DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 5-7 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 03/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “positioner” and “lubricating device” in claims 5, 6 and 17.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (TW 1717162, hereinafter ‘Hwang’).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses an apparatus for machining a mechanical part, comprising a positioner 333 configured to hold the mechanical part to be machined, and adjust an orientation of the mechanical part. An assembly is arranged on a platform under the mechanical part to machine the mechanical part from a bottom side of the mechanical part (see e.g. Figs. 2 and 3). The assembly comprises a parallel robot adapted to be mounted onto a platform under the mechanical part to be machined, and comprising one or more axes (Y/vertical axis). A servo spindle is mounted on the parallel robot and is configured to drive a machining tool to rotate. The parallel robot is configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along the one or more axes with respect to the parallel robot.
Regarding claim 19, Hwang discloses the assembly further comprising the machining tool (e.g. the milling tool visible in Figs. 2 & 3) held by the servo spindle and configured to rotate under driving of the servo spindle.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang illustrates the machining tool comprising a milling tool (see Figs. 2 & 3).
Claims 5, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (CN 206185469).
Regarding claim 5, Lei discloses an apparatus for machining a mechanical part, comprising a positioner 2 configured to hold the mechanical part to be machined 7 and to adjust an orientation of the mechanical part. An assembly is arranged on a platform under the mechanical part to machine the mechanical part from a bottom side thereof. The assembly comprises a parallel robot 5 adapted to be mounted onto a platform 1 under the mechanical part to be machined and comprising one or more axes. A servo spindle 6 is mounted on the parallel robot and is configured to drive a machining tool to rotate. The parallel robot is configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along the one or more axes (e.g. the Y and X axes) with respect to the parallel robot.
Regarding claim 19, Lei discloses the assembly further comprising the machining tool 4 being held by the servo spindle and configured to rotate under driving of the servo spindle.
Regarding claim 20, Lei discloses the machining tool 4 comprising a drilling tool or a milling tool (second to last paragraph in the English translation provided 07/21/2023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (TW 1717162).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang does not explicitly disclose a lubricating device in the apparatus. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that lubricating devices are so prevalent in the art that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to include a lubricating device configured to supply a lubricant to the machining tool (either through the spindle or via an external nozzle) during operation to cool the tool/workpiece as well as flush chips away from the machining area.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN 206185469).
Regarding claim 6, Lei does not explicitly disclose a lubricating device in the apparatus. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that lubricating devices are so prevalent in the art that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to include a lubricating device configured to supply a lubricant to the machining tool (either through the spindle or via an external nozzle) during operation to cool the tool/workpiece as well as flush chips away from the machining area.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (TW 1717162) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Bullen et al. (US 5836068, hereinafter ‘Bullen’).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang does not explicitly disclose a human machine interface as claimed.
Bullen discloses a similarly automated machine provided with a human machine interface 212 configured to receive a user input (e.g. button presses) for setting machining parameters (e.g. a desired orientation of the manufacturing plane, Col. 5, Lines 35-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a human machine interface such as the one taught by Bullen to the apparatus of Hwang, in order to allow a user to input machining parameters on-site.
Claims 7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN 206185469) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Bullen et al. (US 5836068).
Regarding claim 7, Lei does not explicitly disclose a human machine interface as claimed.
Bullen discloses a similarly automated machine provided with a human machine interface 212 configured to receive a user input (e.g. button presses) for setting machining parameters (e.g. a desired orientation of the manufacturing plane, Col. 5, Lines 35-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a human machine interface such as the one taught by Bullen to the apparatus of Lei, in order to allow a user to input machining parameters on-site.
Regarding claim 16, Lei discloses the parallel robot being a Cartesian robot, configured to drive the spindle along axes normal to each other with respect to the parallel robot (in the instant case, the X and Y axes). Lei does not disclose the parallel robot being configured to also move the servo spindle in a third axis, normal to the other two.
Bullen discloses a similar machining device, wherein the spindle 265 is provided with a pivot 270 and a separate slider 244/245 to move along a third axis (the X axis in the case of Bullen is equivalent to the Z axis of Lei, an axis parallel to the direction that the tool axis extends).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the apparatus taught by Bullen, that moves the spindle in the third normal axis as well as rotating the spindle about another axis to the apparatus of Lei, in order to allow the machine tool to be displaced in the third normal axis, as well as rotating to machine internal or external features onto the workpiece without colliding the workpiece with the platform.
Regarding claim 17, Lei does not explicitly disclose a lubricating device in the apparatus. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that lubricating devices are so prevalent in the art that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to include a lubricating device configured to supply a lubricant to the machining tool (either through the spindle or via an external nozzle) during operation to cool the tool/workpiece as well as flush chips away from the machining area.
Regarding claim 18, Lei does not explicitly disclose a human machine interface as claimed.
Bullen discloses a similarly automated machine provided with a human machine interface 212 configured to receive a user input (e.g. button presses) for setting machining parameters (e.g. a desired orientation of the manufacturing plane, Col. 5, Lines 35-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a human machine interface such as the one taught by Bullen to the apparatus of Lei, in order to allow a user to input machining parameters on-site.
Conclusion
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722