DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 06/17/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/17/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-16 and 22-37 are pending
Claims 1, 10, 22, 24 and 29 are amended
Claims 17-21 are canceled
Claims 31-37 are new
Claims 1-16 and 22-37 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 22-26 and 28-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20230107283 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, in view of BALIGH et al. (US 20230327714 A1), hereinafter referenced as Baligh.
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Park teaches a method of wireless communication by a base station (BS) (Para. [0001]-Park discloses a method for allowing a user equipment (UE) to perform initial access to a base station (BS) using a large intelligent surface (LIS) in a wireless communication system, and a device for the same. Para. [0031]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) in a wireless communication system may include a memory configured to store a program related to initial access to a base station using the LIS, and a processor configured to perform initial access to the base station based on the program stored in the memory, wherein the processor is configured to acquire information related to a UE search signal of the base station from the memory, generate an initial access signal based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal, and generate a first LIS control signal for controlling a reflection pattern of the LIS with respect to an uplink signal. Fig. 24, Para. [0319]-Park discloses wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108), the method comprising:
transmitting one or more parameters corresponding to a time period for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) to adapt to user equipment (UE) configuration information (Para. [0184]-Park discloses BS has allocated {Corresponding to the allocation of time period for a RIS to adapt to the UE configuration information} to the UE attempting random access, UL transmit time alignment information {Corresponding to the time period for a RIS to adapt to the UE configuration information}, UL transmission power adjustment information, and UL radio resource allocation information {Corresponding to other radio resources for a RIS to adapt to the UE}. Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) {Corresponding to a RIS} by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0023]-Park discloses the UE search signal may further include ..., an identifier for the LIS, and information on a beam index for the LIS. Para. [0013]-Park discloses the LIS may pre-store information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for UE search and/or information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for data transmission/reception (Tx/Rx) relay ... the LIS may include a device for receiving and processing a LIS beam control signal command for signals necessary for an initial access procedure. Para. [0012]-Park discloses a large intelligent surface (LIS) may serve as a reflective plate formed of a meta-material, and may be a configuration in which a reflection pattern of incident electromagnetic waves can be adjusted. Para. [0209-0217]-Park discloses the BS may transmit information on the LIS located in the coverage to the UE in advance. The BS may include at least one of the following information types in information about the LIS included in the BS coverage, and may thus inform the UE of the resultant information ... Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based initial access {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE} ... Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based data transmission/reception ... Configuration information {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE} (e.g., a length of a beam control section, a length of a signal section, a transmission period, etc.) for signals (e.g., a synchronization and system information broadcast signal, an initial access signal, an initial access response signal, etc.) required for LIS relay-based initial access procedure ... LIS beam transition time (i.e., a (maximum) time taken from a beam transition instruction time to the actual beam transition time) {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE}. Para. [0220]-Park discloses the BS may transmit a downlink (DL) signal that includes at least one of {circle around (1)} DL LIS beam index, {circle around (2)} uplink (UL) LIS beam index, {circle around (3)} information related to the start of downlink LIS beam transition, {circle around (4)} information related to the end of the downlink LIS beam transition, and {circle around (5)} information related to enabling/disabling of downlink LIS beam transition {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE}. Para. [0223]-Park discloses when the beam transition of the LIS means transition of the direction of the beam formed according to the reflection pattern transition of the LIS, the LIS control signal may be a control signal for requesting a change in the reflection pattern for beam transition of the LIS (or for controlling the reflection pattern of the LIS). Para. [0012]-Park discloses a large intelligent surface (LIS) may serve as a reflective plate formed of a meta-material, and may be a configuration in which a reflection pattern of incident electromagnetic waves can be adjusted. Para. [0230]-Park discloses the LIS transmission beam or the LIS reception beam may also include a beam that is reflected by or incident on the LIS reflection pattern, and transition (or shifting) of the LIS transmission beam or transition of the LIS reception beam may refer to a transition in the direction of the LIS transmission beam or the LIS reception beam. Para. [0296]-Park discloses the predetermined offset may be pre-instructed or pre-configured by the BS. Specifically, the predetermined offset may be predetermined by the BS in consideration of the acquisition time of the first LIS control signal in the LIS and the time {Corresponding to the time period for the RIS to adapt to the UE} required for transition of the reflection pattern of the LIS),
the UE configuration information for configuring the RIS for RIS-assisted communication between the BS and a UE (Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0023]-Park discloses the UE search signal may further include a base station (BS) identifier, a beam index of the base station (BS), an identifier for the LIS, and information on a beam index for the LIS),
the one or more parameters comprising a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time associated with a gap between a control channel and a data channel for the RIS to reconfigure one or more reflective elements of the RIS based on the UE configuration information (Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols. Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception. Para. [0140-0142]-Park discloses the BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource {Corresponding to time resource, see Para. [0135] above} scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)) ... DCI may represent a slot offset between DCI reception {Control Channel} and a first SL transmission {Data Channel} scheduled by DCI. For example, the minimum gap between the DCI scheduling {Control Channel} a SL transmission resource and the first scheduled {Data Channel} SL transmission resource may not be shorter than the processing time of the corresponding UE. Para. [0200]-Park discloses the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the LIS relay by controlling a beam transition operation of the LIS in the process {Corresponding to the total UE processing time including LIS configuration before sidelink data transmission} of performing the initial access procedure. That is, the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the reflection function of the LIS by controlling uplink/downlink (UL/DL) reflection patterns of the LIS within a shadow area of the BS. Para. [0124]-Park discloses in V2X or SL communication, the term UE may mainly refer to a user's UE. However, when network equipment such as a BS transmits and receives signals according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a kind of UE. For example, UE 1 may be the first device 100, and UE 2 may be the second device 200);
communicating, via the RIS, the data channel with the UE the duration of time after transmitting the control channel to the UE (Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0013]-Park discloses the LIS may pre-store information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for UE search and/or information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for data transmission/reception (Tx/Rx) relay. Para. [0209-0215]-Park discloses the BS may transmit information on the LIS located in the coverage to the UE in advance. The BS may include at least one of the following information types in information about the LIS included in the BS coverage, and may thus inform the UE of the resultant information. [0210] Information about whether the LIS is included in the service area (coverage) [0211] LIS identifier (ID) [0212] Number of LIS beam patterns for UE search (or the number of LIS reflection patterns for UE search) [0213] Number of LIS beam patterns for data service (or the number of LIS reflection patterns for UE search) [0214] Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based initial access [0215] Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based data transmission/reception).
Park fails to teach transmitting, via the RIS and separately from transmitting the one or more parameters, a control channel to the UE scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE via the RIS.
However, Baligh teaches transmitting, via the RIS and separately from transmitting the one or more parameters, a control channel to the UE scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE via the RIS (Para. [0330]-Baligh discloses one or more RIS that have been setup to be able to redirect to the UE can reflect the PDCCH to the UE).
Park and Baligh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with use of reflective intelligent surfaces (RIS) in multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park to incorporate the teachings of Baligh on intelligent surfaces, with a motivation to transmit control channel via the RIS, and guarantee utilizing controllable metasurface devices capable of redirecting a wavefront transmitted by a transmitter to a receiver in the wireless network to take advantage of the controllable metasurface device capabilities, intelligence, coordination and speed, and thereby enable solutions having different signaling details and capability requirements, (Baligh, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 10 and 31, Park teaches a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (Para. [0001]-Park discloses a method for allowing a user equipment (UE) to perform initial access to a base station (BS) using a large intelligent surface (LIS) in a wireless communication system, and a device for the same. Para. [0031]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) in a wireless communication system may include a memory configured to store a program related to initial access to a base station using the LIS, and a processor configured to perform initial access to the base station based on the program stored in the memory, wherein the processor is configured to acquire information related to a UE search signal of the base station from the memory, generate an initial access signal based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal, and generate a first LIS control signal for controlling a reflection pattern of the LIS with respect to an uplink signal. Fig. 24, Para. [0319]-Park discloses wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), one or more parameters corresponding to a time period for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) to adapt to user equipment (UE) configuration information (Para. [0184]-Park discloses BS has allocated {Corresponding to the allocation of time period for a RIS to adapt to the UE configuration information} to the UE attempting random access, UL transmit time alignment information {Corresponding to the time period for a RIS to adapt to the UE configuration information}, UL transmission power adjustment information, and UL radio resource allocation information {Corresponding to other radio resources for a RIS to adapt to the UE}. Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) {Corresponding to a RIS} by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0023]-Park discloses the UE search signal may further include ..., an identifier for the LIS, and information on a beam index for the LIS. Para. [0013]-Park discloses the LIS may pre-store information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for UE search and/or information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for data transmission/reception (Tx/Rx) relay ... the LIS may include a device for receiving and processing a LIS beam control signal command for signals necessary for an initial access procedure. Para. [0012]-Park discloses a large intelligent surface (LIS) may serve as a reflective plate formed of a meta-material, and may be a configuration in which a reflection pattern of incident electromagnetic waves can be adjusted. Para. [0209-0217]-Park discloses the BS may transmit information on the LIS located in the coverage to the UE in advance. The BS may include at least one of the following information types in information about the LIS included in the BS coverage, and may thus inform the UE of the resultant information ... Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based initial access {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE} ... Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based data transmission/reception ... Configuration information {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE} (e.g., a length of a beam control section, a length of a signal section, a transmission period, etc.) for signals (e.g., a synchronization and system information broadcast signal, an initial access signal, an initial access response signal, etc.) required for LIS relay-based initial access procedure ... LIS beam transition time (i.e., a (maximum) time taken from a beam transition instruction time to the actual beam transition time) {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE}. Para. [0220]-Park discloses the BS may transmit a downlink (DL) signal that includes at least one of {circle around (1)} DL LIS beam index, {circle around (2)} uplink (UL) LIS beam index, {circle around (3)} information related to the start of downlink LIS beam transition, {circle around (4)} information related to the end of the downlink LIS beam transition, and {circle around (5)} information related to enabling/disabling of downlink LIS beam transition {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE}. Para. [0223]-Park discloses when the beam transition of the LIS means transition of the direction of the beam formed according to the reflection pattern transition of the LIS, the LIS control signal may be a control signal for requesting a change in the reflection pattern for beam transition of the LIS (or for controlling the reflection pattern of the LIS). Para. [0012]-Park discloses a large intelligent surface (LIS) may serve as a reflective plate formed of a meta-material, and may be a configuration in which a reflection pattern of incident electromagnetic waves can be adjusted. Para. [0230]-Park discloses the LIS transmission beam or the LIS reception beam may also include a beam that is reflected by or incident on the LIS reflection pattern, and transition (or shifting) of the LIS transmission beam or transition of the LIS reception beam may refer to a transition in the direction of the LIS transmission beam or the LIS reception beam. Para. [0296]-Park discloses the predetermined offset may be pre-instructed or pre-configured by the BS. Specifically, the predetermined offset may be predetermined by the BS in consideration of the acquisition time of the first LIS control signal in the LIS and the time {Corresponding to the time period for the RIS to adapt to the UE} required for transition of the reflection pattern of the LIS),
the UE configuration information for configuring the RIS for RIS-assisted communication between the BS and the UE (Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0023]-Park discloses the UE search signal may further include a base station (BS) identifier, a beam index of the base station (BS), an identifier for the LIS, and information on a beam index for the LIS),
the one or more parameters comprising a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time associated with a gap between a control channel and a data channel for the RIS to reconfigure one or more reflective elements of the RIS based on the UE configuration information (Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols. Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception. Para. [0140-0142]-Park discloses the BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource {Corresponding to time resource, see Para. [0135] above} scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)) ... DCI may represent a slot offset between DCI reception {Control Channel} and a first SL transmission {Data Channel} scheduled by DCI. For example, the minimum gap between the DCI scheduling {Control Channel} a SL transmission resource and the first scheduled {Data Channel} SL transmission resource may not be shorter than the processing time of the corresponding UE. Para. [0200]-Park discloses the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the LIS relay by controlling a beam transition operation of the LIS in the process {Corresponding to the total UE processing time including LIS configuration before sidelink data transmission} of performing the initial access procedure. That is, the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the reflection function of the LIS by controlling uplink/downlink (UL/DL) reflection patterns of the LIS within a shadow area of the BS. Para. [0124]-Park discloses in V2X or SL communication, the term UE may mainly refer to a user's UE. However, when network equipment such as a BS transmits and receives signals according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a kind of UE. For example, UE 1 may be the first device 100, and UE 2 may be the second device 200);
communicating, via the RIS, the data channel with the BS the duration of time after receiving the control channel (Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0013]-Park discloses the LIS may pre-store information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for UE search and/or information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for data transmission/reception (Tx/Rx) relay. Para. [0209-0215]-Park discloses the BS may transmit information on the LIS located in the coverage to the UE in advance. The BS may include at least one of the following information types in information about the LIS included in the BS coverage, and may thus inform the UE of the resultant information. [0210] Information about whether the LIS is included in the service area (coverage) [0211] LIS identifier (ID) [0212] Number of LIS beam patterns for UE search (or the number of LIS reflection patterns for UE search) [0213] Number of LIS beam patterns for data service (or the number of LIS reflection patterns for UE search) [0214] Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based initial access [0215] Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based data transmission/reception).
Park fails to teach receiving, from the BS, a control channel scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE via the RIS.
However, Baligh teaches receiving, from the BS, a control channel scheduling communication of a data channel with the UE via the RIS (Para. [0330]-Baligh discloses one or more RIS that have been setup to be able to redirect to the UE can reflect the PDCCH to the UE).
Park and Baligh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with use of reflective intelligent surfaces (RIS) in multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park to incorporate the teachings of Baligh on intelligent surfaces, with a motivation to transmit control channel via the RIS, and guarantee utilizing controllable metasurface devices capable of redirecting a wavefront transmitted by a transmitter to a receiver in the wireless network to take advantage of the controllable metasurface device capabilities, intelligence, coordination and speed, and thereby enable solutions having different signaling details and capability requirements, (Baligh, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11 and 23 and 32, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claims 1 and 10 and the BS of claim 22 and the UE of claim 31 respectively,
Park further teaches the UE configuration information comprises a phase shift parameter configured to adjust a phase of one or more reflective elements of the RIS (Para. [0264]-Park discloses the LIS control signal for the downlink may be modulated by an amplitude modulation (AM) method, an amplitude shift keying (ASK) method, or a phase shift keying (PSK) method … the LIS control signal for the downlink may be a signal that can instruct the LIS to transition the reflective pattern to change the LIS transmission beam for the downlink).
Regarding claims 3 and 12 and 24 and 33, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claims 1 and 10 and the BS of claim 22 and the UE of claim 31 respectively,
Park further teaches transmitting the one or more parameters comprises broadcasting the one or more parameters as system information via a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Para. [0084]-Park discloses DL transport channels carrying data from the network to the UE include a broadcast channel (BCH) on which system information is transmitted. Para. [0209]-Park discloses the BS may transmit information on the LIS located in the coverage to the UE in advance. The BS may include at least one of the following information types in information about the LIS included in the BS coverage, and may thus inform the UE of the resultant information. [0210] Information about whether the LIS is included in the service area (coverage) [0211] LIS identifier (ID) [0212] Number of LIS beam patterns for UE search (or the number of LIS reflection patterns for UE search) [0213] Number of LIS beam patterns for data service (or the number of LIS reflection patterns for UE search) [0214] Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based initial access [0215] Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based data transmission/reception [0216] Configuration information (e.g., a length of a beam control section, a length of a signal section, a transmission period, etc.) for signals (e.g., a synchronization and system information broadcast signal, an initial access signal, an initial access response signal, etc.) required for LIS relay-based initial access procedure [0217] LIS beam transition time (i.e., a (maximum) time taken from a beam transition instruction time to the actual beam transition time). Para. [0109]-Park discloses a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include ... , and broadcast information. For example, for evaluation of PSBCH performance, the payload size of PSBCH in NR V2X may be 56 bits including CRC of 24 bits. [0110] The S-PSS, S-SSS, and PSBCH may be included in a block format (e.g., an SL synchronization signal (SS)/PSBCH block, hereinafter sidelink-synchronization signal block (S-SSB)) supporting periodic transmission).
Regarding claims 4 and 13 and 25 and 34, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claims 1 and 10 and the BS of claim 22 and the UE of claim 31 respectively,
Park further teaches the one or more parameters further comprise an indication of a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) corresponding to the number of symbols (Para. [0092]-Park discloses subframe may be divided into one or more slots, and the number of slots in an SF may be determined according to a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Each slot may include 12 or 14 OFDM(A) symbols according to a cyclic prefix (CP). Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception and a subframe and transmit the timing advance information based on the time difference. Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols occupied by each SL signal in a subframe, or the number of subframes used for transmission of one SL signal), signal strength from a BS, the strength of transmit power of an SL UE, and the like).
Regarding claims 5 and 14 and 26 and 35, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claims 4 and 13 and the BS of claim 25 and the UE of claim 34 respectively,
Park further teaches the indication of the reference SCS comprises one of: an indication that the reference SCS is the same as an SCS used for transmission of the control channel; an indication that the reference SCS is a fixed SCS; or an explicit indication of a frequency of the reference SCS (Para. [0086]-Park discloses a physical channel includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain by a plurality of subcarriers in the frequency domain. Tables 3-4, Para. [0098-0099]-Park discloses Frequency Range Corresponding Subcarrier Spacing designation frequency range (SCS) FR1 450 MHz-6000 MHz 15, 30, 60 kHz FR2 24250 MHz-52600 MHz 60, 120, 240 kHz. Para. [0092]-Park discloses subframe may be divided into one or more slots, and the number of slots in an SF may be determined according to a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Each slot may include 12 or 14 OFDM(A) symbols according to a cyclic prefix (CP). Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception and a subframe and transmit the timing advance information based on the time difference. Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols occupied by each SL signal in a subframe, or the number of subframes used for transmission of one SL signal), signal strength from a BS, the strength of transmit power of an SL UE, and the like).
Regarding claims 7 and 28, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claim 1 and the BS of claim 22 respectively,
Park further teaches the control channel comprises the UE configuration information (Para. [0086]-Park discloses each subframe may use specific subcarriers of specific OFDM symbols (e.g., the first OFDM symbol) in a corresponding subframe for a physical DL control channel (PDCCH), that is, an L1/L2 control channel).
Regarding claims 8 and 29, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claim 1 and the BS of claim 22 respectively,
Park fails to teach transmitting, to the RIS, another control channel comprising additional UE configuration information.
However, Baligh teaches transmitting, to the RIS, another control channel comprising additional UE configuration information (Para. [0330]-Baligh discloses one or more RIS that have been setup to be able to redirect to the UE can reflect the PDCCH to the UE. Para. [0009]-Baligh discloses a user equipment (UE) receiving first configuration information, the first configuration information involving identification of a plurality of beams for transmitting or receiving signals, each beam having an associated direction; and the UE receiving second configuration information, the second configuration information including a message to enable a selected subset of beams of the plurality of beams from the plurality of beams for transmitting or receiving signals).
Baligh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with use of reflective intelligent surfaces (RIS) in multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park to incorporate the teachings of Baligh on intelligent surfaces, with a motivation to transmit control channels via the RIS, and guarantee utilizing controllable metasurface devices capable of redirecting a wavefront transmitted by a transmitter to a receiver in the wireless network to take advantage of the controllable metasurface device capabilities, intelligence, coordination and speed, and thereby enable solutions having different signaling details and capability requirements, (Baligh, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 9 and 30, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claim 8 and the BS of claim 29 respectively,
Park further teaches the control channel comprises a first downlink control information (DCI) message formatted according to a first DCI format and comprising a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (Para. [0140]-Park discloses the BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)), and UE 1 may perform V2X or SL communication with UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. Para. [0145]-Park discloses a new RNTI for scrambling the NR DCI may be defined. Para. [0183]-Park discloses Upon detection of the PDCCH masked by the RA-RNTI, the UE may receive an RAR on a PDSCH scheduled by DCI carried on the PDCCH. Para. [0146]-Park discloses module receives LTE DCI format 5A from the NR SL module), and
the other control channel comprises a second DCI message formatted according to a second DCI format and comprising a second RNTI (Para. [0140]-Park discloses the BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)), and UE 1 may perform V2X or SL communication with UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. Para. [0145]-Park discloses a new RNTI for scrambling the NR DCI may be defined. Para. [0183]-Park discloses Upon detection of the PDCCH masked by the RA-RNTI, the UE may receive an RAR on a PDSCH scheduled by DCI carried on the PDCCH. Para. [0146]-Park discloses module receives LTE DCI format 5A from the NR SL module),
the second RNTI corresponding to the UE and the first RNTI not corresponding to the UE (Table 5, Para. [0178]-Park discloses Temporary C-RNTI on PDCCH for initial access ... C-RNTI on PDCCH for UE in RRC_CONNECTED).
Regarding claims 15 and 36, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claim 13 and the UE of claim 34,
Park further teaches time resources for communicating the data channel are determined as a function of: (i) the number of symbols, and (ii) the reference SCS corresponding to the number of symbols (Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols. Para. [0092]-Park discloses subframe may be divided into one or more slots, and the number of slots in an SF may be determined according to a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Each slot may include 12 or 14 OFDM(A) symbols according to a cyclic prefix (CP). Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception and a subframe and transmit the timing advance information based on the time difference. Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols occupied by each SL signal in a subframe, or the number of subframes used for transmission of one SL signal), signal strength from a BS, the strength of transmit power of an SL UE, and the like).
Claims 6 and 16 and 27 and 37, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20230107283 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, in view of BALIGH et al. (US 20230327714 A1), hereinafter referenced as Baligh, and further in view of NGUYEN et al. (US 20210021380 A1), hereinafter referenced as Nguyen.
Regarding claims 6 and 16 and 27 and 37, Park in view of Baligh teaches the method of claims 1 and 10 and the BS of claim 22 and the UE of claim 31 respectively,
Park fails to teach the control channel and the data channel are both transmitted within a first slot.
However, Nguyen teaches the control channel and the data channel are both transmitted within a first slot (Para. [0014]-Nguyen discloses at the gNB, following the transmitted control channel, transmitting the associated data channel's re-transmissions in the first slot).
Nguyen is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with methods for use with HARQ-less transmission technique on detection of control channel's misses-detection at an intended UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Park in view of Baligh to incorporate the teachings of Nguyen on control and data channel transmission, with a motivation to transmit control and data channel in a first slot, and ensure realising control channel link adaptation and early termination of data channel retransmission upon control channel missed-detection using a system, the system for a servicing a gNB, which utilises HARQ-less for URLLC DL data transmission, to detect a control channel miss-detection at URLLC UEs, (Nguyen, Para. [0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 06/17/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-16 and 22-37 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [1-5], Applicant argues that, “…Claims 1, 10, and 22 have been amended to recite that the one or more parameters comprise "a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time associated with a gap between a control channel and a data channel for the RIS to reconfigure one or more reflective elements of the RIS based on the UE configuration information." Applicant submits that Park does not teach or suggest this feature.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With the referenced paragraphs inclusive, the primary prior art, PARK et al. (US 20230107283 A1), teaches the one or more parameters comprising a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time associated with a gap between a control channel and a data channel for the RIS to reconfigure one or more reflective elements of the RIS based on the UE configuration information (Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols. Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception. Para. [0140-0142]-Park discloses the BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource {Corresponding to time resource, see Para. [0135] above} scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)) ... DCI may represent a slot offset between DCI reception {Control Channel} and a first SL transmission {Data Channel} scheduled by DCI. For example, the minimum gap between the DCI scheduling {Control Channel} a SL transmission resource and the first scheduled {Data Channel} SL transmission resource may not be shorter than the processing time of the corresponding UE. Para. [0200]-Park discloses the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the LIS relay by controlling a beam transition operation of the LIS in the process {Corresponding to the total UE processing time including LIS configuration before sidelink data transmission} of performing the initial access procedure. That is, the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the reflection function of the LIS by controlling uplink/downlink (UL/DL) reflection patterns of the LIS within a shadow area of the BS. Para. [0124]-Park discloses in V2X or SL communication, the term UE may mainly refer to a user's UE. However, when network equipment such as a BS transmits and receives signals according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a kind of UE. For example, UE 1 may be the first device 100, and UE 2 may be the second device 200).
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [13-16], Applicant argues that, “…paragraph [0184] of Park fails to disclose that any such information corresponds to "a time period for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) to adapt to user equipment (UE) configuration information," as recited in independent claim 1.”
However, Park teaches transmitting one or more parameters corresponding to a time period for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) to adapt to user equipment (UE) configuration information (Para. [0184]-Park discloses BS has allocated {Corresponding to the allocation of time period for a RIS to adapt to the UE configuration information} to the UE attempting random access, UL transmit time alignment information {Corresponding to the time period for a RIS to adapt to the UE configuration information}, UL transmission power adjustment information, and UL radio resource allocation information {Corresponding to other radio resources for a RIS to adapt to the UE}. Para. [0017]-Park discloses a method for performing initial access to a base station using a large intelligent surface (LIS) {Corresponding to a RIS} by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receiving a UE search signal transmitted by the base station through the LIS, transmitting an initial access signal to the base station through the LIS based on resource allocation information included in the UE search signal. Para. [0023]-Park discloses the UE search signal may further include ..., an identifier for the LIS, and information on a beam index for the LIS. Para. [0013]-Park discloses the LIS may pre-store information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for UE search and/or information on a beam pattern (or a reflection pattern) for data transmission/reception (Tx/Rx) relay ... the LIS may include a device for receiving and processing a LIS beam control signal command for signals necessary for an initial access procedure. Para. [0012]-Park discloses a large intelligent surface (LIS) may serve as a reflective plate formed of a meta-material, and may be a configuration in which a reflection pattern of incident electromagnetic waves can be adjusted. Para. [0209-0217]-Park discloses the BS may transmit information on the LIS located in the coverage to the UE in advance. The BS may include at least one of the following information types in information about the LIS included in the BS coverage, and may thus inform the UE of the resultant information ... Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based initial access {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE} ... Time and/or frequency resource candidate group for LIS relay-based data transmission/reception ... Configuration information {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE} (e.g., a length of a beam control section, a length of a signal section, a transmission period, etc.) for signals (e.g., a synchronization and system information broadcast signal, an initial access signal, an initial access response signal, etc.) required for LIS relay-based initial access procedure ... LIS beam transition time (i.e., a (maximum) time taken from a beam transition instruction time to the actual beam transition time) {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE}. Para. [0220]-Park discloses the BS may transmit a downlink (DL) signal that includes at least one of {circle around (1)} DL LIS beam index, {circle around (2)} uplink (UL) LIS beam index, {circle around (3)} information related to the start of downlink LIS beam transition, {circle around (4)} information related to the end of the downlink LIS beam transition, and {circle around (5)} information related to enabling/disabling of downlink LIS beam transition {Corresponding to a time period to adapt to UE}. Para. [0223]-Park discloses when the beam transition of the LIS means transition of the direction of the beam formed according to the reflection pattern transition of the LIS, the LIS control signal may be a control signal for requesting a change in the reflection pattern for beam transition of the LIS (or for controlling the reflection pattern of the LIS). Para. [0012]-Park discloses a large intelligent surface (LIS) may serve as a reflective plate formed of a meta-material, and may be a configuration in which a reflection pattern of incident electromagnetic waves can be adjusted. Para. [0230]-Park discloses the LIS transmission beam or the LIS reception beam may also include a beam that is reflected by or incident on the LIS reflection pattern, and transition (or shifting) of the LIS transmission beam or transition of the LIS reception beam may refer to a transition in the direction of the LIS transmission beam or the LIS reception beam. Para. [0296]-Park discloses the predetermined offset may be pre-instructed or pre-configured by the BS. Specifically, the predetermined offset may be predetermined by the BS in consideration of the acquisition time of the first LIS control signal in the LIS and the time {Corresponding to the time period for the RIS to adapt to the UE} required for transition of the reflection pattern of the LIS).
In the remarks, on pages 11 and 12, Lines [25-28 and 8-12 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Park does not disclose that this offset is transmitted as a parameter comprising a number of symbols indicative of a "duration of time associated with a gap between a control channel and a data channel for the RIS to reconfigure one or more reflective elements of the RIS based on the UE configuration information" as recited in claim 1,” and “…signaling of beam indices and information related to the start, end, and enabling/disabling of LIS beam transition, none of which is a parameter, expressed as a number of symbols indicative of a duration of time, associated with a gap between a control channel and a data channel for the RIS to reconfigure its reflective elements based on UE configuration information” respectively.
However, in Para. [0135]-Park discloses a resource allocation scheme (e.g., the BS designates individual signal transmission resources to individual transmitting UEs or individual transmission UEs select individual signal transmission resources within the resource pool), signal format (e.g., the number of symbols. Para. [0184]-Park discloses to align a PUSCH and/or PUCCH transmission of the UE with a subframe timing of a network end, the network (e.g., the BS) may measure the time difference between PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS reception. Para. [0140-0142]-Park discloses the BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource {Corresponding to time resource, see Para. [0135] above} scheduling for UE 1 through PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)) ... DCI may represent a slot offset between DCI reception {Control Channel} and a first SL transmission {Data Channel} scheduled by DCI. For example, the minimum gap between the DCI scheduling {Control Channel} a SL transmission resource and the first scheduled {Data Channel} SL transmission resource may not be shorter than the processing time of the corresponding UE. Para. [0200]-Park discloses the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the LIS relay by controlling a beam transition operation of the LIS in the process {Corresponding to the total UE processing time including LIS configuration before sidelink data transmission} of performing the initial access procedure. That is, the BS and/or the UE may perform communication using the reflection function of the LIS by controlling uplink/downlink (UL/DL) reflection patterns of the LIS within a shadow area of the BS. Para. [0124]-Park discloses in V2X or SL communication, the term UE may mainly refer to a user's UE. However, when network equipment such as a BS transmits and receives signals according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a kind of UE. For example, UE 1 may be the first device 100, and UE 2 may be the second device 200.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Babaei et al. (US 20190074935 A1)-discloses wireless device may receive one or more messages. The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters of a first uplink control channel and a second uplink control channel. Downlink control information may be received. The downlink control information may indicate a downlink transmission of a transport block via a downlink channel. One of the first uplink control channel or the second uplink control channel may be selected as a selected uplink control channel based on one or more parameters of the downlink control information. A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) feedback for the transport block may be transmitted via the selected uplink control channel…. …Fig. 1-5
Wang et al. (US 20230208479 A1)-discloses Techniques and apparatuses are described for modifying a position of an adaptive phase-changing device, APD. In aspects, a base station receives, from a user equipment, UE, at least one link quality parameter that is indicative of a channel impairment. The base station then identifies, using the at least one link quality parameter, a surface configuration for a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) of an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) and transmits a first indication of the surface configuration using an adaptive phase-changing device control channel, APD control channel. In aspects, the base station determines using the at least one link quality parameter, a position configuration for the APD and transmits a second indication of the position configuration to the APD. The base station then communicates with the UE using the APD…. …Fig. 1-5
Saab et al. (US 20220059943 A1)-discloses multi-layer reconfigurable reflective intelligent surface (RIS). The RIS includes a unit-cell of a reconfigurable intelligent surface. The unit-cell includes a first layer composed of a conductive material and structured according to a sub-wavelength reflective pattern. The first layer reflects an impinging wave at a predetermined phase and steers the reflected impinging wave toward an intended receiver. The unit-cell includes a second layer composed of a first dielectric substrate material. Between the first and second layers, the unit-cell includes a middle layer composed of a second dielectric material having tunable dielectric properties. Tuning a dielectric constant of the second dielectric material modifies the predetermined phase of reflection of the impinging wave.… …Fig. 1-5
BAEK et al. (US 20240072944 A1)-discloses method performed by a terminal in a communication system is provided. The method performed by the terminal comprises the steps of: receiving, from a base station, logical channel configuration information that includes first information about an available hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode corresponding to a logical channel, and serving cell configuration information that includes second information about an available HARQ mode for each HARQ process ID; performing a logical channel prioritization procedure on the basis of the first information and the second information; and transmitting uplink data to the base station on the basis of the result of the logical channel prioritization procedure…. …Fig. 1-5
Wang et al. (US 20240039608 A1)-discloses Techniques and apparatuses are described for integrated access backhaul with an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) are described. In aspects, a donor base station determines to include an APD in a communication path for the wireless backhaul link with a node base station and apportions APD access to the APD for the node base station. The donor base station then communicates with the node base station using the surface of the APD and based on the apportioned APD-access by using the surface to exchange wireless signals with the donor base station…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472