DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardman 12030776.
Hardman teaches, especially in col. 6-9, 23 and 24, a highly pure carbon black on par with one made by the acetylene process. The metal content overlaps the claimed range, thus rendering it obvious.
While a large number of embodiments are possible, DBP absorption (which is an oil) of 185 mL/100g is taught.
For claim 2, low Ni is obvious to make a product with the desired purity, see cols. 6 and 9.
For claim 3, BET (aka N2SA) of 105 is taught in col. 24.
For claims 4-6, a variety of embodiments are taught which can achieve the claimed ratios and values, see col. 23-24. Choosing the claimed values is thus obvious to attain the desired product; see col. 31.
The characterization of the process of claim 7 does not limit the product, especially given the desire to make a carbon indistinguishable for acetylene black.
For claim 13, col. 27 teaches use in Li batteries. The features claimed are thus obvious.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Donnet.
Hardman does not teach the purification method, however Donnet teaches on pg. 27 to use magnetic separation to purify carbon black. Using it in the process of Hardman (see col. 37) is obvious to make the desired purity black.
Claim 9 is obvious- and seemingly necessary- to effect the purification.
For claim 10, the claimed strength is obvious to effectively remove the metal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 13 of copending Application No. 18/262499 (reference application), alone or in view of Hardman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common, nearly identical, subject matter.
The steps to remove iron and both the source materials and final product also result in low Ni content. Note Hardman col. 9.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additional notes:
Williams 1352162, especially on pg. 2, is noted.
US 20190177551 is equivalent to the reference used by the foreign office, however does not teach any level of Ni, noting the use of metal-free gases and a lack of catalyst.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736