Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-6 of Application No. 18/262,844. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-8 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-8 of copending Application No. 18/262,844 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
18/262,807
18/262,844
1. A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a first reference signal and a second reference signal, wherein the first reference signal is periodic and is used for a first purpose of a measurement related to a radio link management, and the second reference signal is used for a second purpose different from the first purpose; and
a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the second reference signal,
wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied.
1. A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a first reference signal and a second reference signal, wherein the first reference signal is periodic and is used for a first purpose of a measurement related to a radio link management, and the second reference signal is used for a second purpose different from the first purpose; and
a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the second reference signal,
wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied.
Similarly, claims 3, 5 and 7-8 of the two Applications recite exactly the same claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 recites “a receiver that receives a first reference signal” and “wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal” Applicant’s original Specification does not disclose that a receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal, let alone that a receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal and also receives the first reference signal. Applicant’s Specification discloses only that the gNB may omit at least part of the transmission of the first RS (see, for example, paragraph [0097]). Omitting a transmission is not the same as omitting reception of a signal. In order for reception of a signal to be omitted, the signal would have to exist in some way (such as being transmitted or scheduled).
Claim 5 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 1.
For purposes of Examination, the claims are interpreted to mean that a transmission is omitted.
Claims 1 recites “wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied.” Applicant’s original Specification does not disclose that a the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied. Applicant’s Specification does not use the phrase “in response to” at all. Further, Applicant’s Specification discloses only that the gNB may omit at least part of the transmission of the first RS WHEN the specific condition is satisfied (see, for example, paragraph [0097]). Accordingly, there is no disclosed dependence between omitting a transmission of the first RS and the condition being satisfied. This interpretation is further supported by paragraph [0098] of Applicant’s Specification and by claim 7, which recites that “the specific condition includes a condition under which the measurement related to the radio link management using the second reference signal is performed within a specific period.” A determination, by a base station, that a measurement is performed by the UE during a specific time interval, cannot occur before the instructions for that time interval (scheduling DCI discussed in paragraph [0095]) are transmitted by the base station to the UE.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 1.
In order to overcome this rejection, Applicant is advised to amend the claims to use the term “when” instead of the phrase “in response to,” in accordance with the disclosures of Applicant’s Specification.
For purposes of Examination, the claims are interpreted to use the term “when” instead of the phrase “in response to.”
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a receiver that receives a first reference signal” and “wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal” These two limitations both recite the same “first reference signal” is both received and omitted. Accordingly, the limitations contradict each other. It would not have been be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would the same “first reference signal” could be both received and omitted. If the reception is conditional, then conditional language should be used in the claim, in such a way that is supported by Applicant’s original Specification. Alternatively, if the reception and omission occur in different time periods for a particular type of reference signal, then that should be recited in the claims, in such a way that is supported by Applicant’s original Specification.
Claim 5 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected because it depends from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “a transmitter that transmits a first reference signal” and “wherein the transmitter omits a transmission of the first reference signal” These two limitations both recite the same “first reference signal” is both transmitted and omitted. Accordingly, the limitations contradict each other, in substantially the same way as claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (US 2020/0037332).
Regarding claim 1, Da Silva discloses a terminal (Da Silva, paragraph [0075], wireless device configured to communicate with a base station) comprising:
a receiver that receives a first reference signal and a second reference signal, wherein the first reference signal is periodic and is used for a first purpose of a measurement related to a radio link management, and the second reference signal is used for a second purpose different from the first purpose (Da Silva, Figs. 5, 22, 24, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0026], PDCCH quality estimated based on signal strength of CRS; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0063], performing RLM based on the same periodic RSs configured to support connected mobility; paragraph [0086], if data is scheduled, the UE should use PDCCH DMRSs to compute quality estimates, the UE may measure an additional source such as SS Block RS, PSS/SSS/TSS or DMRS for PBCH, CSI-RSs); and
a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the second reference signal (Da Silva, Figs. 5, 22, 24, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0063], performing RLM based on the same periodic RSs configured to support connected mobility),
wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied (Da Silva, paragraph [0012], CRSs not transmitted in all subframes; paragraph 0024], UE can measure serving cell quality without always-on reference signals in some subframes and bands; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0070], when no PDCCH is scheduled for that UE, the network may configure UE with a UE-specific RS transmission, can be DMRS or a dummy PDCCH transmission; paragraph [0086], if data is scheduled, the UE should use PDCCH DMRSs to compute quality estimates. Within the same period, the UE may measure an additional source such as SS Block RS, PSS/SSS/TSS or DMRS for PBCH, CSI-RSs; paragraph [0089], UE should start searching for additional sources if the primary source is not present in a given time interval; paragraph [0131], when the UE is not scheduled with any PDCCH, the network may transmit MRS, SS or CSI-RS so UE can detect such beam for RLM).
Regarding claim 2, Da Silva discloses a terminal (Da Silva, paragraph [0075], wireless device configured to communicate with a base station) comprising:
a receiver that receives a notification indicating measurement using a dynamic reference signal dynamically transmitted as a reference signal used for a measurement related to a radio link management and receives the dynamic reference signal (Da Silva, Fig. 5, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs and additional reference signals, possibly periodic; paragraph [0071], RLM measurements based on dynamic and opportunistic UE-specific configuration of data and control channels); and
a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the dynamic reference signal based on the notification after a predetermined minimum delay (Da Silva, Figs. 5, 8, 22, 24, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs and additional reference signals, possibly periodic; paragraph [0071], RLM measurements based on dynamic and opportunistic UE-specific configuration of data and control channels; paragraph [0089], UE should start searching for additional sources if the primary source is not present in a given time interval).
Regarding claim 3, Da Silva discloses a base station (Da Silva, paragraph [0075], wireless device configured to communicate with a base station) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits a first reference signal and a second reference signal, wherein the first reference signal is periodic and is used for a first purpose of a measurement related to a radio link management, and the second reference signal is used for a second purpose different from the first purpose (Da Silva, Figs. 5, 22, 24, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0026], PDCCH quality estimated based on signal strength of CRS; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0063], performing RLM based on the same periodic RSs configured to support connected mobility; paragraph [0086], if data is scheduled, the UE should use PDCCH DMRSs to compute quality estimates, the UE may measure an additional source such as SS Block RS, PSS/SSS/TSS or DMRS for PBCH, CSI-RSs); and
a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the second reference signal (Da Silva, Figs. 5, 22, 24, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0063], performing RLM based on the same periodic RSs configured to support connected mobility),
wherein the transmitter omits a transmission of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied (Da Silva, paragraph [0012], CRSs not transmitted in all subframes; paragraph 0024], UE can measure serving cell quality without always-on reference signals in some subframes and bands; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0070], when no PDCCH is scheduled for that UE, the network may configure UE with a UE-specific RS transmission, can be DMRS or a dummy PDCCH transmission; paragraph [0086], if data is scheduled, the UE should use PDCCH DMRSs to compute quality estimates. Within the same period, the UE may measure an additional source such as SS Block RS, PSS/SSS/TSS or DMRS for PBCH, CSI-RSs; paragraph [0089], UE should start searching for additional sources if the primary source is not present in a given time interval; paragraph [0131], when the UE is not scheduled with any PDCCH, the network may transmit MRS, SS or CSI-RS so UE can detect such beam for RLM).
Regarding claim 4, Da Silva discloses a base station (Da Silva, paragraph [0075], wireless device configured to communicate with a base station) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits a notification indicating measurement using a dynamic reference signal dynamically transmitted as a reference signal used for a measurement related to a radio link management and transmits the dynamic reference signal (Da Silva, Fig. 5, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs and additional reference signals, possibly periodic; paragraph [0071], RLM measurements based on dynamic and opportunistic UE-specific configuration of data and control channels); and
a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the dynamic reference signal based on the notification after a predetermined minimum delay (Da Silva, Figs. 5, 8, 22, 24, transceiver, processing circuit; paragraph [0025], RLM measurement sources may be two or more different reference signals; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs and additional reference signals, possibly periodic; paragraph [0071], RLM measurements based on dynamic and opportunistic UE-specific configuration of data and control channels; paragraph [0089], UE should start searching for additional sources if the primary source is not present in a given time interval).
Claim 5 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Da Silva discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the specific condition includes a condition under which the measurement related to the radio link management using the second reference signal is performed within a specific period (Da Silva, paragraph [0012], CRSs not transmitted in all subframes; paragraph 0024], UE can measure serving cell quality without always-on reference signals in some subframes and bands; paragraph [0027], UE can use for RLM, PDCCH, DMRSs, PDCCH indications and additional reference signals, possibly periodic, when data is not scheduled; paragraph [0070], when no PDCCH is scheduled for that UE, the network may configure UE with a UE-specific RS transmission, can be DMRS or a dummy PDCCH transmission; paragraph [0086], if data is scheduled, the UE should use PDCCH DMRSs to compute quality estimates. Within the same period, the UE may measure an additional source such as SS Block RS, PSS/SSS/TSS or DMRS for PBCH, CSI-RSs; paragraph [0089], UE should start searching for additional sources if the primary source is not present in a given time interval; paragraph [0131], when the UE is not scheduled with any PDCCH, the network may transmit MRS, SS or CSI-RS so UE can detect such beam for RLM).
Claim 8 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 10, 2025 and December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the scope of the claims of Applications 18/262,807 and 18/262,844 are different. However, this is incorrect. Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-8 are the same in both Applications.
Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Da Silva does not disclose wherein the receiver omits a reception of the first reference signal in response to a specific condition being satisfied. However, this is incorrect. Firstly, as discussed in the 112 rejections above, that limitation is not disclosed in Applicant’s original Specification, and is also indefinite. Secondly, Da Silva does disclose that limitation, as discussed in the 102 rejections above.
Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Da Silva does not disclose a processor that performs the measurement related to the radio link management using the dynamic reference signal based on the notification after a predetermined minimum delay. However, this is incorrect. Da Silva discloses, for example in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0089], UE should start searching for additional sources if the primary source is not present in a given time interval.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419