NEGATIVE ELECTRODE PLATE OF LITHIUM-ION BATTERY, LITHIUM-ION BATTERY, AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/262,722 Art Unit: 1727 February 5, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 24, 2023 has been received. Claims 17-36 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “nanometal” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “nanometal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what metals or sizes thereof read on the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, and metal oxide will read on the claim.
As to Claim 18, it is unclear how the nanometal oxide can be present in an amount of 0% mass when claim 17 required that the nanometal oxide is present.
Claims 26 and 35 recite the limitation "the integrated mixed layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 17-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li et al. (US 2019/0140328 A1; as found in IDS dated 02/18/2025).
As to Claims 17, 19, 22, 27, 29 and 36, Li discloses an electronic device, comprising a lithium-ion battery which comprises: an enclosure (vacuum-packing); a negative electrode plate, a separator film and a positive electrode plate (arranged sequentially), and an electrolyte disposed in a packing (Abstract and paragraphs [0003, 0068-0069]). Li further discloses wherein the negative electrode plate comprises: a current collector; and an additional layer disposed on a surface thereof, wherein the additional layer comprises a silicon or carbon material active material and a safety coating (protective substance) comprising a carbon-coated lithium titanate and metal oxide (discloses a particle size of 100 nm, Table 3-1), and a conductive additive (Abstract and paragraphs [0017, 0028-0029, 0032, 0036, 0045, 0049]).
In the alternative, Li discloses wherein the inorganic filler of the protective layer can comprise a carbon-coated lithium titanate and a metal oxide (paragraph [0036]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a metal oxide and a carbon-coated lithium titanate because Li teaches that the high temperature safety performance of the battery is improved (Abstract).
As to Claims 18 and 28, Li teaches wherein the protective substance comprises a binder in an amount of 35-75 wt%; the inorganic filler (metal oxide and carbon-coated lithium titanate) in an amount of 10-60 wt%; and the conductive agent in an amount of 5-25 wt% (paragraphs [0011, 0021-0022]). These ranges overlap with the claimed ranges, and the courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), see MPEP 2144.05, I. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amounts of the claimed materials to read on the claimed amounts because Li teaches that the high temperature safety performance of the battery is improved (Abstract).
As to Claims 20 and 30, Li teaches wherein the thickness of the safety coating layer is a result-effective variable in providing a battery with improved safety performance without increasing the internal resistance too much (paragraph [0044]). Li does not specifically disclose the thickness of the active material layer. However, there are a known finite number of options in choosing a thickness relationship between the two layers (a thickness greater than, less than, or equal to) and one of ordinary skill in the art would good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the thickness relationship between the two claimed layers to read on the claims because Li teaches that a battery with improved safety performance without increasing the internal resistance too much to hurt the normal operation thereof is provided (paragraph [0044]).
As to Claims 21 and 31, Li teaches wherein the thickness of the safety coating is not more than 40 microns, which overlaps with the claimed range (paragraph [0044]). The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), see MPEP 2144.05, I. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amounts of the claimed materials to read on the claimed amounts because Li teaches that the high temperature safety performance of the battery is improved (Abstract).
As to Claims 23 and 32, Li teaches wherein the particle diameter of the metal oxide can be 100 nm and wherein the particle size of the conductive additive is 5-500nm (paragraph [0030 and Table 3-1]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the particle size of the metal oxide and the conductive additive to read on the claims because Li teaches that the high temperature safety performance of the battery is improved (Abstract).
As to Claims 24 and 33, the active material layer and the protective layer of Li form “an integral/integrated mixed layer” as they are functionally integrated with each other and comprise a different mixture of materials.
In the alternative, the courts have held that the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice, see MPEP 2144.04, V, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the particle size of the metal oxide and the conductive additive to read on the claims because Li teaches that the high temperature safety performance of the battery is improved (Abstract).
As to Claims 25-26 and 34-35, Li teaches wherein the protective substance layer’s size and amounts of materials are result-effective variables in providing the right amount of safety to the battery without increasing the internal resistance too much and sacrificing capacity of the battery (paragraphs [0037 and 0044]). The courts have held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, II, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the particle size of the metal oxide and the conductive additive to read on the claims because Li teaches that the high temperature safety performance of the battery is improved without sacrificing capacity of the battery (Abstract and paragraph [0037]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727