DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campian (US 6234725).
Regarding claim 1, Campian discloses a rotary tool 10 having a columnar shape extending along a rotation axis from a first end toward a second end and having an outer peripheral surface. The tool comprises a first flute 20 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end having a first helix angle having a positive value, and a second flute 18 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end and having a second helix angle having a negative value. A first cutting edge 24 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the first flute and a second cutting edge 22 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the second flute. The first flute intersects with the second flute and the first cutting edge connects to the second cutting edge. The outer peripheral surface comprises a first outer peripheral surface 28 extending along the first and second cutting edges and a second outer peripheral surface 30 is located on a rear side in a rotation direction 26 with respect to the first outer peripheral surface. The first outer peripheral surface comprises a first flank surface extending along the first cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 24) and a second flank surface extending along the second cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 22). The first flank surface comprises a first enlarged portion whose width in a direction orthogonal to the first cutting edge increases as coming closer to the second flank surface (see Fig. 1A which illustrates the flank surface widening when nearing the corner).
Regarding claim 2, Campian discloses the first enlarged part being adjacent to the second flank surface (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Campian discloses the second flank surface comprising a second enlarged part whose width in a direction orthogonal to the second cutting edge increases as coming closer to the first flank surface (see Fig. 1A which illustrates the flank surface widening when nearing the corner).
Regarding claim 4, Campian discloses the second enlarged part being adjacent to the first flank surface (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 5, Campian discloses the first outer peripheral surface further comprises a convex part which is located at a connecting point of the first flank surface and the second flank surface and which projects relative to the second outer peripheral surface (see Fig. 1A, the projecting/convex part of the first outer peripheral surface 28 being the point where cutting edges 22 & 24 meet).
Regarding claim 6, Campian discloses the first outer peripheral surface further comprising a concave part which is located at a connecting part of the first flank surface and the second flank surface and which is recessed relative to the second outer peripheral surface (see Fig. 1A, the recessed/concave part of the first outer peripheral surface being the vertical walls and concave curve extending from 28 to 30).
Regarding claim 7, Campian discloses an inherent method for manufacturing a machined product comprising rotating the rotary tool of claim 1, bringing the rotary tool being rotated into contact with a workpiece and then moving the rotary tool away from the workpiece.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dodds et al. (US 20170216936), Aber (US 2344954) and Aber (US 2344956) disclose elements of or similar to the instant invention.
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722