DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 09/28/2026 has been considered and entered. The response was considered but not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 23 – 25, 27, 30, 31, 33 – 36, 38, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Graupner (WO 03/076554)
In regard to claim 18, Graupner teaches gasoline additives comprising hydrocarbyl amine for reducing injector nozzle fouling in a direct injection spark ignition engine. The hydrocarbyl group of the hydrocarbyl amine is linear or branched (page 3 lines 26 – 35). The hydrocarbylamine has a linear or branched hydrocarbyl group with molecular weight of from 140 to 255 (i.e., equivalent to C10 to C18 alkyl) and is useful in fuel at effective amounts that can be determined by routine testing by persons of skill in the art (abstract, page 4 lines 7 – 13, page 5 lines 3 – 11).
Therefore, the amount of the hydrocarbylamine in a concentrate (additive package) would be results effective. The use of additive packages for addition of the additives of Graupner into the fuel is conventional and obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art. The composition can comprise various conventional additives including antioxidants, detergents (dispersants), corrosion inhibitors, diluents, carrier fluids etc. (page 7 lines 1 – 6). Thus, the process of improving formulability and stability of a fuel additive composition by blending the composition with the hydrocarbylamine as claimed is provided.
The hydrocarbylamine is preferably linear C9-17 alkylamine of a formula (I) (page 4 lines 1 – 6). Since linear and branched hydrocarbyl groups are taught, it appears that branched C13 alkylamines would be quickly envisaged or would be obvious. Such groups would be expected to have the branching properties of the claim. Even, where the branching properties as claimed are overlapped, obviousness exists.
In regard to claims 23, 31, Graupner teaches the method and composition which further comprises conventional additives such as detergent (dispersants) etc., as discussed in US 5,855,629 by Grundy et al. which is incorporated by reference (Graupner, page 7 lines 1 – 7). Grundy recites additives such as Mannich reaction products in minor amounts of 10% or less or 0.1% or less (column 9 lines 39 – 56). Graupner teaches the gasoline composition having conventional additives but does not particularly recite the quaternary additive of the claim.
Greenfield et al. (US 2017/0107438) is added to teach the claimed additive. Greenfield teaches quaternary ammonium salts useful in fuel or lubricant composition for use in internal combustion engines [abstract, 0001]. The composition is useful for reducing or preventing injector deposits [0032 – 0036]. The fuel is gasoline or diesel composition and comprises the imide quaternary salt (imide quat) in amounts of 5 to 1000 ppm [0028]. The imide can have cations of the structures below
While the anion is not particularly recited, quaternary ammonium compounds intrinsically comprises anions. Greenfield teaches compounds are prepared using C4 to C10 hydrocarbyl containing dicarboxylic (i.e., polycarboxylic) acids or their anhydrides or C1 to C5 alcohol-derived mono or diesters [0048]. The remnant of the dicarboxylic acid, anhydride or ester forms the anion equivalent to A- of the claim.
Thus, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were filed would have found it obvious to have used the quaternary ammonium salt of Greenfield in the composition of Graupner, as Greenfield teaches that they are useful for improving injector deposits in gasoline compositions similar to the purpose of Graupner.
In regard to claims 24, 25, 27, 30, 34, 35, Graupner in view of Greenfield teaches the composition comprising the ammonium compound of the claim. Greenfield teaches compounds are prepared using C4 to C10 hydrocarbyl containing dicarboxylic (i.e., polycarboxylic) acids or their anhydrides or C1 to C5 alcohol-derived mono or diesters [0048]. The remnant of the dicarboxylic acid, anhydride or ester forms the anion equivalent to A- of the claims. The hydrocarbyl group of the quaternizing agent is equivalent to R5 of the claims. The groups attached to the quaternary nitrogen (N+) are equivalent to the 4 organic residues of claim 23. Each of R6, R7 and R8 are preferably hydrocarbon comprising at least 20 carbon atoms and are equivalent to R2 to R4 of the claims. The group equivalent to R2 of the claim is R23-imide-R24 [0089, 0090]. The hydrocarbyl group (R24) attached to the imide is polyisobutylene (PIB) and has a number average molecular weight of from 1300 to 3000 [0049, 0221 – 0223].
In regard to claim 33, Graupner teaches the gasoline composition having the branched alkylamine having the claimed limitation as previously discussed.
In regard to claim 36, Graupner in view of Greenfield teaches the composition. Greenfield teaches the quaternizing agent is an oxalate such as dimethyl oxalate [0011].
In regard to claims 38, 39, Graupner teaches the composition can comprise nitrogen-detergent including polyalkenyl polyamines such as polyisobutylene polyamine and wherein the nitrogen-based detergents can have hydrocarbyl groups with molecular weights of 750 to 6000 (page 7 lines 19 – 25). The polyisobutylene are prepared from isobutene. The claimed products are taught, and the process of forming them does not carry patentable weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 40 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art on the record by Graupner (WO 03/076554) or Greenfield et al. (US 2017/0107438) fails to teach the claimed additive structures.
Claims 26, 28, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Graupner fails to teach branched C13 alkylamines as claimed. The argument is not persuasive.
Graupner teaches hydrocarbyl amines having molecular weights of from 140 to 255 daltons which encompasses linear or branched C10 to C18 alkyl groups. Thus, while linear alkyl groups are preferred, both are encompassed by the molecular weights provided.
Applicant argues that the use C13 branched alkylamine in oil is superior and unexpected better than the corresponding linear alkylamines as discussed in the declaration by Marc Walter dated 07/24/2026. The declaration has been considered. The argument is not persuasive.
The inventive examples in the declaration are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
While the claims teach branching of at least 1, the inventive examples are drawn to a specific compound having a specific branching index value which does not support the breadth of the claims.
While the claims can allow for the use of the concentrate in fuels at broad amounts, the inventive examples are strictly drawn to the concentrate itself which does not support the breadth of claims drawn to the presence of the concentrate in fuels.
The very narrow examples having the narrower branching index appears to demonstrate superior properties for the undiluted concentrate itself, but not for fuel composition comprising the concentrate, and which appears to support unexpected results within that scope. However, the scope of the claims and inventive examples are not commensurate.
Thus, applicant fails to provide an inventive exampled that are commensurate in scope with the claims for demonstrating unexpected results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771