DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 23-25,29,38-39,51-52,58,71,80 and 92 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. KR-102090285-B1 (machine translation relied upon previously provided), dated 3/17/2020.
Regarding Claim 1, Jung discloses a battery [Jung throughout], comprising:
an anode; a cathode; [Jung p. 13 and throughout, teaches a positive and negative electrode throughout] and
a solid-state electrolyte disposed between the anode and the cathode [Jung p. 14 and throughout], at least one of the anode and the cathode comprising lithium [Jung p. 5 and p. 10 teach the electrode materials can be lithium and lithium metal based oxides. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Jung is that both the cathode (lithium metal oxide) and anode (lithium) can comprise lithium.], and
the solid-state electrolyte comprising lithium palladium sulfide (LPS), lithium rhodium sulfide, lithium ruthenium sulfide, lithium silver sulfide, or lithium cobalt sulfide [Jung p. 10 and throughout, formula 1, Jung formula 1 discloses lithium palladium sulfide (LPS), lithium rhodium sulfide, lithium ruthenium sulfide, lithium silver sulfide, or lithium cobalt sulfide, and thus meets the limitation].
Regarding Claim 2, Jung discloses the battery according to claim 1, the anode and the cathode both comprising lithium [Jung p. 5 and p. 10 teach the electrode materials can be lithium and lithium metal based oxides. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Jung is that both the cathode (lithium metal oxide) and anode (lithium) can comprise lithium.] .
Regarding Claim 3, Jung discloses the battery according to claim 1,the cathode comprising lithium iron phosphate (LFP) [Jung. p 11].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as provided for claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 6, Jung discloses the battery according to claim 1, the solid- state electrolyte having an ionic conductivity of greater than 0.10 milliSiemens per centimeter (mS/cm) [Jung p. 8, Jung teaches an ionic conductivity of about 0.10 milliSiemens per centimeter, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ].
Regarding Claim 16, Jung discloses the battery according to claim 1, the solid- state electrolyte being disposed in the form of a film with a thickness of at least from 20 nanometers (nm) to 100 micrometers (µm) [Jung p. 15, Jung teaches the thickness of a solid electrolyte layer may be 20 µm to 200 µm. which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ] .
Regarding Claim 20, Jung discloses a battery according to claim 1 [Jung throughout] with little change in capacity after 50 cycles [Jung p. 19] and with near theoretical capacity [Jung p. 20], but Jung does not explicitly teach the battery having higher than 50% of theoretical capacity after at least 450 1C cycles, the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 200 1C cycles, and the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 300 1C cycles. Since Jung teaches the battery according to claim 1, the skilled artisan would expect that Jung’s battery would inherently have the same capacity performance characteristics of higher than 50% of theoretical capacity after at least 450 1C cycles, the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 200 1C cycles, and the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 300 1C cycles. See MPEP 2112.01 I. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the limitations of claim 20 are met by the prior art.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as provided for claim 1 above, and in further view of Ota et al. [US6365300B1], hereinafter Ota.
Regarding Claim 7, Jung discloses the battery according to claim 1. Jung is silent to the battery further comprising a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode, the solid-state electrolyte comprising a film disposed as an interlayer on the separator. Ota teaches a battery with a solid electrolyte [Ota column 3 and throughout] where the solid electrolyte is disposed as a film on the microporous separator [Ota column 10, Fig. 1 and throughout, solid electrolyte 4 on separator 3], which reads on the claimed structure of an interlayer since it is a layer between the positive electrode 2 and negative electrode 5 as shown in Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ota’s teaching about a solid electrolyte used with a separator in the battery of Jung for the predictable result of a solid state battery [Jung throughout, Ota abstract and throughout]. Further, Ota teaches the solid state battery suppresses short circuits caused by dendrites from the negative electrode [Ota abstract and throughout].
Claim(s) 106 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. KR-102090285-B1 (machine translation relied upon previously provided), dated 3/17/2020, and in further view of Ota et al. [US6365300B1], hereinafter Ota.
Regarding Claim 16, Jung discloses a battery [Jung throughout], comprising:
an anode; a cathode; an anode; a cathode; [Jung p. 13 and throughout, teaches a positive and negative electrode throughout] and
a solid-state electrolyte disposed between the anode and the cathode [Jung p. 14 and throughout], the anode and the cathode both comprising lithium [Jung p. 5 and p. 10 teach the electrode materials can be lithium and lithium metal based oxides. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Jung is that both the cathode (lithium metal oxide) and anode (lithium) can comprise lithium.], and
the solid-state electrolyte comprising lithium palladium sulfide (LPS) [Jung p. 10 and throughout, formula 1, Jung formula 1 discloses lithium palladium sulfide (LPS).],
the solid-state electrolyte having an ionic conductivity of greater than 0.10 milliSiemens per centimeter (mS/cm) [Jung p. 8, Jung teaches an ionic conductivity of about 0.10 milliSiemens per centimeter, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ],
the battery being a lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery [Jung p. 7 and throughout], the solid-state electrolyte being disposed in the form of a film with a thickness of at least 20 nanometers (nm) [Jung p. 15, Jung teaches the thickness of a solid electrolyte layer may be 20 µm to 200 µm. which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ].
Jung does not explicitly teach a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode and the solid-state electrolyte comprising a film disposed as an interlayer on the separator. Ota teaches a battery with a solid electrolyte [Ota column 3 and throughout] where the solid electrolyte is disposed as a film on the microporous separator [Ota column 10, Fig. 1 and throughout, solid electrolyte 4 on separator 3], which reads on the claimed structure of an interlayer since it is a layer between the positive electrode 2 and negative electrode 5 as shown in Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ota’s teaching about a solid electrolyte used with a separator in the battery of Jung for the predictable result of a solid state battery [Jung throughout, Ota abstract and throughout]. Further, Ota teaches the solid state battery suppresses short circuits caused by dendrites from the negative electrode [Ota abstract and throughout].
Jung does not explicitly teach the battery having higher than 50% of theoretical capacity after at least 450 1C cycles, the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 200 1 C cycles, and the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 300 1C cycles. However, Jung teaches the claimed battery with the lithium palladium sulfide solid electrolyte; thus, the skilled artisan would expect that Jung’s battery would inherently have the same capacity performance characteristics of higher than 50% of theoretical capacity after at least 450 1C cycles, the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 200 1C cycles, and the battery having higher than 80% of theoretical capacity after at least 300 1C cycles. See MPEP 2112.01 I. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the limitations of claim 106 are met by the prior art.
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724