DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claimed in claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 5/1/26 is acknowledged.
In the reply filed 5/1/26, Applicants amended claims 1-2 and canceled 3-13.
In the reply filed 8/7/26, Applicants did not amend the claims.
Claims 1-2 are under consideration.
Claim Objections-NEW
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “freeze-drying powder” should be amended to “freeze-dried powder” and “spray-drying powder” should be amended to “spray-dried powder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-Maintained
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gjoni et al. (WO2020/229369), Cubicin (daptomycin) injection label (accessdata.fda.gov 2011) and CN110339342 (10/18/2019).
Gjoni et al. teach stable daptomycin aqueous pharmaceutical formulation (Abstract). Gjoni et al. teach the stable daptomycin for injection [182]. Gjoni et al. teach the formulation comprises calcium in the form of calcium chloride [028,062,155]. Gjoni et al. teach the calcium is present in a molar ratio to daptomycin of 0.1:1 to 2:1 [028]. Gjoni et al. teach the pH can be adjusted using pH adjusters known in the art, for example sodium hydroxide [067]. Gjoni et al. teach the formulation can be diluted in sodium chloride [181]. Gjoni et al. teach that daptomycin is approved by the FDA for treatment of infections caused by gram-positive pathogens [004], meeting the limitation “for treating injections caused by Gram-positive bacteria”. Furthermore, the limitation “for treating a respiratory tract infection" is regarded that "intended use" of a composition or product will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987) and In Re Hack 114, USPQ 161. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitation. In the instant case the prior art teaches daptomycin is capable of performing the intended use.
Gjoni et al. does not teach an example of daptomycin comprising sodium chloride or a pH of 4.5. However, the teachings of Cubicin injection label and CN110339342 cures this deficiency.
Cubicin injection label teaches daptomycin with 0.9% sodium chloride (p. 3-5, 17). Cubicin injection label further teaches that daptomycin formulation include sodium hydroxide for pH adjustment (p. 17).
CN110339342 teaches and claims a composition comprising daptomycin with a pH of 4-8 (claims 10, 13 and 14; middle of p. 3).
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the daptomycin formulation of Gjoni et al. to include sodium chloride as taught by Gjoni and Cubicin and to adjust the pH to 4.5 as taught by CN110339342 in order to create a pharmaceutically stable daptomycin formulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize and combine these known variables to obtain a stable daptomycin formulation suitable for pharmaceutical use. There is a reasonable expectation of success because the references teach conventional formulation components and conditions which are known components in daptomycin formulations.
The molar ratios of daptomycin to calcium chloride to sodium chloride is a result-effective variable and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable maybe characterized by routine experimentation (Please see MPEP 2144 II-Optimization of Ranges). In the instant case, Gjoni et al. teach the calcium is present in a molar ratio to daptomycin of 0.1:1 to 2:1 [028]. It would have been obvious and routine experimentation to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the molar ratios of the components because the prior art recognizing the components affect pharmaceutical formulation properties and stability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to arrive at the molar ranges of claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, CN110339342 claims the daptomycin is freeze-dried or spray-dried (claim 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Gjoni in view of Cubicin and CN 110339342 do not teach or suggest claim 1. Applicants argue that claim one discloses a stable daptomycin in a composition for an injection for treating gram positive bacteria wherein the composition comprises calcium chloride, sodium hydroxide and sodium chloride where the molar ratio of daptomycin to calcium chloride and sodium chloride in the composition is 1:1.5 :2.5 and where the pH is adjusted to 4.5 by adding sodium hydroxide. Gjoni discloses a stable aqueous daptomycin pharmaceutical formulation comprising daptomycin, calcium chloride, sodium L lactate, glycerol and peg 400 where in the molar ratio of daptomycin to calcium chloride is 1:1 (see example 6). The molar ratio of daptomycin to calcium chloride is 0.1:1 to 2:1 (paragraph 0028). Therefore Gjoni does not teacher suggest sodium chloride as the osmotic pressure regulator in the composition nor does it teach the molar ratio of daptomycin to calcium chloride to sodium chloride and adjusting the pH to 4.5 with sodium hydroxide. Applicants argue that Gjoni and light of daptomycin instability is currently commercially available only in the form of a lyophilized powder for intravenous infusion (Cubicin). Cubicin (paragraph 2 of Page 1) is referred to as daptomycin and the composition comprises daptomycin, calcium such as calcium chloride and at least one excipient such as sodium L lactate, glycerol and PEG 400 as osmotic pressure regulators which is similar to Gjoni. Cubicin introduces dosage administration of cubicin administered intravenously either by injection or by infusion. Cubicin teaches: 1. Cubicin is referred to as daptomycin; 2. method of treating the patient with daptomycin itself which may be reconstituted with 0.9% sodium chloride as a diluter and 3. diluting daptamycin with 0.9% sodium chloride before administering to the patient. Cubicin further discloses that the only inactive ingredient is sodium hydroxide which is used in minimal quantities for pH adjustment. Applicants argue cubicin does not teach or suggest an example of daptomycin comprising the limitations of claim 1. Applicants argue that Gjoni and cubicin singly your combination do not teach or suggest the composition of claim 1. Applicants argue CN 110339342 discloses and claims the composition comprising daptomycin with a pH of 4 to 8 however adjusting a pH of 4 to 8 is under the premise of the daptomycin solution comprising daptomycin calcium acetate and a solvent wherein the molar ratio of daptomycin to calcium acetate is any value within the range of 1:10 to 1:2. Applicants argue in contrast, instant claim 1 adjusts the pH of daptomycin composition for injection to 4.5 with sodium hydroxide under the premise that the daptomycin comprises calcium chloride and sodium chloride and the molar ratio of daptomycin to calcium chloride to sodium chloride in the composition is 1:1.5:2.5. Applicant argues the combination of references do not teach or suggest how to adjust the pH of the daptomycin composition comprising the ingredients of claim , nor do they teach the claimed ratio of ingredients. Therefore claim 1 is non obvious over Gjoni and Cubicin and CN 110339342. Applicants argue since claim 2 is dependent on plane one and claim one is non obvious over the cited references claim 2 is also non obvious.
These arguments were considered but are not persuasive because the combined teachings make obvious the composition of claims 1-2. As indicated above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the daptomycin formulation of Gjoni et al. to include sodium chloride as taught by Gjoni and Cubicin and to adjust the pH to 4.5 as taught by CN110339342 in order to create a pharmaceutically stable daptomycin formulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize and combine these known variables to obtain a stable daptomycin formulation suitable for pharmaceutical use. There is a reasonable expectation of success because the references teach conventional formulation components and conditions which are known components in daptomycin formulations. The components are well known, routine and as disclosed in the references above: used in compositions comprising daptomycin. Furthermore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Although no single reference disclosed the complete composition of claim 1, the combination of Gjoni, Cubicin and the CN make obvious the claimed composition. With respect to the ratios, MPEP 2144.05 states: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. However, the specification does not disclose that the ratios are critical for stability of daptomycin. Importantly, the examples in the specification compare the claimed composition only with the formulation of the secondary reference (Cubicin), while the rejection relies on a combination of references. Therefore, the specification has not disclosed the criticality of the ratio. For the reasons provided above, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARA L MARTINEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654