DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objections previously set forth. The objections of the claims previously set forth have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every invocations of 112(f) claim interpretations previously set forth. The invocations of 112(f) claim interpretations previously set forth have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims 5-7, 10 and 17-18 have overcome each and every 112(b) rejections previously set forth. The 112(b) rejections of the claims 5-7, 10 and 17-18 previously set forth have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 102 rejections of the claims (see Amendment, Page 19 first full paragraph to Page 20 second paragraph), are directed to that “Potucek does not disclose a short-rang or medium-range wireless communication system configured to integrate the at least one electrical control device to a local network and to exchange data with at least one other electrical control device integrated to the local network without using access to the Internet.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Potucek teaches “a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system configured to integrate the at least one electrical control device to a local network and to exchange data with at least one other electrical control device integrated to the local network without using access to the Internet.” In Potucek, the combination of the radio frequency (RF) base station 800 and radio communications interfaces of the local terminal 28, the handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, and the main terminal, etc. that forms wireless network reads on “a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system”. The main control panel 4 or the expansion panel 54, as illustrated in FIG. 2, read on “at least one electrical control device”. Any of the local terminal 28 and the handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b read on “at least one other electrical control device”. (Potucek: [0038] “FIGS. 1-2 illustrate the control system 2 of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 1, the control system 2 includes a main control panel 4 for housing various electrical components of the control system 2. The control panel 4 includes a motherboard 6 having a main panel (central) processor 8. The central processor 8 is connected with an internal high speed RS-485 bus 10 and an internal low speed RS-485 bus 12 of the motherboard 6. …”) (Potucek: [0049] “Further, the wireless communication subsystem could also communicate with a network 60, which could be a wireless network, wireless cellular network (e.g., 3G or 4G), or the Internet. …”) (Potucek: [0065] “…The main panel motherboard 6, and all associated devices/expansion boards, can communicate with a home network through a wired Ethernet connection via the Ethernet port, or wirelessly using the WiFi radio module 26. …”) (Potucek: [0109] “The terminal processor 502 of the wireless terminal 58b includes a serial peripheral interface (SPI) bus 614. The SPI bus 614 is connected with the radio module 616, which could comply with IEEE standards 802.11b, 802.11g, and/or 802.11n. The radio 616 allows the wireless terminal 58b to wirelessly communicate with the main panel motherboard 6, such that the wireless terminal processor 504 can receive data and commands from, and send data to, the MPP 8 when a radio frequency base station is engaged with the external RS-485 bus connector 14 of the main panel 12. Thus, the terminal processor 502 can receive data and commands from the MPP 8 and the MSP 30 by way of radio frequency communication. The wireless terminal PCB 550 includes a battery connector 552 that can have a battery 554 attached thereto. The battery 554 may be a lithium polymer rechargeable battery and/or may be removeable. The battery connector 552 is connected with a battery power connection 556 and a power multiplexer 618. The battery power connection 556 is connected with a battery charger 560 on the terminal processor 502. The power multiplexer 618 determines which power source should be utilized to power the radio 616, e.g., the battery 55 or a power supply connected to the charger contacts 564. The power mux 618 provides power to a buck/boost power supply converter 620, which directs power to the radio 616. The terminal processor 502 includes a reset 622 that is connected to a magnetic reed switch 624.”) (Potucek: [0119] “FIG. 11 is a block diagram of a radio frequency (RF) base station 800 of the present disclosure. The RF base station 800 is connectable to a panel, e.g., a main panel 4 or an expansion panel 54, and allows the connected panel to communicate with a wireless communication device. The RF base station 800 includes a gateway processor 802 and a radio module processor 804. The gateway processor 802 includes internal nonvolatile memory 806, internal RAM 808, and internal FLASH memory 810. The gateway processor 802 also includes a first serial port 812 and a second serial port 814.”).
Further, the Internet is an option in Potucek, as described in paragraph [0137] (“The control system 2 includes a GUI that can be replicated at each device connected to the control system 2 (e.g., a local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b (wireless or wired), a wireless device 61 (smart phone/table), a website accessible by the Internet, or a locally-served web page accessible by a computer) and used for controlling the control system 2.”), and therefore, not using the Internet reads on “without using access to the Internet.”
Accordingly, the argument is not deemed persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to the 102 rejections of the claims (see Amendment, Page 20 second paragraph) that “Potucek does not disclose exchanging data with another electrical control device without using access to the Internet.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Potucek teaches “exchanging data with another electrical control device without using access to the Internet,” as discussed above and below. In Potucek, for example, the remote control unit 58a, 58b communicates with the main panel control to receive and send data. (Potucek: [0134] “The control system 2 is capable of communicating with the main panel RS-485 bus connectors 14, 22, the expansion panel RS-485 bus connectors 226, and/or the relay pack relays 56a-56d. The control system 2 firmware is capable of controlling the operation speed of a variable speed pump, and can provide a menu for the variable speed pump that could be displayed on the GUI of the local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, or a wireless device 61. The menu can show various operating parameters of the variable speed pump, such as operating speed (both in revolutions per minute (RPM) and percentage of maximum), current power output, current power usage, etc. Furthermore, the firmware can display all alarm indications generated by the pump on the GUI of the local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, or a wireless device 61.”) (Potucek: [0137] “The control system 2 includes a GUI that can be replicated at each device connected to the control system 2 (e.g., a local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b (wireless or wired), a wireless device 61 (smart phone/table), a website accessible by the Internet, or a locally-served web page accessible by a computer) and used for controlling the control system 2. The GUI can include a “home page” having multiple icons representing different actions, or predefined controls, of the pool/spa system. These icons can represent individual devices, e.g., lights or valves, or can be a full pre-defined set of actions/control parameters, e.g., a full light and water fountain show. A user can create custom icons/buttons representing his/her “favorites” or most utilized actions. The user can place these favorite icons on the home page and rearrange the icons so that they are placed in a desired location on the screen. Additionally, the GUI can include alarm notification capabilities, such that when an alarm condition occurs, the appropriate icon representing the device producing the alarm condition can be moved to a more visible location on the GUI so that it is viewed by the user. The alarm notification can be a blinking red (representing an alarm condition) or orange (representing a warning condition) light or glow surrounding the icon, and/or can be a red or orange glow surrounding the perimeter of the GUI or on a single side of the GUI. …”)
Accordingly, the argument is not deemed persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 102 rejections of the claims (see Amendment, Page 20 fourth and fifty paragraphs) are directed to that “Potucek does not disclose or suggest a microcontroller to control at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to an algorithm dedicated to the at least one associated piece of electrical equipment.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Potucek teaches “a microcontroller to control at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to an algorithm dedicated to the at least one associated piece of electrical equipment.” In Potucek, the main panel processor 8 of the main panel reads on “a microcontroller”, and the main panel controlling relays to the pool/spa equipment and the smart components with menu of controlling each device reads on “to control at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to an algorithm dedicated to the at least one associated piece of electrical equipment.” (Potucek: [0038] “FIGS. 1-2 illustrate the control system 2 of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 1, the control system 2 includes a main control panel 4 for housing various electrical components of the control system 2. The control panel 4 includes a motherboard 6 having a main panel (central) processor 8. The central processor 8 is connected with an internal high speed RS-485 bus 10 and an internal low speed RS-485 bus 12 of the motherboard 6. …”) (Potucek: [0041] “The main control panel 4 includes one or more modular programmable relay packs 32 that each contain a plurality of relays 56a-d (e.g., four). The modular programmable relay packs 32 (e.g., relay banks) are connectable to the relay bank connector 16 for two-way communication with the central processor 8 by way of the high speed RS-485 bus 10. Each modular relay pack 32 is connectable to pool/spa equipment and smart components, e.g., heaters, lights, pumps, pH dispense units, which allows the relay packs 32 to communicate with and control such pool/spa equipment.”) (Potucek: [0137] “The control system 2 includes a GUI that can be replicated at each device connected to the control system 2 (e.g., a local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b (wireless or wired), a wireless device 61 (smart phone/table), a website accessible by the Internet, or a locally-served web page accessible by a computer) and used for controlling the control system 2. The GUI can include a “home page” having multiple icons representing different actions, or predefined controls, of the pool/spa system. These icons can represent individual devices, e.g., lights or valves, or can be a full pre-defined set of actions/control parameters, e.g., a full light and water fountain show. A user can create custom icons/buttons representing his/her “favorites” or most utilized actions. The user can place these favorite icons on the home page and rearrange the icons so that they are placed in a desired location on the screen. Additionally, the GUI can include alarm notification capabilities, such that when an alarm condition occurs, the appropriate icon representing the device producing the alarm condition can be moved to a more visible location on the GUI so that it is viewed by the user. The alarm notification can be a blinking red (representing an alarm condition) or orange (representing a warning condition) light or glow surrounding the icon, and/or can be a red or orange glow surrounding the perimeter of the GUI or on a single side of the GUI. …”)
Accordingly, the argument is not deemed persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 102 rejections of the claims (see Amendment, Page 21 all full paragraphs) are directed to that “present invention is a distributed intelligence architecture, where each control device is an autonomous expert for its specific function,” and that “Potucek's system, with its central processor dictating operations to peripheral relay packs, fails to disclose this distributed control paradigm.”
Examiner respectfully submits that the claims do not recite “a distributed intelligence architecture, where each control device is an autonomous expert for its specific function” or any elements that may suggest such limitation. Amended claim 3 does recite “wherein the microcontroller is structured to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to at least two modes including: an autonomous mode to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment in autonomy, independently of the data communicated within said local network, and a network mode to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment taking into account the data from said local network.” However, the claim 3 does not recite or suggest that each associated piece of electrical equipment operates in autonomy or controls itself. The claim 3 recites that the microcontroller controls the associated piece of electrical equipment in autonomy. Examiner recommends Applicant amend the claim to recite limitations that recite or suggest “a distributed intelligence architecture, where each control device is an autonomous expert for its specific function” if Applicant wishes, and so long as the specification of the application supports such limitation.
Accordingly, the argument is not deemed persuasive.
Further, Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejections (see Amendment Pages 22-23) are not deemed persuasive for similar reasons as discussed above.
For the foregoing reasons, the 102 and 103 rejections of the claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Potucek et al. (US 2019/0018377 A1) (“Potucek”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Potucek teaches:
An electrical system dedicated to power supply and control of electrical equipment of a swimming pool, the electrical system comprising: (Potucek: Abstract “Disclosed is a system for controlling pool/spa components. More particularly, disclosed is a system for controlling pool/spa components including a display screen and one or more processors presenting a control user interface for display on the display screen, wherein the control user interface includes a home screen comprising a first portion containing a first plurality of buttons and/or controls for controlling a first group of the plurality of pool/spa components associated with a first body of water, and a second portion containing a second plurality of buttons and/or controls for controlling a second group of the plurality of pool/spa components associated with a second body of water.”)
at least one electrical control device configured to control at least one associated piece of electrical equipment, said at least one electrical control device comprising: a microcontroller having a stored computer program comprising instructions that , when executed by the microcontroller, cause the microcontroller to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to an algorithm dedicated to said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment, and (Potucek: [0038] “FIGS. 1-2 illustrate the control system 2 of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 1, the control system 2 includes a main control panel 4 for housing various electrical components of the control system 2. The control panel 4 includes a motherboard 6 having a main panel (central) processor 8. The central processor 8 is connected with an internal high speed RS-485 bus 10 and an internal low speed RS-485 bus 12 of the motherboard 6. …”) (Potucek: [0134] “The control system 2 is capable of communicating with the main panel RS-485 bus connectors 14, 22, the expansion panel RS-485 bus connectors 226, and/or the relay pack relays 56a-56d. The control system 2 firmware is capable of controlling the operation speed of a variable speed pump, and can provide a menu for the variable speed pump that could be displayed on the GUI of the local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, or a wireless device 61. The menu can show various operating parameters of the variable speed pump, such as operating speed (both in revolutions per minute (RPM) and percentage of maximum), current power output, current power usage, etc. Furthermore, the firmware can display all alarm indications generated by the pump on the GUI of the local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, or a wireless device 61.”) (Potucek: [0137] “The control system 2 includes a GUI that can be replicated at each device connected to the control system 2 (e.g., a local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b (wireless or wired), a wireless device 61 (smart phone/table), a website accessible by the Internet, or a locally-served web page accessible by a computer) and used for controlling the control system 2. The GUI can include a “home page” having multiple icons representing different actions, or predefined controls, of the pool/spa system. These icons can represent individual devices, e.g., lights or valves, or can be a full pre-defined set of actions/control parameters, e.g., a full light and water fountain show. A user can create custom icons/buttons representing his/her “favorites” or most utilized actions. The user can place these favorite icons on the home page and rearrange the icons so that they are placed in a desired location on the screen. Additionally, the GUI can include alarm notification capabilities, such that when an alarm condition occurs, the appropriate icon representing the device producing the alarm condition can be moved to a more visible location on the GUI so that it is viewed by the user. The alarm notification can be a blinking red (representing an alarm condition) or orange (representing a warning condition) light or glow surrounding the icon, and/or can be a red or orange glow surrounding the perimeter of the GUI or on a single side of the GUI. …”) [The main control panel 4 and the expansion panel 54, as illustrated in FIG. 2, read on “at least one electrical control device”. The equipment, such as the variable speed pump, lights, valves, etc. reads on “at least one associated piece of electrical equipment” The main panel processor 8 of the main panel reads on “a microcontroller”, and the firmware reads on “a stored computer program” or “an algorithm”.]
a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system configured to integrate said at least one electrical control device to a local network and to exchange data with at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network without using access to the Internet. (Potucek: [0038] as discussed above) (Potucek: [0049] “Further, the wireless communication subsystem could also communicate with a network 60, which could be a wireless network, wireless cellular network (e.g., 3G or 4G), or the Internet. …”) (Potucek: [0065] “…The main panel motherboard 6, and all associated devices/expansion boards, can communicate with a home network through a wired Ethernet connection via the Ethernet port, or wirelessly using the WiFi radio module 26. …”) (Potucek: [0109] “The terminal processor 502 of the wireless terminal 58b includes a serial peripheral interface (SPI) bus 614. The SPI bus 614 is connected with the radio module 616, which could comply with IEEE standards 802.11b, 802.11g, and/or 802.11n. The radio 616 allows the wireless terminal 58b to wirelessly communicate with the main panel motherboard 6, such that the wireless terminal processor 504 can receive data and commands from, and send data to, the MPP 8 when a radio frequency base station is engaged with the external RS-485 bus connector 14 of the main panel 12. Thus, the terminal processor 502 can receive data and commands from the MPP 8 and the MSP 30 by way of radio frequency communication. The wireless terminal PCB 550 includes a battery connector 552 that can have a battery 554 attached thereto. The battery 554 may be a lithium polymer rechargeable battery and/or may be removeable. The battery connector 552 is connected with a battery power connection 556 and a power multiplexer 618. The battery power connection 556 is connected with a battery charger 560 on the terminal processor 502. The power multiplexer 618 determines which power source should be utilized to power the radio 616, e.g., the battery 55 or a power supply connected to the charger contacts 564. The power mux 618 provides power to a buck/boost power supply converter 620, which directs power to the radio 616. The terminal processor 502 includes a reset 622 that is connected to a magnetic reed switch 624.”) (Potucek: [0119] “FIG. 11 is a block diagram of a radio frequency (RF) base station 800 of the present disclosure. The RF base station 800 is connectable to a panel, e.g., a main panel 4 or an expansion panel 54, and allows the connected panel to communicate with a wireless communication device. The RF base station 800 includes a gateway processor 802 and a radio module processor 804. The gateway processor 802 includes internal nonvolatile memory 806, internal RAM 808, and internal FLASH memory 810. The gateway processor 802 also includes a first serial port 812 and a second serial port 814.”) [The combination of the radio frequency (RF) base station 800 and radio communications interfaces of the local terminal 28, the handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, and the main terminal, etc. that forms wireless network reads on “a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system … a local network to exchange data …”. Any of the local terminal 28 and the handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b read on “at least one other electrical control device”. The wireless network, and not the Internet, and the radio frequency communication read on “without using access to the Internet”.]
Regarding claim 2, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
wherein said at least one electrical control device further comprises one or more of: at least one electrical connector configured to connect to a power supply, at least one power supply configured to power said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment, and at least one wired communication interface configured to integrate said at least one electrical control device to said local network and to exchange data by wire with said at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network. (Potucek: [0038], [0065], [0109] and [0119] as discussed in claim 1) (Potucek: [0054] FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the electronic components of the main control panel 4. The main control panel 4 includes a main panel motherboard 6 that holds various components of the main control panel 4 and provides interconnectivity therebetween. The main panel motherboard 6 can be a printed circuit board that can be conformal coated to prevent corrosion/damage from long term exposure to dampness. The main panel 4 includes a 12 VDC power supply assembly 44 and a 24 VDC power supply assembly 46. Connected to the main panel motherboard 6 is an AC input connector 34 that receives power from an AC power source, e.g., a standard outlet of a household. The AC input connector 34 sends the received power through a noise filter 80 (e.g., manufactured by Echelon, Inc.), which filters the power and removes any unwanted noise, and to a transformer connector 82 and a power supply input connector 86. The power supply input connector 86 allows connection of the main panel motherboard 6 with the 12 VDC power supply 62 and the 24 VDC power supply 64 via their respective AC connectors 68, 72. Each AC connector 68, 72 provides the respective power supply (e.g., 12 VDC power supply 62 and 24 VDC power supply 64) with 120 VAC power, which in turn converts same into 12 VDC and 24 VDC, respectively. The 12 VDC and 24 VDC output of the power supplies 62, 64 are connected to a respective power supply connector 66, 70 that are each connected to the power supply output connector 88 of the main panel motherboard 6. The power supply output connector 88 distributes power to various components of the main panel mother board 6. As mentioned previously, the AC input connector 34 provides AC power to the transformer connector 82 for connection with a chlorination transformer 74 that transforms the 120 VAC power to 24 VAC. The 24 VAC is returned by the chlorination transformer 74 to the transformer connector 82 for distribution among various components of the main panel motherboard 6.”)
Regarding claim 3, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
wherein the microcontroller is structured to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to at least two modes including: an autonomous mode to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment in autonomy, independently of the data communicated within said local network, and a network mode to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment taking into account the data from said local network. (Potucek: [0005] “The present disclosure relates to a pool or spa control system including modular relay packs. In one embodiment, the control system includes a main control panel including a motherboard and a local terminal. The motherboard includes a main panel processor, a power supply, one or more internal communications busses (e.g., a high-speed RS-485, a low-speed RS-485 bus, or other suitable communications busses), external communications bus connectors (e.g., an external high-speed RS-485 bus connector and an external low-speed RS-485 bus connector, or suitable connectors for a respective communication bus that is implemented) that allow for smart components to be connected thereto, at least one relay bank socket, and an optional expansion slot. The local terminal is connectable to the motherboard and includes a master system processor and a screen. The local terminal allows the control system to be programmed. A programmable modular relay pack can be inserted into the relay bank socket of the main panel and connected to the main panel processor. The system automatically identifies the relay pack and permits a user to assign one or more functions and/or devices to be controlled by the relay pack, using the local terminal. The programmable modular relay pack includes a relay bank processor and a plurality of high voltage relays for connection with various pool or spa devices. When the programmable modular programmable relay pack is inserted into the at least one relay bank socket, it engages in a handshake with the main panel processor such that the processor recognizes the modular programmable relay pack and can control operation thereof. The main panel can also include a plurality of RS-485 connectors, actuators, relays, and sensor connectors. The main panel could include a chlorinator control subsystem that allows a chlorinator to be connected to the main panel and controlled by the main panel processor and/or the master system processor.””) (Potucek: [0007] “The controller of the present disclosure could also include a handheld remote control unit in communication with the main panel. The handheld remote control unit can be a wired unit that is connected to the main panel or the expansion panel, or a wireless unit that wirelessly communicates with a wireless communication subsystem of the main panel. Operation and programming of the entire system can be controlled by the handheld remote control unit. Where the handheld remote control unit is wireless, the main control panel can include a radio module for communication with the wireless handheld remote control unit. The radio module may be a radio module or a WiFi (IEEE 802.11) radio module. The handheld remote control unit can be mounted on a wall or built into a spa.”) (Potucek: [0011] “FIG. 2 is a diagram of the modular pool/spa control system of the present disclosure, showing a main control panel, a modular relay pack, an optional expansion panel, and an optional remote control unit in communication with the main control unit”)
Regarding claim 4, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
wherein said at least one electrical control device is chosen among: a filtration electrical control device configured to control and supply power to one or more of a pump and a motorized valve to ensure water recycling flow, a lighting electrical control deviceconfigured to control and supply power a lighting system, a disinfection electrical control device configured to control and supply power to a disinfection system, a pH electrical control device configured to control and supply power to a pH regulation system, a cover electrical control device configured to control and supply power to a motorized cover, a counter-current swimming electrical control device configured to control and supply power to a counter-current swimming system, a heating electrical control device configured to control and supply power to one or more of a water heater and an air heater, a first pump electrical control device configured to control and supply power to one or more of an air propelling system and a water propelling system, a second pump electrical control device, configured to control and power one or more of an air suction system and a water suction system, a switchelectrical control device configured to control and supply power to a switch, a filling solenoid valve electrical control device configured to control and supply power to a solenoid valve to fill the pool with water, and a selection solenoid valve electrical control device configured to control and supply power to a solenoid valve configured to provide a massaging jet or counter-current swimming selection. (Potucek: FIG. 1) (Potucek: [0132] “As discussed previously, the control system 2 is capable of controlling various devices associated with a pool/spa, including, but not limited to: heaters, chemistry sense and dispense systems, variable speed pumps, and lights. When a heater is connected to the control system 2 along with a variable speed pump, the control system 2 will permit a user to specify a minimum pump speed for optimal heater functionality. Alternatively, where sensors are installed with the system, including at the input and output of the heater and the variable speed pump, the control system 2 could determine the minimum pump speed for optimal heater functionality and could vary the speed of the pump to maintain an efficient temperature rise in the pool/spa. This could be presented as an option to the user. The control system 2 can also include energy management algorithms, as discussed previously, and heater control algorithms that can prioritize heating elements. For example, where there are solar collectors connected to the pool/spa system for solar heating, the control system 2 can execute an algorithm that will give priority to solar heating, and pump pool water through the solar collectors, when possible. This solar heat control can involve the control system 2 controlling a valve to send water to the solar collectors and/or the selection of a relay to operate a booster pump to send water to the panels. Additionally, the control system 2 can be programmed to determine the minimum flow requirements for the solar collectors, and operate a variable speed pump at the required speed. The control system 2 can also be able to operate the solar collectors in a nocturnal cooling mode where water is pumped through the solar collectors at night if the temperature in the solar collectors is less than the pool temperature by a specified minimum temperature difference. Similarly, the control system 2 can be utilized for pool cooling. This operation could involve the control system 2 automatically controlling an aerator, which can be done as a timed control of a valve and control of a heat pump that supports cooling. Where a heat pump is utilized, it can be switched from heating to cooling mode.”)
Regarding claim 5, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
at least one electrical device configured to centralize and route data communications between electrical control devices within said local network, said at least one electrical device comprising: at least one electrical connection system configured to connect to a power supply, and a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system configured to integrate said at least one master electrical device to said local network and to centralize and route (Potucek: [0005], [0007] and [0065] as discussed in claim 1) (Potucek: [0048] “…For example, the wired communication subsystem could be connected to the Ethernet port on the local terminal 28. When connected, the wired communication subsystem is in two-way communication with the central processor 8 and transfers data from a connected remote control device to the central processor 8 and from the central processor 8 to the remote control device. For example, this permits a home Ethernet network to be connected to and integrated with the control unit 8 such that a wired remote control, located in a house for example, can be connected to the Ethernet network and in communication with the control unit 8. …”) (Potucek: [0054] FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the electronic components of the main control panel 4. The main control panel 4 includes a main panel motherboard 6 that holds various components of the main control panel 4 and provides interconnectivity therebetween. The main panel motherboard 6 can be a printed circuit board that can be conformal coated to prevent corrosion/damage from long term exposure to dampness. The main panel 4 includes a 12 VDC power supply assembly 44 and a 24 VDC power supply assembly 46. Connected to the main panel motherboard 6 is an AC input connector 34 that receives power from an AC power source, e.g., a standard outlet of a household. The AC input connector 34 sends the received power through a noise filter 80 (e.g., manufactured by Echelon, Inc.), which filters the power and removes any unwanted noise, and to a transformer connector 82 and a power supply input connector 86. The power supply input connector 86 allows connection of the main panel motherboard 6 with the 12 VDC power supply 62 and the 24 VDC power supply 64 via their respective AC connectors 68, 72. Each AC connector 68, 72 provides the respective power supply (e.g., 12 VDC power supply 62 and 24 VDC power supply 64) with 120 VAC power, which in turn converts same into 12 VDC and 24 VDC, respectively. The 12 VDC and 24 VDC output of the power supplies 62, 64 are connected to a respective power supply connector 66, 70 that are each connected to the power supply output connector 88 of the main panel motherboard 6. The power supply output connector 88 distributes power to various components of the main panel mother board 6. As mentioned previously, the AC input connector 34 provides AC power to the transformer connector 82 for connection with a chlorination transformer 74 that transforms the 120 VAC power to 24 VAC. The 24 VAC is returned by the chlorination transformer 74 to the transformer connector 82 for distribution among various components of the main panel motherboard 6.”)
Regarding claim 6, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 5. Potucek further teaches:
said at least one electrical control device configured as a peripheral electrical control device. (Potucek: [0053] “As shown in FIG. 2, the expansion panel 54 is external to the main control panel 4 and connected thereto by the data and power connection. A plurality of the relay packs 32 can be installed in the main panel 4 and the expansion panel 54, in any desired number/combination. The modular relay packs 32 each include a housing 55 and a plurality of relays 56a-56d. Each relay 56a-56d is a general-purpose relay that can be assigned a desired function by the user via the local terminal 28. By way of example, the first relay 56a can be assigned for controlling a pool heater, the second relay 56b can be assigned for controlling a light, the third relay 56c can be assigned for controlling a circulation pump, and the fourth relay 56d can be assigned for controlling a fountain pump. Of course, these functions can be altered as desired. A user can thus control the pool heater, the light, the circulation pump and the fountain pump via the local terminal 28 or, alternatively, by the hand-held remote control unit 58 or a wireless device 61 if such is in communication with the wireless communication subsystem. Further, a single device can be connected to two relays where necessary, e.g., a two-speed pump. As can be appreciated, the relay packs 32 allow for a user-friendly, “plug-and-play” installation and configuration.”)
Regarding claim 7, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 5-6. Potucek further teaches:
wherein the short-range or medium-range wireless communication system is structured to ensure at least one communication mode among one or more of: a centralized communication mode in which said at least one peripheral electrical control device is configured to communicate data with at least one other peripheral electrical control device via said at least one electrical device, and a decentralized communication moder in which said at least one peripheral electrical control device is configured to directly communicate data with at least one other peripheral electrical control device. (Potucek: FIG. 2)
Regarding claim 8, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
at least one gateway electrical device chosen among one of: a first gateway electronic device configured to generate a first gateway from said local network to an external network, a second gateway electronic device configured to generate a second gateway from said local network to a long-range link, and a third gateway electronic device, configured to generate a local gateway from said local network to a personal electronic device. (Potucek: [0119] “FIG. 11 is a block diagram of a radio frequency (RF) base station 800 of the present disclosure. The RF base station 800 is connectable to a panel, e.g., a main panel 4 or an expansion panel 54, and allows the connected panel to communicate with a wireless communication device. The RF base station 800 includes a gateway processor 802 and a radio module processor 804. The gateway processor 802 includes internal nonvolatile memory 806, internal RAM 808, and internal FLASH memory 810. The gateway processor 802 also includes a first serial port 812 and a second serial port 814.”) (Potucek: [0121] “The RF base station 800 includes an RS-485 connector 828 that is connected with an RS-485 transceiver 830, a logic power supply 832, and a radio power supply 834. The RS-485 connector 828 allows the RF base station 800 to be connected to the external high-speed RS-485 bus connector 14 of the main control panel 12, such that the RF base station 800 can communicate with the MPP 8. RS-485 transceiver 830 sends and receives information from and between the gateway processor 814 and the MPP 8. …”)
Regarding claim 10, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
wherein said at least one electrical control device is integrated into at least one box and is one of: irremovable with respect to said at least one box to form an all-in-one unit, and removable with respect to said at least one box to form a modular unit. (Potucek: FIG. 2)
Regarding independent claim 12, Potucek teaches:
An electrical control device, for an electrical system dedicated to supply power and control of electrical equipment of a swimming pool, said electrical control device comprising:
a microcontroller having a storage computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by the microcontroller, cause the microcontroller to control at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to an algorithm dedicated to said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment; (Potucek: [0038] “FIGS. 1-2 illustrate the control system 2 of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 1, the control system 2 includes a main control panel 4 for housing various electrical components of the control system 2. The control panel 4 includes a motherboard 6 having a main panel (central) processor 8. The central processor 8 is connected with an internal high speed RS-485 bus 10 and an internal low speed RS-485 bus 12 of the motherboard 6. …”) (Potucek: [0134] “The control system 2 is capable of communicating with the main panel RS-485 bus connectors 14, 22, the expansion panel RS-485 bus connectors 226, and/or the relay pack relays 56a-56d. The control system 2 firmware is capable of controlling the operation speed of a variable speed pump, and can provide a menu for the variable speed pump that could be displayed on the GUI of the local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, or a wireless device 61. The menu can show various operating parameters of the variable speed pump, such as operating speed (both in revolutions per minute (RPM) and percentage of maximum), current power output, current power usage, etc. Furthermore, the firmware can display all alarm indications generated by the pump on the GUI of the local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, or a wireless device 61.”) (Potucek: [0137] “The control system 2 includes a GUI that can be replicated at each device connected to the control system 2 (e.g., a local terminal 28, a handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b (wireless or wired), a wireless device 61 (smart phone/table), a website accessible by the Internet, or a locally-served web page accessible by a computer) and used for controlling the control system 2. The GUI can include a “home page” having multiple icons representing different actions, or predefined controls, of the pool/spa system. These icons can represent individual devices, e.g., lights or valves, or can be a full pre-defined set of actions/control parameters, e.g., a full light and water fountain show. A user can create custom icons/buttons representing his/her “favorites” or most utilized actions. The user can place these favorite icons on the home page and rearrange the icons so that they are placed in a desired location on the screen. Additionally, the GUI can include alarm notification capabilities, such that when an alarm condition occurs, the appropriate icon representing the device producing the alarm condition can be moved to a more visible location on the GUI so that it is viewed by the user. The alarm notification can be a blinking red (representing an alarm condition) or orange (representing a warning condition) light or glow surrounding the icon, and/or can be a red or orange glow surrounding the perimeter of the GUI or on a single side of the GUI. …”) [The main control panel 4, as illustrated in FIG. 2, read on “An electrical control device”. The equipment, such as the variable speed pump, lights, valves, etc. reads on “at least one associated piece of electrical equipment” The main panel processor 8 of the main panel reads on “a microcontroller”, and the firmware reads on “a stored computer program” or “an algorithm”.]
a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system configured to integrate said electrical control device to a local network and to exchange for data with at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network without using access to the Internet; (Potucek: [0038] as discussed above) (Potucek: [0049] “Further, the wireless communication subsystem could also communicate with a network 60, which could be a wireless network, wireless cellular network (e.g., 3G or 4G), or the Internet. …”) (Potucek: [0065] “…The main panel motherboard 6, and all associated devices/expansion boards, can communicate with a home network through a wired Ethernet connection via the Ethernet port, or wirelessly using the WiFi radio module 26. …”) (Potucek: [0109] “The terminal processor 502 of the wireless terminal 58b includes a serial peripheral interface (SPI) bus 614. The SPI bus 614 is connected with the radio module 616, which could comply with IEEE standards 802.11b, 802.11g, and/or 802.11n. The radio 616 allows the wireless terminal 58b to wirelessly communicate with the main panel motherboard 6, such that the wireless terminal processor 504 can receive data and commands from, and send data to, the MPP 8 when a radio frequency base station is engaged with the external RS-485 bus connector 14 of the main panel 12. Thus, the terminal processor 502 can receive data and commands from the MPP 8 and the MSP 30 by way of radio frequency communication. The wireless terminal PCB 550 includes a battery connector 552 that can have a battery 554 attached thereto. The battery 554 may be a lithium polymer rechargeable battery and/or may be removeable. The battery connector 552 is connected with a battery power connection 556 and a power multiplexer 618. The battery power connection 556 is connected with a battery charger 560 on the terminal processor 502. The power multiplexer 618 determines which power source should be utilized to power the radio 616, e.g., the battery 55 or a power supply connected to the charger contacts 564. The power mux 618 provides power to a buck/boost power supply converter 620, which directs power to the radio 616. The terminal processor 502 includes a reset 622 that is connected to a magnetic reed switch 624.”) (Potucek: [0119] “FIG. 11 is a block diagram of a radio frequency (RF) base station 800 of the present disclosure. The RF base station 800 is connectable to a panel, e.g., a main panel 4 or an expansion panel 54, and allows the connected panel to communicate with a wireless communication device. The RF base station 800 includes a gateway processor 802 and a radio module processor 804. The gateway processor 802 includes internal nonvolatile memory 806, internal RAM 808, and internal FLASH memory 810. The gateway processor 802 also includes a first serial port 812 and a second serial port 814.”) [The combination of the radio frequency (RF) base station 800 and radio communications interfaces of the local terminal 28, the handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b, and the main terminal, etc. that forms wireless network reads on “a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system … a local network and to exchange data …”. Any of the local terminal 28 and the handheld remote control unit 58a, 58b read on “at least one other electrical control device”. The wireless network, and not the Internet, and the radio frequency communication read on “without using access to the Internet”.]
at least one electrical connection system configured to connect to a power supply; at least one electrical connection system configured to power said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment; and (Potucek: [0054] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the electronic components of the main control panel 4. The main control panel 4 includes a main panel motherboard 6 that holds various components of the main control panel 4 and provides interconnectivity therebetween. The main panel motherboard 6 can be a printed circuit board that can be conformal coated to prevent corrosion/damage from long term exposure to dampness. The main panel 4 includes a 12 VDC power supply assembly 44 and a 24 VDC power supply assembly 46. Connected to the main panel motherboard 6 is an AC input connector 34 that receives power from an AC power source, e.g., a standard outlet of a household. The AC input connector 34 sends the received power through a noise filter 80 (e.g., manufactured by Echelon, Inc.), which filters the power and removes any unwanted noise, and to a transformer connector 82 and a power supply input connector 86. The power supply input connector 86 allows connection of the main panel motherboard 6 with the 12 VDC power supply 62 and the 24 VDC power supply 64 via their respective AC connectors 68, 72. Each AC connector 68, 72 provides the respective power supply (e.g., 12 VDC power supply 62 and 24 VDC power supply 64) with 120 VAC power, which in turn converts same into 12 VDC and 24 VDC, respectively. The 12 VDC and 24 VDC output of the power supplies 62, 64 are connected to a respective power supply connector 66, 70 that are each connected to the power supply output connector 88 of the main panel motherboard 6. The power supply output connector 88 distributes power to various components of the main panel mother board 6. As mentioned previously, the AC input connector 34 provides AC power to the transformer connector 82 for connection with a chlorination transformer 74 that transforms the 120 VAC power to 24 VAC. The 24 VAC is returned by the chlorination transformer 74 to the transformer connector 82 for distribution among various components of the main panel motherboard 6.”) [The power supply connectors read on “at least one electrical connection system … to connect to a power supply”.]
at least one wired communication interface configured to integrate said at least one electrical control device to said local network and to exchange data by wire with said at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network. (Potucek: [0007] “The controller of the present disclosure could also include a handheld remote control unit in communication with the main panel. The handheld remote control unit can be a wired unit that is connected to the main panel or the expansion panel, or a wireless unit that wirelessly communicates with a wireless communication subsystem of the main panel. Operation and programming of the entire system can be controlled by the handheld remote control unit. Where the handheld remote control unit is wireless, the main control panel can include a radio module for communication with the wireless handheld remote control unit. The radio module may be a radio module or a WiFi (IEEE 802.11) radio module. The handheld remote control unit can be mounted on a wall or built into a spa.”) (Potucek: [0008] “The control system could also include an I/O expansion module that is connectable to an RS-485 connector of the main panel and in communication with the internal RS-485 bus of the main panel. The I/O expansion module includes a smart component processor, a plurality of actuators, a plurality of relays, and a plurality of sensors. The I/O expansion module expands the actuator, relay, and sensor capabilities of the controller.”) [RS-485 connector reads on “at least one wired communication interface”. The expansion panel reads on “at least one other electrical control device”.]
Regarding claim 14, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
An electrical unit for a swimming pool, the electrical unit comprising: the electrical system according to claim 1; and at least one piece of electrical equipment for the swimming pool, said at least one piece of electrical equipment being chosen among one of: a pump, a motorized valve associated with a filtration system, a lighting system, a disinfection system, a pH regulation system, a motorized cover, a counter-current swimming system, one of a water heating system and an air heating system, one of an air propelling system and a water propelling system, one of an air suction system and a water suction system, a switch, a solenoid valve configured to fill the pool with water, and a solenoid valve configured to provide one or more of massaging jet and counter-current swimming selection. (Potucek: [0041] “The main control panel 4 includes one or more modular programmable relay packs 32 that each contain a plurality of relays 56a-d (e.g., four). The modular programmable relay packs 32 (e.g., relay banks) are connectable to the relay bank connector 16 for two-way communication with the central processor 8 by way of the high speed RS-485 bus 10. Each modular relay pack 32 is connectable to pool/spa equipment and smart components, e.g., heaters, lights, pumps, pH dispense units, which allows the relay packs 32 to communicate with and control such pool/spa equipment.”)
Regarding claim 15, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 14. Potucek further teaches:
A swimming pool comprising: a pool which is fitted with the electrical unit according to claim 14. (Potucek: Abstract “Disclosed is a system for controlling pool/spa components. More particularly, disclosed is a system for controlling pool/spa components including a display screen and one or more processors presenting a control user interface for display on the display screen, wherein the control user interface includes a home screen comprising a first portion containing a first plurality of buttons and/or controls for controlling a first group of the plurality of pool/spa components associated with a first body of water, and a second portion containing a second plurality of buttons and/or controls for controlling a second group of the plurality of pool/spa components associated with a second body of water.”) (Potucek: [0130] “… For example, if a pool/spa has 5 independent bodies of water, a user can provide a main control panel 4, a first expansion panel 54 connected to the expansion slot 20 of the main control panel 4, and three additional expansion panels 54 connected to each one of the expansion slots 188a-188c of the first expansion panel 54. In this arrangement, the main control panel 4 allows for one chlorinator to be attached thereto, while each of the four additional expansion panels 54 allow one chlorinator to be attached to each, resulting in 5 chlorinators for the entire system. Furthermore, where a body of water is sufficiently large enough, a user can program multiple chlorinators to operate on the single body of water.”)
Regarding claim 16, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 3. Potucek further teaches:
wherein, in the network mode, the microcontroller of said at least one electrical control device is structured to contol said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment taking into account the data from said local network and data from at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network. (Potucek: [0045] “…The sensor interface 38 transmits this data to the central processor 8, which can utilize the data for various calculations, for control purpose, or for display via the local terminal 28.”) (Potucek: [0048] “…When connected, the wired communication subsystem is in two-way communication with the central processor 8 and transfers data from a connected remote control device to the central processor 8 and from the central processor 8 to the remote control device. …”) (Potucek: [0109] “…The radio 616 allows the wireless terminal 58b to wirelessly communicate with the main panel motherboard 6, such that the wireless terminal processor 504 can receive data and commands from, and send data to, the MPP 8 when a radio frequency base station is engaged with the external RS-485 bus connector 14 of the main panel 12.”)
Regarding claim 17, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 5. Potucek further teaches:
at least one electrical device consisting of an electrical control device. (Potucek: [0005] and [0007] as discussed in claim 1)
Regarding claim 18, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 5. Potucek further teaches:
wherein said at least one master electrical device comprises a microcontroller having a stored computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by said microcontroller, cause said microcontroller to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment according to an algorithm dedicated to said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment, and a user interface. (Potucek: FIG. 1, [0005] and [0007] as discussed in claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potucek, in view of Potucek et al. (US 2019/0105226 A1) (“Potucek-226”).
Regarding claim 9, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 8. Potucek does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 9.
Potucek-226 teaches:
wherein the external network comprises at least one remote server configured to exchange with said local network for one or more of: working of the at least one electrical control device taking into account external data, and control of the at least one electrical control device via a personal electronic device. (Potucek-226: [0058] “FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating another embodiment of the system of the present disclosure, wherein remote connectivity is provided by way of a pool “hub” component 230. The pool hub component 230 includes a subset of the functional features of the pool/spa system controller 114f of FIG. 5, such as basic on/off control relays, the ability to select a pump speed, the ability to select heater temperature, the ability to control pool light colors and shows, the ability to set equipment schedules, and the ability to interlock one pool/spa component with another pool/spa component. The pool hub communicates with and controls a number of pool/spa components, such as a single speed pump 213, a variable speed pump 214a, pool/spa lighting systems 214h, a pool/spa heating system 214b, and a pool/spa chlorination system 214c. Additionally, the pool hub 230 can control a valve actuator 214e and can receive various sensor inputs 226 and 228, such as temperature sensors, wind speed sensors, runtime sensors, current/voltage usage sensors, flow sensors, heater pressure sensors, water temperature sensors, chlorine sensors, pH/ORP sensors, etc. Such sensors could be positioned internally within the hub, external thereto, or a combination thereof. Additionally, the pool hub 230 could be powered by electrical current supplied by a breaker panel 217 or by photovoltaic (e.g., solar) cells and/or systems. Breaker panel 217 could also be a smart circuit breaker (e.g., a circuit breaker that can be controlled via wired or wireless communication) used to provide and/or to interrupt power to the devices disclosed herein. The pool hub 230 could communicate with a remote server 218 via a Wi-Fi router 222 and a network connection such as the Internet. The server to 218 could include pool logic 270 which can be used to remotely monitor and control operation of the devices to 213, 214a, 214h, 214b, and 214c. The pool logic 270 could include any of the pool logic discussed herein. Additionally, the server 218 could communicate with one or more remote control devices 220, such as a smart cellular telephone, a remote computer, a tablet computer, etc. The server 218 could also receive external web data 231 via the Internet (e.g., time & date, sunrise/sunset data, regional and local weather forecasts, wind, UV, sunlight) for use by pool logic 270. Further, the server 218 could communicate with one or more third-party devices 224 via an appropriate cloud API. Further, the server 218 could process big data 232 and perform analytics 234 on various pool/spa data. Still further, the server 218 could communicate with a home management system 225, if desired.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Potucek and Potucek-226 before them, to modify the pool or spa control system network of controllers and devices, to incorporate network communications with remote servers.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for incorporating external data from remote servers that would affect pool or spa conditions, such as weather forecast, in controlling of the pool or spa equipment. (Potucek-226: [0058])
Regarding claim 11, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Potucek further teaches:
at least one sensor that includes: at least one sensing device configured to acquire data representative of at least one working parameter of the swimming pool, … communication system configured to integrate said at least one sensor to said local network and configured for data communication with at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network; and a battery configured to power said at least one sensor, wherein the microcontroller of the at least one electrical control device is structured to control said at least one associated piece of electrical equipment taking into account data from said at least one sensor. (Potucek: [0045] “The sensor interface 38 allows for the integration of a plurality of sensors with the control system 2. The various sensors are in electrical communication with the sensor interface 38 and provide the sensor interface 38 with information relating to the operating parameters of the pool or spa. The sensor interface 38 transmits this data to the central processor 8, which can utilize the data for various calculations, for control purpose, or for display via the local terminal 28. The sensors could be connected to the pool or spa itself or to the various pool or spa equipment and sense, among other things, temperatures (ambient, water, heater, etc.), flow rates, current and/or voltages of the various equipment, chlorination levels, etc. The sensor interface 38 could include a 12-wire, 10-wire, or 2-wire sensor connector such that sensors of varying capabilities and purposes can be connected to the system and utilized. The sensor interface 38 could also provide sensor conditioning, amplification, error correction, etc., so that signals received from the various sensors are in a suitable condition for processing by the central processor 8. The signals received by the sensor interface 38 can be converted from analog to digital by the sensor interface 38, and vice-versa, or, alternatively, can be converted by the central processor 8.”) (Potucek: [0074] “The power supply output connector 186 additionally provides 12 VDC power to a high-speed bus current limiter 200, a low-speed bus current limiter 202, 12 VDC power supply LED 204, a logic supply 206, and a 12 VDC sensor 208. Further, the power supply output connector 186 also provides 24 VDC power to a relay driver 210, a 24 VDC power supply LED 212, and a 24 VDC sensor 214. …”) (Potucek: [0121] “… When the radio base station 800 is connected with the main control panel 12, the main control panel 12 can receive and transmit information from external wireless sources. This information can be control information, but can also be status updates, sensor information, and programming instructions.”)
Potucek does not expressly teach: at least one sensor (15) that includes: … a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system …
Potucek-226 teaches:
at least one sensor (15) that includes: … a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system … (Potucek-226: [0342] “The system could monitor a variety of types of plug in and/or wireless sensors (e.g., air, pool, spa, solar, temperature, etc.) for a variety of types of measurements (e.g., presence of flow, measurement of flow, line pressure, water levels, UV levels, wind speeds, light presence, etc.). Other types of sensors that could be used include turbidity sensors, bacteria sensors, alkalinity sensors, hardness sensors, RF sensors, sound wave sensors, different light spectrum sensors, reflectors, magnetic sensors, radar, infrared, humidity, evaporation, moisture, motion, galvanic corrosion, chemical corrosion, electrolysis, electrical storm sensors, etc. The sensors could analyze and/or process raw data (e.g., locally sensed parameters, from a third party source, etc.) with an integrated processor or communicate the raw data (e.g., locally sensed parameters, from a third party source, etc.) for processing in a co-located or remote processor. The sensor analysis could incorporate trigger points, trend monitoring, manual correlation analysis, automatic correlation analysis, etc. The sensors could be individual or grouped (e.g., for more efficient connection and/or pairing).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Potucek and Potucek-226 before them, to modify the pool or spa control system sensor types, to incorporate including wireless sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the control system with various wired and wireless network to use of variety types of sensors. (Potucek-226: [0342])
Regarding independent claim 13, Potucek teaches:
A sensor for an electrical system dedicated to supply power and control electrical equipment of a swimming pool, said sensor comprising: at least one sensing system configured to acquire data representative of at least one working parameter of the swimming pool; … communication system configured to integrate said sensor to a local network and to exchange data with at least one other electrical control device integrated to said local network without using access to the Internet; and a battery configured to power the sensor. (Potucek: [0045] “The sensor interface 38 allows for the integration of a plurality of sensors with the control system 2. The various sensors are in electrical communication with the sensor interface 38 and provide the sensor interface 38 with information relating to the operating parameters of the pool or spa. The sensor interface 38 transmits this data to the central processor 8, which can utilize the data for various calculations, for control purpose, or for display via the local terminal 28. The sensors could be connected to the pool or spa itself or to the various pool or spa equipment and sense, among other things, temperatures (ambient, water, heater, etc.), flow rates, current and/or voltages of the various equipment, chlorination levels, etc. The sensor interface 38 could include a 12-wire, 10-wire, or 2-wire sensor connector such that sensors of varying capabilities and purposes can be connected to the system and utilized. The sensor interface 38 could also provide sensor conditioning, amplification, error correction, etc., so that signals received from the various sensors are in a suitable condition for processing by the central processor 8. The signals received by the sensor interface 38 can be converted from analog to digital by the sensor interface 38, and vice-versa, or, alternatively, can be converted by the central processor 8.”) (Potucek: [0074] “The power supply output connector 186 additionally provides 12 VDC power to a high-speed bus current limiter 200, a low-speed bus current limiter 202, 12 VDC power supply LED 204, a logic supply 206, and a 12 VDC sensor 208. Further, the power supply output connector 186 also provides 24 VDC power to a relay driver 210, a 24 VDC power supply LED 212, and a 24 VDC sensor 214. …”) (Potucek: [0121] “… When the radio base station 800 is connected with the main control panel 12, the main control panel 12 can receive and transmit information from external wireless sources. This information can be control information, but can also be status updates, sensor information, and programming instructions.”)
Potucek does not expressly teach: said sensor (15) including: … a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system…
Potucek-226 teaches:
said sensor (15) including: … a short-range or medium-range wireless communication system … (Potucek-226: [0342] “The system could monitor a variety of types of plug in and/or wireless sensors (e.g., air, pool, spa, solar, temperature, etc.) for a variety of types of measurements (e.g., presence of flow, measurement of flow, line pressure, water levels, UV levels, wind speeds, light presence, etc.). Other types of sensors that could be used include turbidity sensors, bacteria sensors, alkalinity sensors, hardness sensors, RF sensors, sound wave sensors, different light spectrum sensors, reflectors, magnetic sensors, radar, infrared, humidity, evaporation, moisture, motion, galvanic corrosion, chemical corrosion, electrolysis, electrical storm sensors, etc. The sensors could analyze and/or process raw data (e.g., locally sensed parameters, from a third party source, etc.) with an integrated processor or communicate the raw data (e.g., locally sensed parameters, from a third party source, etc.) for processing in a co-located or remote processor. The sensor analysis could incorporate trigger points, trend monitoring, manual correlation analysis, automatic correlation analysis, etc. The sensors could be individual or grouped (e.g., for more efficient connection and/or pairing).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Potucek and Potucek-226 before them, to modify the pool or spa control system sensor types, to incorporate including wireless sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the control system with various wired and wireless network to use variety of types of sensors. (Potucek-226: [0342])
Regarding claim 19, Potucek teaches all the claimed features of claims 1 and 8. Potucek does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 19.
Potucek-226 teaches:
wherein said electrical system is devoid of a gateway electrical device. (Potucek-226: [0074] “FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating another embodiment of the system of the present disclosure, indicated generally at 510. In this embodiment, wireless connectivity is provided directly within pool/spa equipment, allowing such equipment to communicate directly to the Internet. As shown, pool spa equipment, such as a single speed pump 513, a variable speed pump 5148, pool/spa lighting system 514h, heater 514b, and/or chlorinator 514c, in addition to valve actuators 514e, each have built-in wireless communications subsystems, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, radiofrequency/RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), and or cellular wireless communication subsystems. Each of these devices can communicate directly with the Internet via a Wi-Fi router 522. Additionally, external sensors 526 could also communicate with the Wi-Fi router 522, and could also include built-in wireless communications such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, radiofrequency/RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), and cellular communications. The sensors 526 could include, but are not limited to, heater pressure sensors, water temperature sensors, chlorine sensors, pH/aware pressure sensors, etc. It is noted that each of the pool/spa components could include the ability to remember schedules during a Wi-Fi outage (limp mode) as provisioned by remote pool logic. Additionally, each of these devices could include start/stop buttons, if desired, for stand-alone operation. A breaker panel 527 could provide electrical power to each of the pool/spa components. Breaker panel 527 could also be a smart circuit breaker (e.g., a circuit breaker that can be controlled via wired or wireless communication) used to provide and/or to interrupt power to the devices disclosed herein. In some embodiments, photovoltaic (e.g., solar) cells and/or systems could provide electrical power to one or more of the pool/spa components.”) [The system does not teach use of a gateway electrical device.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Potucek and Potucek-226 before them, to modify the pool or spa control system network of controllers and devices, to incorporate not using a gateway electrical device.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for incorporating different configuration of communication network for providing network connectivity and remote monitoring, optimization, and control of pool/spa equipment. (Potucek-226: FIG. 13 and [0074])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116