DETAILED ACTION
The Office acknowledges receipt of the Applicant’s response filed 6 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonneville (US 2017/0355479 A1) hereinafter referred to as Bonneville ‘479 in view of Bonneville (US 2017/0313457 A1) hereinafter referred to as Bonneville ‘457.
Regarding claim 1, Bonneville ‘479 discloses a packaging material producing machine (2; fig. 1), comprising a transport device (8; paragraph 0020 – “A web transport conveyor…; see incorporated patents listed in paragraphs 0004-0006) being configured to guide and move a web of packaging material (paragraph 0020 – “lower and upper webs of flexible packaging material”), and a processing system (4 – closing or sealing station), wherein the processing system comprises a functional unit (14) connected (figs. 2-4) to the at least one carrier (7) and a positioning arrangement (6 and 22, 23, 24 and 38, 42, 44) that comprises a fixed support (22, 23, 24) and a bar (44) that is arranged and linearly moveable in parallel with said fixed support (figs. 4-6, Fixed support 22, 23, 24 and bar 44 move together in the same plane and are therefore deemed to move in parallel. The fixed support and bar are also deemed to have linear movement as both the bar and the end of the fixed support proceed linearly along the line shown in fig. 6.), the at least one carrier comprising an attachment device (paragraph 0007 – “clamping devices”) being configured to selectively attach the at least one carrier to only one of said fixed support and said bar.
Wherein the Applicant may argue that an attachment device is not explicitly disclosed in sufficient detail, the Office alternatively points to Bonneville ‘457 which is referenced in paragraph 0007 of Bonneville ‘479.
Bonneville ‘457 teaches an attachment device (30) being configured to selectively attach (fig. 5; paragraph 0024) the at least one carrier to only one of said fixed support (seen but not labeled in fig. 8) and said bar.
As suggested by paragraph 0007 of Bonneville ‘479, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to incorporate the attachment device of Bonneville ‘457 with the invention of Bonneville ‘479. Doing so would allow a user to remove and secure the forming station die as desired to change it out or access it for repair.
Regarding claim 2, Bonneville ‘479 discloses wherein the positioning arrangement (6 and 22, 23, 24 and 38, 42, 44) further comprises a linear drive unit (42) connected to the bar (44).
Regarding claim 6, Bonneville ‘479 discloses wherein the bar (44) is arranged at a vertical distance from the fixed support (fig. 5; 44 is located a vertical distance from the fixed position, 31, of fixed support 22, 23, 24)
Regarding claim 7, Bonneville ‘479 discloses wherein each carrier (7) has a vertical extension (top and side walls of 7) covering (figs. 2-4) the fixed support (22, 23, 24) and the bar (44).
Regarding claim 8, Bonneville ‘479 as modified by Bonneville ‘457 discloses wherein the attachment device (Bonneville ‘479 - paragraph 0007 – “clamping devices”; Bonneville ‘457 - 30) of each carrier (Bonneville ‘479 - 7; Bonneville ‘457 - 20) comprises a support locking unit and a bar locking unit (Bonneville ‘479 – 22, 23, 24, 44; Bonneville ‘457 - fig. 5; paragraph 0024). The combination of Bonneville ‘479 as modified by Bonneville ‘457 results in each carrier having plurality of attachment devices (clamping devices) which both lock the support and bar in place and are therefore deemed to comprise a support locking unit and a bar locking unit.
Regarding claim 9, Bonneville ‘479 as modified by Bonneville ‘457 discloses wherein the support locking unit and the bar locking unit (Bonneville ‘479 – 22, 23, 24, 44; Bonneville ‘457 - fig. 5; paragraph 0024) are controlled by a common actuator (Bonneville ‘457 - 40; paragraph 0028 – “a pivot rod 40 coupled to and extending between the plurality of clamping devices 30 such that the plurality of clamping devices 30 simultaneously pivot into and between the locked position (FIG. 6) and the unlocked position (FIG. 7)”).
Regarding claim 12, Bonneville ‘479 discloses herein the functional unit is selected from the group comprising a laser unit, a cutting unit (paragraph 0032 – “the concepts of the present disclosure are not limited to the particular example shown in the drawings. For instance, a die box(es) can be positioned at the forming station 3 to form the food product package in the lower web and/or the cutting station to cut the upper and lower webs into separate food product packages”), a cleaning unit, or a camera unit, or a printing unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments are directed toward the new limitation which requires that the bar is arranged and linearly moveable in parallel with said fixed support. The Applicant argues that the fixed support is pivotable and therefore does not read on the linearly moveable limitation. The Office notes that the support (22, 23, 24) of Bonneville ‘479 is pivotable, but that it also moves in a linear direction along with the bar due to their connection at the end of bar (44). Given that there is a linear component to the movement, Bonneville is still deemed to broadly read on the claimed invention as written.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731