DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “a distributor connected to ends of the plurality of third flat tubes and configured to distribute the refrigerant flowing in from an inflow tube disposed at a central position of the distributor to the plurality of third flat tubes through a plurality of branches when the heat exchanger acts as an evaporator” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The instant drawings depict “a distributor with an inflow tube disposed at a central position of the distributor” as a single distributor with a single central inflow pipe (e.g. Figure 11) and the drawings depict “a heat exchanger comprising: a group of windward tubes…and a group of leeward tubes [including third flat tubes]” with plural distributers with plural central inflow pipes (e.g. Figure 2). However, the drawings do not appear to show the combination of subject matter as recited in claim 1. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first connection member” (claim 5, line 2) as disclosed in paragraph 18 of the specification.
“a second connection member” (claim 6, line 2) as disclosed in paragraph 18 of the specification.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a fourth convex portion” (line 19) renders the claim indefinite. The recitation implies the presence of first, second, and third convex portions in addition to the fourth convex portion. Therefore, it is unclear if the claims require one or more convex portions.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “the other ends where the refrigerant flows in and out” (line 3) renders the claim indefinite. The recitation “the other ends” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear from which claim element “the refrigerant flows in and out”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the other ends where the refrigerant flows in and out” (lines 4-5) renders the claim indefinite. The recitation “the other ends” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear from which claim element “the refrigerant flows in and out”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitations “the other ends” (lines 8 and 9) lack antecedent basis.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the other ends of the plurality of first flat tubes” (lines 11-12) lacks antecedent basis.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitations “the ends” (lines 12, 13, 15, and 17) render the claim indefinite. It is unclear which of the previously recited ends are being referenced.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the other ends of the plurality of third flat tubes” (line 13) lacks antecedent basis.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the other ends of the plurality of second flat tubes” (line 15) lacks antecedent basis.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the other ends of the plurality of fourth flat tubes” (lines 16-17) lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “a first end of each flat tube in the group of windward flat tubes opposite to the other end where the refrigerant flows in and out is connected to a second end of a corresponding flat tube in the group of leeward flat tubes group opposite to the other end where the distributor is connected” (emphasis added) (lines 1-5) renders the claim indefinite.
The recitation “the other end” lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear what claim element comprises “the other end” and it is unclear if “the second end” refers to “the other end” or a separate and distinct end. It is also unclear from which claim element “the refrigerant flows in and out”.
Claims 2, 5, 6, and 8-11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2019/0128574), and further in view of Higashhue et al. (US 2019/0093965).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura et al. (US 2019/0128574) discloses a heat exchanger that exchanges heat between refrigerant and air, the heat exchanger comprising:
A group of windward flat tubes (13a, 15a) including a plurality of first flat tubes (i.e. 13a) spaced apart from each other and a plurality of second flat tubes (i.e. 15a) spaced apart from each other (Figures 6-7 and Paragraph 41),
A group of leeward flat tubes (13b, 15b) including a plurality of third flat tubes (i.e. 13b) spaced apart from each other and a plurality of fourth flat tubes (i.e. 15b) spaced apart from each other (Figures 6-7 and Paragraph 41), the group of leeward flat tubes being disposed at a leeward position with respect to the group of windward flat tubes in a flow direction of air (Figures 6-7 and Paragraph 38), and
A distributor (29) connected to ends of the plurality of third flat tubes and configured to distribute the refrigerant flowing in from an inflow tube (37) to the plurality of third flat tubes when the heat exchanger acts as an evaporator (Figure 7 and Paragraph 19),
When the heat exchanger acts as an evaporator (Figure 7 and Paragraph 19), the refrigerant flows through the plurality of second flat tubes, the plurality of fourth flat tubes, the plurality of third flat tubes, and the plurality of first flat tubes in this orde r(Figure 7 and Paragraph 19), and
When the heat exchanger acts as a condenser (Figure 6 and Paragraph 18), the refrigerant flows through the plurality of first flat tubes, the plurality of third flat tubes, the plurality of fourth flat tubes, and the plurality of second flat tubes in this order (Figure 6 and Paragraph 18).
While Nakamura et al. discloses a segmented distributor (29) connected to ends of the plurality of third flat tubes and configured to distribute the refrigerant flowing in from inflow tubes (37) to the plurality of third flat tubes when the heat exchanger acts as an evaporator (Figure 7 and Paragraph 19), Nakamura et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose that the distributor is connected to ends of the plurality of third flat tubes and configured to distribute the refrigerant flowing in from an inflow tube disposed at a central position of the distributor to the plurality of third flat tubes through a plurality of branches.
Higashhue et al. teaches a heat exchanger comprising, at least: a plurality of tubes (22) and a distributor (51_1), where the distributor is connected to ends of the plurality of flat tubes and configured to distribute the refrigerant flowing in from an inflow tube (52) disposed at a central position of the distributor to the plurality of third flat tubes through a plurality of branches (Figures 1-2). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the distributors and the inflow tubes as disclosed by Nakamura et al. in the form of a distributor and an inflow tube as taught by Higashhue et al. to improve heat exchanger heat transfer efficiency by providing for uniform refrigerant distribution to a plurality of heat transfer tubes.
Further, while Nakamura et al. discloses a distributor connected to a plurality of third flat tubes and an inflow tube, Nakamura et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose the distributor as having a fourth convex portion.
Higashhue et al. teaches a heat exchanger comprising, at least: a plurality of tubes (22) and a distributor (51_1), where the distributor has a fourth convex portion (57, 41) protruding outward from a main body of the distributor (Figures 2 and 10), and the fourth convex portion protruding outward from a main body of the distributor (Figures 2 and 10) is formed with a channel (i.e. an internal flow path of 57, 41) through which the refrigerant flowing in from the inflow tube and branched by the distributor flows (Figures 2 and 10, see also Paragraph 137). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the distributors and the inflow tubes as disclosed by Nakamura et al. in the form of a distributor and an inflow tube as taught by Higashhue et al. to improve heat exchanger heat transfer efficiency by providing a smooth transition for refrigerant from a distributor to a heat transfer tube.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura et al. discloses a heat exchanger as discussed above, where the number of the plurality of first flat tubes (i.e. 13a) is greater than the number of the plurality of second flat tubes (i.e. 15a) (Figure 6), -in the group of windward flat tubes- the plurality of first flat tubes are disposed above the plurality of second flat tubes (i.e. dependent upon orientation) (Figure 6), the number of the plurality of third flat tubes (i.e. 13b) is greater than the number of the plurality of fourth flat tubes (i.e. 13b) (Figure 6), and -in the group of leeward flat tubes- the plurality of third flat tubes are disposed above the plurality of fourth flat tubes (i.e. dependent upon orientation) (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura et al. discloses a heat exchanger as discussed above, where a first end of each flat tube in the group of windward flat tubes (Figure 6: See ends of 13a and 15a on a side adjacent 27 of the heat exchanger) opposite to another end (i.e. another end of the windward tubes opposite the first end of the windward tubes) (Figure 6) where the refrigerant flows in and out is connected to a second end of a corresponding flat tube in the group of leeward flat tubes group (Figure 6: See ends of 13b and 15b on a side adjacent 17 of the heat exchanger) opposite to the other end where the distributor is connected (Figure 6: Ends of the windward and leeward tubes are fluidically connected to each other).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura et al. discloses a heat exchanger as discussed above. However, Nakamura et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose the distributor as comprising a plurality of plates with holes.
Higashhue et al. teaches a heat exchanger comprising, at least: a plurality of tubes (22) and a distributor (51_1), where the distributor includes a plurality of plate members (Figure 2), each of which are provided with holes (Figure 2). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the distributors and the inflow tubes as disclosed by Nakamura et al. in the form of a distributor and an inflow tube as taught by Higashhue et al. to improve heat exchanger heat transfer efficiency by providing for uniform refrigerant distribution to a plurality of heat transfer tubes.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura et al. as modified by Higashhue et al. discloses an air conditioner equipped with the heat exchanger according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2019/0128574) and Higashhue et al. (US 2019/0093965), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0226495).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura et al. discloses a heat exchanger as discussed above. While Nakamura et al. discloses that the first and second flat tubes and (i.e. windward side) comprise first fins (Paragraph 36) and that the third and fourth flat tubes (i.e. leeward side) comprise second fins (Paragraph 36), Nakamura et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose than an interval between the first fins is larger than an interval between the second fins.
Park et al. teaches a heat exchanger comprising, at least: a plurality of first flat tubes (i.e. windward side) (110) having first fins (210) and a plurality of second flat tubes (i.e. leeward side) (120) having second fins (220), where an interval between the plurality of first fins is larger than an interval between the plurality of second fins (Figure 4 and Paragraph 18). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first and second fins as disclosed by Nakamura et al. with different intervals as taught by Park et al. to improve heat exchanger safety and reliability by arranging the heat exchanger with a variable amount of heat exchange surface area such that frost formation in minimized (Paragraph 68 of Park et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The instant claims (Figures 5 and 10) are directed to a heat exchanger that exchanges heat between refrigerant and air, the heat exchanger comprising:
A group of windward flat tubes including a plurality of first flat tubes (11) spaced apart from each other and a plurality of second flat tubes (12) spaced apart from each other (Figure 10),
A group of leeward flat tubes including a plurality of third flat tubes (13) spaced apart from each other and a plurality of fourth flat tubes (14) spaced apart from each other (Figure 10), the group of leeward flat tubes being disposed at a leeward position with respect to the group of windward flat tubes in a flow direction of air (W) (Figure 10), and
A distributor (50) connected to ends of the plurality of third flat tubes (i.e. 13) (Figure 10) and configured to distribute the refrigerant flowing in from an inflow tube (e.g. 160) disposed at a central position of the distributor (Figure 5) to the plurality of third flat tubes through a plurality of branches when the heat exchanger acts as an evaporator (Figures 5 and 10),
When the heat exchanger acts as an evaporator (e.g. Figure 10), the refrigerant flows through the plurality of second flat tubes, the plurality of fourth flat tubes, the plurality of third flat tubes, and the plurality of first flat tubes in this order (e.g. Figure 10), and
When the heat exchanger acts as a condenser (e.g. Figure 8), the refrigerant flows through the plurality of first flat tubes, the plurality of third flat tubes, the plurality of fourth flat tubes, and the plurality of second flat tubes in this order (e.g. Figure 8),
The distributor has a fourth convex portion (e.g. one of 110A-110B or one of 210A- 210F) protruding outward from a main body of the distributor (Figures 5 and 11), and the fourth convex portion protruding outward from a main body of the distributor is formed with a channel through which the refrigerant flowing in from the inflow tube and branched by the distributor flows (Figures 5 and 11).
The art of record (Nakamura et al. US 2019/0128574) discloses a heat exchanger as discussed in the 35 USC 103 rejections as discussed above. However, Nakamura et al. does not teach or disclose a heat exchanger comprising tubes with ends that are respectively fluidically connected to each other as recited in claim 3. Nor does Nakamura et al. disclose connection members with convex portions as recited in claims 5 and 6.
The art of record (Higashhue et al. US 2019/009396) similarly discloses a heat exchanger as discussed in the 35 USC 103 rejections as discussed above. However, Higashhue et al. also does not teach or disclose a heat exchanger comprising tubes with ends that are respectively fluidically connected to each other as recited in claim 3. Nor does Higashhue et al. disclose connection members with convex portions as recited in claims 5 and 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0328638 discloses a heat exchanger.
US 2021/0003353 discloses a heat exchanger.
/JASON N THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763