CTNF 18/262,372 CTNF 88891 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2023 and 03/10/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 1-23 in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 13-18, and 31-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0279527 A1; “Lee”) in view of LG Electronics, “Discussion on resource allocation for NR sidelink Mode 1”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #98, R1-1908901, Prague, 26 th -30 th August, 2019 (cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 07/20/2023; “LG”) . Regarding claim 1 , Lee teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories [Lee ¶ 0071: first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104] and configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate, with a second wireless device [Lee ¶ 0070: ¶ 0071, Fig. 2: first wireless device and second wireless device in communication] , a sidelink reference signal on a first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0357-0359, 0363, & 0370: UE with activated SL BWP may transmit/receive CSI-RS ( i.e. sidelink RS ) over the activated BWP ( here, sidelink Tx/Rx would be understood as Tx/Rx between wireless communication devices )] , the sidelink reference signal associated with a subsequent communication of a sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0364 & 0371: UE may Tx/Rx CSI report on SL BWP ( here, a CSI report would implicitly be sent subsequently to Tx/Rx CSI-RS )] ; determine whether a switch to a second active bandwidth part occurs prior to the communication of the sidelink message and after the communication of the sidelink reference signal [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE determines whether UL BWP is activated or switched ( here, the BWP switch implicitly occurs after a Tx/Rx action by the UE, e.g., SL-CSI Tx/Rx and prior to some subsequent action by the UE as detailed in ¶¶ 0374-0376 )] , and communicate the sidelink message on a bandwidth part in accordance with a first set of coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE activates a SL BWP based on numerology ( see also ¶ 0345: also in consideration of priority, i.e., a “set” of coherency transmission characteristics ) of activated UL BWP and SL BWP being different ( here, the decision to switch to a SL BWP would implicitly occur after a determination that switch of active BWP occurred )] . However, Lee does not explicitly disclose communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination. However, in a similar field of endeavor, LG teaches communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining a SL BWP to use for sidelink transmission subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP as taught by Lee, with the method of determining to return to a SL BWP subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP based on a comparison of numerology between BWPs as taught by LG. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve resource allocation for NR sidelink mode 1 [LG p. 1, sec. 1] . Regarding claim 2 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate the sidelink message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference [LG pp. 4-5, sec. 2.4: when no BWP switching occurs SL configured grants would be valid, i.e., a same SL BWP with same numerology, analogous to transmission characteristics, would be used for subsequent SL transmissions; see also Proposal 9: HARQ resources over SL BWP ( having same transmission characteristics ) would be valid when no switching occurs; here, when no active BWP switching occurs, subsequent SL transmissions occur over the same SL BWP as initial SL transmissions, therefore, the first transmission would have first transmission characteristics equal to those of a subsequent SL transmission, and, as both first and second transmission characteristics would be the same they would implicitly satisfy a threshold relative distance ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 3 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate the sidelink message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology ); here, when a switch occurs, subsequent SL messages/grants are Tx/Rx on initial SL BWP, wherein the initial SL BWP would inherently have a same communication characteristic, e.g., numerology, therefore, having no relative difference ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 4 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal comprise a phase associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal, a transmission power associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal, a time at which the sidelink reference signal is communicated, or a combination thereof; and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message comprise a phase associated with the communication of the sidelink message, a transmission power associated with the communication of the sidelink message, a time at which the sidelink message is communicated, or a combination thereof [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: SL BWP has an associated numerology ( i.e. timing at which transmissions occur ); here, an initial SL BWP has a first numerology, i.e., first communication characteristic, and a switched to SL BWP, that is a BWP used subsequent to active UL BWP switching, is associated with a second numerology, i.e., second communication characteristic ] . Regarding claim 13 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein, to determine whether the switch occurs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first wireless device to: determine that the second wireless device fails to switch to the second active bandwidth part prior to the communication of the sidelink message, the processor configured to: obtain, from the second wireless device, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination that the second wireless device fails to switch to the second active bandwidth part. However, LG teaches determine that the second wireless device fails to switch to the second active bandwidth part prior to the communication of the sidelink message, the processor configured to: obtain, from the second wireless device, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination that the second wireless device fails to switch to the second active bandwidth part [LG pp. 4-5, sec. 2.4: when no BWP switching occurs SL configured grants would be valid, i.e., a same SL BWP with same numerology, analogous to transmission characteristics, would be used for subsequent SL transmissions; see also Proposal 9: HARQ resources over SL BWP ( having same transmission characteristics ) would be valid when no switching occurs; here, when no active BWP switching occurs, subsequent SL transmissions occur over the same SL BWP as initial SL transmissions, therefore, the first transmission would have first transmission characteristics equal to those of a subsequent SL transmission, and, as both first and second transmission characteristics would be the same they would implicitly satisfy a threshold relative distance ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 14 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first active bandwidth part is an active bandwidth part associated with communication of sidelink messages [Lee ¶¶ 0357-0359, 0363, & 0370: UE with activated SL BWP may transmit/receive CSI-RS ( i.e. sidelink RS ) over the activated BWP] and the second active bandwidth part is an active bandwidth part associated with transmission of uplink messages to a network entity [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE determines whether UL BWP is activated or switched] . Regarding claim 15 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first active bandwidth part and the second active bandwidth part are active bandwidth parts associated with communication of sidelink messages. However, LG teaches wherein the first active bandwidth part and the second active bandwidth part are active bandwidth parts associated with communication of sidelink messages [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: SL BWP ( i.e. first active BWP ) associated with SL Tx/Rx and switched-to active UL BWP ( i.e. second active BWP ), wherein the numerology of the UL BWP is used to determine an active BWP for subsequent SL messages ( i.e. associated with SL communication )] .. The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 16 , Lee teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories [Lee ¶ 0071: first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104] configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate, with a second wireless device [Lee ¶ 0070: ¶ 0071, Fig. 2: first wireless device and second wireless device in communication] , a sidelink reference signal on a first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0357-0359, 0363, & 0370: UE with activated SL BWP may transmit/receive CSI-RS ( i.e. sidelink RS ) over the activated BWP ( here, sidelink Tx/Rx would be understood as Tx/Rx between wireless communication devices )] , the sidelink reference signal associated with a subsequent communication of a sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0364 & 0371: UE may Tx/Rx CSI report on SL BWP ( here, a CSI report would implicitly be sent subsequently to Tx/Rx CSI-RS )] ; determine whether a switch between a first duplex mode and a second duplex mode occurs prior to or concurrent with the communication of the sidelink message and after the communication of the sidelink reference signal [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE determines whether UL BWP is activated or switched ( here, the BWP switch implicitly occurs after a Tx/Rx action by the UE, e.g., SL-CSI Tx/Rx and prior to some subsequent action by the UE as detailed in ¶¶ 0374-0376 ); Applicant’s Specification ¶ 0029: discloses that switching duplex modes may merely be switching a first BWP associated with FD mode and a second BWP associated with FD mode. Therefore, Lee’s disclosure of switching between an SL BWP and active UL BWP is analogous to switching BWP based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of duplex mode in light of Applicant’s Specification ] ; and communicate the sidelink message on a bandwidth part in accordance with a first set of coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE activates a SL BWP based on numerology ( see also ¶ 0345: also in consideration of priority, i.e., a “set” of coherency transmission characteristics ) of activated UL BWP and SL BWP being different ( here, the decision to switch to a SL BWP would implicitly occur after a determination that switch of active BWP occurred )] . However, Lee does not explicitly disclose communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination. However, in a similar field of endeavor, LG teaches communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining a SL BWP to use for sidelink transmission subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP as taught by Lee, with the method of determining to return to a SL BWP subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP based on a comparison of numerology between BWPs as taught by LG. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve resource allocation for NR sidelink mode 1 [LG p. 1, sec. 1] . Regarding claim 17 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 16, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate the sidelink message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference [LG pp. 4-5, sec. 2.4: when no BWP switching occurs SL configured grants would be valid, i.e., a same SL BWP with same numerology, analogous to transmission characteristics, would be used for subsequent SL transmissions; see also Proposal 9: HARQ resources over SL BWP ( having same transmission characteristics ) would be valid when no switching occurs; here, when no active BWP switching occurs, subsequent SL transmissions occur over the same SL BWP as initial SL transmissions, therefore, the first transmission would have first transmission characteristics equal to those of a subsequent SL transmission, and, as both first and second transmission characteristics would be the same they would implicitly satisfy a threshold relative distance ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 16 above. Regarding claim 18 , Lee in view of LG teaches the apparatus of claim 16, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate the sidelink message, the one or more processors are configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology ); here, when a switch occurs, subsequent SL messages/grants are Tx/Rx on initial SL BWP, wherein the initial SL BWP would inherently have a same communication characteristic, e.g., numerology, therefore, having no relative difference ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 16 above. Regarding claim 31 , Lee teaches a method for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising: communicating, with a second wireless device [Lee ¶ 0070: ¶ 0071, Fig. 2: first wireless device and second wireless device in communication] , a sidelink reference signal on a first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0357-0359, 0363, & 0370: UE with activated SL BWP may transmit/receive CSI-RS ( i.e. sidelink RS ) over the activated BWP ( here, sidelink Tx/Rx would be understood as Tx/Rx between wireless communication devices )] , the sidelink reference signal associated with a subsequent communication of a sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0364 & 0371: UE may Tx/Rx CSI report on SL BWP ( here, a CSI report would implicitly be sent subsequently to Tx/Rx CSI-RS )] ; determining whether a switch to a second active bandwidth part occurs prior to the communication of the sidelink message and after the communication of the sidelink reference signal [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE determines whether UL BWP is activated or switched ( here, the BWP switch implicitly occurs after a Tx/Rx action by the UE, e.g., SL-CSI Tx/Rx and prior to some subsequent action by the UE as detailed in ¶¶ 0374-0376 )] ; and communicating the sidelink message on a bandwidth part in accordance with a first set of coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE activates a SL BWP based on numerology ( see also ¶ 0345: also in consideration of priority, i.e., a “set” of coherency transmission characteristics ) of activated UL BWP and SL BWP being different ( here, the decision to switch to a SL BWP would implicitly occur after a determination that switch of active BWP occurred )] . However, Lee does not explicitly disclose communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination. However, in a similar field of endeavor, LG teaches communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining a SL BWP to use for sidelink transmission subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP as taught by Lee, with the method of determining to return to a SL BWP subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP based on a comparison of numerology between BWPs as taught by LG. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve resource allocation for NR sidelink mode 1 [LG p. 1, sec. 1] . Regarding claim 32 , Lee in view of LG teaches the method of claim 31, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating the sidelink message comprises: communicating, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicating, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference [LG pp. 4-5, sec. 2.4: when no BWP switching occurs SL configured grants would be valid, i.e., a same SL BWP with same numerology, analogous to transmission characteristics, would be used for subsequent SL transmissions; see also Proposal 9: HARQ resources over SL BWP ( having same transmission characteristics ) would be valid when no switching occurs; here, when no active BWP switching occurs, subsequent SL transmissions occur over the same SL BWP as initial SL transmissions, therefore, the first transmission would have first transmission characteristics equal to those of a subsequent SL transmission, and, as both first and second transmission characteristics would be the same they would implicitly satisfy a threshold relative distance ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 31 above. Regarding claim 33 , Lee in view of LG teaches the method of claim 31, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating the sidelink message comprises: communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicate, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology ); here, when a switch occurs, subsequent SL messages/grants are Tx/Rx on initial SL BWP, wherein the initial SL BWP would inherently have a same communication characteristic, e.g., numerology, therefore, having no relative difference ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 31 above. Regarding claim 34 , Lee in view of LG teaches the method of claim 31, wherein: first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal comprise a phase associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal, a transmission power associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal, a time at which the sidelink reference signal is communicated, or a combination thereof; and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message comprise a phase associated with the communication of the sidelink message, a transmission power associated with the communication of the sidelink message, a time at which the sidelink message is communicated, or a combination thereof [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: SL BWP has an associated numerology ( i.e. timing at which transmissions occur ); here, an initial SL BWP has a first numerology, i.e., first communication characteristic, and a switched to SL BWP, that is a BWP used subsequent to active UL BWP switching, is associated with a second numerology, i.e., second communication characteristic ] . Regarding claim 35 , Lee teaches a method for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising: communicating, with a second wireless device [Lee ¶ 0070: ¶ 0071, Fig. 2: first wireless device and second wireless device in communication] , a sidelink reference signal on a first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0357-0359, 0363, & 0370: UE with activated SL BWP may transmit/receive CSI-RS ( i.e. sidelink RS ) over the activated BWP ( here, sidelink Tx/Rx would be understood as Tx/Rx between wireless communication devices )] , the sidelink reference signal associated with a subsequent communication of a sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part [Lee ¶¶ 0364 & 0371: UE may Tx/Rx CSI report on SL BWP ( here, a CSI report would implicitly be sent subsequently to Tx/Rx CSI-RS )] ; determining whether a switch between a first duplex mode and a second duplex mode occurs prior to or concurrent with the communication of the sidelink message and after the communication of the sidelink reference signal [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE determines whether UL BWP is activated or switched ( here, the BWP switch implicitly occurs after a Tx/Rx action by the UE, e.g., SL-CSI Tx/Rx and prior to some subsequent action by the UE as detailed in ¶¶ 0374-0376 ); Applicant’s Specification ¶ 0029: discloses that switching duplex modes may merely be switching a first BWP associated with FD mode and a second BWP associated with FD mode. Therefore, Lee’s disclosure of switching between an SL BWP and active UL BWP is analogous to switching BWP based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of duplex mode in light of Applicant’s Specification ] ; and communicating the sidelink message on a bandwidth part in accordance with a first set of coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [Lee ¶¶ 0373-0376: UE activates a SL BWP based on numerology ( see also ¶ 0345: also in consideration of priority, i.e., a “set” of coherency transmission characteristics ) of activated UL BWP and SL BWP being different ( here, the decision to switch to a SL BWP would implicitly occur after a determination that switch of active BWP occurred )] . However, Lee does not explicitly disclose communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination. However, in a similar field of endeavor, LG teaches communicate the sidelink message on the first active bandwidth part in accordance with coherency transmission characteristics based at least in part on the determination [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining a SL BWP to use for sidelink transmission subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP as taught by Lee, with the method of determining to return to a SL BWP subsequent to a switch to an active UL BWP based on a comparison of numerology between BWPs as taught by LG. The motivation to combine these references would be to improve resource allocation for NR sidelink mode 1 [LG p. 1, sec. 1] . Regarding claim 36 , Lee in view of LG teaches the method of claim 35, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating the sidelink message comprises: communicating, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicating, based at least in part on a determination that the switch fails to occur, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message satisfies a threshold relative difference [LG pp. 4-5, sec. 2.4: when no BWP switching occurs SL configured grants would be valid, i.e., a same SL BWP with same numerology, analogous to transmission characteristics, would be used for subsequent SL transmissions; see also Proposal 9: HARQ resources over SL BWP ( having same transmission characteristics ) would be valid when no switching occurs; here, when no active BWP switching occurs, subsequent SL transmissions occur over the same SL BWP as initial SL transmissions, therefore, the first transmission would have first transmission characteristics equal to those of a subsequent SL transmission, and, as both first and second transmission characteristics would be the same they would implicitly satisfy a threshold relative distance ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 35 above. Regarding claim 37 , Lee in view of LG teaches the method of claim 35, however, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating the sidelink message comprises: communicating, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference. However, LG teaches communicating, based at least in part on a determination that the switch occurs, the sidelink message in accordance with the first set of coherency transmission characteristics such that a relative difference between first communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink reference signal and second communication characteristics associated with the communication of the sidelink message fails to satisfy a threshold relative difference [LG p. 4, sec. 2.4: when numerology ( i.e. coherency transmission characteristic ) between SL BWP and switched-to active UL BWP is the same the SL BWP is valid for configured grant type-1 or type-2 resources ( i.e. transmission occurs on first active SL BWP based on a numerology ); here, when a switch occurs, subsequent SL messages/grants are Tx/Rx on initial SL BWP, wherein the initial SL BWP would inherently have a same communication characteristic, e.g., numerology, therefore, having no relative difference ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 35 above . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-12 and 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN P COX whose telephone number is (571)272-2728. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00AM-4PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Thier can be reached at 5712722832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN P COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 7 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 8 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 9 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 10 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 11 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 12 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 13 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 14 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 15 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 16 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 17 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 18 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 19 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 20 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 21 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 22 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 23 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/262,372 Page 24 Art Unit: 2474