DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Murashi et al. (US 2017/0179535).
Regarding claim 1, Murashi et al. discloses in Figs 1-11, an energy storage device (ref 10) comprising: a wound electrode assembly (ref 1) containing lithium manganese oxide ([0068]) as a main component in a positive active material ([0068]); and a case (ref 5) that houses the wound electrode assembly (ref 1), wherein the wound electrode assembly (ref 1) includes a mixture layer (ref 22) forming portion in which a mixture layer (ref 22) is formed, and a mixture layer non-forming portion (ref 23) located at least at one end in a first direction parallel to a winding axis (“end”, Fig 7 below), and in the wound electrode assembly (ref 1), a ratio of a dimension in the first direction (Fig 1, “w”) to a dimension in a second direction (Fig 1, “h”) orthogonal to the first direction in plan view is 1.45 or more (Fig 1, [0170], = 108 / 73.63 = 1.46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashi et al. (US 2017/0179535) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Murashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the ratio of the dimension in the first direction to the dimension in the second direction is 1.82 or more. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to change the battery dimensions, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). It is well known in the art that the battery dimensions may be changed depending on the size / dimensions of an end device powered by the battery and that many design parameters are taken into consideration when determining the dimensions of the battery (see Murashi, [0023] also, dimension, shape ratios may be adjusted as needed).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashi et al. (US 2017/0179535) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakata et al. (US 2005/0221185).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Murashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose an open circuit voltage (OCV) is 3.6 V or more over 95% or more of a charge-discharge range in which the energy storage device is used.
Sakata et al. discloses in Figs 1-2, a secondary battery ([0021]) including a wound electrode assembly ([0029]-[0032]) located within a case (ref 4). A positive electrode (ref 1) active material includes lithium manganese oxide ([0066]). The battery has an open circuit voltage of 4V or more which enhances capacity and prevents cycle deterioration ([0066]).
Sakata et al. and Murashi et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the battery of Murashi et al. as having the open circuit voltage characteristics disclosed by Sakata et al. to enhance battery capacity and prevent cycle deterioration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Johnson (US 2020/0083728) discloses a secondary battery (Abstract) having a wound electrode assembly ([0092]) and including operating at high capacity and voltages ([0196]).
Takebayashi (US 2016/0079596) discloses a lithium secondary battery ([0011]) including an open circuit voltage of 4.3 V ([0012]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725