Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending in the instant application.
Domestic Benefit
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for domestic benefit based on the U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/140,459, filed on January 22nd, 2021. Instant Claims 1-8 are fully supported by this application, and will be evaluated with an effective filing date of January 22nd, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements received on July 21st, 2023, February 8th, 2024, and January 5th, 2026 have fully considered by the examiner, except where marked with a strikethrough.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any of the errors of which Applicant may become aware of in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is drawn to a “use” without positively reciting any steps to a process thereof.
Per MPEP 2173.05(q), “”Use” claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 709, 129, USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961)(“one cannot claim a new use per se, because it is not among the categories of patentable inventions specified in 35 U.S.C. § 101”).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajan et. al. (WO 2010/063700; cited on Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed July 21st, 2023; hereinafter referred to as Rajan) as evidenced by CAS Registry File 1228284-64-7 (entered into STN June 24th, 2010; hereinafter referred to as CAS Registry File).
At Page 15, First Paragraph, Rajan teaches a method of controlling or preventing infestation of useful plants by phytopathogenic microorganisms, including phytopathogenic bacteria, by applying a compound of formula I. At Page 23, under Example P3, Rajan teaches the following compound as a compound of formula I:
As evidenced by CAS Registry File, this compound is 3-(difluoromethyl)-N-methoxy-1-methyl-N-[1-methyl-2-(2,4,6-trichloro-phenyl)ethyl]-1H-pyrazole-4-carboxamide, as recited, for example at instant Claim 1.
Regarding instant Claim 2, at Page 18, Second Paragraph, Rajan teaches, “Therefore the inention also relates to compositions for controlling and protecting against phytopathogenic microorganisms, comprising a compound of formula I and an inert carrier,” thereby reading on the limitation of applying a composition as recited at instant Claim 2.
At Page 15, Last Paragraph, Rajan states, “Furthermore, the novel compounds of formula I are effective against phytopathogenic bacteria and viruses (e.g. against Xanthomonas spp, Pseudomonas spp, …” Each of these species are recited at instant Claims 3 and 4.
At Page 16, First Paragraph, Rajan teaches useful plants suitable for protection include tomatoes and rice, each of which are recited instantly at Claim 6.
At Page 19, Fifth Paragraph, Rajan teaches “Advantageous rates of application are normally from 5g to 2kg of active ingredient (a.i.) per hectare (ha), preferably from 10g to 1kg a.i./ha, most preferably from 20g to 600g a.i./ha.” This “most preferably” range reads on the range instantly recited at Claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajan et. al. (WO 2010/063700; cited on Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed July 21st, 2023; hereinafter referred to as Rajan) as evidenced by CAS Registry File 1228284-64-7 (entered into STN June 24th, 2010; hereinafter referred to as CAS Registry File).
As noted above, Claim 1 is anticipated, as Rajan teaches a method of controlling or preventing infestation of phytogenic bacteria by administering 3-(difluoromethyl)-N-methoxy-1-methyl-N-[1-methyl-2-(2,4,6-trichloro-phenyl)ethyl]-1H-pyrazole-4-carboxamide to a plant. Further, Rajan teaches at Page 15, Last Paragraph, that this compound is effective in treating Xanthomonas spp.
Rajan does not teach controlling or suppressing Xanthomonas campestris, Xanthomonas orycea, or Xanthomonas perforans.
Xanthomonas campestris, Xanthomonas orycea, and Xanthomonas perforans are species of the genus Xanthomonas spp. While Rajan does not teach control or suppression of these species in particular, applying KSR rationale E, it would have been prima facie obvious to try controlling or suppressing the aforementioned species of the genus Xanthomonas spp., as it was known in the art at the time of filing that application of 3-(difluoromethyl)-N-methoxy-1-methyl-N-[1-methyl-2-(2,4,6-trichloro-phenyl)ethyl]-1H-pyrazole-4-carboxamide was effective against the genus.
Taken together, this would result in the practice of Claim 5 with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/D.J.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624