DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1 and 3-10 in the reply filed on 14 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13, 15, 17, 20-21, and 40-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 October 2025.
Claim Status
Claims 2, 11-12, 14, 16, 18-19, 22-24, 26-39, 47, and 49-51 have been canceled, claims 3-8, 10, 17, 20-21, 25, 40-42, 44-46, and 48 are currently amended, claims 13, 15, 17, 20-21, and 40-41 have been withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1 and 3-10 have been considered on their merits.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/013663 01/25/2022 which claims benefit of 63/141,665 01/26/2021.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “substantially homogenous” in reference to a cancerous mammalian cell population. The instant specification, at p. 24 para. [0096], states "Substantially homogenous" refers to a population of cells derived from the same mammalian organ or region of a mammalian organ wherein the majority between about 100% to about 70%; between about 100% to about 90% of the total number of cells have a specified characteristic of interest. The disclosure of cells having a specified characteristic of interest is very broad to include any characteristic of a cell, to include cell type. For example, a population of fibroblasts from a breast tumor reads as substantially homogenous because the population of cells are all fibroblasts, which reads as a morphological characteristic.
The instant specification, at p. 15 para. [0065], states "Cancer" or "tumor" or "cancerous" are well known in the art and refer to the presence, e.g., in a subject, of cells possessing characteristics typical of cancer-causing cells, such as uncontrolled proliferation, immortality, metastatic potential, rapid growth and proliferation rate, decreased cell death/apoptosis, and certain characteristic morphological features.
Therefore, “substantially homogenous” is interpreted as referring to a population of cells wherein at least 70% of said population have a characteristic in common.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trujillo et al. (WO 2015/120150 A1, IDS ref.) as evidenced by Dong et al. (Scientific Reports, 2016), Wang et al. (BioMed Research International, 2019), and Knight et al. (Cellular Signaling, 2019).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, Trujillo et al. teach compositions comprising tumor-derived exosomes and methods of using the compositions in the treatment of cancer (p. 1, Field of Invention). Trujillo et al. teach breast tumor cells were rinsed with PBS and human mammary epithelial medium, which comprised DMEM supplemented with glutamine and epidermal growth factor (EGF) (p. 34, Tissue Preparation). Trujillo et al. teach fibroblasts from the tumor tissue (cancerous mammalian cell population) were grown to confluence, media was replaced, and conditioned media was removed (claim 1) (p. 35, Fibroblast Growth). Trujillo et al., in Figure 2x, display a population of fibroblasts and associated exosomes, wherein, the figure appears to comprise about 100% fibroblasts (p. 29), in view of the claim interpretation above, the population of fibroblasts read as substantially homogenous. Glutamine and EGF (claim 3) are both small molecules which drive cell proliferation, and thus, activate cell growth signaling, therefore, read as a small molecule activators of cell growth signaling pathways. Regarding the preamble, Trujillo et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising an exosome according to any one of the embodiments which comprises a pharmaceutically-acceptable vehicle, carrier (claim 4), or excipient (p. 5, 1st para.).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, while Trujillo et al. is silent to specific protein expression profiles of the breast tumor cells, it is known in the art breast cancer cells overexpress and secrete Hsp90ab1, which is also known as Hsp90β, as evidenced by Dong et al. (p. 2 Results and Fig. 1). Therefore, the conditioned medium would necessarily comprise (claim 5) and be enriched (claim 6) with Hsp90ab1 by the breast cancer cells.
Regarding claim 7, Trujillo et al. teach exosome-based cancer therapy can be used alone or in combination with a chemotherapeutic (p. 25).
Regarding claim 8, Trujillo et al. teach breast tumor cells were rinsed with PBS and human mammary epithelial medium, which comprised DMEM supplemented with glutamine and epidermal growth factor (EGF) (p. 34, Tissue Preparation). Glutamine is known in the art to activate the Wnt3a/β-catenin signaling pathway, as evidenced by Wang et al. (Abstract). EGF is known in the art to activate the β-catenin, a key component of the canonical Wnt signaling pathway as evidenced by Knight et al. (Abstract). Therefore, the glutamine or EGF of Trujillo et al. teach the small molecule cell growth signaling pathway activator is a small molecule Wnt signaling pathway activator.
Thus, the reference anticipates the subject matter of claims 1 and 3-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trujillo et al. (WO 2015/120150 A1, IDS ref.) as applied to claims 1 and 3-8 above, and further in view of Ni et al. (In Vitro Cellular & Developmental Biology - Animal (2019), IDS ref.).
Trujillo et al. anticipate the subject matter of claims 1 and 3-8, and thus, also render them obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Trujillo et al. do not teach the small molecule Wnt signaling pathway activator being BML-284.
Ni et al. teach in Wnt agonist BML-284 treated Wilms tumor-derived cells, G401, increased Apobec-1 complementation factor (A1CF) like other classical regulator of Wnt signal pathway, such as Axin2 and β-catenin (Abstract). Ni et al. teach A1CF is involved in many cellular processes such as cell proliferation, apoptosis, and migration (Abstract). Ni et al. teach A1CF promotes cell proliferation and migration and inhibits apoptosis in breast cancer cells (p. 253, Introduction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer BML-284 to the cells of Trujillo et al. prior to culturing the cells in cell culture media with a reasonable expectation of success because Ni et al. teach A1CF promotes cell proliferation and migration and inhibits apoptosis in breast cancer cells and A1CF is increased by administration of BML-284. One would be motivated to administer BML-284 to the breast cancer cells of Trujillo et al. prior to culturing the cells in cell culture media because promoting cell proliferation and preventing apoptosis would increase the amount of cancerous mammalian cell-secreted proteins from the cancer cells into the conditioned medium.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trujillo et al. (WO 2015/120150 A1, IDS ref.) as applied to claims 1 and 3-8 above, and further in view of Li et al. (Int Rev Cell Mol Biol. 2013).
Trujillo et al. anticipate the subject matter of claims 1 and 3-8, and thus, also render them obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Trujillo et al. do not teach wherein the cancerous mammalian cells are cancerous mammalian bone cells.
Li et al. teach tumor cells constitutively secrete Hsp90β, to include breast cancer cells and osteocarcinomas (p. 6, Section 3.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute cancerous bone cells for the breast tumor cells of Trujillo et al. in the conditioned medium because both cells would have the equivalent effect of expressing cancerous mammalian cell-secreted proteins. Substitution of one known element for another known element, the elements having equivalent effect, is considered to be obvious, absent a showing that the result of the substitution yields more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Relevant prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al. (J. Biochem. 2020)
Lin et al. teach osteosarcoma cell line U2OS conditioned media (U2OS-CM). Lin et al. teach treatment of hBMSCs with U2OS-CM resulted in a significant increase in the IL-6 expression and phosphorylation of STAT3 (p. 267, 1st column).
Mori et al. (Cancer Sci., vol. 99, no. 11, 2008)
Mori et al. teach osteosarcoma MOS-J and POS-1 were utilized to serum-free conditioned media.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/N.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631