DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I and a species that is compound 2-1 (as below) in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Examiner has searched the above compound and additionally expanded the search to a species wherein R2 is F instead of Cl.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 19-21 are examined herein. Claims 2, 4-6, 8-9, 13, 15-18, and 22-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/11/2025.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 12/11/2023, that the instant application 18/262,821 filed 07/25/2023 is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/074328 filed 01/27/2022, which claims foreign priority of CN202110159956.6 filed 02/05/2021, CN202110533304.4 filed 05/17/2021, CN202110718245.8 filed 06/28/2021, CN202110936768.X filed 08/16/2021, and CN202111355330.9 filed 11/16/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 07/02/2024, 07/15/2024, 04/30/2025, 07/17/2025, 09/26/2025, and 12/22/2025 have been considered in full except CN 115990269 A, cited in the IDS filed 07/02/2024, for which no copy of the foreign reference was filed. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “nitrogen oxide…thereof”. However, nitrogen oxide is a gas. It is unclear how a “nitrogen oxide” of the claimed compounds could be formed. Clarification is required.
Claim 7 recites the following compounds.
Compounds 4-14 and 4-15 are not within the scope of claim 1 because A is not
. Compounds 5-13 through 5-18 are not within the scope of claim 1 because the carbocyclic ring formed by R3 and the carbon ortho to R1 cannot be further substituted by methyl. The scope of claim 7 is therefore unclear. Correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “comprising the same”. The limitation “the same” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear to what “the same” refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a compound, pharmaceutically acceptable salt, or stereoisomer thereof, does not reasonably provide enablement for an ester, polymorph, solvate, nitrogen oxide, isotope-labeled product, metabolite, or prodrug thereof. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims are drawn to compounds of the generic formula as in claim 1 or an ester, polymorph, solvate, nitrogen oxide, isotope-labeled product, metabolite, or prodrug thereof. However, the numerous examples presented all failed to produce an ester, polymorph, solvate, nitrogen oxide, isotope-labeled product, metabolite, or prodrug. These cannot be simply willed into existence, nor are they considered predictable. Moreover, the terms “metabolite” and “prodrug” convey no particular structure recognized in the art, such that one of ordinary skill would not be able to predict the identities of these compounds, while esters and isotope-labeled products can result in substitutions at many locations that could reduce or eliminate the activity of the compound itself. As was stated in Morton International Inc. v. Cardinal Chemical Co., 28 USPQ2d 1190 “The specification purports to teach, with over fifty examples, the preparation of the claimed compounds with the required connectivity.” Hence, applicants must show that an ester, polymorph, solvate, nitrogen oxide, isotope-labeled product, metabolite, or prodrug of the claimed compounds can be made, or limit the claims accordingly.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 11 is directed toward a kit comprising the compound of claim 1, optionally wherein the kit comprises an additional therapeutic agent as a second therapeutic agent. The specification does not define or otherwise provide guidance regarding that which is intended in the use of a “second therapeutic agent”, nor are any exemplary compounds or medicaments considered by the instant disclosure. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of compounds that are therapeutic to some degree. It is unclear what therapeutic agents the inventors consider combinable with the instantly claimed compound.
The applicants may only claim whatever he or she regards as his or her invention, i.e., the applicant may not claim subject matter that he or she does not regard as his or her invention. The use of “second therapeutic agent” does not set forth that which the applicants regard as their invention. Patent Protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable. Tossing out the mere germ of an idea does not constitute enabling disclosure. Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk 42 USPQ2d 1001.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Masuda et al. (WO2014057687A1; 2014).
Masuda et al. discloses the following compound (Abstract).
The compound is within the scope of claim 1 wherein R1 is methyl, R2 is fluoro (halogen), R3 forms a 6-membered carbocyclic ring with an ortho-carbon atom of R1, and R4- R6 are hydrogen. Claims 10 and 11 necessarily require the above compound and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al. (WO2014057687A1; 2014) as applied to claims 1 and 10-11 above.
Masuda et al. discloses the compound as in the above rejection. Masuda et al. additionally discloses that the compound is an anti-tumor compound to be conjugated with an antibody and used as an anti-tumor agent (abstract).
Masuda et al. does not disclose a compound wherein R2 is Cl, as in the elected compound 2-1. This limitation is obvious over Masuda et al.
It has been previously established that halogens are equivalent substitutions for each other. Ex parte Wiseman, 98 USPQ 277 (1953). Moreover, the presence of a true homologous or isomeric relationship is not controlling when establishing prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.09). Absent surprising or unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the fluoro group for a chloro group in the compound disclosed by Masuda et al., in order to arrive at instantly claimed compound 2-1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 19-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10, and 20-21 of copending Application No. 19/279,242 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '242 application are narrower than, and therefore anticipate, the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7, and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 17-18 of copending Application No. 19/279,201 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '201 application are narrower than, and therefore anticipate, the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, and 19-21 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/846,709 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '709 application substantially overlap with the instant claims, such that it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/M.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624 01/12/2026
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624