DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 24 June 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new limitation “the buffer adhesive comprises: a second portion between a boundary of one side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and a boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yu teaches that the first light shielding layer 651 is located in the folding region FR. The examiner disagrees. While Yu’s light shielding layer is initially attached to the folding region, when the device is actually folded as shown in Fig. 6, the light shielding layer detaches from the folding region and remains with the rigid support plate 501. Therefore, Yu teaches “the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance (d2) therebetween" as recited in amended claim 19. It should be noted that applicant and Yu define the folding region differently; in Fig. 9 of the specification the overlapping region where flexible film 2 bends and rigid substrate 1 does not is classified by the applicant as not being in the bending region A2 while the overlapping region where flexible film 100 bends and rigid substrate 501 does not is classified as Yu as being in the bending region. However, comparing Fig. 6 of Yu and Fig. 9 of the application, we can see that the distinction is only semantic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21, 23, 28-29, 31-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Um et al. (US 2017/0323779 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2020/0225699 A1) and Kwon et al. (US 2017/0179423 A1).
With respect to claim 19: Um teaches “a display substrate (100+175+190), comprising: a display region (1A), a bending region (BA) and a bonding region (2A), wherein the display substrate is bent along the bending region (see Figs. 13b, 13c), such that the bending region is bent on a backlight side of the display region of the display substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); the display substrate comprises a rigid substrate (170), and a flexible film layer (180) and a display function layer (100) sequentially stacked on the rigid substrate (see Fig. 13a); the rigid substrate has an opening (175OPW) in the bending region to expose the flexible film layer in the bending region (see Figs. 13); wherein the rigid substrate comprises a first sub-rigid substrate (170 in 1A; see Figs. 13) and a second sub-rigid substrate (170 in 2A; see Figs. 13), the first sub-rigid substrate is at the display region (see Figs. 13), and the second sub-rigid substrate is at the bonding region (see Figs. 13b, 13c); wherein after the display substrate is bent (see Figs. 13b, 13c): the second sub-rigid substrate is disposed opposite to the first sub-rigid substrate in a thickness direction (see Figs. 13b, 13c), and the second sub-rigid substrate is located at an edge region of the first sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); the display function layer in the display region is a planar structure (see Figs. 13b, 13c) and is disposed on a side of the first sub-rigid substrate away from the second sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); a distance from an edge of a side of the first sub-rigid substrate away from the bending region to the bending region is greater than a distance from an edge of a side of the second sub-rigid substrate away from the bending region to the bending region (see Figs. 13b, 13c), wherein the display substrate further comprises a buffer adhesive (193) between the first sub-rigid substrate and the flexible film layer (see Fig. 13b); and the buffer adhesive comprises: a first portion covering a side wall of the first sub-rigid substrate facing the opening (see Fig. 13a)”.
Um does not specifically teach “the display substrate further comprises a first light absorption portion in the display region and on one side of the display region close to the bending region; and the first light absorption portion is on one side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer, wherein the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance therebetween”.
However, Yu teaches “the display substrate further comprises a first light absorption portion in the display region (651) and on one side of the display region close to the bending region (see Fig. 2); and the first light absorption portion is on one side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer (see Fig. 2), wherein the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance (d2) therebetween (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129)”.
Um does not specifically teach “a second portion between a boundary of one side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and a boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region”.
However, Kwon teaches a buffer adhesive (500) with a second portion (515, 535) at a location (see Kwon Fig. 3) wherein the second portion would lie in the space between the first light absorption portion (see Yu Fig. 3) and the boundary of the side of the display region (see Kwon Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the display apparatus of Um in view of Yu with the second portion of the buffer adhesive taught by Kwon in order to protect from impacts (Kwon paragraph 86).
With respect to claim 20: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “The display substrate according to claim 19 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “further comprising a second light absorption portion in the bonding region and on one side of the bonding region close to the bending region; and the second light absorption portion is on the side of the rigid substrate facing away from the flexible film layer or on the side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer”.
However, Yu teaches “the display substrate according to claim 19 (see above), further comprising a second light absorption portion (652) in the bonding region and on one side of the bonding region close to the bending region (see Fig. 2); and the second light absorption portion is on the side of the rigid substrate facing away from the flexible film layer or on the side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer (see Fig. 2)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129)”.
With respect to claim 21: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “The display substrate according to claim 20 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein a material of the first light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material; and/or a material of the second light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material”.
Yu teaches “wherein a material of the first light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material (paragraph 22); and/or a material of the second light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material (paragraph 22)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129)”.
With respect to claim 23: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 19 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein a width of a light absorption layer (w1) is greater than or equal to 1 mm”.
Yu teaches “wherein a width of a light absorption layer (w1) is greater than or equal to 1 mm (paragraph 149)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129).
With respect to claim 28: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 21 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the first light absorption portion is arranged to be the same as the second light absorption portion in layer and material”.
Yu teaches “wherein the first light absorption portion is arranged to be the same as the second light absorption portion in layer (see Fig. 2) and material (paragraph 22)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129).
With respect to claim 29: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 28 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the first light absorption portion and the second light absorption portion are arranged on one side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer”.
Yu teaches “wherein the first light absorption portion and the second light absorption portion are arranged on one side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer (Fig. 2)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129).
With respect to claim 31: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 19 (see above)”.
Um further teaches “further comprising: a second buffer adhesive (part of 193 covering the sidewall of 175 in area 2a)) covering a side wall of the second sub-rigid substrate facing the opening (see Fig. 13a)”.
With respect to claim 32: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 19 (see above)”.
Um further teaches “wherein the display function layer comprises: a buffer layer (110) on one side of the flexible film layer away from the rigid substrate (Fig. 13a); a plurality of first wires (213) on one side of the buffer layer (110) away from the flexible film layer (100); a first insulating layer (130) on one sides of the first wires away from the flexible film layer (see Fig. 3); a plurality of second wires (215) on one side of the first insulating layer away from the flexible film layer (see Fig. 3), wherein each first wire is connected with at least one second wire through a first via hole penetrating through the first insulating layer (at 213a, 213b); a second insulating layer (140) on one sides of the second wires away from the flexible film layer (see Fig. 3); and a light emitting diode (300) on one side of the second insulating layer away from the flexible film layer (see Fig. 3), wherein the light emitting diode is connected with the second wires through a second via hole (at 215b) penetrating through the second insulating layer (see Fig. 3)”.
With respect to claim 33: Um teaches “a display apparatus (100M), comprising a plurality of display substrates (100) spliced together (see Fig. 2a), wherein each display substrate comprises: a display region (1A), a bending region (BA) and a bonding region (2A), wherein the display substrate is bent along the bending region (see Fig. 12), such that the bending region is bent on a backlight side of the display region of the display substrate (see Fig. 12); the display substrate function layer (300) sequentially stacked on the rigid substrate (175); the rigid substrate has an opening (175OP) in the bending region to expose the flexible film layer (100) in the bending region (see Fig. 9a) wherein the rigid substrate comprises a first sub-rigid substrate (170 in 1A; see Figs. 13) and a second sub-rigid substrate (170 in 2A; see Figs. 13), the first sub-rigid substrate is at the display region (see Figs. 13), and the second sub-rigid substrate is at the bonding region (see Figs. 13b, 13c); wherein after the display substrate is bent (see Figs. 13b, 13c): the second sub-rigid substrate is disposed opposite to the first sub-rigid substrate in a thickness direction (see Figs. 13b, 13c), and the second sub-rigid substrate is located at an edge region of the first sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); the display function layer in the display region is a planar structure (see Figs. 13b, 13c) and is disposed on a side of the first sub-rigid substrate away from the second sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); a distance from an edge of a side of the first sub-rigid substrate away from the bending region to the bending region is greater than a distance from an edge of a side of the second sub-rigid substrate away from the bending region to the bending region (see Figs. 13b, 13c), wherein the display substrate further comprises a buffer adhesive (193) between the first sub-rigid substrate and the flexible film layer (see Fig. 13b); and the buffer adhesive comprises: a first portion covering a side wall of the first sub-rigid substrate facing the opening (see Fig. 13a)”.
Um does not specifically teach “the display substrate further comprises a first light absorption portion in the display region and on one side of the display region close to the bending region; and the first light absorption portion is on one side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer, wherein the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance therebetween”.
However, Yu teaches “the display substrate further comprises a first light absorption portion (651) in the display region (DA) and on one side of the display region (see Fig. 2) close to the bending region (FR); and the first light absorption portion is on one side of the rigid substrate (501) facing the flexible film layer (see Fig. 2), wherein the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance (d2) therebetween”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129)”.
Um does not specifically teach “a second portion between a boundary of one side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and a boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region”.
However, Kwon teaches a buffer adhesive (500) with a second portion (515, 535) at a location (see Kwon Fig. 3) wherein the second portion would lie in the space between the first light absorption portion (see Yu Fig. 3) and the boundary of the side of the display region (see Kwon Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the display apparatus of Um in view of Yu with the second portion of the buffer adhesive taught by Kwon in order to protect from impacts (Kwon paragraph 86).
With respect to claim 34: Um teaches “a method for preparing a display substrate (throughout reference), wherein the display substrate comprises a display region (1A), a bending region (BA) and a bonding region (2A), and the bending region is between the display region and the bonding region (see Fig. 3); and the method comprises: forming a flexible film layer (100) on a first surface of a rigid substrate (175); forming a display function layer (all layers from 110 to 520; see Fig. 3) on one side of the flexible film layer away from the rigid substrate (see Fig. 3); removing the rigid substrate (Figs. 4a, 4b) in the bending region by adopting a laser lift-off process (paragraph 75) from one side of a second surface of the rigid substrate (see Fig. 4b); and bending the display substrate in the bending region (see Fig. 10), such that the display function layer of in bonding region and the display function layer in the display region are on different surfaces of the display substrate (see Fig. 10); wherein the rigid substrate comprises a first sub-rigid substrate (170 in 1A; see Figs. 13) and a second sub-rigid substrate (170 in 2A; see Figs. 13), the first sub-rigid substrate is at the display region (see Figs. 13), and the second sub-rigid substrate is at the bonding region (see Figs. 13b, 13c); wherein after the display substrate is bent (see Figs. 13b, 13c): the second sub-rigid substrate is disposed opposite to the first sub-rigid substrate in a thickness direction (see Figs. 13b, 13c), and the second sub-rigid substrate is located at an edge region of the first sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); the display function layer in the display region is a planar structure (see Figs. 13b, 13c) and is disposed on a side of the first sub-rigid substrate away from the second sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c); a distance from an edge of a side of the first sub-rigid substrate away from the bending region to the bending region is greater than a distance from an edge of a side of the second sub-rigid substrate away from the bending region to the bending region (see Figs. 13b, 13c); wherein the display substrate further comprises a buffer adhesive (193) between the first sub-rigid substrate and the flexible film layer (see Fig. 13b); and the buffer adhesive comprises: a first portion covering a side wall of the first sub-rigid substrate facing the opening (see Fig. 13a)”.
Um does not specifically teach “the method further comprises: forming a first light absorption portion on the first surface of the rigid substrate before forming the flexible film layer on the first surface of the rigid substrate; wherein the first light absorbing portion is in the display region and on one side of the display region close to the bending region, and the first light absorption portion is configured to absorb light comprising a waveband of a laser light; wherein the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance therebetween”.
However, Yu teaches “the method further comprises: forming a first light absorption portion (651) on the first surface of the rigid substrate (501) before forming the flexible film layer (100) on the first surface of the rigid substrate (see Fig. 3; the light absorption layer necessarily has to be formed before the flexible film is formed because it is between the rigid substrate and the flexible film); wherein the first light absorbing portion is in the display region and on one side of the display region close to the bending region (see Fig. 3), and the first light absorption portion is configured to absorb light comprising a waveband of a laser light (paragraph 130); wherein the boundary of the side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and the boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region have a preset distance (d2) therebetween”.”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129).
Um does not specifically teach “a second portion between a boundary of one side of the first light absorption portion close to the bending region and a boundary of the side of the display region close to the bending region”.
However, Kwon teaches a buffer adhesive (500) with a second portion (515, 535) at a location (see Kwon Fig. 3) wherein the second portion would lie in the space between the first light absorption portion (see Yu Fig. 3) and the boundary of the side of the display region (see Kwon Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the display apparatus of Um in view of Yu with the second portion of the buffer adhesive taught by Kwon in order to protect from impacts (Kwon paragraph 86).
With respect to claim 35: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the method according to claim 34 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “further comprising: forming a second light absorption portion on the first surface of the rigid substrate before forming the flexible film layer on the first surface of the rigid substrate; wherein the second light absorbing portion is in the bonding region and on one side of the bonding region close to the bending region, and the second light absorption portion is configured to absorb light comprising a waveband of a laser light”.
However, Yu teaches “further comprising: forming a second light absorption portion (652) on the first surface of the rigid substrate (502) before forming the flexible film layer on the first surface of the rigid substrate (see Fig. 3; the light absorption layer necessarily has to be formed before the flexible film is formed because it is between the rigid substrate and the flexible film); wherein the second light absorbing portion is in the bonding region and on one side of the bonding region close to the bending region (see Fig. 3), and the second light absorption portion is configured to absorb light comprising a waveband of a laser light (paragraph 130); wherein the first light absorption portion and the second light absorption portion are formed at the same time (in the Fig. 16 embodiment, at least, the two light absorption portions are necessarily formed at the same time since they are combined as layer 650)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129).
With respect to claim 36: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 19 (see above)”.
Um teaches “no light absorption portion is provided in the bending region (see Figs. 13)
With respect to claim 37: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display apparatus according to claim 33 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the display substrate further comprises: a second light absorption portion in the bonding region and on one side of the bonding region close to the bending region; wherein the second light absorption portion is on the side of the rigid substrate facing away from the flexible film layer or on the side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer, wherein a material of the first light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material; and/or a material of the second light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material”.
However, Yu teaches “a second light absorption portion (652) in the bonding region (932) and on one side of the bonding region close to the bending region (see Fig. 2); wherein the second light absorption portion is on the side of the rigid substrate (502) facing away from the flexible film layer or on the side of the rigid substrate facing the flexible film layer (see Fig. 2); wherein a material of the first light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material; and/or a material of the second light absorption portion comprises an inorganic material (paragraph 22)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Um with the light absorption portion of Yu in order to prevent patterns caused by the edges of the rigid substrates from being visible from the outside (Yu paragraph 129).
With respect to claim 38: Um in view of Yu teaches “the display apparatus according to claim 37 (see above)”.
Um further teaches “further comprising a flexible circuit board in the bonding region (100); wherein the flexible circuit board in the bonding region is disposed on a side of the second sub-rigid substrate away from the first sub-rigid substrate (see Figs. 13b, 13c)”.
With respect to claim 39: Um in view of Yu and Kwon teaches “the display substrate according to claim 19 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the preset distance is less than 20 µm”.
However, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the present case, the separation distance of less than 20 µm appears to be a measure of the alignment accuracy of the manufacturing equipment (specification paragraph 63), which is a similar reason given for the separation distance described by Yu (Yu paragraph 137).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the display substrate of Um by selecting a preset distance sufficient to ensure enough space for the light absorption portion as taught by Yu (Yu paragraph 137).
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Um in view of Yu and Kwon as applied to claims 19-21 above, and further in view of Namkung et al. (US 2015/0263300 A1) and Lee et al. (US 2016/0126224 A1).
With respect to claim 24: Um in view of Yu and Kwonteaches “the display substrate according to claim 21 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the opening is formed by adopting a laser lift-off technology; wherein the inorganic material comprises a semiconductor material, and a band gap Eg of the semiconductor material meets the following conditions: Eg≤hkc/λ; wherein λ is a wavelength of laser light used when a laser lift-off technology is used to form the opening, h is a Planck constant, k is a constant a value of k is 1.6*10-19J/eV, and c is a speed of light”.
However, Namkung teaches that a laser lift-off technology may be used to form the opening (III) in a similar display substrate (see Figs. 3b-3c), and Lee teaches a laser-lift off method in which a light absorption portion (1102) comprises inorganic materials having a band gap smaller than that of the laser (paragraph 172), which is what the claim requires (Eg=hc/λ is the generic equation for band gap and applicant’s value for k is merely the conversion factor from eV to J. Accordingly, the equation Eg≤hkc/λ means that the materials have a band gap smaller than that of the laser).
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to form the opening in Yu’s display using a laser lift-off method as suggested by Namkung due to the art recognized suitability of the laser for the purpose of forming such openings (Namkung paragraph 90) and to include inorganic materials having a band gap smaller than that of the laser as suggested by Lee in order to protect the light emitting elements on the display substrate from the laser (Lee paragraph 169).
With respect to claim 25: Um in view of Yu, Kwon, Namkung and Lee teaches “the display substrate according to claim 24 (see above)”.
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the semiconductor material comprises a metal oxide semiconductor or a silicon semiconductor”.
However, Lee teaches “wherein the semiconductor material comprises a metal oxide semiconductor (paragraph 172) or a silicon semiconductor”
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to form the opening in Um’s display using a laser lift-off method as suggested by Namkung due to the art recognized suitability of the laser for the purpose of forming such openings (Namkung paragraph 90) and to include inorganic materials having a band gap smaller than that of the laser as suggested by Lee in order to protect the light emitting elements on the display substrate from the laser (Lee paragraph 169).
With respect to claim 26: Um in view of Yu, Kwon, Namkung and Lee teaches “the display substrate according to claim 25 (see above),
Um does not specifically teach “wherein the silicon semiconductor comprises polycrystalline silicon or monocrystalline silicon”.
However, Lee teaches “wherein the silicon semiconductor comprises polycrystalline silicon or monocrystalline silicon (the silicon semiconductor and metal oxide semiconductor were presented in the alternative, thus only one of the two is needed to anticipate the limitation “wherein the semiconductor material comprises a metal oxide semiconductor or a silicon semiconductor, wherein the silicon semiconductor comprises polycrystalline silicon or monocrystalline silicon”, which is taught by Lee’s disclosure of metal oxide semiconductors)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to form the opening in Yu’s display using a laser lift-off method as suggested by Namkung due to the art recognized suitability of the laser for the purpose of forming such openings (Namkung paragraph 90) and to include inorganic materials having a band gap smaller than that of the laser as suggested by Lee in order to protect the light emitting elements on the display substrate from the laser (Lee paragraph 169).
With respect to claim 27: Um in view of Yu, Kwon, Namkung and Lee teaches “the display substrate according to claim 26 (see above)”.
Um does not teach “wherein a thickness of the first light absorption portion is 300 angstroms to 3000 angstroms; and a thickness of the second light absorption portion is 300 angstroms to 3000 angstroms”.
However, Lee teaches “wherein a thickness of the first light absorption portion is 300 angstroms to 3000 angstroms (paragraph 173); and a thickness of the second light absorption portion is 300 angstroms to 3000 angstroms (paragraph 173)”.
It would have been obvious at the time that application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light absorption portion of Um in view of Yu to the thickness taught by Lee in order to provide the protection function described by Lee (Lee paragraph 173).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 20090021666 A1), which teaches a folding display.
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875