-15, specifically addressing the newly amended limitation.
It is noted that claim 16 does not specifically recite dissipating the first hydrogel while the first hydrogel is disposed in the well unit.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. No claim is free of prior art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Contact Information
E. YVONNE PYLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633