Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
` Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
before the effective filing date.
Claims 21-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong (US 20100096644 A1, cited previously) in view of Liu (CN 102270717 A)
Regarding claim 21, Kong teaches a display device using a light emitting device,
comprising: a wiring substrate (board 150); a wiring electrode including a first wiring electrode 124 (for first LED) disposed in a first region and a second wiring electrode 124 (for second LED) disposed in a second region on the wiring substrate;
a first light emitting package electrically connected to the first wiring electrode;
and a second light emitting package electrically connected to the second wiring electrode,
wherein: first side surfaces of the first light emitting package are parallel (shown by arrows above)
and tilted toward a first direction (left direction); second side surfaces of the second light emitting package are parallel
(shown by arrows above)
and tilted toward a second direction (right side) opposite the first direction,
and the first and second side surfaces are tilted,
such that the tilted first and second side surfaces of the first and second light emitting devices cause an inherent asymmetrical light distribution that is biased with respect to a direction connecting a first-type electrode and a second-type electrode of each light emitting device; and the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are disposed symmetrically with respect to each other such that the respective asymmetrical light distributions biased in opposite directions overlap and cancel each other to produce a combined, substantially symmetrical light distribution (the same structural features and the orientation of light caused by the respective tilts as claimed, result in the same functions as claimed).
Kong does not teach: the first light emitting device being disposed in a first unit pixel region; and the second light emitting device being disposed in a second unit pixel region adjacent to the first unit pixel region.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the LED arrangement within adjacent pixels in order to achieve a digital display.
Kong already teaches light emitting packages and that the light emitting device is mounted and the mounting surface is tilted but does not teach the first and second side surfaces are tilted with respect to a respective bottom mounting surface of the first and second light emitting devices and that each of the first and second light emitting devices has a parallelogram cross- sectional shape due to crystallinity of a semiconductor material of each light emitting device and has a light-emitting surface parallel to the respective bottom mounting surface.
Liu discloses: The LED chip has an epitaxial layer that is laminated on a substrate layer where the side portion of a substrate is inclined or curved, and the opposite sides of substrate are inclined parallelogram-shaped or curved shaped. The epitaxial layer material is made of material selected from group consisting of doped gallium nitride/indium gallium nitride. The substrate material is made of material selected from group consisting of alumina, silicon carbide, zinc oxide and silicon (Applicant’s disclosure is relied upon in the rejection wherein the same gallium nitride crystal is used to form the parallelogram shape of the LED chip; see [0132] in Applicant’s disclosure: In addition, such a tilt angle may also be formed as the light emitting device is formed as the gallium nitride-based semiconductor on the sapphire substrate and then is cut in the direction of the crystal surface of the sapphire substrate)
and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the gallium nitride parallelogram LED device, as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Kong such that the splitting and uniformity rate of finished products are improved (Advantage section of Liu).
Regarding claim 22, Kong in view of Liu teaches a display device, wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are disposed symmetrically with respect to a tilt angle of their respective side surfaces (from the combined teachings of Kong in view of Liu).
Regarding claim 23, Kong in view of Liu teaches a display device, wherein the opposite directions of tilt of the first side surfaces and the second side surfaces are toward each other (see Drawing 7 from Kong below, and from the combined structure of Kong in view of Liu:
)
Regarding claim 24, Kong in view of Liu teaches a display device, wherein the opposite directions of the tilt of the first side surfaces and the second side surfaces are away from each other (from the combined teachings of Kong in view of Liu).
Regarding claim 25, Kong in view of Liu teaches a display device, wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are disposed symmetrically with respect to a center between the first pixel region and the second pixel region (from the combined teachings of Kong in view of Liu).
Regarding claim 26, Kong in view of Liu teaches a display device, wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device emit light of a same color (claim 19 of Kong, wherein any one color has been recited).
Regarding claim 28, Kong in view of Liu teaches a display device, wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are disposed such that respective electrode positions of each light emitting device are symmetrical to each other (from the teachings of Kong, in the combined structure of Kong in view of Liu).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 7/20/26 is acknowledged. However, it is moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Contact Information
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875