DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, Applicant argues that Takahashi fails to disclose the inclusion of an electrolytic solution in the first layer of the solid electrolyte layer. The Office respectfully disagrees as follows.
First, on page 8 of the response, Applicant argues that carboxylic acid ester disclosed in Takahashi is not an electrolyte, as required by the independent claims, submitting that carboxylic acid esters are neutral, covalent molecules that do not ionize in water or organic solvents. However, contrary to Applicant’s argument, carboxylic acid ester are a known compound used in electrolytic solutions. As evidence, see Takezawa et al. (US 12,387,882), col. 15, lines 53-56 and WO2019/181240, paragraph [0437]. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of a carboxylic acid ester to be akin to including an electrolytic solution in the first layer of the solid electrolyte layer.
Second, bridging pages 8 and 9 of the response, Applicant argues that Takahashi teaches away from using the carboxylic acid esters in solution form, as required by the independent claims, noting that Takahashi teaches drying the carboxylic acid ester solution. In response, the Office notes that the claims do not require that the recited electrolytic solution remain in liquid form. Additionally, Takahashi clearly discloses that the carboxylic acid ester is applied to the solid electrolyte layer in solution form in paragraph [0029]. Further, the Office notes that the rejection is a rejection under 35 USC 102, not under 35 USC 103, rendering a teaching away argument moot, as there is no modification of Takahashi required to reject the claims.
For the reasons above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and claims 1-20 remain rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takehashi et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2019/0392997).
With respect to claim 1, Takahashi discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) comprising: a porous sintered body comprising an anode (see FIG. 1, element 11, paragraph [0019]); a dielectric layer formed on the porous sintered body (FIG. 1, element 12, paragraph [0020]); a solid electrolyte layer formed on the dielectric layer, wherein the solid electrolyte layer comprises a first layer that includes an electrolyte solution (FIG. 1, element 13, paragraph [0021], noting a solution of carboxylic acid ester filling cavities in the solid electrolyte layer; see also, paragraph [0029]); and a conductor layer formed on the solid electrolyte layer and constituting a cathode (FIG. 1, element 16, paragraph [0035]).
With respect to claim 4, Takahashi discloses that the first layer comprises a dispersion or a self-doped polymer consisting of a conductive polymer. See paragraph [0025].
With respect to claim 5, Takahashi discloses the first layer comprises of a polymer or copolymer containing one or two selected from polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyaniline, polyfuran, or derivatives having these as a basic skeleton, and containing adipic acid, carboxylic acid, or sulfonic acid as a dopant; and a dispersion comprising of a polymer or copolymer, or a self-doped polymer comprising of a conductive polymer having polypyrrol, polythiophene, polyaniline, or polyfuran as the basic skeleton, and induced by electron donating groups such as adipic acid, carboxylic acid, sulfonic acid, and the like. See paragraph [0025].
With respect to claim 6, Takahashi discloses that the solid electrolyte layer includes a second layer formed on the dielectric layer having a dispersion of a conductive polymer or a self-doped polymer, and a wherein the second layer covering covers a portion of the dielectric layer, and has the electrolyte solution filled between the dispersion or the self-doped polymer of the second layer. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 7, Takahashi discloses that the second layer comprises of a polymer or copolymer containing one or two selected from polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyaniline, polyfuran, or derivatives having these as a basic skeleton, and containing adipic acid, carboxylic acid, or sulfonic acid as a dopant; and a dispersion comprising of a polymer or copolymer, or a self-doped polymer comprising of a conductive polymer having polypyrrol, polythiophene, polyaniline, or polyfuran as the basic skeleton, and induced by electron donating groups such as adipic acid, carboxylic acid, sulfonic acid, and the like. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 8, Takahashi discloses that the solid electrolyte layer comprises a third layer interposed between the first layer and the second layer and comprised of a conductive polymer. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 9, Takahashi discloses that the third layer comprises of a polymer or copolymer containing one or two selected from polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyaniline, polyfuran, or derivatives having these as a basic skeleton, andcontaining adipic acid, carboxylic acid, or sulfonic acid as a dopant; and a self-doped polymer comprising of a polymer or copolymer, or a conductive polymer having polypyrrol, polythiophene, polyaniline, or polyfuran as the basic skeleton, and induced by electron donating groups such as adipic acid, carboxylic acid, sulfonic acid, and the like. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 10, Takahashi discloses that the solid electrolyte layer comprises a fourth layer interposed between the first layer and the conductor layer and having a dispersion or self-doped polymer comprised of a conductive polymer. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 11, Takahashi discloses that fourth layer comprises of a polymer or copolymer containing one or two selected from polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyaniline, polyfuran, or derivatives having these as a basic skeleton, and containing adipic acid, carboxylic acid, or sulfonic acid as a dopant; and a dispersion comprising of a polymer or copolymer, or a self-doped polymer comprising of a conductive polymer having polypyrrol, polythiophene, polyaniline, or polyfuran as the basic skeleton, and induced by electron donating groups such as adipic acid, carboxylic acid, sulfonic acid, and the like. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 12, Takahashi discloses that the solid electrolyte layer comprises a fifth layer interposed between the fourth layer and the conductor layer and having a dispersion or self-doped polymer comprised of a conductive polymer and an electrolyte solution. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers.
With respect to claim 15, Takahashi discloses method for manufacturing a solid electrolytic capacitor that includes the steps of: forming a porous sintered body constituting an anode (see paragraph [0019]), forming a dielectric layer on the porous sintered body (see paragraph [0020]), forming a solid electrolyte layer on the dielectric layer (see paragraph [0021]), wherein the solid electrolyte layer comprises a first layer that includes an electrolyte solution (paragraph [0021], noting a solution of carboxylic acid ester filling cavities in the solid electrolyte layer; see also, paragraph [0029]), and forming a conductor layer constituting a cathode on the solid electrolyte layer (see paragraph [0035]); and wherein the step of forming the solid electrolyte layer includes a first treatment of forming the first layer using a first liquid containing the electrolyte solution (paragraph [0021], noting a solution of carboxylic acid ester filling cavities in the solid electrolyte layer; see also, paragraph [0029]).
With respect to claim 16, Takahashi discloses that the first liquid comprises a conductive polymer and an electrolyte. See paragraph [0023].
With respect to claim 17, Takahashi disclose that the step of forming the solid electrolyte layer includes a second treatment of forming a second layer having a conductive polymer dispersion or a self-doped polymer on the dielectric layer before the first treatment, and wherein the second layer covers a portion of the dielectric layer, and in the first treatment, the electrolyte is filled between the dispersion or the self-doped polymer of the second layer. See paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034].
With respect to claim 18, Takahashi discloses that the step of forming the solid electrolyte layer includes a third treatment of forming a third layer made of a conductive polymer on the second layer by chemical polymerization after the second treatment and before the first treatment. See paragraphs [0034] and [0023].
With respect to claim 19, Takahashi discloses that the step of forming the solid electrolyte layer includes a fourth treatment of forming a fourth layer having a dispersion or a self-doped polymer of conductive polymer on the first layer after the first treatment. See paragraphs [0034] and [0023].
With respect to claim 20, Takahashi discloses that the step of forming the solid electrolyte layer includes a fifth treatment in which a second solution comprising of a conductive polymer or a self-doped polymer and an electrolyte is attached to the fourth layer after the fourth treatment. See paragraphs [0034] and [0023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehashi et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2019/0392997) in view of Yoshida et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2012/0057269).
With respect to claim 2, Takahashi teaches the use of at least one of a polymer-based electrolyte solution, or a carbonate-based electrolyte solution (see paragraph [0021]), but fails to explicitly teach that the electrolytic solution of the first layer consists of at least one selected from the group consisting of ethylene glycol, dimethylformamide, y-butyrolactone, polyalkylene glycol, polyalkylenetriol, and their derivatives thereof.
Yoshida, on the other hand, teaches that the electrolytic solution of the first layer consists of at least one selected from the group consisting of ethylene glycol, dimethylformamide, y-butyrolactone, polyalkylene glycol, polyalkylenetriol, and their derivatives thereof. See paragraphs [0092] and [0275]. Such an arrangement results in a solution that dissolves and disperses the precursor monomers and maintains the oxidation ability of the oxidant and oxidation catalysis. See paragraph [0092].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Takahashi, as taught by Yoshida, in order to dissolve and disperse the precursor monomers and maintain the oxidation ability of the oxidant and oxidation catalysis.
With respect to claim 3, the combined teachings of Takahashi and Yoshida teach that at least one of adipic acid, carboxylic acid, and sulfonic acid is added as an anion to the electrolytic solution. See Takahashi, paragraph [0028] and Yoshida, paragraph [0276].
With respect to claim 13, Takahashi teaches that the fifth layer comprises of a polymer or copolymer containing one or two selected from polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyaniline, polyfuran, or derivatives having these as a basic skeleton, and containing adipic acid, carboxylic acid, or sulfonic acid as a dopant; a dispersion comprising of a polymer or copolymer, or a self-doped polymer comprising of a conductive polymer having polypyrrol, polythiophene, polyaniline, or polyfuran as the basic skeleton, and induced by electron donating groups such as adipic acid, carboxylic acid, sulfonic acid, and the like (see paragraphs [0025], [0033], and [0034], noting the formation of multiple solid electrolyte layers); but fails to teach that an electrolyte solution of the fifth layer comprising of at least one selected from the group consisting of ethylene glycol, dimethylformamide, y-butyrolactone, polyalkylene glycol, polyalkylenetriol, and their derivatives thereof, and at least one of a polymer-based electrolyte solution, or a carbonate-based electrolyte solution.
Yoshida, on the other hand, teaches that the electrolytic solution of the first layer consists of at least one selected from the group consisting of ethylene glycol, dimethylformamide, y-butyrolactone, polyalkylene glycol, polyalkylenetriol, and their derivatives thereof. See paragraphs [0092] and [0275]. Such an arrangement results in a solution that dissolves and disperses the precursor monomers and maintains the oxidation ability of the oxidant and oxidation catalysis. See paragraph [0092].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Takahashi, as taught by Yoshida, in order to dissolve and disperse the precursor monomers and maintain the oxidation ability of the oxidant and oxidation catalysis.
With respect to claim 14, the combined teachings of Takahashi and Yoshida teach that at least one of adipic acid, carboxylic acid, and sulfonic acid is added as an anion to the electrolyte solution. See Takahashi, paragraph [0021].
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848