DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-32 of T. Vollgraff, et al., 18262516 (07/21/2023) are pending. Claims 1-7 and 16-26 are withdrawn as drawn to non-elected Groups. Claims 8-15 and 27-32 are under examination on merits and are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Pursuant to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected Group I, without traverse, in the reply filed on 02/17/2026. Applicant added new claims 27-32 falling within the scope of Group I. Thus, now claims 8-15 and 27-32 drawn to the elected Group I. Claims 1-7 and 16-26 drawn to nonelected Groups II-V are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). The restriction requirement is made as FINAL.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to and is required to amended as follows to clarify the structure of the claimed compound.
12. Compounds according to claim 10, wherein Azu = an azulene derivative, and wherein at least one of the carbon atoms C1, C4 and C7 of the azulene skeleton bear a substituent RF, or of the RF.
Claims Rejections 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the claim must apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of its scope so as to provide clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement. MPEP 2173.02(II); Solomon v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 216 F.3d 1372, 1379, 55 USPQ2d 1279, 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The meaning of every term used in a claim should be apparent from the prior art or from the specification and drawings at the time the application is filed. Claim language may not be ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention. MPEP § 2173.05(a).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it recites the limitation of
where MA is an alkali metal, in particular selected from the group Li, Na or K.
which is an improper preference because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by the language of “in particular” is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-15 and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J. Richter, et al, 475, Inorganica Chimica Acta, 18-27 (2018)(“Richter”).
Richter teaches a compound 4a that is prepared as follows:
In the case of 4, the unsolvated material was dissolved in DME at ca. 60 ºC to give a clear, orange-red solution. Slow cooling to room temperature afforded well-formed, colorless single-crystals of the DME adduct (C16H21)Li(DME)(4a).
Richter at page 20, left col. 12-15, emphasis added.
Per Scheme 3, Richter teaches a compound 41 has a chemical structure as indicated below.
Richter at page 19, right col. Scheme 3.
Richter also teaches that the compound 4a has a molecular structure in the crystal as indicated in Fig. 1.
Richter at page 20, left col. Fig. 1.
Thus, the Richter compound 4a has a chemical structure as indicated below
Which maps the general formula MAYn(AzuH) (I) of claims 9-14 as:
MA is Li that is a alkali metal;
Y is DME (CH3O-CH2CH2-OCH3), n is 1;
Azu is an azulene derivative, wherein, the carbon atoms of C1, C4, C7 and C8 has a methyl or isopropyl group; and
the C6 has a hydrogen atom.
The Richter compound 4a meets each and every limitation of claims 10 and 12-13, therefore, claims 10 and 12-13 are anticipated.
Claim 8 is anticipated because Richter teaches a suspension comprising the compound 4a and DME that is a solvent.
Claim 11 is anticipated because the X-ray data indicating compound 4a is pure.
Claim 14 is anticipated because DME (CH3O-CH2CH2-OCH3) is an aprotic polar solvent. See specification at page 23, line 1.
Claim 15 is anticipated because Richter also teaches the follows compound that maps the claimed formula as MA+ is Li+. Richter at page 22, Scheme 9.
Claims 9 and 27-32 are also anticipated because these claims are interpreted as product-by-process claims. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." See MPEP2113.I.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 9-14 and 27-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-5 of co-pending Application No. 18/262,532 (published as US 20240317788A1) in the claim set filed on 07/21/2023.
Conflicting Claims
The conflicting claim 1 claims compounds according to the follows general formula
wherein
- M+ is an alkali metal cation,
- R is selected from the group consisting of primary, secondary, tertiary alkyl, alkenyl and alkynyl radicals having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, cyclic alkyl radicals having 3 to 10 carbon atoms, a benzyl radical, mononuclear aryl radicals, polynuclear aryl radicals, mononuclear heteroaryl radicals and polynuclear heteroaryl radicals,
- Y is a neutral ligand that is bound or coordinated to M+ via at least one donor atom, wherein H20 is excluded, and
-n= 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4,
All of these compounds falls within the chemical genera of instant claims 9-14 and 27-32. As such, conflicting claim 1 anticipates the instant claims 9-12 and 27-32.
Regarding the instant claims 13-14, the conflicting claims 4-5 further claims:
4. Compound according to claim 1, wherein the alkali metal cation M+ is selected from the group consisting of Li+, Na+ and K+.
5. Compound according to claim 1 , wherein the neutral ligand Y
A) is a polar aprotic solvent or
B) is a crown ether selected from the group consisting of macrocyclic polyethers and aza-, phospha- and thia- derivatives thereof,
wherein an internal diameter of the crown ether and an ion radius of the alkali metal cation M+ correspond to each other.
Therefore, the instant claims 13-14 is anticipated by the conflicting claims 4-5 respectively.
Terminal Disclaimer
Conclusion
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK S. HOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692
1 Richter compound 4 is one homologous of the Example 1 compound Li(GuaH) in the instant specification. Specification at page 159, Example 1.