DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 12-16, 24-26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220377798 A1 to Chien (hereinafter “Chien”).
As per claim 1, 25, Chien discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Chien Fig. 1), comprising: a memory (Chien Fig. 1); and one or more processors (Chien Fig. 1), coupled to the memory (Chien Fig. 1), configured to: transmit, to a base station in an uplink communication during a random access channel (RACH) procedure (Chien ), a first indication that the UE is a reduced capability UE type (Chien [0078] In providing the resource configuration, the base station performs one or more of the operations for extended device type UE based on the device type related information of the extended device type UE after an RRC connection is established for the extended device type UE. The operations are further detailed in the following: [0079] Configuring the supported features of corresponding device type for the RedCap UE: [0080] The network may configure the supported features for the UE. The supported features for the extended device type UE are associated with the device type related information of the extended device type UE during a random access procedure or after an RRC connection is established for the extended device type UE. See also [0062-0071]); and receive, from the base station and based at least in part on transmitting the first indication, a second indication that indicates whether the UE is to perform bandwidth part switching to a target uplink bandwidth part or radio frequency re-tuning within an initial uplink bandwidth part, for at least one other uplink communication during the RACH procedure (Chien [0185] The RedCap UE performs initial DL BWP switch after receiving Type-0 PDCCH. The initial DL BWP for the extended device type UE may comprise an initial DL BWP the same as a legacy UE or an initial DL BWP different from a legacy UE. In an embodiment, the bandwidth of the RedCap UE is larger than synchronization signal block (SSB) and CORESET #0. The RedCap UE may share the same initial DL BWP with the legacy UE. Similarly, the RedCap UE and the legacy UE may share the same SSB and CORESET #0. In an embodiment, the RedCap UE uses the same cell-defining SSB as the legacy UE for cell search and locating the initial DL BWP. In an embodiment, the RedCap UE uses the same CORESET #0 as the legacy UE. The configuration of the CORESET #0 for the RedCap UE is the same as the legacy UE provided by pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in an MIB. The MIB includes configurations of CORESET #0 resources for the extended device type UE to monitor PDCCH of SIB1, paging information for the extended device type UE, or downlink messages for the extended device type UE during initial access. The RedCap UE uses pdcch-ConfigSIB1 to locate Type-0 PDCCH common search space. [0186] The RedCap UE monitors and receives Type-0 PDCCH using an SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE. The SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE may comprise an SI-RNTI the same as the legacy UE or a RedCap UE specific SI-RNTI, such as the R-SI-RNTI. [0187] Option 1: SI-RNTI the same as the legacy UE: [0188] In an embodiment where the SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE is the same as an SI-RNTI of the legacy UE, a RedCap UE specific DL/UL BWP may be activated by a bandwidth part indicator (DL/UL BWP indicator) in DCI of Type-0 PDCCH. The network may provide the DL/UL BWP indicator. The connection indication information comprises a DL BWP indicator in downlink control information (DCI) of Type-0 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or in msg2 or msg4. The initial DL BWP for the extended device type UE is switched according to the DL BWP indicator in DCI of Type-0 PDCCH or in msg2 or msg4. Similarly, an initial UL BWP for the extended device type UE may be indicated using a UL BWP indicator in DCI of Type-0 PDCCH or in of msg2 or msg4. The initial UL BWP for the extended device type UE can be the same as or different from a legacy UE. [0189] Option 2: RedCap UE specific SI-RNTI (e.g., R-SI-RNTI) [0190] In an embodiment where the SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE is the RedCap UE specific SI-RNTI (e.g., R-SI-RNTI), a RedCap UE specific DL/UL BWP may be activated by a DL/UL BWP indicator in DCI scrambled by the R-SI-RNTI. [0191] If the DL BWP indicator is not defined in DCI, the RedCap UE uses the same initial DL BWP as the legacy UE for receiving SIB1. If the DL BWP indicator is defined in an instance of DCI and the DL BWP indicator indicate an initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE different from the initial DL BWP for the legacy UE, the DL BWP is activated by the indicator, and the resources that the RedCap UE uses to receive SIB1 in the activated DL BWP is also provided in corresponding DCI, such as the instance of DCI. The RedCap UE performs DL BWP switching and receives RedCap UE specific SIB1 in the RedCap UE specific DL BWP.).
As per claim 2, 26, Chien discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the UE is to perform bandwidth part switching to the target uplink bandwidth part: switch from the initial uplink bandwidth part to the target uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on receiving the second indication (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191]), wherein the target uplink bandwidth part has a narrower bandwidth than the initial uplink bandwidth part (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191,0198-0213]); and transmit the at least one other uplink communication during the RACH procedure in the target uplink bandwidth part (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191,0198-0213]).
As per claim 3, Chien discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the target uplink bandwidth part is within the initial uplink bandwidth part (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191,0198-0213]).
As per claim 4, Chien discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the target uplink bandwidth part is located at an edge of the initial uplink bandwidth part (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191,0198-0213]).
As per claim 7, Chien discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, prior to transmitting the first indication, a system information block including a configuration of the initial uplink bandwidth part and a configuration of the target uplink bandwidth part (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191,0198-0213]).
As per claim 8, Chien discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein the system information block includes an indication of a number of physical resource blocks in the target uplink bandwidth part (Chien [0101-0104, 0185-0191,0198-0213]).
As per claim 12, Chien discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication in which the first indication is transmitted is a Msg1 communication (Chien [0063-0066]) and the at least one other uplink communication includes at least one of a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel communication (Chien [0063-0067]) or a physical uplink control channel communication that includes hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement for a Msg4 communication.
As per claim 13, Chien discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication in which the first indication is transmitted is a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel communication (Chien [0067] In an embodiment, the UE provides device type related information, such as a UE identity, UE capability and/or a device type ID, of the UE autonomously in a message msg3 to the gNB. Examples of the user identity may comprise RNTI or IMSI. For example, RedCap UE provides RNTI value and/or device type ID to the gNB when the RedCap UE transits from the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state.) and the at least one other uplink communication is a physical uplink control channel communication that includes a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement for a Msg4 communication (Chien [0262] In an embodiment, upon receiving msg4, the RedCap UE may perform the following operation to respond the msg4 message: [0263] sending HARQ-ACK for the msg4 message based on the PDSCH processing time capability specific to RedCap UE.).
As per claim 14, 28, Chien discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the second indication is included in downlink control information associated with scheduling a Msg4 physical downlink shared channel communication (Chien [0186-0192, 0284-0290]) or downlink control information associated with scheduling retransmission of a Msg3 physical uplink shared channel communication (Chien [0186-0192, 0284-0290]).
As per claim 15, 29, Chien discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication in which the first indication is transmitted is a Msg1 communication (Chien [0063-0067]), and the second indication is included in a Msg 2 random access response (Chien [0186-0192, 0284-0290]) or downlink control information associated with scheduling the Msg2 random access response (Chien [0186-0192, 0284-0290]).
As per claim 16, Chien discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication in which the first indication is transmitted is at least one of a MsgA preamble transmission (Chien [063-0067]) or a MsgA physical uplink shared channel communication (Chien [063-0067]), and the second indication is included in DCI associated with scheduling a MsgB physical downlink shared channel communication (Chien [0186-0192, 0248,0284-0290]).
As per claim 24, 30, Chien discloses a base station for wireless communication (Chien Fig. 1), comprising: a memory (Chien Fig. 1); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Chien Fig. 1), configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE) in an uplink communication during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, a first indication that the UE is a reduced capability UE type (Chien [0078] In providing the resource configuration, the base station performs one or more of the operations for extended device type UE based on the device type related information of the extended device type UE after an RRC connection is established for the extended device type UE. The operations are further detailed in the following: [0079] Configuring the supported features of corresponding device type for the RedCap UE: [0080] The network may configure the supported features for the UE. The supported features for the extended device type UE are associated with the device type related information of the extended device type UE during a random access procedure or after an RRC connection is established for the extended device type UE. See also [0062-0071]); and transmit, to the UE and based at least in part on the receiving the first indication, a second indication that indicates whether the UE is to perform bandwidth part switching to a target uplink bandwidth part or radio frequency re-tuning within an initial uplink bandwidth part, for at least one other uplink communication during the RACH procedure (Chien [0185] The RedCap UE performs initial DL BWP switch after receiving Type-0 PDCCH. The initial DL BWP for the extended device type UE may comprise an initial DL BWP the same as a legacy UE or an initial DL BWP different from a legacy UE. In an embodiment, the bandwidth of the RedCap UE is larger than synchronization signal block (SSB) and CORESET #0. The RedCap UE may share the same initial DL BWP with the legacy UE. Similarly, the RedCap UE and the legacy UE may share the same SSB and CORESET #0. In an embodiment, the RedCap UE uses the same cell-defining SSB as the legacy UE for cell search and locating the initial DL BWP. In an embodiment, the RedCap UE uses the same CORESET #0 as the legacy UE. The configuration of the CORESET #0 for the RedCap UE is the same as the legacy UE provided by pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in an MIB. The MIB includes configurations of CORESET #0 resources for the extended device type UE to monitor PDCCH of SIB1, paging information for the extended device type UE, or downlink messages for the extended device type UE during initial access. The RedCap UE uses pdcch-ConfigSIB1 to locate Type-0 PDCCH common search space. [0186] The RedCap UE monitors and receives Type-0 PDCCH using an SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE. The SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE may comprise an SI-RNTI the same as the legacy UE or a RedCap UE specific SI-RNTI, such as the R-SI-RNTI. [0187] Option 1: SI-RNTI the same as the legacy UE: [0188] In an embodiment where the SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE is the same as an SI-RNTI of the legacy UE, a RedCap UE specific DL/UL BWP may be activated by a bandwidth part indicator (DL/UL BWP indicator) in DCI of Type-0 PDCCH. The network may provide the DL/UL BWP indicator. The connection indication information comprises a DL BWP indicator in downlink control information (DCI) of Type-0 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or in msg2 or msg4. The initial DL BWP for the extended device type UE is switched according to the DL BWP indicator in DCI of Type-0 PDCCH or in msg2 or msg4. Similarly, an initial UL BWP for the extended device type UE may be indicated using a UL BWP indicator in DCI of Type-0 PDCCH or in of msg2 or msg4. The initial UL BWP for the extended device type UE can be the same as or different from a legacy UE. [0189] Option 2: RedCap UE specific SI-RNTI (e.g., R-SI-RNTI) [0190] In an embodiment where the SI-RNTI for the RedCap UE is the RedCap UE specific SI-RNTI (e.g., R-SI-RNTI), a RedCap UE specific DL/UL BWP may be activated by a DL/UL BWP indicator in DCI scrambled by the R-SI-RNTI. [0191] If the DL BWP indicator is not defined in DCI, the RedCap UE uses the same initial DL BWP as the legacy UE for receiving SIB1. If the DL BWP indicator is defined in an instance of DCI and the DL BWP indicator indicate an initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE different from the initial DL BWP for the legacy UE, the DL BWP is activated by the indicator, and the resources that the RedCap UE uses to receive SIB1 in the activated DL BWP is also provided in corresponding DCI, such as the instance of DCI. The RedCap UE performs DL BWP switching and receives RedCap UE specific SIB1 in the RedCap UE specific DL BWP.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9-11, 17-23, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476