DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I (claim(s) 1-2, 6-9 and 16-17 drawn to a single domain antibody that specifically binds to an epitope in a catalytic domain of carbonic anhydrase IX (CA-IX), wherein the single domain antibody has a dissociation constant (KD) of 1 x 10-7 or lower for a monomeric form of CA-IX and/or a dimeric form of CA-IX) with species election of SEQ ID NOs: 5-8 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged.
3. The election without traverse filed 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 6-9 and 16-17 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted 02/13/2024 and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise.
5. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
6. The use of the term “OCTET” (page 42), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. Please review he specification for other trademarks and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 2 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term/phrase “capable of”, and “associated with” in claims 2 and 16 are relative terms which renders the claims indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The word/phrase introduces a range of possibilities and even wider in some interpretations which causes ambiguity. The rationale for avoiding such phrasing comes down to accuracy, reproducibility and the proper representation of uncertainty.
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “biological activity” is a relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether biological activity could mean disruption of pH regulation, impairment of cell migration, reduction of tumor metastasis and etc. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The word/phrase introduces a range of possibilities and even wider in some interpretations which causes ambiguity. The rationale for avoiding such phrasing comes down to accuracy, reproducibility and the proper representation of uncertainty.
The following is a written description rejection. This written description rejection has two issues. One issue regarding written description with regard to the claimed invention lacking structure for the antibody, and the other issue regarding the use of “fragment/variant” language.
9. Claims 1-2, 6, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claim 1-2, 6 and 16-17 are drawn to a single domain antibody that specifically binds to an epitope in a catalytic domain of carbonic anhydrase IX (CA-IX), wherein the single domain antibody has a dissociation constant (KD) of 1 x 10-7 or lower for a monomeric form of CA-IX and/or a dimeric form of CA-IX; wherein the single domain antibody: has a KD of 9 x 10-9 or lower for a CA-IX fragment lacking a proteoglycan-like (PG) domain; is capable of reducing the biological activity of CA-IX; and/or is capable of being internalized by a cell expressing CA-IX; wherein the single domain antibody lacks the ability to specifically bind to at least one of: carbonic anhydrase II (CA-II), carbonic anhydrase IV (CA-IV), carbonic anhydrase XII (CA-XII), carbonic anhydrase XIV (CA-XIV), and a proteoglycan-like (PG) domain of CA-IX; wherein the single domain antibody is associated with a toxic payload or a detectable label; A multivalent antibody comprising at least one single domain antibody of claim 1.
The instant specification recites a "single domain antibody" or "sdAb" as used herein refers to an antibody that has a single monomeric variable antibody domain comprising at least three complementary determining regions (CDRs). As it is known in the art, the single domain antibodies can be obtained from camelids (called also VHH antibodies or nanobodies), from fish (called VNAR antibodies), or by using phage display technology. The single domain antibodies can also be derived from a heavy chain (VH) or a light chain (VL) of an immunoglobulin. Examples of single domain antibodies of the present disclosure include but are not limited to VHH or nanobodies. Single domain antibodies may be further defined by a size of less than about 15 kDa, less than about 14 kDa, less than about 13 kDa, less than about 12 kDa, less than about 11 kDa, or less than about 10 kDa. In one embodiment, sdAbs or nanobodies can be defined as having less than about 150 amino acids, less than about 140 amino acids, less than about 130 amino acids, less than about 120 amino acids, less than about 110 amino acids or less than 100 amino acids. In a further embodiment, nanobodies can be defined as consisting of less than about 150 amino acids, less than about 140 amino acids, less than about 130 amino acids, less than about 120 amino acids, less than about 110 amino acids or less than 100 amino acids (page 12).
However, the claims encompass far more than the species disclosed in the specification. As noted above, the claims encompass a vast genus of antibodies described solely in terms of their function and/or a partial structure. The specification does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad genus of the claims because the specification does not disclose a correlation between the necessary structure of the antibody, and the claimed functions to be maintained (i.e. single domain antibody that binds to the catalytic domain of CA-IX). Thus, the specification does not distinguish the claimed genus from others, except by function. Although the term “ single domain antibody” does impart some structure, the structure that is common to antibodies is generally unrelated to its specific binding function; therefore, correlation is less likely for antibodies than for other molecules. Accordingly, the specification does not define any structural features commonly possessed by members of the genus because, while the description of an ability of a claimed antibody may generically describe that molecule’s function, it does not describe the molecule itself. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the antibody does, rather than what it is; therefore it is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what achieves that result. In addition, because the genus of single domain antibodies, is highly variable (i.e. each different single domain antibody capable of binding to the catalytic domain of CA-IX would necessarily have a unique sequence of amino acids; see MPEP 2434), the functional characteristic of binding to something specific, is insufficient to describe the genus. Further, given the highly diverse nature of antibodies, particularly in CDRs, even one of skill in the art cannot envision the structure of an antibody by only knowing its binding characteristics. Thus, the specification does not provide substantive evidence for possession of this large and variable genus, encompassing a potentially massive number of antibodies and variants thereof claimed only by a functional characteristic(s) and/or partial structure.
Additionally, the claims recite a single a domain antibody defined solely by its functional capacity to bind “an epitope in a catalytic domain of carbonic anhydrase IX”. Neither the claim nor the specification identified the particular amino acid residues that constitute the bound epitope; “an epitope in a catalytic domain” embraces any of the numerous distinct epitopes present within that domain, such that the claim reads on every single domain antibody capable of binding any such epitope at the recited affinity. No correlation is established between the antibody’s sequence and its ability to bind an undefined epitope within the CA-IX catalytic domain, and antibodies binding a common target region may vary widely in sequence and structure.
Additionally, the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species. As noted above, some claim embodiments do not recite any structure and other embodiments state that the single antibody comprises three CDR sequences or heavy chain variable region. Thus, the genus has substantial variation because of the numerous alternatives and combinations permitted. Although the specification discloses exemplary species, these species are not representative of the genus. There is no description of the structure common to the members of the genus such that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the members of the genus. Furthermore, there is no description of an single antibody comprising fewer than all three CDRs or variant having a particular sequence identity to the given heavy chain CDR sequences that have the recited functions, and thus, the specification does not describe species that reflect the variation within the genus.
MPEP §2163 states that for a generic claim, the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. If the genus has a substantial variance (as in the instant case), the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. Although the MPEP does not define what constitutes a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what does not constitute a representative number to adequately describe a broad genus. The courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus (e.g. see In re Gostelli, 872, F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618).
Further, the disclosure of only one or two species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]; emphasis added. "See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) "[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated."). "A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed." In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Accordingly, the specification also does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad genus of the claims, claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristics and not structures per se, because inter alia, it does not describe a sufficient number and/or a sufficient variety of representative species to reflect the breadth and variation within the claimed genus. Consequently, based on the lack of information within the specification, there is evidence that a representative number and a representative variety of the numerous antibodies had not yet been identified and thus the specification represents little more than a wish for possession. Therefore, one of skill in the art would not conclude that Applicant was in possession of the broad and highly variable genus of antibodies claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristics.
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), it is noted that to show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358). Also, it is not enough for the specification to show how to make and use the invention, i.e., to enable it (see Amgen at page 1361). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361). Most significant to the present case, the Court held that "knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen [does not give] the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding antibodies" (Amgen at 1361). The idea that written description of an antibody can be satisfied by the disclosure of a newly-characterized antigen “flouts basic legal principles of the written description requirement” as it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen... And Congress has not created a special written description requirement for antibodies” (Amgen at page 1362).
Abbvie v. Centocor (Fed. Cir. 2014) is also relevant to the instant claims. In Abbvie, the Court held that a disclosure of many different antibodies was not enough to support the genus of all neutralizing antibodies because the disclosed antibodies were very closely related to each other in structure and were not representative of the full diversity of the genus. The Court further noted that functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus.
The instant case has many similarities to AbbVie above. First, the claims clearly attempt to define the genus of single domain antibody by the function of binding to the catalytic domain of CA-IX. As noted by AbbVie above, functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description. Second, there is no information in the specification based upon which one of skill in the art would conclude that the disclosed species for which applicant has identified as having the recited functions would be representative of the entire genus. The specification discloses no structure to correlate with the function. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that
"applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed antibodies, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Finally, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that: ... To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
The state of the art regarding monoclonal antibodies that bind to the CA domain of CA-IX is discussed by Marasco, et al. (US 8466263 B2, issued Jun. 18, 2023). Marasco, et al teach those skilled in the art will recognize that it is possible to determine, without undue experimentation, if a human monoclonal antibody has the same specificity as a human monoclonal antibody of the invention by ascertaining whether the former prevents the latter from binding to the CA domain of CA IX. Marasco, et al further teach term "monoclonal antibody" or "MAb" or "monoclonal antibody composition", as used herein, refers to a population of antibody molecules that contain only one molecular species of antibody molecule consisting of a unique light chain gene product and a unique heavy chain gene product. In particular, the complementarity determining regions (CDRs) of the monoclonal antibody are identical in all the molecules of the population. MAbs contain an antigen binding site capable of immunoreacting with a particular epitope of the antigen characterized by a unique binding affinity for it (column 10).
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. In the instant case, the claimed antibody is a single domain antibody that requires three heavy CDRs. Paul (Fundamental Immunology, 3rd Edition, Raven Press, New York, Chapter 8, pages 292-295, 1993) teaches that the amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity, which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences, which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites (See pages 293-295). While some publications acknowledge that CDR3 is important for antigen binding, the conformations of other CDRs as well as the framework are equally important in antigen binding. For example, MacCallum et al. (Journal of Molecular Biology, 262:732-745, 1996) analyzed antigen-contacting residues and combining site shape of various antibodies and state that although CDR3 of the heavy chain and light chain dominate, a number of residues outside of the standard CDR definitions make antigen contacts (See page 733). MacCallum et al. teach that antigens tend to bind to the antibody residues located at the center of the combining site where the six CDRs meet (See abstract and page 742) and less central CDR residues are only contacted by large antigens (See page 733 and 735). MacCallum et al. further teach that non-contacting residues are important in defining "canonical" backbone conformations.
The fact that not just one CDR is essential for antigen binding or maintaining the conformation of the antigen binding site, is further underscored by Casset et al. (Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, 307:198-205, 2003), which discuss the importance of multiple CDRs in antigen contact. Casset et al. teach that all antibodies have six CDR residues, all of which are more or less involved in antigen recognition (See page 199). Casset et al. teach that peptide mimetics of antibody combining sites have previously only targeted CDR H3, since this CDR is typically at the center of most, if not all, antigen interactions; however this strategy is flawed since other CDRs play an important role in the recognition of antigen (See page 199). Casset et al. construct a peptide mimetic of an anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody, containing antigen contact residues from five CDR regions, except L2 and additionally using a framework residue located just before the H3 and show that the peptide has high binding to CD4, thus signifying the contribution of multiple CDRs, and not a single CDR, in antigen recognition (See page 202 and Figure 4).
Vajdos et al. (Journal of Molecular Biology, 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28) additionally teaches that, “ ... Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site.
Further, Sela-Culang et al. 2013 (The structural basis of antibody-antigen recognition; Frontiers in Immunology 4(302):1-13) teach the hypervariable loops within the variable domains of antibody polypeptides are widely assumed to be responsible for antigen recognition while the constant domains are believed to mediate effector activation, but that recent analysis indicates that their clear functional separation between the two regions is an over-simplification (see abstract). Sela-Culang et al. teach some residues within the CDRs may not participate in antigen binding and some residues outside the CDRs (e.g. in framework regions and in the constant domains) often contribute critically to the integration with the antigen (see abstract). Sela-Culang et al. teach understanding the role of each structural element is essential for successful engineering of binding polypeptides (e.g. page 2, left column). Sela-Culang et al. teach almost all of the residues predicted to be part of an epitope may be considered as correct predictors as they will bind to some antibodies but also are false predictors as they don’t bind to the others and accordingly that predicting that a residue is not in an epitope may be either a true negative or a false negative depending on the anybody considered (page 2, right column). Sela-Culang et al. teach each CDR has its own unique amino-acid composition different from the composition of the other CDRs and that each CDR has a unique set of contact preferences favoring certain amino acids over others (page 5-6, bridging). Sela-Culang et al. teach the combined action of all six CDRs is the evolutionary response of the immune system that enables the antibody polypeptide to recognize virtually any surface patch on the antigen (page 6). Thus, the state of the art recognized that it is highly unpredictable that an antibody comprising one or even all six CDRs, wherein the CDRs are not in their proper order or in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation would have the requisite antigen binding function. Therefore, the state of the art supports that even the skilled artisan requires guidance on the critical structures of the antibody per se and thereby does not provide adequate written description support for which structural features of any given polypeptide would predictably retain their functional activities.
Accordingly, one of skill in the art would conclude that the claimed invention encompasses a plurality of antibodies defined solely in terms of their function and/or comprising fewer than three CDRs that may not have the biological functions recited in the claims. Based on the teachings of the instant specification and the prior art, one of skill in the art would not conclude that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of antibodies.
Consequently, the vast genus of antibodies encompassed by the claims do not meet the written description provision of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. The species specifically disclosed are not representative of the genus because the genus is highly variant. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115).
Secondly, claims 1 and 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Please note, claim 1 is included in this rejection as claims 7-9 depend from claim 1. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure
that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
The instant claims are drawn to a single domain antibody that specifically binds to an epitope in a catalytic domain of carbonic anhydrase IX (CA-IX), wherein the single domain antibody has a dissociation constant (KD) of 1 x 10-7 or lower for a monomeric form of CA-IX and/or a dimeric form of CA-IX; The single domain antibody of claim 1 comprising:- a first complementary determining region (CDR) having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 2 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 2; SEQ ID NO: 6, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 6 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 6; or SEQ ID NO: 10, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 10 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 10; - a second CDR having the amino acid sequence of sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 3 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 3; SEQ ID NO: 7, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 7 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 7; or SEQ ID NO: 11, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 11 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 11; and/or - a third CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 4 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 4; SEQ ID NO: 8, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 8 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 8; or SEQ ID NO: 12, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 12 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 12; The single domain antibody of claim 7 comprising: at least one of the first CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 2 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 2; the second CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 3 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 3 or the third CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 4 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 4;at least one of the first CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 6 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 6; the second CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 7 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 7; or the third CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 8 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 8; or at least one of the first CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 10 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 10; the second CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 11, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 11 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 11; or the third CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 12 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 12; he single domain antibody of claim 8 having: the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 1 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 1; the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5; or the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9, a variant of SEQ ID NO: 9 or a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 9
The specification teaches that the single domain antibody or the nanobody comprises or consists of an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, 5 or 9, a variant or a fragment thereof (page 11). The specification teaches a "fragment" or a "functional fragment" refers to a reduction of at least one amino acid residue in the amino acid sequence of a protein or a peptide (like a CDR) that do not adversely affect the biological functions of the protein or peptide sequence it is based on. In some embodiments, the fragment has at least 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98% or 99% of the biological activity associated with the full-length protein (such as a single domain antibody as described herein, and for example, more specifically, those having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, 5 or 9 or variants thereof) or peptide (for example, a CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 or 12 or variants thereof) it is based on. In some embodiments, the fragment has at least 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98% or 99% identity to the protein (such as a single domain antibody as described herein, and for example, more specifically, those having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, 5 or 9 of variants thereof) or peptide (for example, a CDR having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 or 12 of variants thereof) it is based on (page 14).
The issue with regard to the written description provision is that the genus of fragment and variant is not adequately described. The claims also broadly encompass fragment and variant. The specification provides no guidance regarding which amino acids can be modified in the fragment, while maintaining any given function. Therefore, these structures (i.e., different forms) are claimed only be their functional characteristics and the specification fails to provide sufficient correlation between the claimed functional characteristics and the necessary structural components (i.e., critical domains within the sequences).
Furthermore, Applicants have not shown possession of a representative number of species that have the claimed function(s). While the specification clearly sets forth a correlation between the claimed fragment and variant, and the claimed functions, this correlation does not appear to be clearly present in the breadth of the claims. As noted above, the claims are not limited to the disclosed fragment and variant. Thus, the genus has substantial variation because of the numerous alternatives and combinations permitted. There is no description of the structure common to the members of the genus such that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the members of the genus. Therefore, only one species has been described and this is not considered to be representative of the breadth of the genus. Therefore, given the lack of structure function correlation and the lack of a representative number of species, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed fragment, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481,1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565,1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
Protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. Consequently, the effects of sequence dissimilarities upon protein structure and function cannot be predicted. Punta et al. (PLoS Comput Biol 4(10): e1000160, 2008) teach that homology (both orthology and paralogy) does not guarantee conservation of function (See page 2). Punta et al. teach that relatively small difference in sequence can sometimes cause quite radical changes in functional properties, such as a change of enzymatic action, or even loss or acquisition of enzymatic activity itself (See page 2). Punta et al. teach that it is also apparent that there is no sequence similarity threshold that guarantees that two proteins share the same function (see page 2). Punta et al. teach that homology between two proteins does not guarantee that they have the same function, not even when sequence similarity is very high (including 100% sequence identity) (See page 2 and table 2). Punta et al. teach that proteins live and function in 3D, and therefore structural information is very helpful for predicating function (See page 4). However, as with sequence, two proteins having the same overall architecture, and even conserved functional residues, can have unrelated functions (See page 4). Punta et al. teach that still; structural knowledge is an extremely powerful tool for computational function prediction (See page 5).
Similarly, Whisstock et al. (Quarterly Reviews in Biophysics. 36(3):307-340, 2007) teach that the prediction of protein function from sequence and structure is a difficult problem (See abstract). Although many families of proteins contain homologues with the same function, homologous proteins often have different functions as the sequences progressively diverge (See page 309). Whisstock et al. teach that moreover, even closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function (See page 309). Further, Whisstock et al. note that in some instances, even sequences that are the same can have different functions. For example, eye lens proteins in the suck are identical in sequence to active lactate dehydrogenase and enolase in other tissues, although they do not encounter the substrates in the eye (See page 310). Whisstock et al. teach that assigning a function to an amino acid sequence based upon similarity becomes significantly more complex as the similarity between the sequence and a putative homologue fall (See page 321). Whisstock et al. teach that while it is hopeful that similar proteins will share similar functions, substitution of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site may be sufficient to alter a protein’s role fundamentally (See pages 321-323).
The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Song et al. (Molecular Biology of the Cell, 15:1287–1296, March 2004) who teach that substitution of alanine for aspartate in surviving results in the conversion of surviving’ apoptotic function from anti-apoptotic to proapoptotic and changes in its subcellular localization (See page 1287-1289). Moreover, Defeo-Jones et al. (Molecular and Cellular Biology, Sept. 1989, p. 4083-4086) teach that the conservative substitution of lysine for arginine at position 42 completely eliminated biological activity (See abstract and pages 4084-4085). These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000; 10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (p. 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (p. 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (p. 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (p. 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (p. 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (p. 400, paragraph bridging cols 1 and 2).
Given not only the teachings of Punta et al., Whisstock et al., Song et al., Burgess et al., and Defeo-Jones et al., but also the limitations and pitfalls of using computational sequence analysis and the unknown effects of alternative splicing, post translational modification and cellular context on protein function as taught by Bork, the claimed proteins having the required function(s) could not be predicted based on sequence identity. Clearly, it could not be predicted that polypeptide or a variant that shares only partial homology with a disclosed protein will function in a given manner. Therefore, the state of the art supports that even the skilled artisan requires guidance on the critical structures of the proteins per se and thereby does not provide adequate written description support for which structural features of any given polypeptide would predictably retain their functional activities.
Applicant is reminded that generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen- Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly Co., 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). A patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017) at page 1358). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that is part of the invention. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chungai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
The University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that: ...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an Applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2dat1966.
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, ‘does the description clearly allow person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’”. The courts have decided: the purpose of the “written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art, that as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).
Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC §112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993). And Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Moreover, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has the Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Therefore, for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Marasco, et al (US 8466263 B2, issued Jun. 19, 2013).
The instant claims are drawn to a single domain antibody that specifically binds to an epitope in a catalytic domain of carbonic anhydrase IX (CA-IX), wherein the single domain antibody has a dissociation constant (KD) of 1 x 10-7 or lower for a monomeric form of CA-IX and/or a dimeric form of CA-IX.
Marasco teaches monoclonal antibodies that bind the CA domain of CA-IX protein (column 2, line 13) with a disassociation constant of 1 pM (1 x 10-12) (column 9, lines 50-61). Marasco further teaches in that GST-CA domain was used which lacks the PG domain and the anti-CA IX are able to block the enzymatic activity of the CA domain of instant claim 2 (examples 2-3 and 5-12, columns 28-33). Thus, instant claim 1 and 2 is anticipated. Marasco teach that antibody contains a detectable label as recited in instant claim 16 (column 18, line 40-45). Marasco further highlight such a non-immunoglobulin polypeptide can be substituted for the constant domains of an antibody of the invention or can be substituted for the variable domains of one antigen-combining site of an antibody of the invention to create a chimeric bivalent antibody which is a multivalent antibody as recited in instant claim 17 (column 12, first paragraph).
Conclusion
11. No claims are allowed
/SYED J ABBAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674