Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 8/12/2026 has been considered but does not place the application in condition for allowance. The rejection is maintained as noted below with corrections for the citations regarding claims 21-23, 31 and 32..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106591013 in view of WO 2015/028567.
Regarding claim 16, CN ‘013 teaches a solid detergent (see for example 0105) which comprises a biological surfactant (0042-0046) and can contain enzymes (0048). CN ‘103 differs from the present invention in not specifying the use of an enzyme particle with a solid core and a coating which are essentially free of titanium dioxide. WO ‘567 teaches a detergent composition which comprises solid enzyme particles which comprise a solid core and a coating. WO ‘567 teaches that the particles are specifically formulated to avoid the use of titanium dioxide. Page 10, lines 8-10 indicates that titanium dioxide can be replaced by a fluorescent whitening agent. WO ‘567 teaches that coating the enzyme improves storage stability and reduces dust formation during handling (page 5, lines 14-15). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the coated particles of WO ‘567 as the enzyme component of CN ‘013, since such would give the advantage of improved storage stability and reduced dust formation. Furthermore, it would be obvious that using a coating would improve the ability to release the enzyme in a controlled manner during use as a detergent.
Regarding claims 17 -20, CN ‘013 teaches the use sophorolipids, rhamnolipids and mannosylerythritol lipids (0042-0046). These comprise surfactants derived from a biological component, and comprise non-ionic surfactants.
Regarding claims 21-23, CN ‘013 teaches that the surfactant may be present at a level of 1-20% (0042-0043), thus overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed ranges (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 24, neither CN ‘013 or WO ‘567 indicate that alkylbenzene sulfonates must be present in the detergent.
Regarding claim 25-26, WO ,567 teaches that builders and co-builders such as EDTA may be added to the detergent composition (page 16, line 31 – page 17, line 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a co-builder such as EDTA to remove unwanted ions, such as calcium or magnesium ions. With regard to claim 26, WO ‘567 teaches that the co-builder may be present at a level up to 50%.
Regarding claim 27, although the amount of enzyme particles used by WO ‘567 is not specifically disclosed, the variation of the amount of particles in the detergent to achieve successful cleaning would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 28, WO ‘567 teaches that the enzyme particles may comprise 0.5 – 50% of enzyme protein, thus overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed range (Page 7, lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 29, CN ‘013 teaches enzymes within those claimed (0048).
Regarding claim 30, CN ‘013 in paragraph 0119 teaches using a mixture including protease and other enzymes (see also 0048-0050).
Regarding claim 31, WO ‘567 teaches that the core comprises the enzyme (page 3, line 9).
Regarding claim 32, WO ‘567 teaches that the coating can be a salt or polymer coating (page 5, lines 14-19).
Regarding claim 33, as noted for claim 16, the composition is rendered obvious over CN ‘103 in view of WO ‘567, such would obviously have the same storage stability as the current claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In arguments D and E, applicant attacks the references individually, however as noted in MPEP2145 IV, attacking references individually cannot be used to show non-obviouness.
Applicant further argued that there was no reason to consult the references for a problem that neither reference recognizes. However, WO ‘567 clearly indicates that utilizing the coated improves storage stability, thus clearly addressing a recognized problem.
Applicant has argued that the current invention has a property of improving biosurfactant stability. WO ‘567 clearly teaches why one of ordinary skill would use encapsulated enzyme particles to improve storage stability, dust reduction and visual appearance which clearly render their use obvious to one of ordinary skill, for these advantages. It has clearly been held that using a different rationale for combining references does not make the combination non-obvious (MPEP 2144 IV).
Furthermore both WO ‘567 and the current invention (see claim 33) are concerned with the issue of storage stability. It is further noted that applicant has provided a document “journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology” A: Chemistry 209 (2010) pages 147-152 which indicates that it was known that titanium dioxide can degrade biosurfactants.
The rejection is thus maintained.
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745