Detailed Office Action
Acknowledgment of Election in Response to Unity of Invention Requirement
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 38, in the reply filed on 22 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18, 23, 24, 26, 30, and 32 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Prior Art Rejections
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pattison (US 2,870,097) in view of JP H1135791-A.
Pattison discloses a poly(cyclic acetal) produced by polymerizing 1,3-dioxepane with hydroxyl or mercapto compounds to yield polymers having hydroxyl or thiol terminal groups having melting points that overlap those claimed, wherein it is disclosed that the molecular weight of the polymer may be controlled by controlling the ratio of cyclic acetal to polyol. See column 1, line 15 through column 2, line 55.
5. Though Pattison teaches how to control the molecular weight of the poly(cyclic acetal) polymer, the reference does not disclose that the number average molecular weight is from about 10 kiloDaltons (kDa) to about 3000 kDa. However, the production of poly(cyclic acetal) polymer, possessing excellent thermal stability and suitable for the production of moldings, having molecular weights that fall within those claimed was known at the time of invention as evidenced by JP H1135791-A. See abstract and paragraphs [0001], [0004], [0005], and page 3, fifth paragraph within the provided English translation. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to produce poly(cyclic acetal) polymers of the primary reference having the claimed molecular weight. Furthermore, within page 3, fourth paragraph of the translation, it is disclosed that the presence of hydroxyl groups within the polymer is disadvantageous, because it promotes decomposition. Considering this teaching in combination with the aforementioned thiol teachings within the primary reference, the position is taken that one would have been motivated to reduce the content of terminal hydroxyl groups to correspond to the claimed terminal hydroxyl groups content, so as to obtain a polymer having greater resistance to decomposition, while in use in such applications as moldings, as provided for by the secondary reference.
6. Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pattison (US 2,870,097) in view of JP H1135791-A and further in view of KR 10-2017-0010391 A.
Pattison discloses a poly(cyclic acetal) produced by polymerizing 1,3-dioxepane with hydroxyl or mercapto compounds to yield polymers having hydroxyl or thiol terminal groups having melting points that overlap those claimed, wherein it is disclosed that the molecular weight of the polymer may be controlled by controlling the ratio of cyclic acetal to polyol. See column 1, line 15 through column 2, line 55.
7. Though Pattison teaches how to control the molecular weight of the poly(cyclic acetal) polymer, the reference does not disclose that the number average molecular weight is from about 10 kiloDaltons (kDa) to about 3000 kDa. However, the production of poly(cyclic acetal) polymer, possessing excellent thermal stability and suitable for the production of moldings, having molecular weights that fall within those claimed was known at the time of invention as evidenced by JP H1135791-A. See abstract and paragraphs [0001], [0004], [0005], and page 3, fifth paragraph within the provided English translation. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to produce poly(cyclic acetal) polymers of the primary reference having the claimed molecular weight. Furthermore, within page 3, fourth paragraph of the translation, it is disclosed that the presence of hydroxyl groups within the polymer is disadvantageous, because it promotes decomposition. Considering this teaching in combination with the aforementioned thiol teachings within the primary reference, the position is taken that one would have been motivated to reduce the content of terminal hydroxyl groups to correspond to the claimed terminal hydroxyl groups content, so as to obtain a polymer having greater resistance to decomposition, while in use in such applications as moldings, as provided for by the secondary reference.
8. Pattison and JP H1135791-A fail to disclose the claimed depolymerization method of the disclosed poly(cyclic acetal) polymers; however, the depolymerization of polyoxymethylene in the presence of nitric acid was known at the time of invention, as evidenced by the disclosure within page 2, seventh text paragraph of KR 10-2017-0010391-A. Accordingly, one seeking to decompose/recycle the poly(cyclic acetal) polymers would have motivated to depolymerize them by heating in the presence of a strong acid. Though the reference fails to disclose the claimed pressure condition, the position is taken that operation at the claimed pressure condition would have been obvious, because (1) the claimed pressure condition encompasses atmospheric pressure, which would have been expected to be a conventional process condition, and (2) determining the optimal pressure condition would have required only routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765