DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 25, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16 and the cancellation of Claims 17-20 in the reply filed on April 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation “the one or more planar substrates”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conlon (US 20160015098 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Conlon discloses: A facepiece (Paragraph 0034, The present disclosure includes a face mask containing nanofiber material) comprising:
a main body having a geometry configured to fit on a human face and cover the human's mouth and nose (Paragraph 0083, FIG. 4 illustrates a perspective view of an embodiment of a facemask 44 installed upon a wearer's face. The outer surface 58 of the facemask 44 is shown facing the outside or external environment that the wearer 64 is exposed to), the main body defining an interior cavity (Figure 3, interior cavity 27) between the main body and the human's face (Paragraph 0078, With reference to FIG. 3, which shows an exploded cross-sectional view of the medical facemask of the present disclosure, the medical facemask has a first discrete nonwoven fiber layer 33 (inner layer) disposed adjacent a wearer's face);
one or more straps extending from the main body and configured to extend around the ears or head of a human such that the main body is held on the human's face (Paragraph 0064, The facemask may be attached to the user by a securing means that can attach the mask to the user. For example, the securing means may be a pair of manual tie straps that are wrapped around the head of the user and are connected to one another, or the securing means may be ear loops (28 and 30 in FIG. 1), elastic bands wrapped around the head of the user, a hook and loop type fastener arrangement (e.g. VELCRO® fasteners), or a connection directly attaching the face mask to a hair cap);
and one or more baffles disposed on the main body and in an airflow path between the interior cavity and an external environment (Paragraph 0084, The facemask 44 comprises one or more pleats (shown in the unfolded position are three pleats that have been unfolded 48, 50 and 52). The one or more pleats are disposed between at least the upper, lower, and/or side edges of the mask. As used herein, the term “pleat” refers to a relatively flat double-fold formed in the facemask 44 when the facemask 20 is in the flat storage configuration (as illustrated in FIG. 1). The pleats in the filter material can be any known in the art and include, for example, Z shaped pleats, standard pleats, omega pleats, secondary pleats, reverse pleats or the like),
the one or more baffles having a first surface disposed to deflect air traveling along the airflow (Paragraph 0041, Generally, a three or four layer filter medium might include an outer layer of a relatively porous paper-like or spunbond polypropylene material which provides durability and resistance against abrasion and/or fluid penetration. The outer layer may also be generally stiffer than the other layers. By using a stiffer outer layer, the effectiveness of the various pleating arrangements is increased. The pleats 20 are disposed between the upper edge 12 and lower edge 25 and side edges 21 and 29 and may be incorporated in the body of the filter material 13 to hold the facemask 10 in a cup-like shape when installed),
the first surface having a metal layer exposed to air traveling along the airflow path (Paragraph 0069, Additionally, the nanofiber layer, while chemically inert, can be modified to incorporate specific functional characteristics. In some embodiments, the nanofiber can be modified with silver, copper, or gold nanoparticles for antimicrobial functionality or application of Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs) that can be functionalized for capture of specific gaseous airborne threats).
Regarding Claim 2, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: a filter material disposed in the airflow path between the interior cavity and an external environment (Paragraph 0040, The facemask 10 may be constructed of a wide variety of materials and is preferably disposable. The inner, outer, and filtration materials 13 used to fabricate the facemask 10 may vary according to the particular application of the facemask 10. For example, when the facemask 10 is to be used in a medical application, such as on members of a surgical team, it is common to use a three layer filter material that will provide blood (or other) fluid resistance to prevent penetration of fluids to the inner lining of the mask. However, appropriate inner, outer, and filtration materials may be of a single or multiple layer design. Multi-layer material may be readily purchased in a precollated form, that is with the three layers already arranged, or the materials may be obtained separately and the filter material 13 formed in part of the process for forming the facemask 10),
wherein the filter material is certified to meet the N95 standard for pathogen filtration in the United States of America (Paragraph 0038, The facemask 10 may have application in healthcare, industrial, domestic, public, or other settings. The embodiment shown is an N95 respirator, which is a lightweight, nose-and-mouth respirator that provides protection for the wearer from microorganisms (e.g., bacteria, fungi, yeast, molds and viruses)).
Regarding Claim 3, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein the metal layer includes one or more of copper, silver, and zinc (Paragraph 0069, Additionally, the nanofiber layer, while chemically inert, can be modified to incorporate specific functional characteristics. In some embodiments, the nanofiber can be modified with silver, copper, or gold nanoparticles for antimicrobial functionality or application of Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs) that can be functionalized for capture of specific gaseous airborne threats).
Regarding Claim 4, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein the one or more baffles define a plurality of flaps (Paragraph 0085, The one or more pleats are disposed between the upper, lower and side edges (60) of the mask. It will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art that the mask may have one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight or more pleats, each of which can be the same or different sizes and/or shapes), the plurality of flaps configured to flex at least one of inward or outward in response to force on the flaps caused by air flow during at least one of inhaling or exhaling while the mask is being worn (Paragraph 0034, The present disclosure includes a face mask containing nanofiber material. By including one or more discrete nanofiber layers on or in place of the standard polypropylene filtration layer, the facemask provided allows for reduced airflow resistance and thereby reduced deflection of inhaled or exhaled air and associated particles, which enhances filtration efficiency for airborne particles that pass through the mask), wherein the metal layer is on at least a portion of a surface of each of the plurality of flaps (Paragraph 0069, Additionally, the nanofiber layer, while chemically inert, can be modified to incorporate specific functional characteristics. In some embodiments, the nanofiber can be modified with silver, copper, or gold nanoparticles for antimicrobial functionality or application of Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs) that can be functionalized for capture of specific gaseous airborne threats).
Regarding Claim 5, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Conlon further discloses: wherein the plurality of flaps include a plurality of larger flaps and a plurality of smaller flaps, the plurality of smaller flaps defined within the plurality of larger flaps (Figure 1, Paragraph 0085, The one or more pleats are disposed between the upper, lower and side edges (60) of the mask. It will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art that the mask may have one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight or more pleats, each of which can be the same or different sizes and/or shapes).
Regarding Claim 12, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein an overall geometry of the baffle is rigid (Paragraph 0041, The outer layer may also be generally stiffer than the other layers. By using a stiffer outer layer, the effectiveness of the various pleating arrangements is increased), (Paragraph 0091, In some embodiments, for easy grasping, the facemask may be thermally molded or heat set to increase stiffness. In other embodiments, binder chemicals may be added to the materials prior to formation of the mask).
Regarding Claim 13, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein the baffles are planar (Paragraph 0044, In FIG. 1, the mask is shown as it would be packaged in its folded and flat configuration, except for the convex outside by the malleable stiffening member 14, where the outside surface is viewed) .
Regarding Claim 14, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein the baffles are curved (Figures 3-5, Paragraph 0088, The upper malleable stiffener 67 imbedded or attached to the mask has been folded, crimped, pinched, bent, creased, and/or angled around the wearer's nose and/or cheek area and causes a cavity 66 in the filter material that conforms and pulls it closer to a portion of the nose and/or cheek. The lower malleable stiffener 70 imbedded or attached to the mask has been crimped, bent, creased, folded, pinched, and/or angled around or under the wearer's chin and/or jaw area and causes a cavity 69 in the filter material that conforms and pulls it closer to a portion of the wearer's chin and/or jaw area).
Regarding Claim 15, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein an overall geometry of the baffles is flexible (Paragraph 0040, The facemask 10 may be constructed of a wide variety of materials and is preferably disposable. The inner, outer, and filtration materials 13 used to fabricate the facemask 10 may vary according to the particular application of the facemask 10), (Paragraph 0088, The upper malleable stiffener 67 imbedded or attached to the mask has been folded, crimped, pinched, bent, creased, and/or angled around the wearer's nose and/or cheek area and causes a cavity 66 in the filter material that conforms and pulls it closer to a portion of the nose and/or cheek. The lower malleable stiffener 70 imbedded or attached to the mask has been crimped, bent, creased, folded, pinched, and/or angled around or under the wearer's chin and/or jaw area and causes a cavity 69 in the filter material that conforms and pulls it closer to a portion of the wearer's chin and/or jaw area).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20160015098 A1) in view of Steindorf (US 20050133036 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses: wherein the metal layer (Paragraph 0074, In some embodiments, the nanofibers can be in a discrete layer(s) sandwiched between the outer and inner layer. In some embodiments, the nanofibers can make up the middle layer or can be disposed on the middle layer of the facemask. In some embodiments, the nanofiber can be disposed on the inner, middle and/or outer layer by electrospinning) defines a plurality of topographical features therein (Paragraphs 0075-0076, Various forms of electrospun nanofibers include branched nanofibers, tubes, ribbons and split nanofibers, nanofiber yarns, surface-coated nanofibers (e.g., with carbon, metals, etc.), nanofibers produced in a vacuum, and so forth […] The gradient in a “gradient electrospun material” provides discrete areas having measurable differences in surface chemistry (e.g., wicking, contact angle, etc.) or other material properties, including, but not limited to, density, pore size, surface charge, zeta potential, and so forth, resulting from the presence of fibers of different types, i.e., of substantially different material composition).
Conlon describes a variety of nanofiber materials and coatings that can be incorporated into the pleated face mask to create a plurality of topographical features. However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Steindorf explicitly discloses a layer that defines a plurality of topographical features therein (Paragraph 0013, The baffle layer has an outer and an inner surface. The baffle layer contains a plurality of projections or peaks extending from one or both of the outer or inner surfaces. The baffle layer may be three-dimensionally shaped and contact prior and/or subsequent layers at discrete points. The baffle layer is configured in order to aid in absorbing energy associated with fluid striking the body portion. The baffle layer may constitute the sole layer of the body portion, or may be used in combination with one or more additional layers).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Steindorf’s textured mask layer with the multi-layered face mask assembly disclosed by Conlon. The textured elements provide additional protection for a user, with three-dimensional elements that serve to redirect fluids that come in contact with the surface of the mask (Paragraph 0011, The present invention provides an additional approach to imparting splash resistance to a face mask), (Paragraph 0041, The present invention provides for a face mask which incorporates a baffle layer. The baffle layer may either be a separate layer of the face mask, or may be incorporated into an already existing layer of the face mask. The baffle layer improves the ability of a face mask to resist penetration by a splash of fluid by reducing the contact of adjacent layers of material and/or absorbing the energy produced by a fluid impact on the face mask, and/or providing for a mechanism by which fluid that strikes the face mask may be channeled away from the point of contact).
Regarding Claim 7, Conlon in view of Steindorf discloses all of the limitations of Claim 6. Steindorf further discloses: wherein the plurality of topographical features include one or both of a plurality of recesses and a plurality of rises (Paragraph 0018, The projections may be located on the outer surface of the baffle layer facing away from the user. Each of the projections defines a cavity on the inner surface of the layer. The body portion of the face mask may have a plurality of layers, and the projections define an interior space between the side of the baffle layer having the projections and an adjacent layer. The cavities on the inner surface of the baffle layer minimize contact between the inner surface of the layer and an adjacent layer, and act to minimize contact between the layers of the face mask in order to help prevent fluid strike through), (Paragraph 0062, FIG. 6 shows an alternative configuration in which the projections 22 are in the form of ridges 44 located along the outer surface 18 of the baffle layer 16. The plurality of ridges 44 define a plurality of valleys 46 therebetween).
Regarding Claim 8, Conlon in view of Steindorf discloses all of the limitations of Claim 7. Steindorf further discloses: wherein the plurality of recesses include a plurality of elongated grooves and the plurality of rises include a plurality of raised lines (Paragraph 0019, The projections and the outer surface of the baffle layer define a plurality of inter-connected channels for redirecting the flow of fluid that strikes the body portion. As such, the fluid may be redirected to portions of the face mask that are more impervious to fluid strike through than the portions that were initially contacted by the fluid), (Paragraphs 62-63, FIG. 6 shows an alternative configuration in which the projections 22 are in the form of ridges 44 located along the outer surface 18 of the baffle layer 16. The plurality of ridges 44 define a plurality of valleys 46 therebetween […] It is therefore the case that the projections 22 may be provided in any of number of styles, shapes, or patterns. Smaller, tighter patterns of the projections may be used in order to provide for support for less stiff outer layers of the body portion 12. Larger, more open patterns of the projections 22 may be used in order to provide for a larger channel volume of the baffle layer 16 in order to collect a greater amount of fluid).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20160015098 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20200171426 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 9, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon discloses the nanofiber layer being composed of different metals, but does not explicitly disclose whether the multiple metals are in contact with one another (Paragraph 0069, Additionally, the nanofiber layer, while chemically inert, can be modified to incorporate specific functional characteristics. In some embodiments, the nanofiber can be modified with silver, copper, or gold nanoparticles for antimicrobial functionality or application of Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs) that can be functionalized for capture of specific gaseous airborne threats)
Li explicitly discloses wherein the metal layer includes multiple metals in contact with one another (Paragraphs 0009-0010, the gas screening film includes a plurality of gas screening elements arranged along a direction perpendicular to the stack direction and spaced apart from each other, the semiconductor nanosheet separation layers of the plurality of gas screening elements are connected into one piece, the gates of the plurality of gas screening elements are connected into one piece, and the insulation spacing layers of every two adjacent gas screening elements are not connected to each other [...] the semiconductor nanosheet separation layer is a nano-film made of a metal organic framework material or the semiconductor nanosheet separation layer is made of layered transition metal sulfide), the multiple metals selected from the group consisting of: copper, silver, nickel, and zinc (Paragraphs 0011-0012, the nano-film made of the metal organic framework material is prepared from Zn2(Bim)3, and the layered transition metal sulfide is prepared from MoS2. Optionally, at least one of the gate, the first electrode and the second electrode is made of a monolayer graphene material, or at least one of the gate, the first electrode and the second electrode is made of a silver nanowire mesh, the silver nanowire mesh including a plurality of crisscrossing silver nanowires).
Both Li and Conlon disclose the use of Metal Organic Frameworks composed of different combinations of metals in a protective face mask assembly. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li’s layered gas screening film with the nanofiber metal layer disclosed by Conlon, so as to provide an additional degree of filtration and protection from contaminants (Paragraphs 0090-0091, As a third aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a face mask, including a gas filtering part, and the gas filtering part includes the above gas screening film according to the present disclosure. As described above, activity of a gas with respect to the semiconductor nanosheet separation layer may be changed by changing the concentration of carriers in the semiconductor nanosheet separation layer of the gas screening film. By controlling voltages applied on the first electrode and the second electrode of the gas screening element of the gas screening film, only particular gas is permitted to pass through the gas screening element, thereby realizing a better protection function).
Regarding Claim 10, Conlon in view of Li discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9. Conlon further discloses: comprising dried salts disposed on the metal layer (Paragraph 0092] In FIG. 6, the outer surface 73 of the facemask comprises a temperature, moisture, and/or pathogen indicator. Although shown on the outer surface, it will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art that this indicator can be disposed on or in the outer, inner, and/or middle layer), (Paragraph 0095, For example, a thermochromic material can be provided in the form of microcapsules which contain crystal violet lactone, a weak acid, and a dissociable salt dissolved in a non-polar or slightly polar solvent liquid crystal solvent such as dodecanol or another suitable liquid crystal solvent).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20160015098 A1) in view of Li (US 20200171426 A1), further in view of Steindorf (US 20050133036 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Conlon in view of Li discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Conlon in view of Li does not disclose: wherein the baffles define a plurality of slits.
Steindorf, however, does disclose wherein the baffles define a plurality of slits (Paragraph 0031, FIG. 5 is a perspective view of a layer, which may be a baffle layer, of the body portion of the face mask. In this exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the layer is a film and has a plurality of projections in which each defines a hole therethrough.), the plurality of slits providing a passage for airflow through the one or more planar substrates (Paragraph 0009, A perforated film incorporated into a face mask is shown in U.S. Pat. No. 4,920,960 (incorporated herein in its entirety for all purposes) may be used in order to provide a fluid barrier to the face mask while still allowing for the user to be able to breath through the perforations in the film), (Paragraph 0061, the holes 42 are located on each one of the projections 22. The holes 42 allow for the transfer of air through the baffle layer 16, hence allowing the user to breath […] an optimal size of the hole 42 may be provided such that it allows for air to be transferred through the baffle layer 16, yet prevents the transfer of fluid therethrough).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Steindorf’s textured mask layer with the multi-layered face mask assembly disclosed by Conlon. The textured and perforated elements of the baffle layers provide additional protection for a user, with three-dimensional elements that serve to redirect fluids that come in contact with the surface of the mask without impeding breathing and air flow (Paragraph 0060, A further exemplary embodiment of the baffle layer 16 is shown in FIG. 5. In this instance, the baffle layer 16 may be formed from a material that is an impervious film 40. The film 40 may be made such that it prevents fluid transfer therethrough, further enhancing the ability of the body portion 12 to prevent fluid strike through. The film 40 may in one exemplary embodiment be Tredegar 6607 Vispore film. An example of a perforated film 40 may be found in U.S. Pat. No. 4,920,960 described above), (Paragraph 0041, The present invention provides for a face mask which incorporates a baffle layer. The baffle layer may either be a separate layer of the face mask, or may be incorporated into an already existing layer of the face mask. The baffle layer improves the ability of a face mask to resist penetration by a splash of fluid by reducing the contact of adjacent layers of material and/or absorbing the energy produced by a fluid impact on the face mask, and/or providing for a mechanism by which fluid that strikes the face mask may be channeled away from the point of contact).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conlon (US 20160015098 A1) in view of Gebrewold et al. (US 8118026 B2)
Regarding Claim 16, Conlon discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Conlon further discloses embodiments in which there are fewer pleats or in which the pleats are deformed when the face mask is worn (Figures 5-6, Paragraph 0088, The mask is shown in the unfolded or partially unfolded position. The upper malleable stiffener 67 imbedded or attached to the mask has been folded, crimped, pinched, bent, creased, and/or angled around the wearer's nose and/or cheek area and causes a cavity 66 in the filter material that conforms and pulls it closer to a portion of the nose and/or cheek. The lower malleable stiffener 70 imbedded or attached to the mask has been crimped, bent, creased, folded, pinched, and/or angled around or under the wearer's chin and/or jaw area and causes a cavity 69 in the filter material that conforms and pulls it closer to a portion of the wearer's chin and/or jaw area. In some embodiments, the cavity 69 will be located under the chin so that the user can rest it on it). However, Conlon does not explicitly disclose removable baffles.
Gebrewold does disclose wherein the baffles (Figure 2, support structure 16), (Column 5, lines 35-40, FIG. 1 shows a shaped filtering face-piece respirator 10 that is being worn over the nose and mouth of a person. The respirator 10 includes a mask body 12 and a harness 14. The mask body 12 has a support structure 16 and a filtering structure 18. The support structure 16 includes a perimeter member 20, a first side 22, and an opposing second side 24) are removable from the main body (Column 7, lines 39-53, The filtering structure 18 may be attached to the supporting structure 16 of the mask body 12 at multiple contact points. This connection may be made along the perimeter 20 of the support structure and/or at various locations where the transversely-extending members 26, 28, 40, 46, 48, 49 and 50 meet the filtering structure 18 […] A temporary joining mechanism also may be used, which would allow the support structure 16 to be reused when the filtering structure 18 has met the end of its service life. In such a situation, the wearer could replace the filtering structure 18 and retain the support structure 16 so that only the filtering structure 18 needs to be discarded when the filter has met the end of its service life)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gebrewold’s reusable, structured baffle attachment with the face mask assembly disclosed by Conlon, so as to provide additional support to the main body of the mask. The support structure also accommodates for various face sizes and jaw movements (Column 1, lines 10-15, The present invention pertains to a respirator that has a mask body that includes a living hinge on each side of its support structure. The living hinges enable the respirator mask body to better accommodate wearer jaw movement. The living hinges also may allow a single mask body to better accommodate various face sizes).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mathis et al. (US 7845351 B2) discloses a face mask that can incorporate a variety of a germicidal agents into different layers and/or surfaces of the mask
Kuhn (US 20170106217 A1) discloses face mask body that primarily comprises cidal metals/metal alloys for filtration of particulates
Braun et al. (US 6010766 A) discloses rigid, corrugated webs of microfibers that can be incorporated in filters for face masks
Shigematsu et al. (US 7086400 B2) discloses a face mask with an external frame
Kim et al. (KR 20170025754 A) discloses a sterilizing mask with a main body composed of a primarily copper or copper-tin mesh filter.
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785