DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campian (US 6234725).
Regarding claim 1, Campian discloses a rotary tool 10 having a columnar shape extending along a rotation axis of the rotary tool from a first end toward a second end, the rotary tool having an outer peripheral surface. The tool comprises a first flute 20 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end having a first helix angle having a positive value, and a second flute 18 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end and having a second helix angle having a negative value. A first cutting edge 24 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the first flute and a second cutting edge 22 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the second flute. The first flute intersects with the second flute and the first cutting edge connects to the second cutting edge. The outer peripheral surface comprises a first outer peripheral surface 28 extending along the first and second cutting edges and a second outer peripheral surface 30 is located on a rear side in a rotation direction 26 with respect to the first outer peripheral surface. The first outer peripheral surface comprises a first flank surface extending along the first cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 24) and a second flank surface extending along the second cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 22). A concave part (see Fig. 1A, the recessed/concave part of the first outer peripheral surface being the vertical walls and concave curve extending from 28 to 30) is located at a connecting part of the first flank surface and the second flank surface and is recessed relative to the second outer peripheral surface. The first flank surface comprises a first enlarged portion whose width in a first direction orthogonal to the first cutting edge increases as coming closer to the second flank surface (see Fig. 1A which illustrates the flank surface widening when nearing the corner). In a second direction along the first cutting edge, an end portion of the first enlarged part is located on an outer side of an end portion of the concave part, wherein a side of the connecting part is defined as an inner side and a side opposite to the inner side is defined as the outer side (see annotated Fig. 1A below).
Regarding claim 2, Campian discloses the first enlarged part being adjacent to the second flank surface (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Campian discloses the second flank surface comprising a second enlarged part whose width in a direction orthogonal to the second cutting edge increases as coming closer to the first flank surface (see annotated Fig. 1A above, which illustrates the second flank surface widening when nearing the corner).
Regarding claim 4, Campian discloses the second enlarged part being adjacent to the first flank surface (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Campian discloses an inherent method for manufacturing a machined product comprising rotating a rotary tool, bringing the rotary tool being rotated into contact with a workpiece and then moving the rotary tool away from the workpiece. The rotary tool has a columnar shape extending along a rotation axis of the rotary tool from a first end toward a second end, the rotary tool has an outer peripheral surface, a first flute 20 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end having a first helix angle having a positive value, and a second flute 18 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end and having a second helix angle having a negative value. A first cutting edge 24 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the first flute and a second cutting edge 22 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the second flute. The first flute intersects with the second flute and the first cutting edge connects to the second cutting edge. The outer peripheral surface comprises a first outer peripheral surface 28 extending along the first and second cutting edges and a second outer peripheral surface 30 is located on a rear side in a rotation direction 26 with respect to the first outer peripheral surface. The first outer peripheral surface comprises a first flank surface extending along the first cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 24) and a second flank surface extending along the second cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 22). A concave part (see Fig. 1A, the recessed/concave part of the first outer peripheral surface being the vertical walls and concave curve extending from 28 to 30) is located at a connecting part of the first flank surface and the second flank surface and is recessed relative to the second outer peripheral surface. The first flank surface comprises a first enlarged portion whose width in a first direction orthogonal to the first cutting edge increases as coming closer to the second flank surface (see Fig. 1A which illustrates the flank surface widening when nearing the corner). In a second direction along the first cutting edge, an end portion of the first enlarged part is located on an outer side of an end portion of the concave part, wherein a side of the connecting part is defined as an inner side and a side opposite to the inner side is defined as the outer side.
Regarding claim 8, Campian discloses the first enlarged part being located on a side away from the second flank surface in the first flank surface.
Regarding claim 9, Campian discloses a rotary tool 10 having a columnar shape extending along a rotation axis of the rotary tool from a first end toward a second end, the rotary tool having an outer peripheral surface. The tool comprises a first flute 20 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end having a first helix angle having a positive value, and a second flute 18 extending spirally around the rotation axis from the first end toward the second end and having a second helix angle having a negative value. A first cutting edge 24 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the first flute and a second cutting edge 22 is located at an intersection of the outer peripheral surface and the second flute. The first flute intersects with the second flute and the first cutting edge connects to the second cutting edge. The outer peripheral surface comprises a first outer peripheral surface 28 extending along the first and second cutting edges and a second outer peripheral surface 30 is located on a rear side in a rotation direction 26 with respect to the first outer peripheral surface. The first outer peripheral surface comprises a first flank surface extending along the first cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 24) and a second flank surface extending along the second cutting edge (the portion of surface 28 directly adjacent to cutting edge 22). A convex part which is located at a connecting point of the first flank surface and the second flank surface and which projects relative to the second outer peripheral surface (see Fig. 1A, the projecting/convex part of the first outer peripheral surface 28 being the point where cutting edges 22 & 24 meet). The first flank surface comprises a first enlarged portion whose width in a first direction orthogonal to the first cutting edge increases as coming closer to the second flank surface (see Fig. 1A which illustrates the flank surface widening when nearing the corner).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that Campian discloses the concave part and first enlarged part are the same part and that Campian does not disclose the claimed convex part. These arguments are respectfully traversed.
First, as discussed in the Non-Final Rejection of 01/13/2026 and again above, in addition to the annotated Figure 1A of Campian, the concave part of Campian is the vertical walls and particularly the concave curved part that extend between surface 28 and 30, and the first enlarged part in the first flank surface is an arbitrary part of surface 28 itself. Therefore the concave part and first enlarged part are clearly not the same part. In the annotated Figure 1A above, the end portion of the concave part (marked) and the end portion of the first enlarged part (marked by a dashed line, as well as a dashed line marking the end of the second enlarged part) are arranged as claimed.
Regarding the argument that Campian does not disclose the claimed convex part, as discussed in the Non-Final Rejection of 01/13/2026 and again above, Campian does disclose the external corner where edges 22 and 24 meet as a convex part.
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722