DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 6-15, in the reply filed on 7/6/25 is acknowledged. Unelected claims 1-5 and 25 are cancelled. Unelected claims 16-24 are withdrawn from consideration.1 Elected claims 6-15 will be examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Obie, et al. (US 2020/0395778, herein Obie).2 3 Regarding claim 6, Obie teaches an electronic device comprising: a load coupled with a power bus (paragraph 0041: electrical load); a first bidirectional controller operationally coupled between the power bus and a first battery cell (paragraph 0031), the first bidirectional controller being configured to: control a charging current and a charging voltage of the first battery cell (paragraph 0031); and control a discharge current of the first battery cell (paragraph 0031); and a second bidirectional controller operationally coupled between the power bus and a second battery cell (paragraph 0031), the second bidirectional controller being configured to: control a charging current and a charging voltage of the second battery cell (paragraph 0031); and control a discharge current of the second battery cell (paragraph 0031). Regarding claim 7, Obie teaches a power regulator operationally coupled with the power bus (paragraph 0034), the power regulator being configured to: receive electrical power from an external power source; regulate the received electrical power (paragraph 0034); and provide the regulated electrical power to: the first bidirectional controller for charging the first battery cell (paragraph 0034); and/or4 the second bidirectional controller for charging the second battery cell. Regarding claim 8, Obie teaches a voltage monitor configured to compare a voltage applied to the system bus with a voltage of the first battery cell and provide a comparison signal based thereon (paragraph 0036). Regarding claim 9, Obie teaches a switch operationally coupled with the voltage monitor, the switch being configured, based on the comparison signal, to change between a charging mode of the first battery cell and a discharging mode of the first battery cell (paragraph 0031). Regarding claim 10, Obie teaches the first bidirectional controller includes: a charge controller configured, when charging the first battery cell, to: charge the first battery cell using a constant current while a voltage of the first battery cell is less than or equal to a threshold voltage (paragraph 0032). Regarding claim 11, Obie teaches the charge controller is configured to charge the first battery cell using a constant voltage while the voltage of the first battery cell is above the threshold voltage and a charging current is greater than a current threshold (paragraph 0032). Regarding claim 12, Obie teaches the first bidirectional controller includes: a current monitor configured to monitor a discharge current of the first battery cell (paragraph 0032); and an adjustable resistance circuit operationally coupled with the current monitor, the current monitor and the adjustable resistance circuit being collectively configured to, when discharging the first battery cell (paragraph 0032), to: limit the discharge current in response to the discharge current exceeding a first current threshold; and/or disconnect the first battery cell from the power bus in response to the discharge current exceeding a second current threshold, the second current threshold being greater than the first current threshold (paragraph 0032). Regarding claim 13, Obie teaches the first battery cell has a first capacity and the second battery cell has a second capacity that is different than the first capacity (paragraph 0041). Regarding claim 14, Obie teaches load includes at least one component of a smart glasses system (paragraph 0024). Regarding claim 15, Obie teaches the electronic device is included in a smart glasses system including a frame, a first temple, a second temple, and a lens portion such that the first battery cell is included in the first temple, the second battery cell is included in the second temple, and the power bus is included in the frame (paragraph 0061).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 Applicant is reminded of rejoinder procedure as outlined in MPEP § 821.04. Rejoinder will be considered when appropriate.
2 In addition to the cited paragraphs, please see also the associated figures.
3 Also cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 7/24/25.
4 Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, i.e. requiring these limitations in the alternative. This claim is construed accordingly.
5 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.