DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2022/014375 filed on 01/28/2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/143,627 filed on 01/29/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) drawn to a viral inhibitor compound comprising formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election without traverse of compound 2a having the following structure:
as a species of a compound of formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is also acknowledged. Thus Applicant’s elected species of formula I has the following substituents:
X is
, n is 1, Ro is isobutyl, and Z is CHO.
Claims 3, 4, 10, 13, 19, 22, 25, 27-31 and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species or group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 2, and 5-9 are currently being examined as they read on the elected species.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 refers to Tables found within the specification.
Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 7-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2 and 7-9 of the instant application claim a viral inhibitor compound comprising formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof. The use of “comprising” in the preamble of the claim of claim 1 renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear how a viral inhibitor compound can “comprise” formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof. The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“like the term ‘comprising,’ the terms ‘containing’ and ‘mixture’ are open-ended.”). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Manufacturing, L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“Comprising” is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential, but other elements may be added and still form a construct within the scope of the claim.); Moleculon Research Corp. v. CBS, Inc., 793 F.2d 1261, 229 USPQ 805 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Baxter, 656 F.2d 679, 686, 210 USPQ 795, 803 (CCPA 1981); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948) ("comprising” leaves “the claim open for the inclusion of unspecified ingredients even in major amounts”). “The word ‘comprising’ transitioning from the preamble to the body signals that the entire claim is presumptively open-ended.”
In the instant case the use of comprising is unclear because either the viral inhibitor compound is a compound of formula I or it is not. Therefore it is unclear if the viral inhibitor compound is a mixture of unclaimed compounds and compounds of formula I, or if it is a compound of formula I.
For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 1 and dependent claims 2 and 7-9 are being interpreted as “A viral inhibitor compound of formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof” and examined herewith.
Claim 7 is further indefinite since a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation picornavirus-like supercluster, and the claim also recites calciviruses and picornaviruses which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson WO 2021/206876 A1.
Claims 1, 2 and 5-9 of the instant application claim a viral inhibitor compound of formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof having the following structure,
wherein X is the bridged polycyclic cycloalkane
, n is 1, Ro is isobutyl, and Z is CHO, to form
.
Jacobson teaches inhibitors of norovirus and coronavirus replication, and methods of treating or preventing norovirus and coronavirus infections by administering the inhibitors to a patient in need of treatment thereof [0001]. Jacobson teaches the compounds can be used in methods of treating viral infections, wherein non-limiting examples of viral infections which can be treated include coronavirus infections, calicivirus infections, and picornavirus infections [00126]-[00133]. Jacobson teaches the treatment of coronaviruses including severe acute respiratory syndrome-related coronavirus (SARS), Middle East respiratory syndrome-related coronavirus (MERS), and SARS-CoV-2 virus (also known as 2019-nCoV, or Wuhan coronavirus), wherein non-limiting examples of coronavirus mediated conditions or coronavirus infections include SARS, MERS, and COVID-19 [00134]-[00142].
Jacobson further teaches the compounds bind to free virus, or inhibits a virus protease, or inhibits both the free virus and protease ([00131] and [00138]).
Jacobson teaches the inhibitors are compounds of Formula (I) having the following structure
wherein Z is O; RN is H; R2 is C1-6alkylene-C5-8carbocycyl; R3 is C1-6alkyl; n is 0; m is 1; o is 1; R5 is COH; R6 is H ([0007] and claims 1, 2, 13, 18, 21, 22, 27-29, 50-52, 55, 57).
Jacobson teaches the term "carbocycle" (or "carbocyclyl" ) refers to a non-aromatic monocyclic, fused, bridged or spiro ring system whose ring atoms are carbon and which can be saturated or have one or more units of unsaturation [0023]. The carbocycle can have five to eight ring carbon atoms, and in some embodiments, the number of carbon atoms is 5 to 6, and in some embodiments, the number of carbon atoms is 6 [0023]. Jacobson teaches that fused bicyclic ring systems comprise two rings which share two adjoining ring atoms, and bridged bicyclic group comprise two rings which share three or four adjacent ring atoms, and spiro bicyclic ring systems share one ring atom [0023]. Cycloalkyl groups can include cycloalkenyl groups. Specific examples include, but are not limited to, cyclohexyl, cyclopentyl, cyclopropyl, and cyclobutyl [0023].
For example Jacobson discloses compound C47 wherein Z is O; each RN is H; R2 is C1-6alkylene-C5-8carbocycyl specifically CH2-cyclohexane; R3 is C1-6alkyl specifically isobutyl; n is 0; m is 1; o is 1; R5 is COH; R6 is H (page 22).
Jacobson does not specifically exemplify a compound wherein the carbocycle is a bicyclic bridged cyclohexyl group.
However, as detailed above, Jacobson discloses compound C47 wherein R2 is C1-6alkylene-C5-8carbocycyl, specifically CH2-cyclohexyl (page 22). Jacobson further specifically teaches that "carbocycle" (or "carbocyclyl" ) refers to a non-aromatic monocyclic, fused, bridged or spiro ring system whose ring atoms are carbon and which can be saturated or have one or more units of unsaturation [0023]. Jacobson teaches that fused bicyclic ring systems comprise two rings which share two adjoining ring atoms, and bridged bicyclic group comprise two rings which share three or four adjacent ring atoms, and spiro bicyclic ring systems share one ring atom [0023]. Thus Jacobson teaches that the monocyclic carbocycle ring may be substituted for a fused bicyclic ring system, a bridged bicyclic group, or a spiro bicyclic ring system, wherein the ring can be cyclohexyl.
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on the teachings of Jacobson, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select R2 as C1-6alkylene-C5-8carbocycyl, wherein the monocyclic cyclohexane group is substituted for a fused or bridged bicyclic cyclohexane ring system which comprises two rings which share adjoining or adjacent ring atoms. Based on the teachings of Jacobson said substitution would have been seen as an obvious alternative to yield similar and predictable results. Thus the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Claims 1, 2, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang U.S. Publication No. 2014/0243341 A1.
Claims 1, 2 and 7-9 of the instant application claim a viral inhibitor compound of formula I, or a prodrug, deuterated form, or pharmaceutically-acceptable salt thereof having the following structure:
wherein X is a nitrogen-, oxygen-, phosphorus-, or sulfur-containing heterocycle or azetidine, n is 1, Ro is isobutyl, and Z is CHO.
Chang et al. teaches antiviral protease inhibitors, including peptidyl aldehydes, peptidyl a-ketoamides, peptidyl bisulfite salts, and peptidyl heterocycles, along with related antiviral compounds, and methods of using the same to treat or prevent viral infection and disease (abstract). The compounds possess broad-spectrum activity against viruses that belong to the picornavirus-like supercluster, which include important human and animal pathogens including noroviruses, enteroviruses, poliovirus, foot-and-mouth disease virus, hepatitis A virus, human rhinovirus (cause of common cold), human coronavirus (another cause of common cold), transmissible gastroenteritis virus, murine hepatitis virus, feline infectious peritonitis virus, and severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus (abstract).
Chang et al. teaches compounds of formula (I) having the following structure:
wherein Z is selected from the group consisting of aldehydes, ketoamides, bisulfite salts, heterocyclic moieties; R1 is a branched or unbranched alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl, arylalkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, natural amino acid side chain, or a combination thereof; Ro is -C(O)R, and R is -OCH2R3 and R3 is a substituted or unsubstituted: aryl, heteroaryl, aryloxy, heteroaryloxy, arylalkoxy, heteroarylalkoxy, or saturated heterocycle [0009].
Chang et al. teaches antiviral compounds having broad-spectrum (multivalent) activity against viruses that belong to the picornavirus-like supercluster, including caliciviruses, picornaviruses and coronaviruses [0049]. The compounds effectively target and inhibit viral 3C or 3CL protease activity across multiple virus species, strains, and subtypes, thereby preventing formation of the mature virus and inhibiting virus replication in the host cell [0049]. Coronaviruses include human coronavirus (cause of common cold such as 229E strain), transmissible gastroenteritis virus (TGEV), murine hepatitis virus (MHV), bovine coronavirus (BCV), feline infectious peritonitis virus (FIPV), and severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus (SARS-CoV) [0048].
Chang et al. teaches the following compound:
wherein Z is CHO; R1 is isobutyl; Ro is -C(O)R, and R is -OCH2R3 and R3 is unsubstituted aryl [0051].
Chang et al. does not specifically exemplify a compound wherein R3 which corresponds to X of the instant claims is as claimed in the instant claims.
However, Chang et al. specifically teaches that R3 can be selected as substituted or unsubstituted: aryl group, heteroaryl group, aryloxy group, heteroaryloxy group, arylalkoxy group, heteroarylalkoxy group, or saturated heterocycle (see claim 1 on page 31).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a heteroaryl group or a saturated heterocycle group for the phenyl group specifically exemplified in Chang et al. with a reasonable expectation of similar success. Thus since Chang et al. teaches that a heteroaryl group or a saturated heterocycle group is a suitable alternative or substitute for an aryl group such as phenyl, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute a heteroaryl or heterocyclic group for the aryl group to arrive at the instant compounds with a reasonable expectation of predictable results. Accordingly, the cited claims of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2 and 5-9 are rejected. Claims 3, 4, 10, 13, 19, 22, 25, 27-31 and 34 are withdrawn. Claims 11-12, 14-18, 20-21, 23-24, 26, and 32-33 are canceled. No claims are allowed.
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
KRM