DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claims states “biologically treating…aqueous effluents to be treated in the at least two basins”. It is not clear if “aqueous effluents” is referring to the same “aqueous effluents” as in line 3 or different effluents. The phrase “to be treated” further renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if “biologically treating” is an upstream process or if it is limiting the type of treatment in the at least two basins.
The term “preferably” in lines 12 and 13 renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the limitations that follow are required by the claim or not.
Regarding Claim 2:
The claim states “transferring the deaerated aqueous effluents”, however claim 1 requires “recirculating at least a portion of the deaerated effluents”. It is therefore not clear if “transferring” is limited to a second portion of the deaerated effluents or if claim 2 does not contain all the limitation of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4:
The claim refers to “at least one portion of the deaerated…”. There is already antecedent basis for this term within the claim. It is therefore not clear if this is the same portion or an additional portion.
Regarding Claim 5:
The claim refers to “at least one portion of the deaerated…”. There is already antecedent basis for this term within the claim. It is therefore not clear if this is the same portion or an additional portion.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8:
The claims use the term “preferably” this term renders the claims indefinite because it is not clear if the limitations that follow are required by the claim or not.
The remaining claims are indefinite as they depend from indefitne claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (US 2008/0053897).
Regarding Claim 1:
Zhu teaches the method for treating aqueous effluents, comprising the following steps :a) simultaneously feeding aqueous effluents into at least two basins comprising at least one upstream basin and at least one intermediate basin in the flow direction of the aqueous effluents, in fluid connection and in series with one another; b) biologically treating, on a fluidised bed (fluidized beds are used) (see para. 0015), aqueous effluents to be treated in the at least two basins; c) transferring at least one portion of the biologically treated aqueous effluents from the intermediate basin to a deaerator; d) deaerating the biologically treated aqueous effluents in the deaerator; e) recirculating at least one portion of the deaerated aqueous effluents to at least the upstream basin and preferably the at least two basins (see annotated figure 2 below), further comprising an air injection step (see para. 0044) f), preferably exclusively in the at least one intermediate basin.
Regarding Claim 6:
Zhu teaches the treatment method according claim 1,wherein deaerating step d) comprises a step of decanting (a clarifier is used) the biologically treated effluents in order to separate a solid from a supernatant and wherein the step of recirculating the deaerated aqueous effluents is only carried out on at least one portion of the supernatant liquid (only the top portion is recirculated) (see fig. 2, annotated above).
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhu teaches the device for treating aqueous effluents, comprising: a) at least two basins comprising at least one upstream basin and one intermediate basin in the flow direction of the aqueous effluents, in fluid connection and in series with one another and intended for carrying out a biological treatment on a fluidised bed (See para. 0015); b) a deaerator (clarifier) suitable for deaerating aqueous effluent and in fluid connection with the intermediate basin; c) feeding means for aqueous effluents to be treated, connected to the upstream basin and to the intermediate basin; d) recirculation means suitable for ensuring recirculation of deaerated effluents from the deaerator to at least the upstream basin and preferably to the at least two basins (see fig. 2, annotated below); e) air injection means (see para. 0044) suitable for injecting air, preferably exclusively into the intermediate basin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2019/0315643) in view of Zhu et al (US 2008/0053897).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kim teaches the method for treating aqueous effluents, comprising the following steps :a) simultaneously feeding (dividedly introducing) aqueous effluents into at least two basins (see para. 0014) comprising at least one upstream basin (aerobic tank) and at least one intermediate basin (first anoxic tank) in the flow direction of the aqueous effluents, in fluid connection and in series with one another (see para. 0013, fig. 2; b) biologically treating, aqueous effluents to be treated in the at least two basins (see para. 0013); c) transferring at least one portion of the biologically treated aqueous effluents from the intermediate basin to a deaerator(second anoxic tank) (see para. 0013); d) deaerating the biologically treated aqueous effluents in the deaerator (tank is anoxic, therefore some deaeration will occur); e) recirculating at least one portion of the deaerated aqueous effluents to at least the upstream basin (see fig. 2) and preferably the at least two basins, further comprising an air injection step (aeration intensity) (see para. 0034) f), preferably exclusively in the at least one intermediate basin.
Kim does not teach that the biologically treating is on a fluidised bed.
Zhu teaches biologically treating on a multiple fluidized beds (fluidized beds are used) (see para. 0015, figs. 5-7).
Kim and Zhu are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use fluidized beds, as disclosed by Zhu, in the basins of Kim because fluidized beds provide enhanced solid liquid interfaces and contact between gas and liquid (see Zhu para. 0004).
Regarding Claim 3:
Kim, as modified, teaches the treatment method according to claim 1, wherein a feed flow rate of aqueous effluents differs between the upstream basin and the intermediate basin (40-60% to the aerobic tank) (see Kim para. 0014). At all values other than 50% the feed flow rate differs.
Regarding Claim 4:
Kim, as modified, teaches the treatment method according to claim 1.
Kim does not teach wherein recirculation step e) is carried out to the at least two basins and a recirculation flow rate of at least one portion of the deaerated aqueous effluents differs between the upstream basin and the intermediate basin.
Zhu further teaches recirculating back to at least two basins (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a second recirculation line to the intermediate basin of Kim, as disclosed by Zhu, such that recirculation step is carrier out in the at least two basins because it is the simple addition of a known recirculation obviously resulting in additional anoxic treatment of the wastewater, with an expectation of success The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). It would have further been obvious to have differing amounts of deaerated effluents between the upstream basin and the intermediate basin because it is desirable to maintain a set ratio of ammonia nitrogen and nitrite nitrogen in the downstream reactor (see Kim para. 0017) and the upstream basin and intermediate basis change the quantity of ammonia and nitrite (see Kim par. 0015 and 0016).
Regarding Claim 5:
Kim, as modified, teaches the treatment method according to claim 4, wherein the upstream basin receives a higher feed flow rate of aqueous effluents (40% to 60%) (when greater than 50% the upstream basin receives a higher feed flow rate) (see Kim para. 0014) and/or a higher recirculation flow rate of at least one portion of the deaerated aqueous effluents.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn (KR 100762919, English machine translation provided) in view of Zhu et al (US 2008/0053897).
Regarding Claim 1:
Youn teaches the method for treating aqueous effluents, comprising the following steps :a) simultaneously feeding aqueous effluents into at least two basins (raw water is distributed to the anaerobic tank, anoxic tank, and fixed quantity supplying tank) (see Abstract) comprising at least one upstream basin (anaerobic tank 200) and at least one intermediate basin (anoxic tank 300) in the flow direction of the aqueous effluents (see pg. 8, 5th paragraph), in fluid connection and in series with one another (see fig, 3) biologically treating, aqueous effluents to be treated in the at least two basins (see pg. 8, 5th paragraph); c) transferring at least one portion of the biologically treated aqueous effluents from the intermediate basin to a deaerator (continuous batch reaction tank) (see pg. 8, 5th paragraph); d) deaerating the biologically treated aqueous effluents in the deaerator (some deaeration will occur, the type of deaerator is not limited); e) recirculating at least one portion of the deaerated aqueous effluents to at least the upstream basin (sludge from sludge conveying pipe 111) (see pg. 13, 1st paragraph) and preferably the at least two basins, further comprising an air injection step (see pg. 16, 2nd paragraph from bottom) f), preferably exclusively in the at least one intermediate basin.
Youn does not teach that the biologically treating is on a fluidised bed.
Zhu teaches biologically treating on a multiple fluidized beds (fluidized beds are used) (see para. 0015, figs. 5-7).
Youn and Zhu are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use fluidized beds, as disclosed by Zhu, in the basins of Kim because fluidized beds provide enhanced solid liquid interfaces and contact between gas and liquid (see Zhu para. 0004).
Regarding Claim 2:
Youn, as modified, teaches the treatment method according to claim 1, further comprising a step g) of transferring the deaerated aqueous effluents to at least one downstream basin (fixed quantity supplying tank 400) (see Youn Abstract, fig, 3) and wherein the steps a) of feeding aqueous effluents and b) biological treatment are also carried out in the downstream basin (see Youn fig, 3).
Regarding Claim 7:
Youn, as modified, teaches the treatment method according to claim 1,wherein the steps a) of feeding aqueous effluents and b) of biological treatment are also carried out in at least two intermediate basins (anoxic tank and fixed quantity tank) (see Youn, Abstract, fig. 3) and preferably three intermediate basins or more.
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 9/12/2025