Response to Amendment
The following Office action in response to communications received November 7, 2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 55-59 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-13, 16-17, 23-24, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 36-38, 40, 42-43, 45, 47, 53 and 55-59 are pending and addressed below.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are not sufficient to overcome the rejections set forth in the previous office action dated July 31, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-13, 16-17, 23-24, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 36-38, 40, 42-43, 45, 47, 53 and 55-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claims as a whole, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter which do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of the following analysis:
Independent Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea comprising deployment station for collecting, analyzing and reporting readiness information of emergency devices.
Independent Claim 1 recites “holding at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus comprising a plurality of medical supplies; holding at least one defibrillator comprising electronic circuitry to administer electrotherapy; and indicating a readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator based on obtained readiness information; and obtaining the readiness information of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator; determining readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator based on the obtained readiness information; updating based on the determined readiness; and transmitting a readiness signal representing the readiness of the at least emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator for maintaining the readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator.”
The limitations of Claim 1, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of a Mental Process which are concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting, “a housing containing the first storage section and the second storage section, the housing comprising: a readiness indicator for indicating a readiness of emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the defibrillator, at least one processor and memory mechanically coupled to the housing and communicatively coupled to the readiness indicator, a server for maintaining a database” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “readiness indicator” language, “indicating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually checking the status readiness of emergency medical treatment and/or the guidance apparatus and/or the defibrillator based on obtained readiness information. Similarly, the obtaining, readiness information of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of using a “a housing containing the first storage section and the second storage section, the housing comprising: a readiness indicator for indicating a readiness of emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the defibrillator, at least one processor and memory mechanically coupled to the housing and communicatively coupled to the readiness indicator, a server for maintaining a database” to perform all of the “holding, housing, indicating, obtaining, determining, updating and transmitting” steps. The “a housing containing the first storage section and the second storage section, the housing comprising: a readiness indicator for indicating a readiness of emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the defibrillator, at least one processor and memory mechanically coupled to the housing and communicatively coupled to the readiness indicator, a server for maintaining a database” is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of executing computer-executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 has the following additional elements (i.e., a housing containing the first storage section and the second storage section, the housing comprising: a readiness indicator for indicating a readiness of emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the defibrillator, at least one processor and memory mechanically coupled to the housing and communicatively coupled to the readiness indicator, a server for maintaining a database). Looking to the specification, these components are described at a high level of generality (¶ 61-62; The deployment stations 102 include computer electronics that allow the deployment stations 102 to communicate with a database hosted by a server 120. The server 120 and the database are part of the readiness management system 100. For example, the deployment stations 102 transmits inventory information, readiness information, and/or usage information of the emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatuses 104 and/or defibrillators 106 within the deployment stations 102 to the server 120 for storage in the database. As part of the readiness management system 100, the server 120 communicates with readiness management devices 130 such as mobile devices 132 (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, a smartwatch, among others) and/or a computer 134 (e.g., a laptop, a desktop, among others). The use of a general-purpose computer, taken alone, does not impose any meaningful limitation on the computer implementation of the abstract idea, so it does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Also, although the claims add “(storage)” steps, it is only considered as insignificant extrasolution activity. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. The combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology and their collective functions merely provide a conventional computer implementation of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than a recitation of generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, as the courts have found in Parker v. Flook. Therefore, there are no limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
It is worth noting that the above analysis already encompasses each of the current dependent claims (i.e., claims 2-3, 7-8, 11-13, 16-17, 23-24, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 36-38, 40, 42-43, 45, 47, 53 and 55-59). Particularly, each of the dependent claims also fails to amount to “significantly more’ than the abstract idea since each dependent claim is directed to a further abstract idea, and/or a further conventional computer element/function utilized to facilitate the abstract idea. Accordingly, none of the current claims implements an element—or a combination of elements—directed to an inventive concept (e.g., none of the current claims is reciting an element—or a combination of elements—that provides a technological improvement over the existing/conventional technology). These information characteristics do not change the fundamental analogy to the abstract idea grouping of “Mental Processes,” and, when viewed individually or as a whole, they do not add anything substantial beyond the abstract idea. Furthermore, the combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Therefore, the claims when taken as a whole are ineligible for the same reasons as the independent claims.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-13, 16-17, 23-24, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 36-38, 40, 42-43, 45, 47, 53 and 55-59 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, 53 and 55-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20060149322 A1 to Merry et al. (hereinafter Merry) in view of WO 2017055953 A2 to CHAO PEI-YIN et al. (hereinafter CHAO PEI-YIN)
As per claim 1, Merry discloses a deployment station for portable emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatuses (see para (0008) - 'a system for managing status information may include one or more medical devices'), the deployment station comprising:
-- a first storage section (Fig. 1 - see unused space around defibrillator 12) for holding at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus comprising a plurality of medical supplies (see para (0123) - 'the invention may be practiced with a ... first aid kit, or other medical device' - the first storage section is considered capable of holding at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus),
-- a second storage section (14, Fig. 1: see para (0040) - 'compartment 14 that receives AED 10' - see section taken up by AED 10) for holding at least one defibrillator comprising electronic circuitry to administer electrotherapy (see para (0040) - 'compartment 14 that receives AED 10'): and
-- a housing (12, Fig. 1; see para (0040) - 'docking station 12') containing the first storage section
(Fig. 1 - see unused space around defibrillator 12) and the second storage section (14, Fig. 1; see para (0040) - 'compartment 14 that receives AED 10' - see section taken up by AED 10), the housing comprising:
-- a readiness indicator (see para (0067) - 'AED 64 and docking station 66 may be either of the embodiments depicted in Figs. 1'; 94, Fig. 3; see para (0094) - 'one or more status indicators 94') disposed on an exterior surface of the housing (Fig. 1; see para (0094) - 'status indicators 94 may include AED status output elements 24' - see output elements 24 on exterior of housing) for indicating a readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator based on obtained readiness information (see para (0094) - 'status indicators 94 may convey status information pertaining to AED 66, status information pertaining to docking station 66'; see para (0123) - 'invention may be practiced with a portable stroke apparatus...or a first aid kit'); and
-- at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see para (0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see para (0094) - 'memory 92') mechanically coupled to the housing (Fig. 3 - see how processor and memory are within housing 66) and communicatively coupled to the readiness indicator (Fig. 3 - see how the indicator 94 are communicatively coupled to the processor and the memory), the at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see para (0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see para (0094) - 'memory 92') configured for:
-- obtaining the readiness information of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator (see para (0071) - 'processor 67 can be configured to perform a number of functions, such as controlling communication with status monitor...configured to evaluate the device status...generate an inspection indication');
-- determining readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator based on the obtained readiness information (see para (0071) - 'processor 67 can be configured to perform a number of functions, such as controlling communication with status monitor...configured to evaluate the device status...generate an inspection indication');
-- updating the readiness indicator based on the determined readiness (see para (0071) - 'processor 67 can be configured to perform a number of functions, such as controlling communication with status monitor...configured to evaluate the device status...generate an inspection indication' - the processor and memory of Merry is considered capable of updating readiness indictor): and
-- transmitting a readiness signal representing the readiness of the at least emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator to a server for maintaining a database of the readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator (see para (0084) - 'status monitor 62 further provides a central point for collecting, aggregating and recording information about authorized maintenance inspection certification, and the locations of medical devices within the system 60').
Merry fails to explicitly teach:
-- the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus being configured for use with interactive treatment guidance for a user to treat at least one patient using the plurality of medical supplies.
CHAO PEI-YIN teaches in one embodiment, the user interface comprises at least one of a touch screen display, an optical display, a microphone, a keypad, a keyboard, a pointing device, an image capture device, a video camera, an audio output device, and an input/output device. The user interface is further configured to provide at least a portion of the real-time individualized or patient-specific treatment guidance for at least one aspect of the emergency treatment of the subject (see CHAO PEI-YIN et al. para 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include systems/methods as taught by reference CHAO PEI-YIN within the systems/methods as taught by reference Merry with the motivation of providing via suitable means of the portable medical device to the first responder or rescuer, e.g., through an augmented reality overlay as discussed further herein, showing to the first responder or rescuer where he or she should place the adhesive electrode pads for optimal defibrillation (see CHAO PEI-YIN para 51).
As per Claim 2, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the housing (66, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0067) - 'docking station 66') further comprises at least one sensor (71, 785, Fig. 3; see para (0074) - 'sensor 71'; see Merry para (0076) - 'tracking element 75') for obtaining the readiness information of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator (see Merry para (0074) - 'can be any element that senses the presence, absence, removal or replacement'), the at least one processor and memory configured for receiving a signal from the at least one sensor (Merry Fig. 3 - see how the processor and memory are connected to the sensor and can receive a signal from said sensor).
As per Claim 3, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see para (0094) - 'memory 92') is configured for identifying the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance and the at least one defibrillator based on identification information obtained from the at least one sensor (see para (0076) - 'tracking element 75 can be a stationary RFID detector' - this would enable the sensor to identify at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance and the at least one defibrillator').
As per Claim 11, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein determining readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator comprises:
-- receiving an indication from the at least one defibrillator regarding whether the at least one defibrillator has passed a self-diagnostic test (see Merry para (0089) - 'self-diagnostic module 84 is a processor that executes one or more self-diagnostics routines...evaluate and identify matters that can be customer serviceable').
As per Claim 12, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein determining readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator comprises:
-- querying the database to determine if a status report indicates a use of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus (see Merry para (0071) - 'detect removal of AED 64 from docking station...or replacement...processor 67 can be configured to communicate interrogation for device status').
As per Claim 13, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the at least one defibrillator comprises an automated external defibrillator (AED) (see Merry para (0040) - 'AED 10') and the AED (see Merry para (0040) - 'AED 10') comprises electronic circuity for performing a self-diagnostic capability to determine a status of the AED (see para (0089) - 'self-diagnostic module 84 is a processor that executes one or more self-diagnostics routines....evaluate and identify matters that can be customer serviceable'), and wherein the determined status is transmitted to the at least one processor of the deployment station (see Merry para (0090) - 'AED 64 may further communicate the status information to docking station 66') and the readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator is based on the determined status of the AED (see para (0094) - 'self-diagnostic module 90 may collect, aggregate or interpret status information received from AED 64'...may present some or all of the status information via one or more status indicators 94').
As per Claim 16, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the housing (12, Fig. 1; see Merry para (0040) - 'docking station 12') further comprises a charging system configured to charge the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus or the at least one defibrillator (see Merry para (0131) - 'a docking station may additionally serve as a recharging station'), and wherein the at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0094) - 'memory 92') is configured for:
-- receiving a battery status of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus or the at least one defibrillator (Merry Fig. 3 - the processor and memory of the housing is considered capable of receiving a battery status of at least one defibrillator), and
-- wherein the readiness is further based on the received battery status (see Merry para (0097) - 'docking station 66 is responsible for communicating with status monitor 62 and for supplying...status
information about AED 64').
As per Claim 31, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the housing (12, Fig. 1; see Merry para (0040) - 'docking station 12') further comprises:
-- a first mount located within the first storage section for releasably mounting the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus within the first storage section (Merry Fig. 1 - see unused space around defibrillator 12); and
-- a second mount (see Merry para (0066) - 'docking elements may include clamps lids, covers, trays, shelves, drawers, latches, and the like') located within the second storage section (14, Fig. 1; see Merry para (0040) - 'compartment 14 that receives AED 10' - see section taken up by AED 10) for releasably mounting the at least one defibrillator within the second storage section (see Merry para (0040) - the docking elements of Merry are inherently capable of releasably mounting as the defibrillator needs to be released for use). Merry does not specifically teach a first mount located within the first storage section for releasably mounting the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus within the first storage section. It is well known in the art that duplication of parts could have
been used to have arrived at a first mount located within the first storage section. Accordingly,
it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at having
another mount in the first storage section to be able to secure an emergency medical treatment and
guidance apparatus within the housing.
As per Claim 34, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see para (0094) - 'memory 92') is further configured for:
-- reading each of at least one RFID tag of a used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or a used defibrillator upon being returned to the deployment station (see para (0076) - 'RFID detector includes an antenna..."interrogates" an RFID tag'); and
-- identifying the used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or used defibrillator based on at least one of the at least
one RFID tag (see Merry para (0076) - the ROIG tag and detector of Merry is considered capable of identifying a used defibrillator based on the tag).
As per claim 38, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see Merry para [0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see Merry para [0094) - 'memory 92') is further configured for:
-- querying the database to determine whether a used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or a used defibrillator was used in a medical emergency upon being returned to the deployment station (see Merry para [0071) - 'processor 67 can...detect removal of AED 64 from docking station 66 or replacement of AED 64 in docking station 66; see Merry para [0082) - 'in the event AED 64 was not used, AED 64 can communicate ...no patient status information has been recorded'), and
-- wherein the readiness is based on whether used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or used defibrillator was used in a medical emergency (see Merry para [0071) - 'processor 67 is configured to evaluate the device status information.to determine whether AED 64 is in a condition to be returned to service').
As per Claim 40, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0071) - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see Merry para (0094) - 'memory 92') is further configured for transmitting a signal representing the readiness to a mobile device (see Merry para (0084) - 'AED 64 indicates at problem...input/output device 80 may automatically summon'; see Merry para (0087) - 'portable device such as a pager or personal digital assistant (PDA) may operate as input/output device 80') such that the signal causes the mobile device to trigger a mobile alert indicating the readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or the at least one defibrillator (see Merry para (0084) - 'configured to establish a communication link with another person or device...indicated a problem that may require a professional service call, input/out device 80 may automatically summon').
As per Claim 53, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the readiness indicator (24, Fig. 1; see Merry para (0094) - 'status indicators 94 include AED status output elements 24') is a first readiness indicator (Fig. 1 - see left output element 24) and the deployment station further comprises a second readiness indicator disposed on the exterior surface of the housing (Fig. 1 - see right output element 24 on exterior surface of housing 12) wherein updating the readiness indicator based on the determined readiness comprises:
-- updating the first readiness indicator based on a portion of the determined readiness relating to the determined readiness of a tablet device of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus; and updating the second readiness indicator based on a remainder portion of the determined readiness (see Merry para (0071) - 'processor 67 can be configured to perform a number of functions, such as controlling communication with status monitor...configured to evaluate the device status...generate an inspection indication' - the processor and memory of Merry is considered capable of updating readiness indictor).
As per Claim 55, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus is configured to provide real-time interactive instructions to provide emergency medical treatment (see CHAO PEI-YIN et al. para 15; in one embodiment, the user interface comprises at least one of a touch screen display, an optical display, a microphone, a keypad, a keyboard, a pointing device, an image capture device, a video camera, an audio output device, and an input/output device. The user interface is further configured to provide at least a portion of the real-time individualized or patient-specific treatment guidance for at least one aspect of the emergency treatment of the subject).
As per Claim 56, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor and memory is further configured for transmitting and/or receiving information from a user mobile device (see Merry para 76; One exemplary embodiment of trackable element 73 can be a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, and an exemplary embodiment of tracking element 75 can be a stationary RFID detector. An RFID tag is a wireless electronic device that includes an integrated circuit and a coil. The coil may act as a source of power, as a receiving antenna, and a transmitting antenna. The integrated circuit may include wireless communications components and memory. The RFID detector includes an antenna and a transceiver).
As per Claim 57, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 56, wherein the at least one processor and memory is further configured for:
-- determining whether the user mobile device has installed a mobile device application (see CHAO PEI-YIN para’s 10 and 52; Figure 5 illustrates an example of two screen display views of a medical ID or health medical passport app operating on a smartphone), and
-- prompting, upon determination that the user mobile device has not installed the mobile device application, the mobile device to install the mobile device application.
Examiner notes, CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the mobile device has installed a mobile device application, however there is no teaching in to specification of prompting, upon determination that the user mobile device has not installed the mobile device application. Therefore, Examiner has met the art requirement for claim.
As per Claim 58. The deployment station of claim 57, wherein the readiness signal is transmitted to the mobile device via the mobile device application (see para (0067) - 'AED 64 and docking station 66 may be either of the embodiments depicted in Figs. 1'; 94, Fig. 3; see para (0094) - 'one or more status indicators 94') disposed on an exterior surface of the housing (Fig. 1; see para (0094) - 'status indicators 94 may include AED status output elements 24' - see output elements 24 on exterior of housing) for indicating a readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator based on obtained readiness information (see para (0094) - 'status indicators 94 may convey status information pertaining to AED 66, status information pertaining to docking station 66'; see para (0123) - 'invention may be practiced with a portable stroke apparatus...or a first aid kit').
As per Claim 59. The deployment station of claim 56, wherein the information includes usage information of the medical supplies and/or the at least one defibrillator (see Merry para 101; When status monitor 62 receives the AED status information and the docking station status information, status monitor may update a status log (124). The status log, which may be stored in memory 82, may include status information pertaining to the readiness of AED 64 and docking station 66. The status log may also record inspection certifications, inspection indications, history of usage or information pertaining to maintenance, and the like. When status information received in response to an interrogation indicates a matter requiring prompt attention, status monitor 62 may generate an alarm (126) to notify the responsible person that corrective action, such as urgent repair or maintenance, may be required).
Claims 7 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, 53 and 55-59 above, and further in view of Pub. No.: US 20200375825 A1 to Gerstner (hereinafter Gerstner).
As per Claim 7, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN the deployment station of claim 1, wherein determining readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator (see Merry para (0094) - 'status indicators 94 may convey status information pertaining to AED 66, status information pertaining to docking station 66'; see Merry para (0123) - 'invention may be practiced with a portable stroke apparatus...or a first aid kit') comprises:
-- determining whether a battery of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus or the at least one defibrillator has a battery charge above a pre-determined threshold (see para (0049) - 'indicate whether AED 10 is in good working order, whether the battery is ready').
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly teach:
-- wherein the battery comprises a battery of a touch screen user interface of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus.
Gerstner teaches wherein the battery comprises a battery of a touch screen user interface (see para (0082)- 'interactive instructional device 14 may include...battery') of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus (10, Fig. 1; see para (0081) - 'portable medical triage kit 10').
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Gerstner with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing a station that is prepared for any emergency.
As per Claim 42, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the plurality of medical supplies includes at least one tourniquet, at least one chest seal, and at least one pair of gloves, and the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus is configured to provide an interactive query flow of medical instructions using at least some of the plurality of medical supplies.
Gerstner teaches wherein the plurality of medical supplies include at least one tourniquet (see para (0371) - 'tourniquet recess 2790 for receiving one or more tourniquets'), at least one chest seal (see para (0371) - 'a chest seal recess 2794 for receiving a chest seal'), and at least one pair of gloves
(see para (0369) - 'glove-dispensing aperture 2770'), and the at least one emergency medical treatment
and guidance apparatus is configured to provide an interactive query flow of medical instructions
using at least some of the plurality of medical supplies (2758, Fig. 121; see para (0367) - 'instructional device 2758').
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Gerstner with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing a station that is prepared for any emergency.
As per Claim 43, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein the electronic circuitry to administer electrotherapy includes at least one electrode and at least one high-voltage capacitor to administer electrotherapy.
Gerstner teaches wherein the electronic circuitry to administer electrotherapy includes at least one electrode (see para (0041) - 'shocks may be delivered to the patient via two electrodes') and at least one high-voltage capacitor to administer electrotherapy (see para (0046) - 'one or more capacitors').
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Gerstner with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing a station that is prepared for any emergency.
Claim 8, 23-24, 28, 33, 37, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, 53 and 55-59 above, and further in view of Pub. No.: US 20160328813 A1 to Montgomery (hereinafter Montgomery).
As per claim 8, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1, wherein determining readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator (see Merry para (0094] - 'status indicators 94 may convey status information pertaining to AED 66, status information pertaining to docking station 66'; see Merry para (0123] - 'invention may be practiced with a portable stroke apparatus...or a first aid kit').
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly teach:
-- determining how an inventory of medical supplies within the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus compares with an expected inventory representing a fully stocked emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus, the expected inventory being retrieved from the database.
Montgomery teaches wherein determining how an inventory of medical supplies within the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus compares with an expected inventory representing a fully stocked emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus (see para (0101] - 'system may include or refer to a database...use the output from a load sensor...can process this output to deduce that two plasters have been removed'), the expected inventory being retrieved from the database (see para [0101] - 'system may include or refer to a database').
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing and being able to monitor supply levels within the station.
As per Claim 23, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent wherein the housing further comprises a user interface configured to display a machine-readable code and provide an interactive query to a user; and the machine-readable code represents the readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator.
Montgomery teaches in some embodiments of the present invention, such as that shown in FIG. 5, there may be features of the cabinet 1 which assist a user in quickly and/or correctly identifying items contained by the cabinet that are appropriate for treating a particular type of injury. A user may be able to indicate a particular type of injury for which treatment is required (for example by way of a manual input device 21 such as a keyboard or a series of press buttons), and this may cause one or more of: a) visual or audible indicators 22 inside the cabinet 1 to be activated in order to indicate the location of items which are suitable for treating that injury, and b) a text, image or video display on a screen 23 which provides instructions or information pertaining to advisable treatment of the injury (see paras [0028, 0084 and 0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
As per Claim 24, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent deployment station of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises a user interface configured to display a machine-readable code and provide an interactive query to a user; and the machine-readable code encodes a hyperlink such that when imaged by a mobile device the hyperlink directs the mobile device to retrieve at least one of: contact information from the database and display information related to whom to contact to obtain access to the deployment station, connection information from the database and display information related to which devices are in network communication with the deployment station, and readiness information from the database and display information related to the readiness of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus or the at least one defibrillator.
Montgomery teaches in some embodiments of the present invention, such as that shown in FIG. 5, there may be features of the cabinet 1 which assist a user in quickly and/or correctly identifying items contained by the cabinet that are appropriate for treating a particular type of injury. A user may be able to indicate a particular type of injury for which treatment is required (for example by way of a manual input device 21 such as a keyboard or a series of press buttons), and this may cause one or more of: a) visual or audible indicators 22 inside the cabinet 1 to be activated in order to indicate the location of items which are suitable for treating that injury, and b) a text, image or video display on a screen 23 which provides instructions or information pertaining to advisable treatment of the injury (see paras [0028, 0084 and 0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
As per Claim 28, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent wherein the housing further comprises a user interface configured to display a machine-readable code and provide an interactive query to a user; and the interactive query is provided for guiding the user in determining which of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and the at least one defibrillator is needed for medical treatment based on a condition of a patient.
Montgomery teaches in some embodiments of the present invention, such as that shown in FIG. 5, there may be features of the cabinet 1 which assist a user in quickly and/or correctly identifying items contained by the cabinet that are appropriate for treating a particular type of injury. A user may be able to indicate a particular type of injury for which treatment is required (for example by way of a manual input device 21 such as a keyboard or a series of press buttons), and this may cause one or more of: a) visual or audible indicators 22 inside the cabinet 1 to be activated in order to indicate the location of items which are suitable for treating that injury, and b) a text, image or video display on a screen 23 which provides instructions or information pertaining to advisable treatment of the injury (see paras [0028, 0084 and 0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
As per Claim 33, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent wherein the housing further comprises a return chute for depositing used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatuses and used defibrillators into a storage container within the housing of the deployment station.
Montgomery teaches a pack 15 is returned to the cabinet 1 (see paras 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
As per claim 37, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly teach the at least one processor and memory is further configured for:
-- measuring a weight of a used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or a used defibrillator using a weight scale of the deployment station upon being returned to the deployment station; and
-- determining whether the weight is within a pre-determined range of an expected weight based on comparing the weight with an expected weight of the used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or used defibrillator, and
-- wherein the readiness is based on whether the weight is determined to be within the pre- determined range.
Montgomery teaches the at least one processor (see para [0094] - 'sensors 13 are connected to a processor') and memory (see para [0094] - 'processor that may incorporate software to record' - there inherently is a memory to be able to record) is further configured for:
-- measuring a weight of a used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or a used defibrillator using a weight scale of the deployment station upon being returned to the deployment station (see para [0098] - 'load sensors that determine the weight of stock bearing on the sensors'); and
-- determining whether the weight is within a pre-determined range of an expected weight based on comparing the weight with an expected weight of the used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or used defibrillator (see para [0101] - 'system can use the output from the load sensor beneath the box ... to detect the box ... was forty grams lighter'), and
-- wherein the readiness is based on whether the weight is determined to be within the predetermined range (see para [0101] - the system of Montgomery is considered capable of determining readiness based on the weight of the items).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
As per Claim 45, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station and the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly teach wherein the housing further comprises a camera, the camera being operable to obtain an image of individual readiness indicators of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or the at least one defibrillator, the at least one processor operable to process the image to determine an imaged individual readiness of the respective at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or the at least one defibrillator such that the readiness of the respective at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or the at least one defibrillator is based on the imaged individual readiness.
Montgomery teaches the housing further comprises a camera (see para [0028] - said device to obtain identity information derived from the user is a camera or optical device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
As per Claim 47, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station and the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN fail to explicitly teach wherein the housing further comprises a microphone and the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or the at least one defibrillator comprises a speaker and circuity for transmitting an audible signal to the microphone.
Montgomery teaches the microphone (see para [0087] - In some embodiments a microphone 9 is provided inside or near the cabinet 1 to enable the recording of audio streams at the time that the cabinet 1 is accessed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference Montgomery with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing an alternate method of keeping track of supplies.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, 53 and 55-59 above, and further in view of Pat. No.: US 9609287 B2 to McSheffrey (hereinafter McSheffrey).
As per claim 30, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1 comprising a housing (12, Fig. 1; see Merry para [0040] - 'docking station 12') and at least one processor (67, Fig. 3; see Merry para [0071] - 'processor 67') and memory (92, Fig. 3; see Merry para [0094] - 'memory 92').
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent wherein the housing further comprises a fire extinguisher and the at least one processor and memory is configured for:
-- receiving a fire extinguisher signal from at least one sensor of the fire extinguisher, the fire extinguisher signal representing that the fire extinguisher is present within the deployment station, and wherein the readiness is further based on the fire extinguisher signal.
McSheffrey teaches wherein the housing (158, Fig. 12; Col 9, In 8-'cabinet 158') further comprises a fire extinguisher (156, Fig. 12; Col 9, In 7 - 'fire extinguisher 156') and the at least one processor (Col 9,In 20-22 - 'CMOS sensory device 160 is configured to capture one or more digital images of the area' - sensory device inherently has a processor to be able to perform and carry out this function) and memory (Col 9, In 22-24 - 'can be configured to store the digital image(s)') is configured for:
-- receiving a fire extinguisher signal from at least one sensor of the fire extinguisher (Col 9, In 12-14- 'tether 164 is attached between the fire extinguisher 156 and the housing 162 to detect removal of the fire extinguisher'), the fire extinguisher signal representing that the fire extinguisher is present within the deployment station (Col 8, In 12-14 - the signal from the tether represents that the fire extinguisher is present and when the tether signal is gone the fire extinguisher is gone), and
-- wherein the readiness is further based on the fire extinguisher signal (Col 9, In 19-26 - the system of McSheffrey is considered capable of determining readiness based on the signal of if the fire extinguisher is there or not from the tether).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference McSheffrey with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing a station that is prepared for any emergency.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, 53 and 55-59 above, and further in view of Pat. No.: US 9324051 B2 to D'Ambrosio et al. (hereinafter D'Ambrosio).
As per claim 36, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1. Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent wherein the at least one processor and memory is further configured for:
-- receiving information from the database representing expected RFID tags associated with a used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or a used defibrillator upon being returned to the deployment station; and
-- determining whether all RFID tags are present based on comparing the read information of the RFID tags with the received information representing the expected RFID tags, and
-- wherein the readiness is based on whether all RFD) tags are determined to be present.
D’Ambrosio teaches wherein the at least one processor (Col 7, In 10 - 'processer') and memory (Col 7, In 10 - 'memory') is further configured for:
-- receiving information from the database representing expected RFID tags associated with a used emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and/or a used defibrillator upon being returned to the deployment station (Col 1: In 27-34 - 'RFID readers 108 ... information relating to the removal or placement of such items can be stored in or compared with the database using the computer system 11 0'); and
-- determining whether all RFID tags are present based on comparing the read information of the RFID tags with the received information representing the expected RFID tags (Col 7, In 27-34 - the system of D’Ambrosio is considered capable of determining if all RDID tags are present), and
-- wherein the readiness is based on whether all RFID tags are determined to be present (Col 7, In 27-34 - the system of D’Ambrosio is capable of basing readiness of the system based on the determination of RFID tags).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference D'Ambrosio with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing a station to be able to effectively track all components.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, 53 and 55-59 above, and further in view of WO 2020065344 A2 to FARRAR et al. (hereinafter FARRAR ).
As per Claim 17, Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN disclose the deployment station of claim 1.
Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN are silent wherein the housing further comprises an environmental controller configured to maintain a target temperature and a target humidity of an interior volume of the housing using a heater and a dehumidifier, respectively, wherein the at least one processor and memory is configured for: receiving a measured temperature and a measured humidity of the interior volume of the housing, and wherein the readiness is further based on the received temperature and the received humidity.
FARRAR teaches the storage unit can comprise a humidifier for controlling the humidity of the fluid flow, for example airflow. The storage unit can comprise a dehumidifier for controlling the humidity of the fluid flow, for example airflow. Similarly to the situation described above in respect of temperature, to maintain the humidity of the fluid within a desired maximum and/or minimum level, it may only be necessary to provide one of the humidifiers and the dehumidifier, depending on the humidity of the ambient air (page 26 || 13-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include apparatus as taught by reference FARRAR with the apparatus as taught by reference Merry and CHAO PEI-YIN with the motivation of providing a station to be able to maintain control of the temperature, humidity and flow rate thereby more quickly obtain the desired environmental condition (see FARRAR page 26 || 28-29).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks applicant argues:
(1) Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-13, 16-17, 23-24, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 36-38, 40, 42-43, 45, 47, and 53 are rejected pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. As part of the rejection, the Examiner states the claim is directed to an abstract idea in part. The Examiner also asserts that the recited limitations "do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea." Office Action, p. 4. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As part of Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B in the Alice/Mayo framework, under the Particular Machine "examiners should consider whether the judicial exception is applied with, or by use of, a particular machine." MPEP § 2106.05(b). Claim 1 represents an example of this specified Particular Machine exception. Especially relevant to this analysis is "the particularity or generality of the elements of the machine or apparatus, i.e., the degree to which the machine in the claim can be specifically identified." Id. at § 2106.05(b)(I). The claim is not merely directed to some computer but rather is directed to "a deployment station for portable emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatuses" with "a first storage section for holding at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus" and "a second storage section for holding at least one defibrillator," where the deployment station includes "at least one processor and memory" that are configured for interaction with the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus and at least one defibrillator. The whole claim is particular with particular limitations and elements that are "specifically identified" as described in the MPEP. The invention is not directed to an abstract idea as suggested. Claim 1 represents patent-eligible subject matter for at least this reason.
(2) Rejections under 35 U.S.C.§ 102
Claims 1-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, and 53 are rejected pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0149322 to Merry et al. ("Merry").
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part, "a first storage section for holding at least one
emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus comprising a plurality of medical supplies, the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus being configured for use with interactive treatment guidance for a user for a user to treat at least one patient using the plurality of medical supplies," and "the at least one processor and memory configured for... obtaining the readiness information of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus." Merry fails to teach at least these limitations of claim 1.
As part of the rejection of claim 1, the Examiner likens the "unused space around defibrillator 12" as the claimed first storage space and asserts this space "is considered capable of holding at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus." Office Action, p. 12. Nothing within Merry actually teaches the claimed "at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus." The Examiner also cites to para. [0071] of Merry for the above "obtaining" limitation, but this paragraph only describes a processor 67 that can communicate with a stored AED, not "at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus." Because the rejection lacks an actual teaching for the "at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus" and because nothing within Merry amounts to this apparatus, Merry necessarily fails to teach the above claim limitation "the at least one processor and memory configured for... obtaining the readiness information of the at least one emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatus."
For at least these reasons, Merry fails to teach each and every limitation of claim 1, and claim 1 is allowable at least for this reason. Claims 2-3, 11-13, 16, 31, 34, 40, and 53 depend upon claim 1 and are allowable over Merry at least for their dependence upon an allowable base claim. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
In response to argument (1), Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims lack limitations that are indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”). The claimed limitations must include one or more of an improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a); applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b); effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c); applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo; and/or adding a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field - see MPEP 2106.05(d).
The combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology and their collective functions merely provide a conventional computer implementation of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than a recitation of generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, as the courts have found in Parker v. Flook. Therefore, there are no limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In response to argument (2), Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicants specification teaches in some examples, the RFID reader 280, the microphone 231, the transceiver 241, and/or the camera 281 is an "at least one sensor" (or generally a "sensor") for obtaining identification information and/or readiness information of the emergency medical treatment and guidance apparatuses 104 and/or the defibrillators 106 within the deployment station 200 (see Specification see para 122). MONTGOMERY et al. teaches at least one receiver is configured for receiving information from the remote station. Preferably said information obtaining device comprises one or more of: a) a camera, b) a microphone, and c) a manual input device, preferably a keyboard (see MONTGOMERY et al. para’s 26, 84 and 87).
In conclusion, WO 2017055953 A2: teaches in one embodiment, the user interface comprises at least one of a touch screen display, an optical display, a microphone, a keypad, a keyboard, a pointing device, an image capture device, a video camera, an audio output device, and an input/output device. The user interface is further configured to provide at least a portion of the real-time individualized or patient-specific treatment guidance for at least one aspect of the emergency treatment of the subject (see CHAO PEI-YIN et al. see para 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2017055953 A2: A portable medical apparatus (70) for real-time individualized treatment guidance for a subject (120) comprises a user interface (72), a communications module (74), and a controller (76). The user interface (72) obtains the subject's identification information. The communications module (74) communicates with at least one of (i) a remote server (78) having stored thereon a cloud-based electronic health record that comprises at least the subject's physical body measurements and (ii) a smartphone (80) located within a given immediate proximity of the portable medical apparatus. The communications module (74) further retrieves, in response to the subject's identification information, the cloud-based electronic health record. The controller (76) generates, in response to the subject's physical body measurements from the cloud-based electronic health record, real-time individualized treatment guidance to be followed by a user (118) of the portable medical apparatus for administering the individualized treatment to the subject (120).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.B.W/Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/ROBERT W MORGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3683