DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 23-39 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 7/21/23.
Claims 23-39 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 12/6/23, 4/3/24, 11/21/24 and 1/12/26 have been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 9/21/23 has been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
8. Claim(s) 23-32 and 34-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2017/0362321.
The ‘321 publication teaches bispecific antibody that comprises DVD-Ig, scFv, Fab or diabodies and the bispecific antibody binds PD-1 and/or GITR or OX40 ([550-566], [747-749] claims). Given that the suggested first binding specificity and the second binding specificity are of the claimed, the functional limitations of the antibody cannot bind the first antigen and the second antigen with the same or different binding affinities as in claims 25-26 are included in this rejection.
Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it has the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claiming of a new use, new function of unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claims patentable. See In re Best, 194 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA) and In re Crish 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir 2004). Also see MPEP 2112. Also, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) See MPEP 2113. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
10. Claims 23-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2017/0362321in view of U.S. Pat. 8,008,449 and U.S. Pat. 8,394,378.
The teachings of the ‘321 publication have been discussed, supra.
The disclosure of the ‘321 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of OX40 or GITR sequences set forth in claims 38-39 of the instant application.
The ‘449 patent teaches OX40 sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO:54, 55, 57, 58, 60, 61, 96 and 97(note SEQ DI NO:4, 45) and the ‘449 patent teaches use of nivolumab that is identical to SEQ ID NO:15-16 of the instant application. The sequences are humanized and more clinically effective (col. 55-63).
Likewise, the ‘378 patent teaches GITR sequences set forth in claim SEQ ID NO:102 and 103 as in claim 39 of the instant application (note SEQ ID NO:75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the sequences set forth in ‘449 or ‘378 patents into the dual binding antibody taught by the ‘321 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known clinically more effective antibody sequences may improve therapeutical applicability.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
11. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
January 26, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641