DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-25 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements dated 07/21/2023 and 08/26/2024 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 21-24, 26-29, 31-34 and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Youn et al, US 2023/0084094 hereafter ‘4094.
As for claim 21, ‘4094 discloses:
A method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) (‘4094, Fig. 4, [0109], The AMF) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a terminal, a first message for requesting an establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session (‘4094, Fig. 10a, [0578], Receiving at the AMF, from the UE, the MA PDU session establishment request message)
identifying whether the first message comprises information on a multi access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session for a local area data network (LADN) (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], Identifying the MA PDU session establishment request message includes LADN information); and
transmitting, to the terminal, a second message for rejecting the establishment of the PDU session (‘4094, [0247]], [0250], [0339], [0378]-[0381], Transmitting, to the UE, a rejection message), in case that the first message comprises the information on the MA PDU session for the LADN (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], transmitting when the MA PDU session establishment request message includes/indicates the appropriate/expected LADN information).
As for claims 22, 27, 32 and 37, ‘4094 discloses the first message further comprises information for access traffic steering, switching, splitting (ATSSS) capabilities supported by the terminal (‘4094, [0232], [0578], In the PDU session establishment request message transmitted to request a new MA PDU session, the UE may provide ATSSS capability information of the UE. ATSSS capability (capabilities) information may include information about the steering mode and steering functionalities supported by the UE.)
As for claims 23, 28, 33 and 38, ‘4094 discloses the first message is included in a non access stratum (NAS) transport message (‘4094, [0230], [0234], The UE transmits a NAS message to the AMF), and
wherein the information on the MA PDU session for the LADN comprises first information for indicating the MA PDU request (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], the MA PDU session establishment request message includes LADN information), and
second information on a data network name (DNN) for the LADN (‘4094, [0230], [0234], The message includes DNN information).
As for claims 24, 29, 34 and 39, ‘4094 discloses the second message further comprises a reason for rejection (‘4094, [0247], [0339], Including a rejection cause code with the rejection message/response).
As for claim 26, ‘4094 discloses:
A method performed by a terminal (‘4094, Fig. 1, 100, [0060], The wireless device/UE) in a communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF), a first message for requesting an establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session (‘4094, Fig. 10a, [0578], Transmitting to the AMF, from the UE, the MA PDU session establishment request message); and
receiving, from the AMF, a second message for rejecting the establishment of the PDU session (‘4094, [0247]], [0250], [0339], [0378]-[0381], Receiving from the AMF, a rejection message), in case that the first message comprises information on a multi access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session for a local area data network (LADN) (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], when the MA PDU session establishment request message includes/indicates the appropriate/expected LADN information).
As for claim 31, ‘4094 discloses:
An access and mobility management function (AMF) (‘4094, Fig. 4, [0090]-[0092], [0109], The AMF including a transceiver, processor and memory) in a communication system, the AMF comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a terminal, a first message for requesting an establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session (‘4094, Fig. 10a, [0578], Receiving at the AMF, from the UE, the MA PDU session establishment request message)
identify whether the first message comprises information on a multi access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session for a local area data network (LADN) (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], Identifying the MA PDU session establishment request message includes LADN information); and
transmit, to the terminal, a second message for rejecting the establishment of the PDU session (‘4094, [0247]], [0250], [0339], [0378]-[0381], Transmitting, to the UE, a rejection message), in case that the first message comprises the information on the MA PDU session for the LADN (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], when the MA PDU session establishment request message includes/indicates the appropriate/expected LADN information).
As for claim 36, ‘4094 discloses:
A terminal in a communication system, the terminal (‘4094, Fig. 1, 100, [0060], [0085]-[0087], The wireless device/UE including a transceiver, processor and memory) comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF), a first message for requesting an establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session (‘4094, Fig. 10a, [0578], Transmitting to the AMF, from the UE, the MA PDU session establishment request message) and
receive, from the AMF, a second message for rejecting the establishment of the PDU session (‘4094, [0247]], [0250], [0339], [0378]-[0381], Receiving from the AMF, a rejection message), in case that the first message comprises information on a multi access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session for a local area data network (LADN) (‘4094, [0230], [0240], [0242], [0244], [0372], [0378]-[0381], when the MA PDU session establishment request message includes/indicates the appropriate/expected LADN information).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 25, 30, 35 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Youn et al, US 2023/0132058 discloses Fig. 5, Fig. 9, [0387]-[0390], Receiving, from the UE, the MA PDU session establishment request message; [0189], [0192], [0391], Transmitting, to the UE, a message for rejecting the UE request; [0306] In the PDU session establishment request message transmitted to request a new MA PDU session, the UE may provide ATSSS capability information of the UE. ATSSS capability (capabilities) information may include information about the steering mode and steering functionalities supported by the UE.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469