DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on December 30, 2025 have been entered into the file. Currently claim 1 is amended and claims 11-20 are withdrawn, resulting in claims 1-10 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the length ratio" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plied twisted yarns" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependency from claim 1, rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2015/0292124)1,2 in view of Zmolek (US 2013/0240105)2 and Jeon (US 2016/0376733).
With respect to claims 1-8, Lee teaches a hybrid fiber cord comprising a nylon filament and an aramid filament (paragraph [0001]). The weight ratio of the nylon primarily twisted yarn to the aramid primarily twisted yarn may be 20:80 to 80:20 (paragraph [0029]). The hybrid fiber cord has a strength retention rate of 80% or more after the disc fatigue test performed according to JIS-L 1017 method of Japanese Standard Association (paragraph [0033]). The nylon used is preferably nylon 66 (paragraph [0039]). The nylon primarily-twisted yarn and aramid primarily-twisted yarn have the same twist number of 300 to 500 TPM (paragraph [0046]). The hybrid cord can be used to make an ultra high performance tire (paragraph [0012]).
Example 1 of Lee comprises a nylon filament of 1260 De and an aramid filament of 1500 De each with a twist of 300 TPM formed into a hybrid ply yarn through secondary twisting at 300 TPM (paragraphs [0066]-[0067]). The hybrid ply yarn was then submerged into a resorcinol formaldehyde latex adhesive solution (paragraph [0067]). The hybrid ply yarn has a strength retention rate of 93.2% when measured after 8 hours according to JIS-L 1017 method of Japanese Standard Association (paragraph [0076]; Table 1). Example 2 used a nylon filament of 840 De and an aramid filament of 1000 De with a twist of 350 TPM (paragraph [0069]).
The weight percent of nylon yarn range of Lee substantially overlaps the claimed range in the instant claim 1. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Lee, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Lee is silent as to the nylon being bio-nylon.
Zmolek teaches multifilament yarns made from polyamide 10,10 which can be used as strength members in pneumatic vehicles tires (paragraphs [0014]-[0017]). Polyamide 10,10 is formed from 1,10 -decamethylenediamine and 1,10-decanedioic acid, both of which are obtained from castor oil, resulting in polyamide 10,10 being 100% based on natural resources rather than petroleum (paragraph [0013]). This minimizes the burden on environment and resources (paragraph [0013]). Polyamide 10,10 fibers have high mechanical strength, are resistant to chemicals, and has low water imbibition so its properties such as breaking strength are retained in the presence of moisture (paragraph [0014]). Another advantage is that polyamide 10,10 is very similar to polyamide 6,6, making it easy to exchange polyamide 6,6 for polyamide 10,10 (paragraph [0015]). Zmolek further suggests polyamide 10,10 being used in a hybrid cord comprising aramid yarn (paragraphs [0020]-[0021]).
Since both Lee in view of Zmolek teach hybrid cords for tires comprising nylon and aramid yarns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used polyamide 10,10 as the nylon in Lee because polyamide 10,10 is very similar to polyamide 6,6, but minimizes the burden on environment and resources. The combination would provide a cord with high mechanical strength and chemical resistance that retains its properties when exposed to moisture.
Lee in view of Zmolek is silent as to a length ratio of the nylon primarily twisted yarn to the aramid primarily twisted yarn being in the range of 1.0 to 1.10.
Jeon teaches a hybrid tire cord including heterogeneous yarns having different physical properties and improved strength and fatigue resistance (paragraph [0001]). The hybrid tire cord includes a nylon primarily twisted yarn and an aramid primarily twisted yarn which are secondarily twisted together (paragraph [0018]). After untwisting of the secondary twisting the length of the primarily twisted aramid yarn is 1.005 to 1.025 times the length of the nylon primarily twisted yarn, thereby dispersing stress applied to the tire cord during repetition of tension/compression of the tire, providing superior fatigue resistance and stability of the tires even during long-term high-speed driving (paragraphs [0018], [0033], [0044]).
Since both Lee in view of Zmolek and Jeon teach hybrid tire cords comprising a primarily twisted nylon yarn secondarily twisted with a primarily twisted aramid yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid cord of Lee in view of Zmolek to have a length ratio of the primarily twisted aramid yarn to the primarily twisted nylon yarn of 1.005 to 1.025 after untwisting of the secondary twist in order to disperse stress applied to the tire cord during repetition of tension/compression of the tire, providing superior fatigue resistance and stability of the tires even during long-term high-speed driving
With respect to claims 9-10, Lee in view of Zmolek and Jeon teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Lee in view of Zmolek and Jeon teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the cord satisfying a strength retention rate of 70% or more after a 16-hour disk fatigue test performed according to JIS-L 1017 method of Japanese Standard Association and having a constant load elongation of at least 2.8% at 4.5 kgf. It is reasonable to presume that the 16 hour strength retention and constant load elongation properties are inherent to Lee in view of Zmolek and Jeon. Support for said presumption is found in that as described above, Lee in view of Zmolek and Jeon use the same materials and structure as the hybrid cord of claims 1-8. Additionally, Jeon teaches that the length ratio of the primarily twisted yarns provides increased fatigue strength. Therefore the cord of Lee in view of Zmolek and Jeon is expected to have the same properties of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Applicant's arguments are all with respect to Lee in view of Zmolek not teaching the new claim amendments, specifically the newly added structural feature wherein the length ratio of the second primarily twisted yarn to the first primarily twisted yarn, measured after untwisting the secondary twisting for the plied twisted yarns, is in the range of 1.0 to 1.10. The newly added reference Jeon (US 2016/376733) is used in combination with Lee in view of Zmolek to address the newly added limitations. The Applicant’s arguments are therefore moot as they do not address the combination of references used in the rejections of the amended claims presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Cited in IDS
2 Previously presented