BINDER FOR NON-AQUEOUS ELECTROLYTE SECONDARY BATTERY, ELECTRODE MIXTURE, ELECTRODE, AND NON-AQUEOUS ELECTORLYTE SECONDARY BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/262,675 Art Unit: 1727 February 4, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 24, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites an intended use for a binder. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “one or more types of additives”. The courts have held that the addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955), see MPEP 2173.05(b), III, E.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hochstetter et al. (US 2016/0017136 A1; as found in IDS dated 12/10/2025).
As to Claims 1-6 and 10-12, Hochstetter discloses a rechargeable battery, comprising a binder for conductive particles (reads on the claimed electrode having a current collector and the electrode mixture layer having an active material), wherein said binder comprises: a composition comprising a PVdF homopolymer, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene, and a plasticizer (additive) such as dioctyl phthalate (same as additive used in the original disclosure of the present invention and it reads on the claimed formula), wherein the plasticizer is present in an amount of 1-5 wt%, thereby reading on the claimed mass ratio (paragraphs [0040 and 0073] and claims 1, 3, 9, 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstetter et al. (US 2016/0017136 A1; as found in IDS dated 12/10/2025) in view of Bauer et al. (US 2004/0188880 A1).
As to Claims 7-8, Hochstetter does not specifically disclose the claimed compounds.
However, Bauer teaches of a plasticizer used in a binder composition of an electrode for a non-aqueous secondary battery, wherein the plasticizer is triethyl phosphate, tripropyl phosphate, tributyl phosphate, triisobutyl phosphate, tripentyl phosphate, trihexyl phosphate, trioctyl phosphate, tris(2-ethylhexyl) phosphate, tridecyl phosphate, diethyl n-butyl phosphate, tris(butoxyethyl) phosphate, and tris(2-methoxyethyl) phosphate (Abstract and paragraph [0125]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the binder of Hochstetter to comprise the claimed compounds because Bauer teaches that such compounds are suitable for use as a plasticizer (paragraph [0125]).
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstetter et al. (US 2016/0017136 A1; as found in IDS dated 12/10/2025) in view of Nishimura et al. (JP 2000-256616A; as found in IDS dated and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 9 and 13, Hochstetter does not specifically disclose wherein the binder further comprises a polyisocyanate-based compound comprising a blocking agent (claim 9) or wherein the rechargeable battery is a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (claim 13).
However, Nishimura teaches of a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a binder composition comprising: a polyisocyanate-based compound containing a blocking agent, such as tolylene diisocyanate, hexamethylene isocyanate, isophorone diisocyanate ([6]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the binder and the battery of Hochstetter to comprise the claimed compound and a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery because Nishimura teaches that the ease of production and yield are improved and a safe battery can be provided (Technical Field and [6]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727