DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species F in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the International Searching Authority did not reject the claims for lack of unity of invention during its review based on the PCT Rules and did not require such extensive separation of the claimed features for its examination of these claims. Applicant questions the need, as well as the ability, to select a single species or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species. Applicant argues the various options set out in the dependent claims relate to alternative solutions to the general problem of how to suitable retain each of a plurality of consumables within a device.
This is not found persuasive because examiners at a national stage application are permitted to determine that a national stage application lacks unity of invention (MPEP 1893.03(d)). Examiners at the national stage are not bound by whether a search authority at the international stage finds unity of invention. As set forth in the restriction requirement, there is no special technical feature common to all of the species in view of the prior art citations and thus unity of invention is lacking. Applicant's arguments have not established that a special technical feature is present amongst the various identified species. Regarding the need for restriction, the claims present varying solutions to the same problem wherein the solutions described in the dependent claims are directed to distinct, mutually exclusive embodiments with substantial structural differences (e.g., hinged caps, rotating end caps, resilient rings, springs of various forms, pivoting cams). The claimed structures not obvious variants of each other and would require different fields of search. Further, prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-7, 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "retention apparatus" in claim 1. "Apparatus" is nonce term and the preceding term "retention" only describes functionality without signifying structure. The remainder of the limitation, "configured to hold in position, one at a time, each of a plurality of consumables comprising aerosol-generating material of different sizes," concerns functional language and does not recite sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.
Claims 2-4 and 8 recite sufficient structure for performing the function of the retention apparatus and are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doyle (US 20200268047).
Regarding claim 1, Doyle discloses a non-combustible aerosol provision device for generating an aerosol from aerosol-generating material comprised in a consumable (see aerosol-generating system 1 with aerosol-generating article 10), the non-combustible aerosol provision device comprising:
a retention apparatus configured to hold in position, one at a time, each of a plurality of consumables comprising aerosol-generating material of different sizes (Doyle discloses an adjustable opening for holding article 10 in place--see embodiments of Fig. 3-7). The adjustable opening is capable of holding articles of different sizes.
As to the recitation of the plurality of consumables having different size, Examiner notes that the claims are directed towards a non-combustible aerosol provision device with a retention apparatus. The consumable having different sizes concerns the material to be worked upon and does not define structure not present in the device of Doyle.
Regarding claim 2, Doyle discloses a resilient member which enables the retention apparatus to adopt each of a plurality of configurations in order to hold consumables of different widths (see Fig. 3A-3C wherein holding member 360 is biased via a spring to apply a biasing force on the holding member to hold the article 10; [0065]; see also Fig. 6A-6C embodiment wherein holding member 660A,660B engage with the consumable, Doyle discloses holding member 660A,660B are substantially similar to holding member 360; see also holding members 560 in Fig. 5).
As to the recitation of the plurality of consumables having different width, Examiner notes that the claims are directed towards a non-combustible aerosol provision device with a retention apparatus. The consumable having different widths concerns the material to be worked upon and does not define structure not present in the device of Doyle.
Regarding claim 3, Doyle discloses the at least one resilient member enables the retention apparatus to define an initial arrangement which provides a gap of an initial size into which each of the plurality of consumables are to be inserted; and applying a force against the at least one resilient member causes the initial size of the gap to change to accommodate and hold, one at a time, each of the plurality of consumables (Doyle discloses a biasing member that urges the holding member toward a set position with a gap and force is applied to move the holding members to change the size of the gap, [0031,0032,0065,0072-0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Doyle discloses the at least one resilient member comprises two or more resilient members which are deflectable away from the initial arrangement to change a size of the gap (see two holding members 560A, 560B in Fig. 5 or 660A, 660B in Fig. 6 which contact the consumable one at a time).
Regarding claim 24, Doyle discloses a non-combustible aerosol provision device and one or more consumable (see aerosol-generating system 1 with aerosol-generating article 10),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyle (US 20200268047).
Regarding claim 8, Doyle discloses the retention apparatus comprises a moveable element which moves between a plurality of positions with respect to an end of the non-combustible aerosol provision device in order to transition the retention apparatus between a corresponding plurality of different initial arrangements (see moveable control member 668 which slides relative to end of device, [0072-0074]);
each of the plurality of different initial arrangements provides a gap of a different initial size into which the consumables are to be inserted (sliding the member creates different gap sizes, [0072-0074], Fig. 6A-6C).
Doyle does not expressly disclose the two or more resilient members are biased towards the initial arrangement that corresponds to a current position of the plurality of positions of the moveable element; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have applied a biasing force on the resilient members since Doyle discloses the holding members 660A,660B are substantially similar to holding member 360 of the second embodiment ([0074]) and discloses the holding member 360 may be coupled to a biasing member to urge the member to a second position and apply a clamping force against the article 10 ([0065]). One would have been motivated to configure the holding members 660A,660B with a biasing member to ensure the consumable article 10 is clamped within the device.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4, 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 of copending Application No. 18262957 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because '957 similarly discloses a non-combustible aerosol provision device having a consumable holder with at least two selectively engageable gripping members for holding consumable of different sizes. Claim 4 recites a moveable actuator.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18262964 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because '964 similarly discloses a non-combustible aerosol provision device having a consumable holder with first and second retention elements that are configured to allow the opening size to bias against an initial size.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han (US 20180042299) discloses a spring clamp for holding cigarettes of different sizes (Fig. 6).
Plojoux (US 20150013696) discloses an extractor that holds a consumable (see Fig. 7A,7B)
/ROBERT C DYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619