DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed October 10, 2025 are acknowledged.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kondo et al., JP 2008-239720 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 2, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation of a t-butyl group, and the claim also recites a structure
wherein R³¹ are each independently a linear alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbons that may be substituted, or a cyclic alkyl structure having 1 to 8 carbons to which two R³¹ are bonded, R³² are each independently an alkylene group having 1 to 8 carbons that may be substituted, b are each independently 0 or 1, and R³³ is a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbons that may be substituted, or a phenyl group that may be substituted which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sumitomo Chemical, JP S56104961.
Regarding claims 1-2, 10, 14-17, Sumitomo discloses in the reference claims a polyphenylene ether copolymer includes 2,6-dimethylphenol [which represents Applicant’s Formula (1)] present in the amount 99.5 to 85 mol% and 0.5 to 15 mol% of 8-methyl-t-tert-butylphenol [which represents Applicant’s Formula (2)].
Sumitomo teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach a reduced viscosity measured in chloroform solution at a concentration of 0.5 g/dl, at 30 ºC is from 0.03 dL/g to 0.30 d:/g. It is reasonable to presume that a reduced viscosity measured in chloroform solution at a concentration of 0.5 g/dl, at 30 ºC is from 0.03 dL/g to 0.30 d:/g is inherent to Sumitomo. Said presumption is based upon Sumitomo’s disclosure of a polyphenylene ether copolymer includes 2,6-dimethylphenol [which represents Applicant’s Formula (1)] present in the amount 99.5 to 85 mol% and 0.5 to 15 mol% of 8-methyl-t-tert-butylphenol [which represents Applicant’s Formula (2)]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, the reference claims disclose oxidative polycondensation.
Claims 3-7, 9, 11-13 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant claims a polyphenylene ether composition as recited in claim 1. The closest prior art, Sumitomo Chemical, JP S56104961, discloses in the reference claims a polyphenylene ether copolymer includes 2,6-dimethylphenol [which represents Applicant’s Formula (1)] present in the amount 99.5 to 85 mol% and 0.5 to 15 mol% of 8-methyl-t-tert-butylphenol [which represents Applicant’s Formula (2)]. Sumitomo fails to teach or suggest the limitations as required in claims 3-7, 9, 11-13 and 18-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786