DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2021/0311583) in view of Kim (US 12,039,138).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches A display panel, comprising: a capacitive touch part comprising a first capacitive touch portion and a second capacitive touch portion arranged in different layers (Fig. 1 shows display device with capacitive touch first electrode 21 and second electrode 22 in different layers [0043]); a plurality of electromagnetic coils, comprise an electromagnetic touch part that comprises a first electromagnetic touch portion and a second electromagnetic touch portion arranged in different layers (Fig. 1 shows display device with electromagnetic touch electrodes 24 and 25 in different layers), wherein at least one of the first electromagnetic touch portion and the second electromagnetic touch portion is arranged in a same layer as the capacitive touch part (In Fig. 1 it is seen that the electromagnetic touch electrode 24 is in same layer as touch electrode 21 while electromagnetic touch electrode 25 is in same layer as touch electrode 22). Although Xu teaches the electromagnetic touch electrodes he does not explicitly teach the electromagnetic coils comprise the electromagnetic touch electrodes.
However in the field of manufacturing a touch display device, Kim teaches a display device having electromagnetic touch electrode (Pen sensing electrodes PSE) where electromagnetic touch electrodes comprise electromagnetic coils (Pen sensing lines PSL1/PSL2 and Pen sensing electrodes PSE are driven to form coils Col. 45 lines 25-33).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Xu with the method of driving sensing electrodes as taught by Kim. This combination provides a device for sensing external inputs such as a touch of a user or pen while improving sensing sensitivity for a pen as taught by Kim (Col. 1 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the display panel is an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel, a liquid crystal display panel, or a light- emitting diode (LED) display panel (Fig. 5 OLED of emissive region LA).
Claims 2 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2021/0311583) in view of Kim (US 12,039,138) and Lee (US 2014/0078104).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Lee teach the limitations as discussed above but fail to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of electromagnetic coils comprise the capacitive touch part.
However in the field of manufacturing a display sensing device, Lee teaches device that uses a capacitive sensing mode and an electromagnetic sensing mode, wherein the driving method of the display panel wherein the plurality of electromagnetic coils comprise the capacitive touch part((Fig. 6 TG10/20/30/40 and source line groups R10/20/30/40 [0147-0151] and Fig. 7A-7B scan groups TG10/20/30/40 and source line groups R10/20/30/40 [0152-0158], the same coils are used for both capacitive touch part and the electromagnetic touch part),.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Xu with the method of driving sensing electrodes as taught by Kim and the method of driving a sensing device as taught by Lee. This combination provides a device for improving sensing external inputs in two modes as taught by Lee [0007-0009].
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Kim teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above but they fail to teach wherein the driving method of the display panel comprises: scanning a capacitive touch part in the display panel using a touch driving chip, each scan cycle comprising an electromagnetic scan interval and a capacitive scan interval, wherein during each of the electromagnetic scan intervals, the capacitive touch part performs an electromagnetic touch function, and during each of the capacitive scan intervals, the capacitive touch part performs a capacitive touch function.
However in the field of manufacturing a display sensing device, Lee teaches device that uses a capacitive sensing mode and an electromagnetic sensing mode, wherein the driving method of the display panel comprises: scanning a capacitive touch part in the display panel using a touch driving chip, each scan cycle comprising an electromagnetic scan interval and a capacitive scan interval([0146]), wherein during each of the electromagnetic scan intervals, the capacitive touch part performs an electromagnetic touch function (Fig. 7A-7B scan groups TG10/20/30/40 and source line groups R10/20/30/40 [0152-0158]), and during each of the capacitive scan intervals, the capacitive touch part performs a capacitive touch function (Fig. 6 TG10/20/30/40 and source line groups R10/20/30/40 [0147-0151]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Xu with the method of driving sensing electrodes as taught by Kim and the method of driving a sensing device as taught by Lee. This combination provides a device for improving sensing external inputs in two modes as taught by Lee [0007-0009].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is indicated allowable based on the first electromagnetic touch portion comprises a plurality of electromagnetic coil lines, and the second electromagnetic touch portion comprises a plurality of electromagnetic bridging lines; wherein an area of the plurality of touch electrodes is larger than an area of the plurality of bridging electrodes, an area of the plurality of electromagnetic coil lines is larger than an area of the plurality of electromagnetic bridging lines, and the electromagnetic coil lines are arranged in a same layer as the bridging electrodes.
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621